Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enablesSleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enables players to perform an array of martial arts moves, singlehandedly taking on numerous opponents. Players perform visceral kicks and combos, vicious counters and a cinematic set of environmental takedowns making use of real-world items from circular saws to phone booths, incinerators to refrigerator doors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Aug 25, 2012
    92
    Going back to the opening question and whether there is anything bad about Sleeping Dogs, there are a few rough edges here and there but absolutely nothing to write home about. The overall experience from start to finish is brilliant and the only disappointment is the wait you'll have until some DLC hopefully comes out. Even if you're currently playing something right now I urge you to stop and go buy this right now!
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    This is a fantastic game. Where some strive for realism while sacrificing fun, or focus on fun to the detriment of realism, Sleeping Dogs manages the impressive feat of finding a between the two. The characters are universally interesting, the story is engaging, there is never a shortage of things to keep you busy, and it all comes packaged in a gritty and visceral virtual version of Hong Kong. What more could you want?
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    88
    United Front Games has crafted a stunning open-world action romp that draws on a variety of cinematic influences to startling effect. Sleeping Dogs is by no means perfect, but at times, it comes painfully close.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Despite several setbacks with authenticity and character depth, Sleeping Dogs delivers an entertaining and realistic enough interpretation of Hong Kong to warrant a sequel.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    After the two mediocre True Crime games, we had abandoned all hope for a good project by United Front Games. Sleeping Dogs proved us wrong. It's a great, open world game, with beautiful graphics, engaging gameplay and one of the most interesting stories this genre has to offer.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    So perhaps Sleeping Dogs isn't one of those games you'll want to keep on playing long after you've seen its story's conclusion. But while you're engaged with that story, this is an effective open-world experience, filled with interesting characters, some exciting action, and enough unpredictability to keep you hooked. It might feel familiar, but that doesn't make it any less fun.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    A middling open-world game can get by if it's well paced. The Saboteur and Prototype 2, for instance, weren't necessarily good, but they moved. Really moved. They pulled you forward, thanks in large part to great progression systems. There is no such sense of progression in Sleeping Dogs. You have a few tracks that gradually unlock moves you may never use.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 109
  2. Negative: 7 out of 109
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing andThis game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the world has along with the Jade statues that unlock you new moves to use in combat. A very solid title and i hope to see some dlc for this game very soon and hopefully a Sleeping Dogs 2. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is livingI was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This game is incredibly fun to play. If you don't like games with a storyline then you can still play this game. This is a free roam game thatThis game is incredibly fun to play. If you don't like games with a storyline then you can still play this game. This is a free roam game that leaves you wanting to create mayhem all over the city just for the heck of it. It will leave you exploring for hours on end. If you don't care about that then the storyline is GREAT. You know it has a good story when you feel sympathetic towards the characters when something happens. The fighting system is great and the way they made the enemies glow when they are about to attack makes it not too hard and not too easy. Plus there's new moves you can learn and new guns you can equip the game is awesome! Overall this game is a must play for anyone. 9 out of 10. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Ignore anyone who says this game is bad. I am extremley picky when it comes to games, i recently bought Darksiders 2 and found it boring.Ignore anyone who says this game is bad. I am extremley picky when it comes to games, i recently bought Darksiders 2 and found it boring.

    This has some new elements, high speed car hijacking is fantastic. Combat is great and the graphics are fine.

    If you are looking for a great story and something to entertain you until GTA V buy this game.
    Collapse
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    ¿Que tiene que tener un sandox para llamar mi atención? no se.

    Sleeping Dogs. La verdad que no se como fue que me llego a interesar este
    ¿Que tiene que tener un sandox para llamar mi atención? no se.

    Sleeping Dogs.

    La verdad que no se como fue que me llego a interesar este juego porque en general a mi los sandbox me aburren, nunca me eh terminado un GTA porque como dije me aburren a excepción de Red dead redemption que eso es una hermosa obra de arte pero fue la acción que me llamo la atención?...Repito no se que fue lo que me llamo pero la verdad que no me arrepiento de que haya interesado porque los muchachos de square enix y united front games hicieron un gran juego y para que yo termine y me dieran las ganas de platinarlo(que no lo hice) es porque realmente vale la pena jugarlo. El juego esta basado en Hong kong donde nuestro querido protagonista wei shen hace papel de un policia encubierto tras haberse mandado unas cagadas en los Estados unidos, pero para hacer bien su trabajo tiene que jugar el papel de justiciero y de mafioso. La historia esta buena, no es del todo una alegria sino que tiene sus giros drásticos y que te den ganas de matar es algo genial :B (hablo en el juego, no te dan ganas de matar en the real life).
    Durante todo el juego podemos aumentar de rango en distintas cosas por ejemplo Cosas de policías, de maleantes, etc; la ambientación de hong kong es genial no es un mapa grande pero los detalles de la ciudad son buenos y tiene mucha vida, esta llena de gente que cada uno hace lo suyo y no siempre lo mismo(no se si me llegan a entender a lo que me refiero).

    Gráficamente el juego es genial, supieron utilizar muy bien el motor havok. Cada detalle de la ciudad, el agua, cuando estas mojado todo eso se ve genial.
    Su jugabilidad es mas que buena demasiada cómoda, nada de que quejarme o opinar al respecto.
    Sonido esta bien, tiene buena banda sonora y sería un punto a favor a mis gustos.
    La acción es genial, mucha y mucha acción de la buena, y no solo tiros a pie sino en autos a persecución sino las peleas "mano a mano", pelear contra muchos es algo divertido ya que wei shen es una mezcla entre jackie chan y bruce lee.

    Como todo juego tiene sus cosas malas y lo principal serían los Bugs osea en que juego sandox no están presentes nuestros queridos bugs? en sleeping dogs no hacen la excepción también carece de originalidad esta bien que tenga muy buena historia muy buena jugabilidad pero no van a ver nada que no hayan visto en un gta.

    Sleeping dogs es un excelente juego de acción, un hong kong lleno de vida que no siempre encontraras algo divertido que hacer, aunque no es mas que una copia de GTA
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I loved the story in this game, and Wei Shen is a bad ass. If you are looking for another awesome open world game then look no further, HongI loved the story in this game, and Wei Shen is a bad ass. If you are looking for another awesome open world game then look no further, Hong Kong is a beautiful place and a great location for a video game. The fighting in this game is brutal and so satisfying, there isn't a lot of guns in the game but you don't need guns when the hand to hand combat is brilliant. The driving is arcadey but it works really well. Overall this game is a must buy for open world fans. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    2
    I am quite disappointed with the game. The story is waaaaaayyy too predictable and a bit too boring. The fighting is fun but the AIs are a bitI am quite disappointed with the game. The story is waaaaaayyy too predictable and a bit too boring. The fighting is fun but the AIs are a bit too sluggish. As a kung fu based game I really thought the fighting would be very fast, quick and tense but instead the most of the AIs are always standing around waiting for you to go to them and attack them then they attack you. The driving mechanic is bit clunky. The Hong Kong theme is quite good though and some of the activities are quite cool like the karaoke. But the game became quite boring too quickly. SOme of the side missions are quite boring but there are some quite fun side missions especially the ones that have Wei surrounded by enemies and Wei have to fight his way out. Sleeping dogs went below my expectation but this game got potential. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews