Street Fighter IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 287 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 287
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. XavierE
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Don't trust the critics on this one. This game is an overrated piece of crap. I can compliment the art style and smooth animation, but that's about it. The controls are absolutely impossible with all the extreme precision required, and you will often find yourself executing the wrong move because your analog stick was 1 degree off. Also, the table with the list of moves are very Don't trust the critics on this one. This game is an overrated piece of crap. I can compliment the art style and smooth animation, but that's about it. The controls are absolutely impossible with all the extreme precision required, and you will often find yourself executing the wrong move because your analog stick was 1 degree off. Also, the table with the list of moves are very hard to understand. Give this one a miss. I hate the fighting genre, but if you want a fun fighting game, Tekken is brilliant for that. Expand
  2. MegL
    Nov 29, 2009
    0
    This is such a bad game, like genuinly bad. Its so fuvkin' hard. The characters font have that many combos so it gets boring quick. The storylines and clips make me cringe in embarressment. The characters are sooo poorly named. And why do my opponents always use the same attacks over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over This is such a bad game, like genuinly bad. Its so fuvkin' hard. The characters font have that many combos so it gets boring quick. The storylines and clips make me cringe in embarressment. The characters are sooo poorly named. And why do my opponents always use the same attacks over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again, it gets me so pissed off I broke the controller from throwing it too hard.(xbox360 controller are such pu_sies compared to old system controllers.) there really isn't anything new or better compared to the older versions. The graphics even suck. I really wanted to like this especially after spending $60 on it but ultimately, its a boring, unoriginal abomination. Expand
  3. MarkR
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    A huge let down to anybody that is a fan of the series. The characters are terribly unbalanced, as the game takes a few characters (Ryu, Zangief, etc), dips them in gold, and props them up on a petistal while shunning the rest and giving no chance. The game has been simplified significantly since the likes of II and III. Also, the difficulty curve for arcade mode is completely out of A huge let down to anybody that is a fan of the series. The characters are terribly unbalanced, as the game takes a few characters (Ryu, Zangief, etc), dips them in gold, and props them up on a petistal while shunning the rest and giving no chance. The game has been simplified significantly since the likes of II and III. Also, the difficulty curve for arcade mode is completely out of whack. Online play could use a lot of work as well. The ranking system is terrible, and hit recognition can be annoying as well. For long time fans, I'd recommend renting it, because as soon as the nostalgia wears off, the glaring weaknesses permeate the entire game leaving you feel frustrated. For gamers new to the genre, look for better alternatives. They're out there. Expand
  4. joshl
    Feb 26, 2009
    2
    If you are used to the likes of basically any other fighter such as DoA or VF then stay away. and for that matter everyone else should stay away. the combos may be fluid but they are not nearly as freeform as othergames. there is also a complete lack of moves. one button does one thing regardless of how or when you press it. well except the almost impossible unique moves. but aside from If you are used to the likes of basically any other fighter such as DoA or VF then stay away. and for that matter everyone else should stay away. the combos may be fluid but they are not nearly as freeform as othergames. there is also a complete lack of moves. one button does one thing regardless of how or when you press it. well except the almost impossible unique moves. but aside from some chrachters having overpowered moves and other doing less damage than a really nasty fart well.... also it is not a £30 or 60$ game its closer to £100. the game simplky cant be played properly without a stick. the normal pad is to sensitive and unresponsive, to the extent it feels like it's been done purposfully so capcom can sell more stupidly overpriced arecade sticks. overall its a real disappointment, even the old streetfighter turbo on the PS1 one was a better game. Expand
  5. Jimmyb
    Apr 9, 2009
    0
    Oh dear god. this game sucks. first battles are supposed to be easy and oh no your dead in a second due to the amazingly overpowered CPU. So you try challenges to get better. oh wait, due to the stupidly hard combos you cant get through those. So you try online. its full of people who keep using the same move over and over and over again. This game is terrible. my advice go buy soul calibur.
  6. Ryans
    Nov 29, 2009
    0
    What's wrong with the critics? They'll love anything that used to be good. All the good reviews that users are leaving are just blinded by nostalgia. All the bad reviews are by people wanting a good game but realized that the truth is ths game is terrible.
  7. KittenM
    Mar 5, 2009
    4
    As a long-term fan of the franchise, I couldn't help but leave SFIV feeling disappointed. The woeful controller setup already detailled by others above me would not be so much of an issue if the characters had been properly balanced. Counters and focus moves become nearly impossible to pull off because the unresponsive controls simply cannot react quickly enough. I won't say As a long-term fan of the franchise, I couldn't help but leave SFIV feeling disappointed. The woeful controller setup already detailled by others above me would not be so much of an issue if the characters had been properly balanced. Counters and focus moves become nearly impossible to pull off because the unresponsive controls simply cannot react quickly enough. I won't say avoid, because it is fun to play...but I, for one, am saddened that this game seems to have been designed specifically with a controller upgrade in mind, rather than working around the limitations of current gen contollers. Collapse
  8. DanielN
    Mar 16, 2009
    1
    How this game could get a 93 is absolutely beyond me. Prepare yourself for the glory of having the cpu use a grand total of 3 attacks on you over and over... Thrill to ultra attacks that are so mind bogglingly convoluted so as to keep you from EVER using one... Revel in the backgrounds carrying over from a time before many of you were born... Wonder at the ability for a game so heavily How this game could get a 93 is absolutely beyond me. Prepare yourself for the glory of having the cpu use a grand total of 3 attacks on you over and over... Thrill to ultra attacks that are so mind bogglingly convoluted so as to keep you from EVER using one... Revel in the backgrounds carrying over from a time before many of you were born... Wonder at the ability for a game so heavily hyped to deliver so little... Don't worry SF fans Capcom lives, and they haven't changed a damn thing since 1991. Astro-turfing critics are making even metacritic a dubious source of info. Expand
  9. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This game is terrible. I was bitterely dissapointed with it. All the good moves are really hard to do, which means your left with boring punches and kicks. If you want a fighting game, i reccomend Soul Calibur IV.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. If you're a novice, a training mode and eight levels of difficulty will help you find your way. If you're a pro, SFIV contains all the depth you've ever loved about the series, without compromise. Capcom simply got the feel of Street Fighter perfectly right. [Feb 2009, p.76]
  2. 100
    At the end of the day, that's really what this Street Fighter is: it's a title that's built for newcomers, yet tweaked for old school vets from the arcade and console days. [Mar 2009, p.75]
  3. 93
    Street Fighter IV is a fantastic game overall and Capcom should be commended for designing a game that can work on so many levels by appealing to both casual and hardcore players.