User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2012
    4
    Played Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, withPlayed Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, with basically no depth into it: you play it for unlocking the characters (ah, and for unlocking Darth Vader via paid dlc, I have 3 words to express my opinion about it: ARE. YOU. KIDDING?). Next, instead of putting a campaign or a story mode, we have, a "tower" mode where you'll do challenges and defeat more enemies, and if you do them in the correct way you'll unlock chests (which usually contains clothes for your character creator). Still, this is one mode that adds basically more random fights, challenging yes, but random: it's not a good substitude for a campaign or a good story mode. At least the character creator is ok, and actually improved in some parts, and worsened in some: I mainly complain about the idea of putting stats on some armor pieces. It's not a bad idea, but I don't like to be forced into using specific pieces in order to be able to use a certain "skill" (increased by using a style more often). The online, eventually, makes the first appearence, but it's not that great either: I had hard times fighting due to the massive lag spikes and the match finder "didn't match" anything for me, making it useless. Huge downgrade from the third soul calibur, I can't believe how few content there is in here. In the end, this game has the bad habit of many games of this generation, and that is, to be focused on the online feature, and I wouldn't be a surprise if that was their big plan. After Soul Calibur 3, I expected a decent sequel with more content to play with. But this game, is not even close to it. Collapse
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    2
    If you want a dress-up game masquerading as a fighter, you've come to the right place. If you want a balanced fighter with solid game play, look elsewhere.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    The original Soul Calibur is the standard for how every game in this now beleaguered series should be made. Instead, we get Soul Calibur IV complete with unbalanced characters; some of them can win a match by using the exact same overpowered move ad nauseum, a ridiculous "armor" system that leaves your character with no clothes on as the battle continues, (What kind of warrior would goThe original Soul Calibur is the standard for how every game in this now beleaguered series should be made. Instead, we get Soul Calibur IV complete with unbalanced characters; some of them can win a match by using the exact same overpowered move ad nauseum, a ridiculous "armor" system that leaves your character with no clothes on as the battle continues, (What kind of warrior would go into battle with armor that shatters completely after 5 hits??), sluggish controls that make you wonder why the developers even bothered to include the controller in the gameplay, boring story mode that seems like an afterthought. I can say without flinching that this game is the WORST fighting game I have ever played in my life. Clay Fighter 63 1/3rd is a much more polished effort than this. Expand
  4. May 12, 2012
    0
    Played Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, withPlayed Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, with basically no depth into it: you play it for unlocking the characters (ah, and for unlocking Darth Vader via paid dlc, I have 3 words to express my opinion about it: ARE. YOU. KIDDING?). Next, instead of putting a campaign or a story mode, we have, a "tower" mode where you'll do challenges and defeat more enemies, and if you do them in the correct way you'll unlock chests (which usually contains clothes for your character creator). Still, this is one mode that adds basically more random fights, challenging yes, but random: it's not a good substitude for a campaign or a good story mode. At least the character creator is ok, and actually improved in some parts, and worsened in some: I mainly complain about the idea of putting stats on some armor pieces. It's not a bad idea, but I don't like to be forced into using specific pieces in order to be able to use a certain "skill" (increased by using a style more often). The online, eventually, makes the first appearence, but it's not that great either: I had hard times fighting due to the massive lag spikes and the match finder "didn't match" anything for me, making it useless. Huge downgrade from the third soul calibur, I can't believe how few content there is in here. In the end, this game has the bad habit of many games of this generation, and that is, to be focused on the online feature, and I wouldn't be a surprise if that was their big plan. After Soul Calibur 3, I expected a decent sequel with more content to play with. But this game, is not even close to it. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    So with the classic, new-school, and infinitely customizable character roster at the ready, and with online play fully operational, it's not a stretch to say this might be 2008's best fighting game.
  2. As for total newcomers, welcome to what is, in my opinion, the most fun, fully 3D fighter on the market. [Sept 2008, p.76]
  3. The sheer amount of features, including the Star Wars characters, makes Soulcalibur IV worth its premium asking price for those that adore this franchise. But it’s the synergistic power of these parts coming together that makes Soulcalibur IV a good recommendation to any player looking for a fresher take on the fighting game genre.