Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 70
    Our favourite little blue hedgehog's sneakers don't have quite the traction they used to. [Issue#79, p.78]
  2. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    70
    An excellent representation of the best the series has to offer and is sure to make Sonic Fans drool from nostalgia. Sadly, lack of innovation, stagnant problems in the gameplay and quality-inconsistent stages, hinder it from reaching new heights.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    It is the best Sonic game we've had in years - though that's hardly saying much. Flawed at times, Sonic Generations is an enjoyable game and one that's easy to like. The failings of Modern Sonic bring the quality down, yet some moments also show what can be done well with a 3D Sonic game.
  5. 70
    Not bad. Sonic's 20th birthday comes with a pretty decent platformer.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. 70
    Unfortunately, only a third of the game is dedicated to re-creating Genesis-era stages, and classics like Sonic the Hedgehog 3 and Sonic 3D aren't represented at all. Even worse, the game's beatable in five or six hours, with little incentive to reach 100% completion. Hopefully, Generations can spawn a sequel that fixes these flaws.
  8. 70
    While the first half hour of Sonic Generations is jarring, it's really worth sticking with. There's a lot of fan love here, from showdowns with your rivals - Metal, Shadow and Silver - to revisiting some familiar but excellently reworked levels. But it's a scarring shame that the Sonic 1 emulation reminds you how smooth Sonic should be. And he isn't.
  9. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    A great 20th anniversary gift for Sonic fans and although it can never make up for all the series' low points it at least helps draw a line under them.
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    68
    The last half of the game serves only to remind you of how far the series has fallen from its original form. I felt smothered by Sonic Team's insistence on shoehorning recent Sonic games, no matter how awful, into the 20-year timeline.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    65
    There's good in here, but too much mediocre or just plain bad moments to recommend paying full retail price for the game.
  12. Dec 11, 2011
    60
    Sonic Generations lets you play as two different Sonics, one from the present and one from the past. The first levels are fantastic, but the level design soon gets dull. The time trials and the music is good though.
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    60
    Sonic Generations is a great history lesson about the series descent from greatness. It starts off fantastic and the 2d-part is good overall, but the 3d-versions of the tracks are filled with the same problems the series has had in the later half of its lifespan. On top of that there are way too few levels and the quality of them is anywhere between great and horrible.
  14. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 112
  2. Negative: 8 out of 112
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember theSonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I played the Demo, and remained optimistic, but cautious. Now i have the game in my hand, and i must say, this is the best Sonic game since 3I played the Demo, and remained optimistic, but cautious. Now i have the game in my hand, and i must say, this is the best Sonic game since 3 & Knuckles. Gorgeous visuals, awesome soundtrack, simple but effective story, good gameplay and awesome level design with multiple branching paths, whithout being the clusterf*ck of a mess that was Sonic CD's level design, complete with a hard mode and a ton of content. It's awesome. If you want a break from all these FPSs and want simple, yet challenging fun, give this a spin. Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    The real Sonic is finally back! Modern Sonic it's cool, but i, you, they, he, she, ALL, think Classic Sonic is back. Thanks SEGA for this great game.