Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take a trip back in time with over 40 titles from the SEGA Genesis era, including your Sonic The Hedgehog favorites. In classic single-player and multiplayer battles, you’ll take down a huge variety of enemies, including Sonic’s nemesis Dr. Eggman (AKA Dr. Robotnik), shuriken-flinging ninjas, hordes of altered beasts and the world’s greatest fighting champions. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. With the complete Phantasy Star collection, six Sonic the Hedgehog titles and a bunch of Streets of Rage titles, this Sega compilation is one of the most comprehensive yet. You would be a fool to pass up this $30 compilation disc!
  2. Simply put Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection may not be the ultimate or perfect collection but its damn near close.
  3. Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection is easily the most value that has been offered on one disc since The Orange Box back in the fall of 2007, so this is a no-brainer if you have any interest at all in playing a good number of these games.
  4. And while there are plenty of popular titles that could have been added to the collection, including Earthworm Jim, Gunstar Heroes, Splatterhouse 2 and 3, and perhaps a few games from the SEGA CD and Saturn consoles, there is still more than enough bang for your buck here. It may not be the ultimate collection fans wanted, but it’s still a jam packed look into a time when the Genesis does what Nintendon’t.
  5. It's better value than the Virtual Console, but it's still a lazy effort.
  6. A cracking collection. [Apr 2009, p.75]
  7. Why keep buying Genesis collections?

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    All four original Sonic games, all three Streets of Rage, all three original Golden Axe's, Shinobi 3 and more....enough said. Truly an awesome collection on true classics that helped shape present video games. Expand
  2. AndrewBedgood
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection is a great example of how retro game collection's should be put together. It has a wide variety of games from the Sega Genesis as well as the Sega Master System and arcades. With a price tag of 30 and nearly 50 games total (including the original 3 Shining titles, Golden Axe I-III (as well as the Zelda-esque Golden Axe Warrior), the original Sonic games, and Phantasy Star I-IV), Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection is an incredible bargain that is nearly impossible to pass up. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    This game is truly the greatest deal in the world and the best video game collection up to date. If you don't like one game in the collection, there's 48 other games in this collection to choose from from Streets of Rage to Sonic the Hedgehog to Shinobi III to Phantasy Star IV to Ecco the Dolphin. You can save mid-game whenever you want and pick up where you left off. At its current $20 price, that would be about .50 for each of these classic works of art. The only bad game in here is Sonic Spinball. Expand
  4. LukeF
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    Excellent collection. The acheivements are probably too easy to get (with 1 exception) and the (optional) smoothing filter can make games look worse and the text hard to read. Collapse
  5. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    If you had a Genesis growing up you will love this. You get a huge collection of Sega games from Comix Zone to Vectorman. Almost all of the greats! The emulation is excellent.

    Some good points I found:

    1. Sound and video emulation is extremely accurate. I still have my Sega Genesis, and it is very similar.

    2. Save anywhere at any time.

    3. Controls are good. If you don't like what they've given you, you can readjust them. You also have the option of turbo.

    4. You might have a tube TV (if you're a retro fan) or you might have a big widescreen. It doesn't matter. You can stretch the screen to your liking. However, it would have been extra nice if I was able to actually move the image (to make it as centered as possible) but most people won't need this feature.

    5. You can play with smoothed out graphics or just play normally.

    6. You can unlock and watch video interviews with the creators.

    7. Each game features artwork and a brief history on the game, however...

    The bad:

    1. ...The artwork for the games only show the front. Not the side and back. It would have been really neat if they made it "3D" so that you could rotate it, and look at the whole thing. Also, having the manuals in there would have been really nice. I guess they were rushed, but they missed an opportunity to recreate the whole experience.

    2. Kind of a pain in the butt to scroll through a huge collection of games like that. You can't even hold down or up to navigate through. You have to tap-tap-tap.

    3. Not everything is unlocked. I understand the videos be clamped down, but I wanted to play the other games right away! I actually thought locking the games was kinda dumb. As far as I know, I didn't see any instructions telling you how to unlock them. (Might be wrong though.)

    All in all, despite a few flaws, you will enjoy this collection if you are a Sega Genesis fan.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    This collection shows just how deep the hedgehog bit into the plumber's butt during the 90s. This a near perfect collection of the Sega Genesis' library. I say near perfect cause this disc does have it's flaws. Having online co-op for the Streets of Rage games would have been stellar, also was anyone crying for Bonanza Bros. or Flicky? Probably not. I wish they would've included a Sega CD or 32X title to unlock through gameplay. I do have a feeling they probably could have put more on this DVD, but I guess somethings come down to whether or not you can obtain a game's rights. All in all a collection worth owning if you remember these games or if you want to know what all those channels on YouTube remember so fondly. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    This is basically a rolled up package of 48 of the SEGA games in one small disc and the game vary in type from acion to god knows what type of game,the one thing is it is AEWSOME. Expand