Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    91
    It's a great call back to classic SEGA characters and franchises, and provides a heavy emphasis on fan service while maintaining a level of quality not often seen in kart racers outside of the Nintendo developed ones. It seriously feels like a love letter to long-time SEGA fans, and is certainly worth picking up.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    I can look at it from any angle I want. I can detract that SEGA fan bonus, I can play this with people who have no idea what a Dreamcast is and this still is the pinnacle of what this sub-genre has to offer. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed reaches new heights, challengingly smiling down on Mario Kart.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    86
    It's a balanced and entertaining racer, then, but above all else, Transformed is incredible fan service.
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    83
    Transformed is one of the best fun-racers in recent months and a classy alternative to Mario Kart, whose dominance is crumbling away. Without the frame-rate problems during split-screen races the speeding hedgehog might even have outpaced the racing plumber.
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    82
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed respects and reproduces its source material with such precision that it'll leave Sega fans desperately clinging to the foolish belief that we'll get proper Nights or Burning Rangers sequels one day. On its own merits Transformed is a competent racer with a great drift mechanic, and the dynamically shifting carts and tracks are a solid contribution to an otherwise homogenous genre.
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    Sumo Digital has done a superb job creating a kart game that works. It may suffer from a lack of originality, but the game is definitely worth your attention. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed could have been another mediocre attempt at a kart racer, but its solid controls, plethora of modes and unlockables, and iconic characters allow it to shine on its own podium.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    A superior Mario Kart clone and certainly the best Sega has ever produced, especially in terms of the teary-eyed nostalgia inspired by its endless retro cameos.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    This racing game is quite enjoyable until you play too much or just get everything. I like everything about the game like: track design,This racing game is quite enjoyable until you play too much or just get everything. I like everything about the game like: track design, graphics, the characters, world tour mode and all the modes. I might talk about the bad first, well there are the odd glitches here and there one includes the transform ring failing to spawn on the track rouge's landing or that when you do a trick at the top of the tunnel at the end of the flight section, you can Clip through the transform ring and get stuck but they are the two I found that are bad. The good things are that the gameplay is good, some of the best controls in all Xbox 360 racing games, good characters and less cheesy than Mario kart. Overall get this game if you find it but try and get the bonus edition because you can get metal sonic, outrun bay and an exclusive pack of stickers for your license with a few mods Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Better than any Mario Kart without a doubt! The student surpassed the master! A new mark for Nintendo to surpass for Mario Kart Wii U!Better than any Mario Kart without a doubt! The student surpassed the master! A new mark for Nintendo to surpass for Mario Kart Wii U!

    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed delivery what we missed since Mario Kart DS: A top-notch Kart racing. Fun granted!
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Okay, when I wrote my first review for this game, I had only played it a little bit, but now I've gotten to play through a huge portion of theOkay, when I wrote my first review for this game, I had only played it a little bit, but now I've gotten to play through a huge portion of the game. This game is by far one of, if not, THE most beautifully done game made by SEGA & is an amazing pickup no matter if you are a SEGA or Sonic fan or not. This game is a mix of the first Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing game, as well as Mario Kart 7 & Need For Speed. It features all the great fun of a kart racing game, but features beautiful graphics & a more realistic racing game engine that resembles Need For Speed or Forza Motorsport. The controls are very realistic to how how think each vehicle transformation should play. The car sections play just as anyone would expect, the boat sections are great with waves & currents to make the sections funner & more challenging, and the flight sections play like a flight simulator (inverted up & down, etc). For SEGA fans, this game is sure to please you with an incredible roster of beloved Sonic & SEGA characters, as well as tracks that are based off of great levels that they've made into fun tracks to race on. The soundtrack for the game is made of mainly of remixes, but is still perfectly fitting & very catchy. This game is also like how video games used to be, packed with a bunch of amazing unlockable content you don't have to pay for but you really have to work hard to get, it's a very lengthy, but nonetheless, amazing game. No matter if you've been a SEGA fan for ages, or if you just picked up the game to have some fun, you'll love this game for sure, it is for sure one of the best racing games out there. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    One of the best games to be published by Sega in years, Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed is more than just an average kart racer. On theOne of the best games to be published by Sega in years, Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed is more than just an average kart racer. On the surface, it appears to be a Mario Kart clone, but has enough of its own character to set it apart, as well as a very different physics model. The game plays more like a hybrid of a kart racer and an actual racer, with additional segments of tracks dedicated to boat racing and aircraft racing (including inverted controls similar to a flight simulator). In addition to the obligatory grand prix, single race and time trial modes, the game includes a "world tour" mode, which creates a large amount of variety in gameplay styles. These include drifting trials, combat races, boost trials, and elimination rounds. All of this is done with a degree of polish rarely seen from Sega, the controls are tight, the environments colorful and detailed, and the music (consisting of DnB and breakbeat remixes of old Sega tunes) is outstanding and very fitting.

    The game is not without its flaws. As one would expect from a Sega game, there are still a few minor glitches, but generally nothing more than a few graphical errors, and certainly nothing game breaking. In addition, a large portion of the game's content is locked at the start, and unlocking all of the racers, tracks, and racer mods is a very very time consuming process. However, this is in my opinion preferable to being given content as DLC. There is no shortage of content. By all measures this is a complete game, and even if content has to be unlocked, it's not unlocked through the use of your wallet.

    This game is both a love letter to long-time Sega fans, as well as an excellent game in its own right. Whether you're a long-time Sega fan who misses the countless IPs that Sega has retired over the years, or somebody who enjoys fast paced kart racers, you owe it to yourself to give this one a try.
    Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is fantastic. Rights the wrongs of the original in every way. With great characters from Sega's pastSonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is fantastic. Rights the wrongs of the original in every way. With great characters from Sega's past including characters from the likes of Jet Set Radio, Golden Axe and Space Channel 5, this game is a love letter to the biggest Sega fans. All tracks feel a treat to drive through, with the tracks Transforming after each lap to take you into a different driving experience. With your kart transforming into a boat and plane, the transformation is seamless. Minor complaint is with the flying and boat racing. At times, with all that's going on in the game, it is not always clear where you are supposed to be flying and with driving in a boat, it generally feels as though you have limited to no control of the boat at times, with the waters movement proving to be erratic at times. Other than the aforementioned niggles, the general experience with Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a great one. A must have for any kart racing fans and Sega fans. Yes, it's not Mario Kart, but this is the best Kart racer that isn't a Mario Kart game and, I must be honest, I enjoyed Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed much more than I did Mario Kart 7. Collapse
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    Mario Kart meets Diddy Kong Racing, literally. It has some interesting graphics and decors, but the gameplay is way too similar to Diddy KongMario Kart meets Diddy Kong Racing, literally. It has some interesting graphics and decors, but the gameplay is way too similar to Diddy Kong Racing on the N64 (Car, boats and planes). Some maps are well-designed but most of them are clones of tracks from the previous game. Don't bother trying to finish all "Rank S" mode in Single-Player, the AI and item pick-ups will rarely play in your favor. I'd suggest a rental at most. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    0
    I used to like Sonic. I remember two years earlier (Grade 6) I wore a Sonic hat shaped like his quills to school and pretended me and myI used to like Sonic. I remember two years earlier (Grade 6) I wore a Sonic hat shaped like his quills to school and pretended me and my friends were Sonic characters, and eagerly awaited Sonic Generations, the one game I was looking forward to the most that year. But I've since changed. Sonic is a game for babies, and yet his fanbase is flooded with whiny and idiotic teens and adults. Only recently have I decided to stop playing Sonic. Now let's get into reviewing the actual game. It's a TRAINWRECK of a kart racer, a homage to retro Sega, a Sonic game and as a material object. I thought the worst was behind Sonic, and that the future for him looked brighter. Far from it. This is THE worst Sonic game ever made, and one of the worst games in history.
    Let's start off small. The game is a sad and blatant cash grab. It's clearly ripping off Mario Kart 7 with its 'land, air and water' gimmick. Sadly there's no avoiding a comparison between the two games, and it won't be pretty. On one hand, MK7 was a polished and well-made kart racer (possibly the best in the series, even), wheras ASRT is broken, ugly and disgraceful. Oh yeah, you thought Sonic 06 was broken? This one has millions more glitches. MILLIONS. I couldn't play a single race without at least ten glitches. The collision detection dissapears for both objects and item boxes, the vehicle wouldn't transform at the right time (when I come to a body of water, it would stay in car mode, and my character drowned) and sometimes the position ranking doesn't even go up, meaning that you can stay in lead all throughout a race and come in last, all because the position ranking wouldn't move. The all-star moves are a joke. They are seriously downgraded from the first game, because now THEY DO NOTHING. I'm not even joking, they're just eye candy! As far as I'm concerned it's another glitch. I wouldn't be suprised at all. Split-screen multiplayer lags everywhere, making one short race take up to an hour! Online multiplaer is arguably even WORSE. The game was supposed to pay homage to Sega's glory days, back when they didn't suck, but they just ended up ruining all their franchises. I'd give this game a 1 out of 10 if the music was any decent, but it's godawful (enough to make Ke$ha's music seem like a masterpiece), so a 0 it is. One of the worst things ever created.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews