Sonic the Hedgehog Xbox 360

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    This good is so good that last time I was at a friends house I just left there for. Now when they see me they shout very mean words, and it hurts my feels.
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Best Storyline. Super Music. Cool characters desing. Epickness cutscenes. The great sonic adventure formula. Best then Sonic Lost World and some new of Sonic games.
    25/10
  3. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    let me make this clear. SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2006 Is a GOOD game. the story sucked yes there are (hilarious) glitches yes but i love nearly everything else i kinda liked silver's levels shadow's were good and i loved sonic's story the boss fights were okay and mephiles is a cool character so overall Sonic The Hedgehog 2006 is a good game
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is really awesome.
  5. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    SO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAMESO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAME OF IT'S TIME! The only Sonic game to succeed this is Sonic Boom. Even if you have played Sonic Boom, this game is a must-play for all living things. I don't care how you get it, GET THIS GAME NOW! Expand
  6. CoreyK.
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    My only criticism is those annoying soleanna sequences where you have to go around gathering information from townspeople you don't really care about. But the mission sequences are fast and a lot of fun. Especially like being able to be characters other than sonic.
  7. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This was the last use of the great sonic adventure formula, that could have been an excellent game but due to its excessive amount of errors, fails to reach the height of being considered a classic. It has all it needed to be an excellent sonic game, but it was not revised. Yet, I think Sega needs to use again this formula, but revising first for technical issues. Still, this game offersThis was the last use of the great sonic adventure formula, that could have been an excellent game but due to its excessive amount of errors, fails to reach the height of being considered a classic. It has all it needed to be an excellent sonic game, but it was not revised. Yet, I think Sega needs to use again this formula, but revising first for technical issues. Still, this game offers some really nice platforming, great variety in gameplay, a great soundtrack, and a decent story, it all requires is patience. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    Yes, the game has some bugs, but the story is so nice! I love the soundtrack too. Some level are to long and the gameplay of Shadow and Silver isn't so good but the level of Sonic are so nice. I think it's not the best game but a good one!
  9. BenG.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    This is an action game in which you control a superhero teen hedgehog who travels to an apocalyptic future with his emo rival and runs around highways and caves yelling catch phrases. How can you not consider that righteous or nostalgic? The game looks gorgeous, reeks of attitude, and is easy to play. You will die a lot and wait through a lot of loading screens, but that doesn't take This is an action game in which you control a superhero teen hedgehog who travels to an apocalyptic future with his emo rival and runs around highways and caves yelling catch phrases. How can you not consider that righteous or nostalgic? The game looks gorgeous, reeks of attitude, and is easy to play. You will die a lot and wait through a lot of loading screens, but that doesn't take away the beauty in Sonic The Hedgehog. Expand
  10. IsaiasG.
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    To me, Sonic the Hedgehog is a great PS3 game, thought I stand corrected about the game being considered great by everyone else, since critics gave it a bad score.
  11. TommyN.
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    It is a very fun game, but I know it's gone low price because of the loading time, game's glitches & control problems.
  12. OlteanuBogdan
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    I'm from Romania and I don't have a PlayStation3 or a XBOX 360, but I am waiting to appear this game in my country. I think in april I can download this game, buy it online or from the stores. I got 130 screenshots with Sonic the Hedgehog 2006 game, 30 little movies and trailers, wallpapers and screensavers. The game has a very good quality, you think Sonic is playing in a realI'm from Romania and I don't have a PlayStation3 or a XBOX 360, but I am waiting to appear this game in my country. I think in april I can download this game, buy it online or from the stores. I got 130 screenshots with Sonic the Hedgehog 2006 game, 30 little movies and trailers, wallpapers and screensavers. The game has a very good quality, you think Sonic is playing in a real world, all the buildings seems to be in details, and the characters are fantastic. I want very musch to play with Knuckles the Echidna, and I have all the game with Sonic(S.Adventure(1 and 2), Sonic Riders, Sonic Heroes, Sonic Advance plus, Sonic Mega Collection plus, and more. I'm a big fan and my dream is to be one of SEGA's character making, and story rider, make games with Sonic and the others. Good luck! Expand
  13. JustinB.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    An awe-inspiring continuation of the Sonic series. For every fault in the game, there are many more great moments that nullify any frustration while playing the game.
  14. RKF
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. It will load, then the person will give you a one liner on what you have to do, then it will load again! It's even worse if you fail the mission because you've go to go through it all over again. Another thing is the silly mini-games. Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. It will load, then the person will give you a one liner on what you have to do, then it will load again! It's even worse if you fail the mission because you've go to go through it all over again. Another thing is the silly mini-games. Sonic has to save the world BUT before he does, he has the option of solving a silly puzzle? The Stages are amazing though. Beautiful graphics. Expand
  15. Laura
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    I haven't played the game (since I don't have a next-gen system) but by looking at the cutscenes and the gameplay, I can already tell this is an awesome game. Sure they use the terrible 4Kids voices for the cast but Silver's, Blaze's and Eggman's really isn't all that bad (for 4Kids actors). The cutscenes graphics are amazing, they come so close to the actual I haven't played the game (since I don't have a next-gen system) but by looking at the cutscenes and the gameplay, I can already tell this is an awesome game. Sure they use the terrible 4Kids voices for the cast but Silver's, Blaze's and Eggman's really isn't all that bad (for 4Kids actors). The cutscenes graphics are amazing, they come so close to the actual graphics in the game play that it really blew my mind. Not to mention that this game had Orchestral music and that always wins me over. I have been a Sonic fan since the early 2000's and I am still hooked. Just because the critics give it a bad rating, doesn't mean it should drive fans away. I think that this is a really promising game, and I hope there are more like this one in the near future. Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    zomg its the best sawnik game ever. go get it now. really. k thx bai.................................. you can probably get it for free in a gamestop dumpster fyi.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of itsi nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of its graphicz it haz better graphics then **** of duty 2 u should toats play it if tat not enough 2 change ur mind then be mind blown robotnikz speed traps constantly get u stuck in wallz and floorz u should toats play it it be teh best gamez of all time everyone play the dang game kthxbai tat is mai review also dont breathe and stay frosty kthxbai ;) Collapse
  18. May 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing music as usual, fun gameplay, but the game could have been better overall. Voices don't match up with mouths at times; average to awful voice acting; forced to play as other characters in many levels, even though it should be only the character you actually chose to play as; the sonic-elise relationship was cringe-worthy and annoyin; character models were average if not bad, especially Elise's; shadow feels like they are forcing you to use vehicles instead of your normal speed, and while some parts with it work, others shouldn't even be attempted; annoying to fight enemies; some slow parts; when climbing walls with rouge or knuckles it can be hard to jump off; bad controls; average storyline; some stages are recycled with other characters; NPC's simply say "Hey." in the same voice and an extremely long amount of text while moving their hands and mouth randomly, rather than actually making the voices, mouths, and hands be unique and work in sync; knuckles and rouge never get to hunt for emeralds; obvious often stated; loading takes forever; side missions tedious; AI followers often dying many times because they don't realize there is in fact an ability to jump;;;;Other than that it's fine.
    ----Bottom line. It's average. Not as bad as many say it is, but still sort of bad. Rent it if you think you like it. Sega really should have polished it way more than they actually did.
    Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I played this game. Very good graphics, great story line, and especially great game play. I don't understand why people HATE this game. This is my absolute favorite game ever. And Silver is not a useless or stupid character. For example, he has the COOLEST powers ever. He is just naive, that's what people don't like about him. Mephiles was a great villain in the game and hard to battle,I played this game. Very good graphics, great story line, and especially great game play. I don't understand why people HATE this game. This is my absolute favorite game ever. And Silver is not a useless or stupid character. For example, he has the COOLEST powers ever. He is just naive, that's what people don't like about him. Mephiles was a great villain in the game and hard to battle, which is reasonable. Mephiles sure is a lot better of a villain than Dr. Eggman, because Eggman tried to defeat Sonic for years, and Mephiles just kills him like that... I rate this game 10 out of 10. Expand
  20. May 14, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!! Same thing goes to the PS3 version. I did played the Xbox 360 version
  21. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    I have to say, I really, REALLY enjoyed this game and it is probably my second favourite Sonic game EVER MADE.

    Why? 1) The characters and storyline are fantastic (save for perhaps the Elise and Sonic combination) 2) The levels are imaginative and intelligent Silver's are great as well. 3) The music is superlative. 4) Beautiful graphics. So... why only 8? Well, the
    I have to say, I really, REALLY enjoyed this game and it is probably my second favourite Sonic game EVER MADE.

    Why?

    1) The characters and storyline are fantastic (save for perhaps the Elise and Sonic combination)

    2) The levels are imaginative and intelligent Silver's are great as well.

    3) The music is superlative.

    4) Beautiful graphics.

    So... why only 8?

    Well, the game is simply unfinished. I think that's its largest flaw by far. It's like playing a beta version. If you can deal with bugs, then I think you'll enjoy it much more. The storyline also has some issues and Shadow's levels are a bit dull.

    Overall though only Sonic Adventure 2 tops this in the Sonic series in my opinion. A wasted opportunity, yes, and much less impressive than it SHOULD have been, but an unpolished diamond is still a diamond
    Expand
  22. May 17, 2014
    10
    Sonic is my boyfriend.
    Every night I fantasize about sonic coming into my room, slamming my head into the pillow and entering me, I would moan passionately and sometimes I would even orgasm simply from this fantasy.
  23. May 20, 2014
    8
    This may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more Sonic games for a Mature audience should be made and this was one of them. Although they completely mest up in Gameplay mechanics and never-ending loading screens, I really enjoyed the storyline as well as the Music! Now would I like to see more games likeThis may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more Sonic games for a Mature audience should be made and this was one of them. Although they completely mest up in Gameplay mechanics and never-ending loading screens, I really enjoyed the storyline as well as the Music! Now would I like to see more games like this? Of course. SEGA had really needed to work on this game more than they should have. They seemed to have concentrated on the storyline more than the gameplay which, of course, I would encourage them to do in the future for any mature Sonic games but they should give equal effort towards the gameplay. Advice for next time they make a game that has as much potential as this: Make yourself a longer due date, as I'm sure your fan base (Myself included) would love to wait a long time be it years for an extra-ordinary game! 10/10 for the story, 10/10 for the Music, 9/10 on Adding storylines for each character and 5/10 for what should have been better worked gameplay. Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good. Gameplay: 7/10 Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher scores.
    Genuine love: 10/10
    nuff said
    Thank you Sonic Team. This game may be glitchy, rushed, and unfinished, but it takes a lot for a Sonic game to impress a cray-cray person like me
    Oh, and I don't know why I'm doing this for the XB360 version, cause I got it for the PS3
    Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    I expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigoI expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigo characters freely after you finish the game, and increased the characters' speed a bit. Expand
  26. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    everyone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh games just trying to be realistic. i loved every second of this game. the environments where beautiful, the gameplay was solid (snake hahaha), and the story made me cry. teh whole furry thing was a great new direction for teh franchise and i only wish tehyeveryone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh games just trying to be realistic. i loved every second of this game. the environments where beautiful, the gameplay was solid (snake hahaha), and the story made me cry. teh whole furry thing was a great new direction for teh franchise and i only wish tehy continued it with the future installments. SONIC SPEED! long live sega. Expand
  27. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OMG this is the bestest gamest everest. I was playin a viddygame on the yesternoon yesterdoy any I said to my thoughts "If only More viddygames imploormentiated the ability to not know what you are happening" SaWnic The Sledgehammer remidies all plast gweivances in that the player has widdle to no control over what is happen. Humans being flwaed creatures Sanic Beam Decided to remove as much of our flaawed input as pawsible. They Geniusues have also disclovered that challoonging goomplooy is a thong of the pest as they have decided that the puture of viddygames is wrestling with glitches and bad design. Thiws gamey is better than moosart, becaws did mawsart have a Hedgethong kissing a weerd japanees girrl?

    ~Sinceerly
    -Sanic Faan In Da Nile
    Expand
  28. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    One of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced someOne of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced some slowdown on the game, but the game its self is perfect. I don't know why people hate this game and say it is glitchy because I didn't see one glitch in the entire run of the game. Expand
  29. Aug 2, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay a LOT of people hate this game depends on the experience, My PS3 version on one hand is one of the Worst games I've experienced, however the Xbox version is something I truly enjoy and gave me so many new things to like, Mephiles my favorite villain, Silver my favorite hero. Sonic's and Silver's gameplay I really love along with some of the Amiigos,and I really enjoy the open world level design. I love this game and others shouldn't be bashed for loving it like I do, and people need to STOP making troll accounts just to hate on this game, honestly see how many people have this for their only review and it'll all make sense. Seriously also Metacritic needs to check IP addresses because I swear some people are making multiple accounts just to hate on this game and I'm sick of it Expand
  30. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty good even though the games loading time is what stops it from being a ten.
    I find the game that is sometimes a bit on the slow side during some stages. But it is a good game all round it is as good as the first game of the series I can't wait for the new game to come out.
  31. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    i nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of itsi nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of its graphicz it haz better graphics then **** of duty 2 u should toats play it if tat not enough 2 change ur mind then be mind blown robotnikz speed traps constantly get u stuck in wallz and floorz u should toats play it it be teh best gamez of all time everyone play the dang game kthxbai tat is mai review also dont breathe and stay frosty kthxbai ;) Collapse
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. 55
    If only the developers had focused on delivering a simple, fun experience rather than trying to create something far beyond their reach.
  2. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  3. Atrocious camera angles lead to cheap deaths, the slippery controls make it difficult to get a handle on the characters and the game has a large problem with pacing. It tries to mix in side missions with general stages, and the disastrous results ruin the game.