Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spec Ops: The Line is a provocative third-person modern military shooter that challenges players' morality by putting them in the middle of unspeakable situations where unimaginable choices affecting human life must be made. Spec Ops: The Line unfolds within the destroyed opulence of Dubai.Spec Ops: The Line is a provocative third-person modern military shooter that challenges players' morality by putting them in the middle of unspeakable situations where unimaginable choices affecting human life must be made. Spec Ops: The Line unfolds within the destroyed opulence of Dubai. Once the playground for the world's wealthiest elite, Dubai has fallen victim to a series of cataclysmic sandstorms. The city's ultramodern architecture lies half-buried under millions of tons of sand. The very sand that blankets the city plays a marquee role in altering combat situations and serves as a powerful but unpredictable force that will both help and hinder players throughout the course of the game. While most people have fled the now-barren wasteland before the sandstorms swept through, U.S. Army Colonel John Konrad and his loyal squad remained behind to protect those incapable of escape. Unable to reach anyone in Dubai after the storm hit, the U.S. Army feared Konrad and his team dead until they picked up a weak distress signal and launched a rescue operation. As U.S. Army Captain Martin Walker, you and your elite Delta Force team are sent to infiltrate the treacherous region to bring Konrad home. Players experience “"The Line," that razor's edge known only to men who deal in war. It is the line they cross when death and duty become one and the same. It is the end -- of self and sanity -- when their duty is done and only they remain. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    100
    From around the halfway mark onwards, The Line is a gripping, at time harrowing, and unforgettable experience. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  2. 85
    Even by military-shooter standards, Spec Ops: The Line is an uncompromisingly bleak journey into the mouth of madness. Sharing almost nothing with its predecessors except the Spec Ops moniker, this squad-based shooter tries to make you think - sometimes successfully, sometimes not - about the lines you're willing to cross in battle.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The power-fantasy catharsis behind other shooters buckles under the weight of Spec Ops: The Line's story of mistakes made and the consequences of intentions. And against very steep odds, Spec Ops: The Line succeeds in what it's trying to do.
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Well, call me utterly surprised. Spec Ops: The Line showed me that it's more than just a generic shooter. Backing up the solid, if somewhat familiar, gameplay is a fantastic and smart story experience that no other shooter has done for some time.
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    77
    German developers Yager put the horror of war on the screen – brutal, ruthless and depressing at times. In its' quiet moments it generates a fantastic atmosphere set in the Dubai desert. But this is still a shooter and regarding action and especially AI it falls short.
  6. Jul 12, 2012
    70
    The game is pretty much a must-play for anyone interested in videogame narrative or the debate on virtual violence, and the sheer subversiveness it brings to one of the most profitable and least nuanced of gaming genres is certain to be influential in future. But dubious mechanics, cursory multiplayer and niggling design shortfalls all weigh heavily in the other scale. Spec Ops may turn out to be less notable for what it is than for what it inspires.
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    55
    The Line lacks a strong direction. There's a very powerful hint of an outstanding game sitting beneath what is ultimately a flawed experience. I can imagine it being easier to play on PC - not something you'd typically say about a third person shooter - and yet I can't see that making up for all of its faults.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    In this day and age of gaming, we are always having military shooters shoved down our throats all the time and it has become extremelyIn this day and age of gaming, we are always having military shooters shoved down our throats all the time and it has become extremely repetative. After hearing about spec ops the line I wasn't exactly jumping for joy for I am sick and tired of military shooters and the Spec ops series hasn't exactly had the best history. However, after playing Spec Ops I can honestly say that this is one of the best games of 2012 if not one of the best games of this generation. You assume the role of Captin Walker a US Delta force operator who is sent in with two other delta force operators named Lugo and Adams to the city of Dubai. A city that was destroyed by a deadly sandstorm and you are sent in to search for a high military figure named John Konrad, leader of the 33rd US batalion, who was has been missing for 6 months after being sent into the city against orders to save the citizens. Dubai is a beautiful world that I truly wanted to invest myself into. With wonderfully done lighting that properly that has a certain texture to it that brings this dead city to life, level design are all symbolisms of either political or other views of the world, graphite art on the walls for deeper meanings, and the wonderful voice acting. I could talk about the world nonstop however I am limited on characters. The story is quite possibly the biggest surprise for me, as it is the first military shooter that truly dives into the mind of a soldier and what war is like and what it truly does to the people in war. Spec ops will actually start of with nothing special going for it except for the fact that the game is extremely well written even thogh it starts off as a cleche. Spec ops eveloves and waits for u to find the answers of the story which is something that we have't seen since bioshock and something we've never seen in a military shooter. The secrets in dubai is something you want to find out for urself and it is truly disturbing. In fact it can be too disturbing for some and if you really pay attention u may feel bad that you are actually playing the game making it one of the best story experiences of the last few years. Discussing themes such as anti-war, does any reason for killing really change the context of muder, why do we try to be heros when we are not, is fighting for your country a good enough reason to kill, the mind of a soldier in the battlefield, the choices soldiers must make, deception, insanity, and the list goes on really delivering something that we rarely see in gaming and something we never see in a military shooter. Now gameplay in Spec ops believe it or not is extremely entertaining, while the gameplay doesn't innovate like the story it's definately playable and plays extremely well. While I may have some gripes of the fact that sometimes Walker will still get hit even while in cover that is minor for what the gameplay gets right. Now this may be hard to believe but Spec ops the line's enemy and ally AI is actually quite brilliant, enemies know the terrain and will take every advantage they can to kill you. They will flank you, throw grenades at you, throw grenades not directly at you but close enough to kick up clouds of sand to blind you, they will use cover fire and move from cover to cover and have no predictable patterns, and will have fantastic aim but not cheap. Even your allies are extremely smart, they dont get in your way and they actually kill enemies, better yet u can command them to kill certain targets and if you order them to kill a target they 9.999 times out of 10 will kill him right away and if not quick enough Lugo will either snipe him if hes far away or Adams will throw a grenade. Either way they will always get the job done and I am happy with how Yager handled the AI. However, multiplayer is this game's down fall, while it isn't horrible (trust me i've played some really bad multiplayer) it doesn't do anything different and it is clearly obvious that it was half assed and only put their becuase 2K told them to put it in there. Not going to go into any details with that just know that multiplayer isn't anything to write home about. Spec ops the line truly surprised me, it did something that i was not expecting and truly is the best military shooter to date. All for its mature handling of adult themes, fantastic writing, beautiful world, captivating and deep story, and everthing that a game should have, context, focusing more on the moments and the emotions than the typical badass high five dudes. Now it isn't perfect like every other game i still find things i dont like however Spec ops the line is a special game that makes u angry that u even enjoy violent games a game that will have u think about certain themes without pushing it down your throat. I can't reccomend it enough, stop reading this review and go get this game.....what are you waiting for? Go now! Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    This is hands down the single greatest game of the 360/PS3 generation. It is completely and utterly horrible and it made me feel like theThis is hands down the single greatest game of the 360/PS3 generation. It is completely and utterly horrible and it made me feel like the worst person alive. I love this game. Buy it and let it change your view of shooters forever. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Great 3rd person action game and deep dark story. I really enjoyed the original Spec Ops games and the new one combines great story telling,Great 3rd person action game and deep dark story. I really enjoyed the original Spec Ops games and the new one combines great story telling, seamless level transition into the game I've been waiting for. Complete with environment effects, environment kill options, and morality choices, this is a sure sleeper hit. Multiplayer was mediocre and felt tacked on but its a solid single player game. Collapse
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    The psychological aspect of this game is one of the best in a long time, the gameplay isn't amazing, but get through the first half hour ofThe psychological aspect of this game is one of the best in a long time, the gameplay isn't amazing, but get through the first half hour of the game and you are playing one of the best games ever, Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Spec Ops won't wow you with its graphics or gameplay. Instead it shows how much of a beat it is with one of the best stories a video game hasSpec Ops won't wow you with its graphics or gameplay. Instead it shows how much of a beat it is with one of the best stories a video game has ever crafted. Without spoiling anything I will say this. You will feel for the characters and be moved by the story. Games can make good stories but few can stand head to head with books, T.V shows and even movies. Spec Ops can, and while the gameplay is decent the A.I is intelligent and the sand adds some interesting moments. The multiplay is decent enough as well. But be warned, this game is short and with that in mind, it is worth the price of admission. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Although not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics areAlthough not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics are excellent with superb lighting and good textures one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games on the Xbox 360. Framerate is smooth and rarely drops even at very intensive parts. The campaign is of good length, with the highest difficulty being just right. The setting of it being in Dubai manages to mix a perfect blend between realistic and intense warzone-looking parts with beautiful scenery. Level design is fairly generic but it's not too repetitive, and is generally high quality. The story isn't your conventional military shooter; it's actually written by an author so you can expect higher than average entertainment value in that department. As for the most important part in a shooter the mechanics and controls they are very impressive. Those who have played Gears of War or even Uncharted will feel right at home here. Controls are responsive, fluid and consistent for the most part. The game mechanics are your typical third person shooter, but executed with perfection. The cover mechanic is not a hassle, aiming both in and out of cover is simple and fast, you can swap shoulders etc. All the common sense stuff is here, with logical button layout. The gunplay is similar to Uncharted's mechanics; however since the weapons are fully licensed you can take advantage of selective fire for some weapons. You should not be put off buying this excellent title if you're after a solid single-player third person shooter simply because it's not branded. Be assured that this is a high quality game with few mistakes, and excels in all areas. It doesn't push the boundaries or do anything new there's nothing 'special' or unique but it does do everything very well. The only minor setback is your teammate AI. They will not position themselves well at all in combat, and whilst you can order them to attack, you can't move them into cover. There is very little you can actually order your teammates to do, but there doesn't feel like anything's missing. All in all, this is a robust third-person shooter in all aspects. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    A game that sells based on letting you commit fake violence while screaming about the immorality of said fake violence. Take the 'moral'A game that sells based on letting you commit fake violence while screaming about the immorality of said fake violence. Take the 'moral' choice and don't even buy the game. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews