Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface,SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX’s recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    The overall takeaway I get while playing SSX: sometimes EA gets it exactly right. Sometimes their experience from a dozen misguided games, and a half dozen decent games, and two or three really good games is distilled into one perfect example of how some AAA titles are every bit as awesome as they're supposed to be.
  2. 90
    As a series reboot this is perfectly acceptable, but it's the new and innovative online aspects that make SSX feel absolutely superb. Packed to the brim with clever ideas, SSX is a truly unmissable surprise. While most other online modes feel like painting-by-numbers, SSX shrugs and tries something refreshingly different. This isn't just brave - it's brilliant.
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    It's been a long wait but well worth it: SSX returns at its best with a new approach to the snowboarding genre. Its exaggerated tricks mixed with the new survival tune, well crafted graphics and abundance of content make it the game that SSX fans - and generally extreme sports games fans - were dreaming of during the last few years.
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    85
    I ran into a few issues -- namely the occasionally frustrating level design, which is inconsistent at best -- but there's so much to love that the problematic aspects don't sully an otherwise terrific game. Between character leveling, equipment, hundreds of drops, and rivalries with friends, SSX is going to provide months of entertainment for most of us.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    If you have ever enjoyed a single moment from the last generation games, you need to own SSX. Newcomers should not fear getting their snowboots wet with SSX. Like the other games, it is easy to get into and the online Ridernet helps fuel the flame of competition for many months to come.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Despite some rough patches in difficulty, SSX manages to modernize itself with realism, course variety, and seamlessly integrated multiplayer. Even with the courses littered with pits and darkness, they can either be avoided or faced head-on with the same intensity as an epic boss battle. it doesn't have as bold of a personality than before, but ready or not, SSX is here to stay.
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    45
    Whether your favorite was SSX Tricky or SSX 3, this latest entry, simply titled "SSX," has virtually nothing to do with the franchise fans fell in love. Voiceovers from DJ Atomika have been slapped on top to reassure you that yes, you're playing an SSX game, but the gameplay, courses, and overall quality are saying something else entirely.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 71
  2. Negative: 16 out of 71
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    SSX is back and it brings back all of the classic nostalgia of being an extreme snowboarder. The term, "Defy Reality," is what simplySSX is back and it brings back all of the classic nostalgia of being an extreme snowboarder. The term, "Defy Reality," is what simply describes this intense snowboarding game. It has been such a long time since a new and worthy SSX title has been released. This reboot of the title is very worthy of the name. You have single player story mode called "World Tour," which helps you get a feel of what SSX is really about. And then you have the competitive but still technically single player mode, "Explore," which allows you to race, and set record times down online for your friends to try and beat. You can also set trick score records down along with survival records in Deadly Descents which your friends are also able to try and beat. And finally, the online game mode, also known as, "Global Events." Global Events allows you to go online and compete against thousands upon thousands of people. You set scores down and fall into a certain bracket average with other people. You and the other people within that bracket will gain credits by the end of the event. Credits are used to purchase new suits, boards, survival equipment and more. The online is fun, but you aren't able to face your friends or others in real time. You face their ghosts that aren't really live people playing. That is kind of a bummer, but the game is still an amazing reboot of the SSX franchise and I can't wait to play the next one! Expand
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I loved SSX 3 and I love this. This game is everything it needed to be. A more polished version of the old SSX games with more content.I loved SSX 3 and I love this. This game is everything it needed to be. A more polished version of the old SSX games with more content. Definately not regretting thus purchase! Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" andI've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" and "Blur" seemed a little ridiculous so I stuck with SSX 3 until I got burnt out and moved on. It had been years since I've played any of the previous SSX titles so I got online to check and see if any new titles were in the near future and sure enough, SSX was coming to 360 and PS3 and it looked amazing. I waited impatiently for the demo to release on XBL and honestly, the demo doesn't do the game justice. The new "Survive It" mode is intense. It has a new feel with new controls but for SSX veterans, you have the option to switch it to old school controls but it seems you don't twist and turn as fast as the default controls. It takes a couple races and trick sessions to get used to, but once you have it down you'll be carving down every mountain with ease. There is a lot more I could say, but I'm sure you've already heard. This game brings back good memories that I had with SSX but in a new and more intense way. You will enjoy this if you're an SSX fan so pick it up right now and get to shreddin'!! Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    You get the feeling like after they scrapped the whole edgy SSX they lost touch with the charm the game should have. The music is sorta weakYou get the feeling like after they scrapped the whole edgy SSX they lost touch with the charm the game should have. The music is sorta weak with a few exceptions and the characters feel kinda boring.

    Still though, the game is still SSX and it's still satisfying to land crazy tricks and go super fast.
    Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    7
    This game is a fun game but what makes it so fun to me is the fact the snowboarding genre has been empty for quite sometime. This is a funThis game is a fun game but what makes it so fun to me is the fact the snowboarding genre has been empty for quite sometime. This is a fun game and it has many different mountains to have fun on but this game didn't blow me away. The biggest flaw to me was the "Deadly Decents" this is basically the last thing you do when completing a mountain. These are extremely frustrating to complete. Overall this game is fun. Nothing more nothing less. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2012
    5
    I'm guessing that whoever called the shots on SSX, Tricky and SSX3 wasn't a part of this game. I bought it because it looked and smelled likeI'm guessing that whoever called the shots on SSX, Tricky and SSX3 wasn't a part of this game. I bought it because it looked and smelled like a real SSX game. Unfortunately, after playing it for a couple of hours, I gave it to a friend. The people making this new SSX didn't seem to understand the basics of what make a good SSX game. My guess is that they spent all of their time on trying to be "new", without figuring out how to deliver the basics of what make the game so good. I hope they either retire the franchise, or dig up the people that made the good ones. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    This game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game mayThis game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game may have had. This game is not worth purchasing at all. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews