• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 11, 2011
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. May 26, 2011
    55
    Star Raiders gets boring way too quickly and fails to motivate you to play on. A little more variety in the levels and more realism in space travel would have been nice.
  2. 55
    Aging starfighters might be grateful to have a new galaxy to save, but mostly they'll be left pining for the lost glory days of Wing Commander IV and Privateer 2. [July 2011, p.81]
  3. May 22, 2011
    50
    There's no denying it. Star Raiders is bad. It's repetitive, embarrassing, rushed and tedious.
  4. May 18, 2011
    50
    In the end, the missions are the same just different loot drops. The upgrades and different types of ship is the highlight of the game and it is a great way to bring a classic title to its modern players. The approach was in the right direction; it just needs something more into its gameplay. Even so, consider this title an okay game to try out.
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    40
    This 3D shoot'em up has relative freedom of action and good graphics, but lacks in gameplay mechanics.
  6. May 27, 2011
    40
    A mediocre, boring space shooter. Some ideas are interesting, but clunky controls and uninspired visuals makes this title a complete waste.
  7. May 21, 2011
    40
    Star Raiders feels like it's a cheap port from the original arcade classic but the graphics tell otherwise. Other then the graphics this game is a downer on every level. The controls are strange, the gameplay lacks variation and the storyline is just boring.
  8. Jul 25, 2011
    30
    We can think of no reason for anyone to buy this. [Issue#74, p.101]
  9. 30
    Five hours of playing this game will kill the entire genre for you, too. [Aug 2011, p.99]
  10. May 30, 2011
    30
    Atari wanted to make a nice remake of a game often considered as one of the most important of all times. But in the end, everything went wong. Avoid this one at all costs.
  11. May 18, 2011
    30
    Star Raiders achieves the incredible, somehow taking all the fun out of being a hotshot space pilot.
  12. May 15, 2011
    30
    The problem with Star Raiders is that it feels too bland.
  13. May 13, 2011
    30
    The results feel neutered and unfinished.
  14. Jun 25, 2011
    25
    It's best to simply pretend that the Star Raiders remake never happened.
  15. 20
    Star Raiders is doggerel: derivative, insubstantial tripe that fails to entertain on any level while simultaneously tarnishing the legacy of a classic Atari 800 game. I can't remember the last time I have played something so objectively bad, and Atari should be ashamed that they are actually receiving money for this.
  16. May 28, 2011
    20
    It has been long time since I encountered a game that fails to deliver on all counts. Everything promised feels wasted, incomplete or just old. The graphics are outdated and boring, there is no depth in the strategic elements what so ever and the combat is repetitive. This may have worked in 1979, but not 32 years later.
  17. May 22, 2011
    20
    With insipid art, painfully boring gameplay and a lack of any sense of professionalism or class, Star Raiders just can't come recommended to anyone, even to those with more time and money than they know what to do with.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    4
    I've been looking for a space combat shooter, so I tried the demo for this game, especially when I saw it was on sale. Now I know why it was on sale, it sucked! The graphics were horrid and the gameplay was boring. I know a demo doesn't represent an entire game, but it shouldn't represent the worst of a game either. From what I experienced, avoid this game. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2011
    7
    A great looking game that falls short with repetitive game play. For those nostalgic of Wing Commander, FreeSpace, and HomeWorld will find parts of this game enjoyable. The most outstanding part of this game is its gorgeous graphics. The storyline is forgettable, and the game play is fly to a sector, kill all bad guys, resource collect, fly back to base ship, upgrade weapons, then repeat. The story line is written word, and the words are so small on HD you need a magnifying glass to read them.

    The shallowness of this game and repetitive game play will keep most from liking this game for very long. If your a Wing Commander, FreeSpace or HomeWorld Fan, and have 800 extra MS points, then you may want to pick this game up.
    Full Review »