Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring thousands of ruthless weapon combinations and a robust skill system, Spartacus Legends delivers a variety of tools for gamers to customize their gladiators and dismember their foes. Gamers will be able to fight as Spartacus, Crixus or one of their own created gladiators as they battle with friends offline or in online multiplayer to join the ranks on the worldwide leaderboards. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    65
    Spartacus Legends is a free-2-play that deserves attention for a number of interesting features, such as the management phase and a certain tension attributed to the fact that you may lose your gladiator.
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    63
    It is theoretically enjoyable, but there are some issues, mostly online related, that spoil all the fun. We encourage you to give it a try, since it has a lot of entertainment to offer.
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    60
    Spartacus Legends has an interesting combat system and character progression, but fails with its servers problems, poor netcode and some graphics issues.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    60
    Better exploitation of the license would allow Spartacus Legends of becoming a title unavoidable at least for fans of the TV series.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    48
    Legends has missed the point of the business model entirely, giving unfortunate players a choice of grinding through shallow, unfulfilling and downright ugly combat, or forking out substantial amounts of real money to bypass said mediocrity. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  6. 20
    Most free to play games are engineered for compulsive play, but Spartacus Legends is about as addictive as swallowing sand. Thumbs down.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    20
    It's a bad game compromised further by awkward monetisation. [Issue#101, p.84]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Great for fans of the series...if the bugs and server issues get fixed. A patch is vital to this game being more than mediocre. I would have paid the 60 bucks for a smooth and complete Spartacus fighter. Instead, the developers urge players to go to the bank and pay 150 bucks for gold coins for the full game experience. This game as of now is not worth one dollar as it is nearly impossible to get on the servers. I am a die-hard Spartacus fan and a so-so fighter fan, so this game should be perfect for me. But will it get fixed? If it does and you can look past the pay scheme and the somewhat clunky fighter responses, this Tribute to all things gladiator might be just what the summer ordered. Right now, I think I will play some borderlands 2 or injustice, at least until the servers get fixed. I give the game a 8 based on it getting fixed. No fix, this game gets a 3. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    A decent game. Pretty standard "build up your character" by purchasing new equipment, etc. They've incorporated aspects from the TV series that feel at home within the context of the game. My only complaints would be that the fighting mechanics (which form the core of the game) could be a little more sophisticated, there is no local versus mode, and I'm not a big fan of the "pay2win" business model. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    Its alright for a show that has been turned into a game, good for the fans that enjoy watching Spartacus on there T.V's. Gameplay wise is above average not that great but is still slightly fun Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    5
    Spartacus Legends is not a fun game to play. Rough servers and bug issues plague the game from beginning to end. Do not waste your time if you have no patience. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Has the potential for greatness. But way too many bugs. For their highest priced gold(in game purchase) is $150 dollars?!? Playing against the CPU is fine didn't fine too many bugs there but online is horrible. Servers are always down. I mean always down. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    For being free I can't really complain to much it has potential but gets old quick but upgrading armor and equipment upgrades makes it at least a little entertaining but overall a boring fighter Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    A junk game. Just total crap. Horrible fighting, like a broken Tekken, and a pay-for-play menu thats faces you at every corner. Thanks for nothing. Is that what we are going to come to expect when free hand helds get ported to consoles? Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews