Street Fighter X Tekken Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Street Fighter X Tekken, where Street Fighter and Tekken series' stalwarts Ryu, Chun-Li, Kazuya Mishima and Nina Williams headline a memorable cast of your favorite fighters in a tag battle dream match for the ages. Street Fighter X Tekken (SFXT) is a 2 vs. 2 tag team-basedWelcome to Street Fighter X Tekken, where Street Fighter and Tekken series' stalwarts Ryu, Chun-Li, Kazuya Mishima and Nina Williams headline a memorable cast of your favorite fighters in a tag battle dream match for the ages. Street Fighter X Tekken (SFXT) is a 2 vs. 2 tag team-based fighting game where players can freely tag in and out between partners. The game promises to marry the styles of both a 2D and 3D fighting game for a fresh take on the genre. Fans from each series will also be able to play with either Street Fighter's traditional 6 button layout or Tekken's 4 button layout. Players who are new to either series will be able to join in on the fun with an easy-to-understand battle system that promises excitement and countless hours of fun. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
TGS 2011: Street Fighter X Tekken - Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    95
    Street Fighter X Tekken has given me everything I've dreamed of and more from a fighting game.
  2. A fantastically substantial fighting game. If Marvel vs Capcom 3 was too wacky for your tastes, this sits comfortably between it and Street Fighter IV on the lunacy spectrum. The tag mechanic is brilliantly robust, there are loads of new moves to master and the Tekken characters slot in more comfortably than a bum in a favourite armchair. Welcome to your new favourite fighting game.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    90
    The fighting physics and the technical aspect of this game have been done well. If I had a gripe it would be that the Tekken fighters are harder to use at first, but practice is key in this game. Go buy this, seriously.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    It's hard to tell whether or not Street Fighter X Tekken will blow up like Street Fighter IV did with the competitive community, but given how good it is, I hope it does. Despite the lack of story options, there's plenty of solid gameplay to be had here, and the online features are going to keep people playing for quite a while. Namco has its work cut out for them with Tekken X Street Fighter.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 17, 2012
    83
    A fine fighter, but the Tekken characters feel like Street Fighter characters. Multiplayer is also laggy. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    A healthy roster of characters and a decent selection of lively arenas is not to be scoffed at. And the important business of smacking each other about --which is what we're all here for after all-- is as fun and frantic as ever.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    So long as it's consumed in an environment where all you're doing is playing offline, like at an arcade or in someone's living room, Street Fighter X Tekken's excellent engine is enough to carry the game. Delve any deeper, however, and that excellence serves only to highlight each tragic decision that frames it. Capcom has spent countless hours meticulously crafting the gaming equivalent of a Ferrari 458's V8 engine, only to shove it under the hood of a 1987 Chevy Caprice on cinderblocks.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 59
  2. Negative: 35 out of 59
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Everything I want in a fighting game and more. Sure people are upset over the DLC being on disc already but theyThis game is simply amazing. Everything I want in a fighting game and more. Sure people are upset over the DLC being on disc already but they already give you enough content to satisfy your needs. Great game overall, I recommend anyone buy it. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    This is now one of my favourite fighting games of all time. The roster is plentiful and varied with lots of my favourite SF and TK characters.This is now one of my favourite fighting games of all time. The roster is plentiful and varied with lots of my favourite SF and TK characters. The fighting controls are very well done, and I haven't experienced much lag with the online but I haven't heard of any bad cases. If you're a fan of fighting games then you should definitely pick up this game. Also son't listen to the little butthurt people who gave this game a 0 and a 1. If your not mature enough to rate a game what it deserves and rate it because of the COMPANY'S business practices then I don't think your old enough to play video games. Even if you aren't convinced look at the critic's review scores, barely any bad ones. So pick up this game regardless of your view on the DLC issue. Don't let it get in the way of you playing a fun game! :) Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    7
    I think the game is Pretty good. The graphics are good enough, the game play delivers and it's very addictive! I still think they shouldn'tI think the game is Pretty good. The graphics are good enough, the game play delivers and it's very addictive! I still think they shouldn't have put the expensive content on the disc itself. The game is pretty pricey, and this doesn't feel that nice of Capcom. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    I gave this game a 3 because its still a great game but NOT for the Xbox.

    Capcom completely neglected the play with a friend online feature
    I gave this game a 3 because its still a great game but NOT for the Xbox.

    Capcom completely neglected the play with a friend online feature for the Xbox 360 because of its "architecture". So basically you're buying a UNFINISHED version of Street Fighter x Tekken if you get it for the Xbox.
    So far I've been ranting about this in the capcom thread and asking them to at least work on fixing this but they just say no. Generally the game is solid, as a matter in fact it's actually a great game! But the way Capcom is handling it is very crappy.

    So if you're planning to get this game and expect to play with your friend.. NOPE and no Capcom is not planning on patching it

    http://www.capcom-unity.com/ask_capcom/go/thread/view/7371/29007353/When_is_the_local_online_pair_play_for_Xbox_360_coming
    Sven post at the bottom.

    Get this game for the PS3 since it has all the exclusives for this game... *sighhh i wish capcom fixes it.. but in all, they dont care. Neither should you for this game
    Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    I thought Day 1 DLC was bad but Disc Locked Content is even worse. Wow. I am glad I got warned and did not get it. Was the game a little funI thought Day 1 DLC was bad but Disc Locked Content is even worse. Wow. I am glad I got warned and did not get it. Was the game a little fun at my friends house? Yes, yes it was. Does that make it ok to get ripped off? Not to me it doesn't. I will warn people away however I can. Expand
  6. May 13, 2012
    1
    Looked forward to this release but another let down from greedy companies that fail to make a decent game.... and want even more money thanLooked forward to this release but another let down from greedy companies that fail to make a decent game.... and want even more money than full release games which provide far more content during release for 60, 50, or even 40$ at release. Avoid this game and maybe future games from all companies that release unfinished/ poorly made titles that want a good 80+ dollars for content that should already be unlocked on day 1. If we do something about this and avoid paying what they want then they will certainly go back to making great games for great prices and everyone will be happy, or you can continue to purchase these games and pay for all dlc and allow this to continue, i know i will not. Thanks for a waste of time and another letdown to my favorite 2 fighting games from so long ago ;( Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I am at the point that I do not care how good the game is. And make no mistake, this game is decent. But Capcom and their DLC crap is reallyI am at the point that I do not care how good the game is. And make no mistake, this game is decent. But Capcom and their DLC crap is really starting to damage my calm. And this $20 DLC for half the fighters is their biggest rip off yet. I have officially cut Capcom from my wallet for now on. Collapse

See all 59 User Reviews