Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. Sonic's latest adventure fails yet again to live up to the delight and fast-paced action we grew with, mostly due to the structure of the challenges. Silver's pretty cool, though. [Issue 14, p.82]
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 124
  2. Negative: 73 out of 124
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    zomg its the best sawnik game ever. go get it now. really. k thx bai.................................. you can probably get it for free in a gamestop dumpster fyi. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    let me make this clear. SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2006 Is a GOOD game. the story sucked yes there are (hilarious) glitches yes but i love nearly everything else i kinda liked silver's levels shadow's were good and i loved sonic's story the boss fights were okay and mephiles is a cool character so overall Sonic The Hedgehog 2006 is a good game Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic '06. A game released to 'Celebrate' the 15th anniversary of the Series. Let's start with the bad: It's buggy, The plot is stupid, the levels are unmemorable and dull, the graphics are none too pleasing in my opinion, and the whole game just feels too dark for a Sonic Title.

    It's not all terrible though. I mean, the music's good, the bosses' designs are pretty neat, if a bit too realistic for Sonic. The glitches are some of the most fun I've had breaking a game, from going to space, to standing upside down. If you're a glitch hunter, it's a must-have.

    However, these glitches, while many and entertaining, are actually quite rare without going out of your way. I originally played through the whole game, and only experienced a couple of bugs. It was only on my second playthrough, after hearing all of this stuff about bugs and the like, that I started experiencing them, and even then, normally causing them deliberately.

    But the plot. It's just unforgivable. I mean, who's idea was it to have a plot in a Sonic game, where Sonic just blindly chases someone who isn't even the main bad guy?! THE MAIN CHARACTER IS UTTERLY USELESS UNTIL THE VERY END! If you're curious and can find it for less than a fiver, then you may as well. Don't buy it for anything less, for any reason. Ever.
    Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    3
    This was the first game I have ever played on the Xbox 360. What away to start off! Awful gameplay, horrendous story, crappy controls, and the list goes on. There are some bad Sonic games out there and it just so happens I own a good chunk of them. With those games, there were bad, but at least some had a replay value. This game should not even Exist!!!! This game is complete garbage! It's insulting to all the Sonic fans out there! If there is one GOOD thing about the game is the graphics. Its of the better looking Sonic games out there, but graphics don't make a great game. Game is bad, do not I repeat DO NOT buy this game! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    This game functions. That is the only good thing I can say about this game. Heck half the time the game doesnt even do that. This should be avoided with every ability a human being has. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    1
    HORRIBLE GAME, IT SUCKS, ITS THE WORST VIDEOGAME MADE IN HISTORY, NEVER TOUCH THIS GAME EVER, BECAUSE IF YOU DO ILL KILL YOU IN A HOLE SO NEVER BUY THIS SH*T Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2011
    0
    OK lemmie start by saying my die count is probably 90000, I freaking HATE IT!it sooo stupid it's just......AAAA Sega must have hired mental people to make this freaking game! Expand

See all 124 User Reviews