Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II Xbox 360

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 192
  2. Negative: 58 out of 192
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    Fun at first. Crisp graphics and plenty of enemies to face. However, once all of the new mechanics are introduced game play really becomes just a series of button mashing and quick time events. To add to the repetitiveness, many enemies and animations are continually recycled making combat quickly become mundane. All in all, it's still a fun, mindless game that is pretty well polished.Fun at first. Crisp graphics and plenty of enemies to face. However, once all of the new mechanics are introduced game play really becomes just a series of button mashing and quick time events. To add to the repetitiveness, many enemies and animations are continually recycled making combat quickly become mundane. All in all, it's still a fun, mindless game that is pretty well polished. I'd only recommend this title only if you can pick it up cheap. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    Let me start by saying this was one of the games this year I have looked forward to. I picked this up along with fable last night at a midnight launch. SWTFU2 is my biggest dissapointment so far this year. Rare is it that a sequel turns out this uninspired and sloppy. The graphics look nice enough, with smooth animations and great physics, but that is where my praise ends. At first theLet me start by saying this was one of the games this year I have looked forward to. I picked this up along with fable last night at a midnight launch. SWTFU2 is my biggest dissapointment so far this year. Rare is it that a sequel turns out this uninspired and sloppy. The graphics look nice enough, with smooth animations and great physics, but that is where my praise ends. At first the powers and sabers are fun to mess around with, but after about an hour the repetition and tedium starts to sink in. Recycled enemies charge you again and again, and epic set pieces are almost not existent. It's almost laughable that Lucas arts couldn't come up with some better improvements, as Jedi mind trick and the cosmetic only dual sabers are about the extent of gameplay changes. Saber combat carries no impact whatsoever and starts to feel like a chore more than tools of destruction. The powers are neat at first, but quickly join the rest of the game in the gimmick category. It would have been nice to see some combo progression other than hit x, hit x and then b, hit x and then y, or the ole smash x until combo is complete. I really wanted to like this game but sadly will be moving on to Fable 3 and notching TFU2 up in 65 dollars wasted category. Featuring repetetive combat, dull force powers, recycled enemies, lackluster environments, and a complete lack of innovation or inspiration pave the way for what is one of 2010's biggest failures. Now on to Fable 3 to rinse this wretched taste from my mouth. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2010
    5
    This game delivered much lower than my expecations. i knew it would be hard to make up a new stoery and new main character sinve the original starkiller died. but i didn't think they would do this bad! this game has failed in many ways.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    Okay, Overall i was disappointed. Here are some pros and cons:

    Pros: Still great graphics, nice assortment of force powers, fun action scenes
    Cons: Very short storyline (only took a few hours), almost no replay value and simply did not meet expectations based on the success of the first SW TFU
  5. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was anticipating this game for the better part of a year...I am mildly disappointed...the gameplay is great but breaks no new ground outside of force mind trick...the double lightsabers are a gimick. The most disappointing part of this game is the story... #1 was riveting...this was is very forgettable...you capture Darth Vader and bring him to justice...PLEASE!!! Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2010
    7
    The game is fun, very fun, but short. Last boss battle is boring as hell, totally different from boss battles from the first one (I liked them). The game feels like it was cut down, feels like there is some content missing, and will probably be DLC in the future. The graphics, sound and ambientation and cg videos are excellent.
    The story is poor (the first FU is excellent).
    I hope there is
    The game is fun, very fun, but short. Last boss battle is boring as hell, totally different from boss battles from the first one (I liked them). The game feels like it was cut down, feels like there is some content missing, and will probably be DLC in the future. The graphics, sound and ambientation and cg videos are excellent.
    The story is poor (the first FU is excellent).
    I hope there is a Sith Edition...
    Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    I was extremely disappointed in this game. To quote IGN's review:

    "Each level feels like it's been artificially extended, with repeated buildings and environmental portions that make it feel like a copy/paste job."

    The improved graphics and ability to dismember enemies do little to distract the player from the underwhelming story, levels and combat.
  8. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    I don't know what happened during development and release, but I know for a fact this isn't the sequel anyone was expecting. They seem to have forgotten a few things...like a reason to use lighsaber crystals, a reason to even level up, and...i don't know...maybe the other half of the game. What happened to the rest of it? You throw lightsabers, and by the time they return, the game isI don't know what happened during development and release, but I know for a fact this isn't the sequel anyone was expecting. They seem to have forgotten a few things...like a reason to use lighsaber crystals, a reason to even level up, and...i don't know...maybe the other half of the game. What happened to the rest of it? You throw lightsabers, and by the time they return, the game is over wit. Um...don't know about anyone else, but 3 1/2 hours ain't worth $63 to me. They game play isn't bad, there's just not enough of it or any reason to use most it. Let's see how long it takes them to try and throw DLC in our collective and shocked faces. Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The gameplay was mostly improved from the first game, graphics are much better, but levels are mostly repetitive and lacks of different locations, the Dagobah level is completely useless and the story fails to captivate like in the first game, and finish like the empire strikes back, waiting for an inevitable sequel. I enjoyed it for the mere 5 hours it lasted but for a game promising to be better than the first one it was disappointing. If you loved the first game it is worth a rental no doubt but not a buy. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They finally did it. They finally killed Star Wars. I'm one of the few that thoroughly enjoyed Force Unleashed 1. So much so that I bought the PSP and Xbox 360 version. Surprisingly the PSP version was superior, with much more depth, more content. Very impressive for a handheld. The 360 version was fun, a solid story, getting to play as Vader for a bit was incredible. With this in mind, I bought Force Unleashed 2. What an enormous disappointment! The game is pathetically short. My 5 year old son played it, admittedly on Easy, and mowed through it in less than 6 hours. Yes, a 5 year old beat this game in less than 6 hours. I gave it a run on a higher difficulty, and it certainly doesn't make it any more fun, you just die more. The boss battles are repetitive. There are few original enemies, and the ones you do fight get boring fast, because you've already defeated their clones 10 other times. Spoiler: The end battle against Vader was the best way to summarize what the whole game is. Repetitive, non-sensical, poorly acted, unimaginative time filler. THEN for the Star Wars geeks like me who respect some level of canon, you will hate this game more than Jar Jar Binks. There's no clever way to say this fits in to the greater Star Wars story. Then, if you play the Endor mission, God help you. You will lose your mind in the ridiculousness of what happens. To get back to my 5 year old, this sounds like a story he could've made up. Levels felt repeatedly copy and pasted. There is some fun to be had in the hack and slash nature, and even with bad voice acting the game is pretty, and it's hard to not get that half-second of fear when Vader comes on screen, but this game is only for people who really want a Star Wars fix, and don't care about the quality. I doubt I'll purchase a third if it comes out. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2012
    6
    I think was a little too nice in my first review so I'll give it a six. The story isn't great, but it's alright and I like the fact that it's kind of based around love because you don't really get that in games, only movies, but perhaps I'm less critical of the story because it's absed around a theme I actually like. The gameplay in terms of combat holds up on its on and the lightsaberI think was a little too nice in my first review so I'll give it a six. The story isn't great, but it's alright and I like the fact that it's kind of based around love because you don't really get that in games, only movies, but perhaps I'm less critical of the story because it's absed around a theme I actually like. The gameplay in terms of combat holds up on its on and the lightsaber crystals and holocrons are a nice diversion. My criticism with the gameplay is that there is now one supreme combo and it's not like there were many combos in this game to begin, which mean the game gets boring fast in close-combat. The boss battles are nicely improved and bosses aren't invincible to every force power you have now, the problem here is that most bosses feel way too easy or just like an obstacle rather than some great challenge to overcome (I'm looking at you Terror Walker). Technical issues have also been improved but there are still some outliers that need to be addressed. My biggest criticism is that the game is once again too short, which was one of the biggest complaints of the first game. I'm wondering if lucasarts listened or not to its fans and critics as the graphics and force powers were just moving on with the times and the lightsabers were just used as a gimmick to distinguish the sequel from the prequel. Good game, but I'm becoming more wary of LucasArts... Expand
  12. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    Would you have liked a few more levels to the original The Force Unleashed game? Well here it is. Very short, pretty much the same environments that you'll be traversing, and repetitious QTE to the max. Overall a dull gameplay experienced. I kept getting distracted by other things in my house while playing this game, and took days to get back to continue it. Although you can finish it inWould you have liked a few more levels to the original The Force Unleashed game? Well here it is. Very short, pretty much the same environments that you'll be traversing, and repetitious QTE to the max. Overall a dull gameplay experienced. I kept getting distracted by other things in my house while playing this game, and took days to get back to continue it. Although you can finish it in one day if you have six to eight hours. I did enjoy jumping back into the Star War's universe, but the story upsets the Star Wars lore and leaves a lot of questions that won't get answered. Can you actually clone Jedi? Is that really Starkiller you were playing? The first game/story handled the issue of having the most powerful Jedi ever by killing him off as a martyr. Now how are you going to explain how the most powerful Jedi in the universe is alive during the time of episode IV-VI? Where was he? What happened to Gen. Kota? This game demonstrates that, to fans, lore matters a great, great deal and handling it poorly makes a poor reception. The good? You get more light saber crystals that are easier to find. Bottom line, it's overall play feels like a weak dlc that goes on too long. Expand
  13. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    While this game does look cool and the controls feel great, the extremely short story and lack of imagination keep this game from being anything other than mediocre. With the endless possibilities the Star Wars universe provides, it is a shame this is what came out of it. Sadly, this game feels like a cash in in every possible way.
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    Overall, a mediocre follow-up to The Force Unleashed. The gameplay was by far worse, and the story line was just a desperate attempt to create another game based on the success of the first. By itself though, it isn't to bad.
  15. Oct 30, 2014
    6
    The game was alright, but definitely not great.

    The story is compelling enough to get you to play, but it will take you only a couple hours if that to beat the game on normal or easy mode. If you play on hard, you will probably die a few times, at least. The targeting system is pretty bad and the camera is pretty slow to get behind your character while you're fighting, making this
    The game was alright, but definitely not great.

    The story is compelling enough to get you to play, but it will take you only a couple hours if that to beat the game on normal or easy mode. If you play on hard, you will probably die a few times, at least. The targeting system is pretty bad and the camera is pretty slow to get behind your character while you're fighting, making this game less of a spectacle-fighter and more of just a straight-up adventure game. You walk some places, fight some enemies, hear some story, do some QTE, rinse, repeat ad nauseam. I was hoping for something more fluid like Bayonetta or DmC even, but the game doesn't really come close to that level of near-seamless action. For a Star Wars game though, without going to the first Force Unleashed (which was a bit better) or KotoR, you won't find many better single-player campaigns.

    It's probably worth a rent- you'll beat it in an afternoon- but whether or not it's worth a buy depends on your level of Star Wars jonesing. It's only 20 dollars or less now from brand-new to used so YMMV.
    Expand
  16. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    This game was rushed, the controls work just fine, but the main story clocks in at just over 4 hours and the is no where near as strong as SWFU 1. Star Killer has been turned in to a whiny baby who has no real purpose. They tried turning him into anakin from episode 3 and failed on every level. There is no challange as there was in the first game and the final fight is lame. You go to aThis game was rushed, the controls work just fine, but the main story clocks in at just over 4 hours and the is no where near as strong as SWFU 1. Star Killer has been turned in to a whiny baby who has no real purpose. They tried turning him into anakin from episode 3 and failed on every level. There is no challange as there was in the first game and the final fight is lame. You go to a total of 3 planets. Just a major let down. Expand
  17. May 3, 2015
    6
    It's a nice, short game (6 hours), when you are bored.
    It hasn't got much to offer really, the story is kinda dull, and most of the game's length comes from overly lengthy boss battles. It's pretty annoying actually.

    Occasionally there's some ridiculously hard parts that add some more length.
    But that's all the content there is. Repetitive and not much storytelling going on.
  18. Sep 11, 2013
    5
    A poor game which finds it difficult to justify it's own existence through only a few drawn out levels where the personality deprived protagonist crushes all in his path with his god like powers.

    The story seems so removed from the Star Wars universe and offers no real development or intrigue, but is beset with predictable cameos, aka Yoda who lasts for anound a minute. On the plus
    A poor game which finds it difficult to justify it's own existence through only a few drawn out levels where the personality deprived protagonist crushes all in his path with his god like powers.

    The story seems so removed from the Star Wars universe and offers no real development or intrigue, but is beset with predictable cameos, aka Yoda who lasts for anound a minute.

    On the plus side, the game looks very nice and plays fluidly.

    Not worth your money unless you are an obsessive force unleashed fan, in which case you probably already have it.
    Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2014
    5
    After I played the first Force Unleashed, and after being left off on a fairly good story, i knew i had to play The Force Unleashed II. But instead of a creative addition to the Star Wars universe, it turned out to be yet another mediocre Star Wars game. The levels are repetitive, and once you get to a boss battle, it's mainly quick-time events like in the previous game. Hopeful they wouldAfter I played the first Force Unleashed, and after being left off on a fairly good story, i knew i had to play The Force Unleashed II. But instead of a creative addition to the Star Wars universe, it turned out to be yet another mediocre Star Wars game. The levels are repetitive, and once you get to a boss battle, it's mainly quick-time events like in the previous game. Hopeful they would fix that, I was disappointed. As i stated earlier, this game is no more than a mediocre game. Expand
  20. Mar 5, 2016
    7
    While this game remains a disappointment, it is fun on some levels. The gameplay is better than the first, but it gets too easy. The story was ok, but i expected way better. There are challenges to keep you busy for another hour after you beat the story. I had fun, but was very disappointed.
  21. Sep 12, 2017
    6
    Una segunda parte que empeora todo, Una historia no tan interesante, un gameplay mas aburrido y unos niveles mucho mas encorsetados, ademas de que es mucho mas facil. Repite la formula de lprimer juego pero las empeora, aunque es recomendable si os gusto la primera parte.
  22. Jun 7, 2016
    6
    While this game is very short (4-5 hours long) and very repetitive (run, hit some people, run, hit some more people) it is actually quite a good game here is some reasons why:

    - Cinematic kills on larger enemies - Upgrade skills - Upgraded skills actually feel better than its predecessors - Campaign choices implemented towards late game If you're a Star Wars fan you definitely
    While this game is very short (4-5 hours long) and very repetitive (run, hit some people, run, hit some more people) it is actually quite a good game here is some reasons why:

    - Cinematic kills on larger enemies
    - Upgrade skills
    - Upgraded skills actually feel better than its predecessors
    - Campaign choices implemented towards late game

    If you're a Star Wars fan you definitely have to give this game a run for its money.

    While it's not the best game that I've ever played; it certainly isn't the worst.

    Rating: 6/10
    Expand
  23. Aug 2, 2016
    7
    Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II has a great story, awesome gameplay, and great graphics, but is far too short. The lack of lightsaber battles and more than 5 hours of gameplay makes this game a shadow of its former self.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II is just terrible.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    70
    Star Wars the Force Unleashed II makes up for most of its predecessor flaws, and delivers some terrific action sequences. It's a shame though that the story is simply non existent and the whole adventure lasts some 5 hours. It really seems like the developers can't make this saga right, leaves us waiting for a new hope.
  3. Jan 15, 2011
    68
    There were high expectations for this game, however it is inferior to the first one, shorter, more monotonous, not replayable and with a really forgetable story.