Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    78
    In the beginning State of Decay is a remarkably ugly and trashy zombie bashing. But the more you dive into the fight for survival with its base and resource management, the open dynamic world gets more and more attractive – despite the AI problems.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    When you realise there are dozens of addictive hours to enjoy, State of Decay proves itself a tempting purchase for zombie lovers and fans of survival-horror alike.
  3. 85
    State of Decay is certainly not without its flaws, but if you can see past them you’ll find that there is a boatload of entertaining gameplay that awaits you in this unique zombie survival simulator.
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    65
    For me it’s more of a prototype, a demonstration of a living open world and some clever gameplay mechanics. There is not enough of real game in it and on the other hand too many various bugs, nuisances and repetitiveness. Whether you’ll enjoy State of Decay depends on how much you like sandbox games and looking for fun on your own. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.74]
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    80
    Regardless, if you like exploration, stress, permadeath, free-roaming games and don’t care about how the arm hair on your man looks, then this is definitely a game for you.
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    100
    State of Decay is an impressive open world zombie game that can actually rival blockbuster zombie games like Dead Island.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    State of Decay is ugly. It looks ugly, and in many ways it plays ugly. However, there's a simple beauty underneath the frightful veneer, one that surrounds a compelling, interesting, complex, and enslaving little game...Few zombie games, for all their marketing power and visual sheen, can come close to providing what State of Decay does.
  8. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    The game never judges you, offering no morality system despite the frequent dilemmas and difficult choices its systems organically generate. But it certainly tests you. This is as close as we’ve come to putting our lazily daydreamed zombie survival plans into effect.
  9. Jun 11, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is unrefined but never anything less than interesting. And in video games, interesting has never been at such a premium.
  10. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Undeniable technical difficulties aside, with a price tag of only 20 bucks nobody should miss out on State of Decay. It's easily one of the most complex and elaborately designed XBLA title to ever grace that service, so clever and mature I'm struggling to name another open world game that has felt this fresh in the last three years since Red Dead Redemption rode along.
  11. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Technically has its weaknesses but the gameplay is pure gold. State of Decay is one of the most memorable, engrossing zombie games to date.
  12. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Undead Labs' first game tries to encompass all possible aspects in zombie survival to achieve the perfect apocalyptic world setting. It doesn't completely succeed in doing so, but it's a great game nonetheless.
  13. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Despite some technical issues State of Decay is a great free to play zombie game, capable to explore lots of different genres with ease.
  14. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    Moving between moments of greatness and moments of glaring ineptitude, State of Decay leaves me with mixed feelings. It has a great idea at its core, and I want to give the developers at Undead Labs credit for that. But lots of games begin with great ideas; executing those ideas well and letting the player experience them fully is the challenge. That’s where State of Decay falls apart.
  15. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    If you enjoy exploring post-apocalyptic open worlds, I suggest you at the very least give the demo of State of Decay a shot. There's plenty of depth for those who appreciate the role-playing genre, and the constant threat of death and limited resources will have adrenaline junkies on the edge of their seats. It may not be my cup of tea, but I certainly can see why others would love to take the plunge into this zombie-infested wasteland.
  16. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    For anyone even remotely interested in what might be like to survive the zombie apocalypse, State of Decay is an absolute must-play.
  17. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Yes, it's plagued by dozens of bugs and glitches, but if you can wait for the patches, in State of Decay you'll find an enjoyable and with a unique character zombie game that will keep you hooked for more than 10 hours.
  18. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    An open-world survivalist horror with deep strategy elements, State of Decay puts the player's zombie apocalypse scenarios to the test in such a thoughtful, complex way that it's almost possible to ignore the awful central narrative and numerous technical issues. It's a rough game, but one worth exploring.
  19. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is an open world zombie survival-rpg, that embraces all of the important aspects to surviving. Collecting, killing, maintaining relationships; the game is given form by its own depth. Many choices you make influence the world around you because of this. State of Decay is very buggy though, but the practiced gamers can see through that.
  20. 80
    One of the great experiences on Xbox Live Arcade this year. Some passages scream for co-op, but as a purely single player experience, State of Decay is still strong and unique.
  21. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    It's no looker, but this is still a massive and addictive open-world survival romp. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  22. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Outside of its many and varied technical problems, State of Decay is still one of the most accomplished Xbox Live Arcade game to date. [Issue#137, p.121]
  23. Jun 25, 2013
    90
    State of Decay is offering you to have first-hand experience of dealing with the zombie-infested Earth. The intense experience is being built-up by plenty of selves-affecting possibilities resulting in one of the best sandbox games of the recent years.
  24. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is an immersive and suspenseful open-world zombie adventure that shouldn't be missed.
  25. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    As long as you can get past the graphical hiccups, this XBLA title will pull you in like a hungry undead cannibal. If you've been looking for a game that will drop you into a deep, zombie-infested world full of all the tough choices and exploding heads you'd expect from the genre, State of Decay most definitely provides.
  26. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    This is a hulking beast, a deep, engaging experience and already one of the year’s standout titles. Xbox Live has offered gamers many gems since its inception and this is one of the more precious.
  27. Jun 19, 2013
    82
    State of Decay is a game that is, in many ways, both the best and worst zombie game you’ve ever played. For all of its bugs, blemishes, and festering imperfections, this game realizes an untapped style of survival gameplay that genre nuts should definitely take notice of.
  28. Jun 18, 2013
    67
    It's no Dead Island, but it's on par with other zombie survival games and can provide you with a nice challenge.
  29. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    It's not the most beautiful and polished game, but the end of the world with all it’s small and big problems rarely felt this real.
  30. Jun 13, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is a game for people looking for a solid gameplay element (Telltale's The Walking Dead is excellent, but it's "just" an interactive story). State of Decay tries to show an emotional plot, but first of all it gives a lot more freedom, combat and exploration. The developers have ignored polishing the details and concentrated on building a convincing survival system (one that is more complicated than "how many bullets have I got?"). I think they nailed it - I had lots of fun and intend to revisit this universe in the future.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 576 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 203
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This game is a time consuming, absorbing entertaining thrill ride. I've just got off my xbox after a 15 hour gaming session, in which I've hardly made a dent in it. The little things make this game, like the resource gathering and the ability to change character and home, etc. Some of the craziest stuff can happen, for instance my car broke down when I was in the middle of no where and I had hike back to my base with just a baseball bat and a few snacks. It's things like that, which make this game. If you can look over its obvious flaws like the frame rate issue, the glitches and the occasional face palm moment, you'll find a game which really can be admired and loved. At it's core it feels like an old school game. If you're a fan of casual games which go easy on you, this probably wont be for you. This is a game us zombie fans and survival fans have all been waiting for and although it isn't perfect, it's an incredibly good, deep and well thought out game. I can tell this is something I'll be playing for months to come. Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    big, scary and awesome; it's reminds me of walking dead season 1. the game has its flaws, but nothing that ruins it. scavenge, build bases, make friends and enemies and beat zombies to pulp. i also love that death is permanent (but you can play as any ally from your base).

    you need to try this game.
    Full Review »