User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 275

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Graphics are well drawn and not without charm. Controls are tight and levels are well designed with a consistant difficulty curve.

    Not a bad game but this is just a re-skinned version of N+. If you finished the 100 odd levels of N+ and were left wanting more, this is the game for you but for everyone else, SMB brings nothing new to the table.
  2. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    I don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting inI don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting in the way, and I'm finding that much of the game's difficulty comes from fighting the controls. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    While i can understand where peoples frustration for this game is coming from, this game really makes you look at it and want to beat it. The main drawback to this game are not its controls, but how the controls are used. The controls are more or less fantastic, simply moving, jumping, and accelerating. But the catch is that the levels are of the trial and error sorts. I don't think thereWhile i can understand where peoples frustration for this game is coming from, this game really makes you look at it and want to beat it. The main drawback to this game are not its controls, but how the controls are used. The controls are more or less fantastic, simply moving, jumping, and accelerating. But the catch is that the levels are of the trial and error sorts. I don't think there is anyone that could play this game and beat it without dying at least 50 times. The game throws enemy's, saws and forms of killer ground to make you earn the ending. Thankfully, the game is forgiving, giving you no lives of which you have to keep a watch on. The graphics are you average 2-D plat-former that looks incredible to some, but a few will find they wanted more out of it. What is really incredible about this game is the throwback to older 2-D plat-formers, such as Mario and Ninja Gaiden. Each new world opens with a cut scene that is a parody of a well loved game, but doesn't edger on the ridiculous. The main reason this game has gotten so many bad scores from the users is because of the levels that make this game so challenging. I literally died over 100 times in one simple level, but the placement of the enemies and the saws are what killed me. But the part that i loved is that in the end i wanted to beat the level because i wanted to see the ending. Some people found this game too hard and would rather have a game that didn't have them yelling at their Tv set, but some love a good challenge, and this game delivers that 10 fold. Expand
  4. cee
    Nov 24, 2010
    7
    I'm sure the next one will be much better. This seemed a little like a first try project in certain ways. It is possible to make it even 'funner' by making it less frustrating.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    If you like enduring lots of suffering and pain then this is your game. The controls are simple, but with out practice you'll never really feel in control. The game has short levels that only take like 10 to 20 seconds if you don't die in the first 3. The levels are insane and I never beat the game, but I know it only get's harder and That isn't the kind of game I want to play.
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    Looking for an old school challenge with decent humor and tons of unlockables? SMB is tough, and requires strategy, skill, and patience, but pays off when you see all of your attempts assault the level at once upon completion. I can promise you, there is no luck or chance in this game. It is skill based, and the controls are tight, responding directly to input. Aside from numerous easterLooking for an old school challenge with decent humor and tons of unlockables? SMB is tough, and requires strategy, skill, and patience, but pays off when you see all of your attempts assault the level at once upon completion. I can promise you, there is no luck or chance in this game. It is skill based, and the controls are tight, responding directly to input. Aside from numerous easter eggs, and the level ending reward, there is nothing else new to platformers. The difficulty will frustrate everyone, especially towards the end, but Super Meat Boy is a pleasant and surprisingly difficult challenge you can relish in. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2015
    5
    Game play is tight and precise, story is cute and enjoyable to watch. The problem with the game is that it's boring. The little cut scenes are the only interesting thing about the game, the rest of it is bland. Game is very repetitive, which is the main culprit of the game being boring.
  8. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten meSMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    XBLA's best pure-2D platformer to date.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  3. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2011
    90
    A 'rare' treat. [Feb 2011, p.91]