Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, the epic story continues as players once again assume the role of the devastatingly powerful Starkiller - Darth Vader's secret apprentice set during the largely unexplored era between Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith and Star Wars: Episode IVWith Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, the epic story continues as players once again assume the role of the devastatingly powerful Starkiller - Darth Vader's secret apprentice set during the largely unexplored era between Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith and Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    With precious few of those quality gameplay moments and a plot that limps along in need of focus, unfortunately Force Unleashed 2 ultimately fails to live up to the interest of its broken but far more compelling predecessor.
  2. A shadow of its former self. The graceful gameplay offers a higher level of excitement, but the plot and characterization - two large components from which I expect great things from any Star Wars journey - makes this experience one of 2010's biggest disappointments. [Nov 2010, p.92]
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    73
    It's not a total failure, and there are some improvements worthy of note, but the way it so callously steps on the toes of the previous title's story is a huge disappointment.
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    60
    Though occasionally enjoyable, this Force-powered sequel is a mere apprentice to its superior predecessor.
  5. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    Star Wars fans will enjoy it, but the rest will keep wondering why is Lucasarts wasting such an attractive franchise.
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    50
    TFUII feels like a series of unfulfilled and broken promises that could kill the franchise, even for Star Wars fans. [Christmas 2010, p.92]
  7. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II is just terrible.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 54
  2. Negative: 22 out of 54
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This is a simple review for anyone interested in buying this game. The first game was an amazing story and fun, but sometimes glitchyThis is a simple review for anyone interested in buying this game. The first game was an amazing story and fun, but sometimes glitchy gameplay. This game does a little bit of a flip. The story is a little weaker this time around, but the gameplay is much improved. It's simply a much more fun game to play, despite the weaker story. Other improvements include MUCH faster loading times and MUCH cleaner graphics. Seriously, if you play The Force Unleashed 1 right before #2 you will see that the improvement are actually rather impressive. The world is a crazy place when games like this and Enslaved get average reviews, and broken games like Fallout New Vegas get stellar reviews. If you like Star Wars this is a must buy. If you like good action games with an above average story, definitely give it a shot. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    This is really an Amazing Game! i mean the graphics, the scope, The Combat variety is just Perfect. yes it is only like 7 hours long but itThis is really an Amazing Game! i mean the graphics, the scope, The Combat variety is just Perfect. yes it is only like 7 hours long but it will be an amazing 7 hours of gameplay and it is so great that i replayed the whole game 3 times and never got bored. My Favourite Star Wars Game's go something in the lines of:

    3. Knights of the old republic 2. Force Unleashed 2
    1. Star Wars Battlefront 2
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    This game has really, really good aspects and some major flaws - there isn't much middle ground. The combat is amazing. The graphics areThis game has really, really good aspects and some major flaws - there isn't much middle ground. The combat is amazing. The graphics are incredible, and the cinematics are about as amazing as it gets. The upgrades aren't useless like in some similar games - I used every power I got, multiple times. The story line is pretty good. But the cons almost outweigh it. The boss fights are repetitive - in one, you spend countless minutes doing the same thing, over, and over, and over, and over until the idiot finally kicks the bucket. The final boss fight takes about 30 minutes, and should be the most intense battle in the game - but no. The entire half hour is spent jumping from platform to platform fighting weak minions of the boss before getting in a semi-entertaining saber fight with him himself. And worst of all - the game lasts about 6 hours, if even. The extras aren't worth the price tag. I gave this game an 8 purely for the fact that you can rent it and return it, which is exactly what you should do. Collapse
  4. Dec 11, 2014
    5
    After I played the first Force Unleashed, and after being left off on a fairly good story, i knew i had to play The Force Unleashed II. ButAfter I played the first Force Unleashed, and after being left off on a fairly good story, i knew i had to play The Force Unleashed II. But instead of a creative addition to the Star Wars universe, it turned out to be yet another mediocre Star Wars game. The levels are repetitive, and once you get to a boss battle, it's mainly quick-time events like in the previous game. Hopeful they would fix that, I was disappointed. As i stated earlier, this game is no more than a mediocre game. Expand
  5. May 25, 2011
    4
    Why did they have to make this game? As if I wasn't already disgraced for being a star wars fan, they make this? The only good thing aboutWhy did they have to make this game? As if I wasn't already disgraced for being a star wars fan, they make this? The only good thing about this game is the gameplay. Other than that, the game is terrible. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    3
    The design is awful, the combat system is a bit polished from the first game but the gameplay is repetitive, the story's abysmal (only fiveThe design is awful, the combat system is a bit polished from the first game but the gameplay is repetitive, the story's abysmal (only five hours as well!) and it doesn't offer anything worthwhile. Keep playing the first game and stay the heck away from this one!!! Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    (for wii version) Totally ruined franchise! I thought the first game was a lot of fun, but this game is TERRIBLE! First off, the graphics were(for wii version) Totally ruined franchise! I thought the first game was a lot of fun, but this game is TERRIBLE! First off, the graphics were terrible. Low quality, mediocre graphics. Second of all, they changed the controls and I kept forgetting you couldn't shake the remote to attack (as well as other powers). Third, the list of force powers was drastically shortened from the first game. Instead of around fifty force powers, you get ten! Fourth, this game is way too EASY! I beat it in TWO HOURS! REALLY! Poor visual quality gets it like, a 5. controls makes it a 4. shortened list gives it a 1. and easiness gives it a -17! Expand

See all 54 User Reviews