Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic is back for his fourth installment in the classic 2D series, revamped from the ground up.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    91
    Even though Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a short ride, it's a fun one.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    84
    A joyous return to form for the series that makes us very excited about what's in store for future episodes. It's great to have Sonic back, it's just a shame it's all over so quickly.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    The best Sonic game to come out in the past 16 years.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Most importantly, it nails the fun of hitting springboards, bouncing off enemies, and defying gravity with pure speed. While hardly perfect, it's solid enough that even reviving the old "Se-ga!" before the title screen feels appropriate. After a decade of missteps, Sonic has earned it.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    Regardless of its faults, Sonic the Hedgehog 4 is a fun, frantic game that redeems The Fastest Thing Alive in a way that was drastically needed. If you're a Sonic fan who doesn't mind parting with the points, this is one download you certainly won't regret.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    65
    This faithful but inconsistent throwback to the earliest Sonic games mingles high-speed thrills with a few too many frustrations.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    40
    Platformers shouldn't have half-arsed interpretations of physics. They shouldn't have a continue system which is for all intents and purposes simply an inconvenience generator. And they shouldn't have half-thought out continue systems, designed solely to annoy.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 20 out of 44
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    please people do not listen to the idiot noob sonic fans. sonic 4 is wonderful. the only problem i have with this game..is that it short. sonic fans always want to find somtheing to **** about and it's annoying. 2D works for sonic very well, and it's how sonic should have been all these years. there's only about teny tiny mixed reviews of sonic 4 & a few STUPID BAD ONES. and aLOT of good ones. sega finally got the hint and listen to the fans. the games is just pure sonic fun/ the music is great/ no **** story/ no bunch of lame characters! just SONIC!!! all we want is SONIC.episode 1 is just the begining.i can't wait for ep 2 to come out. great job sega, and welcome back sonic. Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    the division about this among gamers seems really pathetic to me. it is like people who loved the old games would NEVER be satisfied with anything new that resembles the old. i wonder why they keep buying new sonic games then, should just stick to the old games.
    if you are however somebody who is not afraid of 3d graphics and who actually KNOWS sonic and has not not played it in 20 years and expects sonic to be something different than it actually was, then i'm sure you will enjoy this game. it is absolutely true to the old games and only has very minor issues that i can't even remember any more as of writing this review.
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    I had high hopes, bought the game and seemed like all the nitpicking and whining alot of fans had been shouting was true from the beginning.

    I am so dissapointed and feel ripped off big time. People that like this game have no taste in quality and I believe are mostly fanboys. Sonicteam needs to stop listening to them fanboys because they are one of the reasons why sonicteam doesn't get encouraged to put effort in their games. This game deserves all the negativity it's getting and I hope less people will make the same mistake as I have.

    This game **** sucks.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    Horrible physics, this game haven't relation with classic sonic games in the gameplay, storyline, and the music instrumentation.
    This game
    doesn't made the function to continue the Sonic 3 & Knuckles history(repetead levels) and gameplay, but the IDEIA to do a classic game was good Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    For a game trying to throw it back to the Genesis days it fails to nail many of the things that made that game great. The clunky controls and physics fail to convince me I'm playing a Sonic game or a Mario game for that matter. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    0
    Sonic 4 is not worthy of the name "Sonic 4" what we got was a Sonic 1 reskin. Hold right to win, bad music. Why is there no Tails or Knuckles its a major step back what an insult Expand

See all 44 User Reviews