User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 282
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2012
    9
    Tales of Vesperia is a diamond in the barren wasteland that is the 360 JRPG library. It has a lovely look, great voice acting and extremly fun gameplay. It's a long grind to complete but well worth it. I'd recommend this game to anyone looking for a challenge without sacrificing quality.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    This was the last Great JRPG on the HD generation of consoles, too bad critics were blind at the time and liked to hate on JRPGS...now they all are saying they wanted them back...well their faulkt for neatpicking
    Tales of Vesperia is a great RPG whit nice characters and storyteling, fast paced battle system, a huge world to explore....man I wish there was more games like those!!
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game. The characters, plot and game play all stand as the shining example of what other JRPGs should aim for. One comparison I noticed was to Final Fantasy VII. I think that is an unfair comparison. They are completely different game outside of being JRPGs in Science fantasy settings and one focus each story has. That focus is on how technology can destroy the world. In FFVII, the plot starts off with you playing as eco terrorists who are trying to stop a power plant from abusing the earth's energy. It's one sided, having the energy that's clearly destroying the planet be used for comfort. In Tales of Vesperia, their source of energy, aer, is unknowingly destroying the world due to overuse and the people use it to protect themselves against monsters, not abuse for comfort. The game acknowledges how the energy source is only bad in excess and that an alternative may be necessary to save the world and keep monsters at bay. Tales of Vesperia has a much more in-depth look at environmental damage, whereas FFVII is unsubtle and forgets about that plot point a few hours in. If you're comparing the two games, Tales of Vesperia has the advantage in the only thing they truly have in common outside of setting. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Simply beautiful. is everything you've come to expect from a tales game.
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly well put together little JPRG. I like the voice acting, as well as the unusually dark tone in the game. Yuri Lowell is easily a likeable and understandable protag. Sure it's got its usual JPRG flair, it's still balanced enough to have westerners like myself enjoy it. What's really surprising is the chock full of stuff to do all crammed on a single disc. I was expecting TalesSurprisingly well put together little JPRG. I like the voice acting, as well as the unusually dark tone in the game. Yuri Lowell is easily a likeable and understandable protag. Sure it's got its usual JPRG flair, it's still balanced enough to have westerners like myself enjoy it. What's really surprising is the chock full of stuff to do all crammed on a single disc. I was expecting Tales to be like the usual JRPG titles, 3 or 4 discs, most of it cutscene fluff. But, oddly enough, minimal in that department yet enjoyable to experience nontheless. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    It was a true pleasure to experience this one, story and battle system are a amazing. The Characters are likable, but the main character stands out. This is an instant classic and it is deserving of a sequel. The side-quests were not really a strength and I felt they were scarce, but this really is another masterpiece and should not be missed by true RPG gamers.
  7. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    Sick game! I'm usually not into jrpgs, and it seemed a bit weird/slow at first but holy moley this game opened up a whole new genre for me and its definitely worth a pickup.
  8. Mar 23, 2017
    9
    Probably my favorite of the Tales series. The characters and the story move you throughout the expansive world. The over world works well in this one, and I wished they had chosen to continue using this formula for the more recent Tales games (rather than save point fast travels which detract from the concept of exploring the world Namco Bandai created). So lets get to why this is aProbably my favorite of the Tales series. The characters and the story move you throughout the expansive world. The over world works well in this one, and I wished they had chosen to continue using this formula for the more recent Tales games (rather than save point fast travels which detract from the concept of exploring the world Namco Bandai created). So lets get to why this is a 9/10 and not a perfect 10. While it meets my criteria of the holy trinity: challenging, rewarding, and emotionally impacting. I can say it does not do one thing well, it concludes too well. No spoilers, but once beating this game the concept of a new game+ is not necessarily appealing. To me that removes one aspect which is the cherry on top for the 10/10 rating, replay-ablilty. By falling short for only that I can say this is a masterful Tales game. Yuri and his crew are all perfectly written and work well with each other. You truly get a feel for all the motivations and character progressions throughout this saga. The story is a 10/10 and so are many of the side quests (for which there are many). The combat system is second (in my opinion) only to Zestiria in enjoyable faced paced beat em up and item management. The trigger events during combat give it some flare along with all the returning and new artes. Each character is unique in their fighting style so playing through parts of the story with each can be a fun change of pace. The visuals and the soundtrack are one of the best in the series, as well. You get a thumbs up from me, so go play this game! Expand
  9. WampThing
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    Love the non-turnbased battles, and the game implements a ton of action during a battle. The boss battles are also pretty unique, because almost every boss has a secret way to being defeated. You can also use different characters to mix with your style, swords/axes,spears to bows to magic its got it all! Great and long story mode. I will say it "Amazing!" Been a fan of the "Tales" series, Love the non-turnbased battles, and the game implements a ton of action during a battle. The boss battles are also pretty unique, because almost every boss has a secret way to being defeated. You can also use different characters to mix with your style, swords/axes,spears to bows to magic its got it all! Great and long story mode. I will say it "Amazing!" Been a fan of the "Tales" series, and if you like the others, this one is the best yet. Expand
  10. RyanD
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    A stunning experience. The environments are beautiful, the soundtrack is excellent, the story is astounding, and most of all, as you progress further and further through the game, you'll find that you care about your party members more than many, many people in your own life. Voice acting is superb; it is near-impossible to outdo the job they've done here. When you check into an A stunning experience. The environments are beautiful, the soundtrack is excellent, the story is astounding, and most of all, as you progress further and further through the game, you'll find that you care about your party members more than many, many people in your own life. Voice acting is superb; it is near-impossible to outdo the job they've done here. When you check into an inn and everybody is sitting in their own place in contemplation, one cannot help but be moved by the soft serenade in the background as you walk around, talking and ultimately building relationships with everybody and feeling like you really know them as a friend. This game had me convinced for sure. Expand
  11. ZackaryS.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    I'm glad that the user scores for this game are more fair. this game is the best in the tales series and maybe one of the best JRPG i ahve ever played. i like JRPG but i can never finished them. but this game i made a point to finish and i am glad i did.
  12. KevinR
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    Another great entry to the best running series of RPGs (yes, better than the highly overrated Final Fantasy). The combat is better than ever, with more emphasis on combos and team coordination than in any other entry. The story, while not ground-breaking (but what is these days...) is well crafted, with a cast of incredibly interesting and lovable characters. The graphics and soundtrack Another great entry to the best running series of RPGs (yes, better than the highly overrated Final Fantasy). The combat is better than ever, with more emphasis on combos and team coordination than in any other entry. The story, while not ground-breaking (but what is these days...) is well crafted, with a cast of incredibly interesting and lovable characters. The graphics and soundtrack are top-notch, which is to be expected on the more powerful Xbox 360. It all makes for one of the better RPGs of the new console generation. Expand
  13. SY
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    A classic JRPG with solid presentation and little to no bog-down such as loads that were common in PS2 games. A lot of the reviews shown here will make a huge issue about 'cliches' in the system, to which I must point out, since when did JRPGs NOT follow familiar cliches to a point? To say that Final Fantasy is original because you get airships and Tales cliched because you get A classic JRPG with solid presentation and little to no bog-down such as loads that were common in PS2 games. A lot of the reviews shown here will make a huge issue about 'cliches' in the system, to which I must point out, since when did JRPGs NOT follow familiar cliches to a point? To say that Final Fantasy is original because you get airships and Tales cliched because you get an airship is absolutely ridiculous. Everything is made to be as user-friendly as possible (for example if you're no good with the action battles you can ramp down the difficulty, or increase it if it's too easy for you) and allows you to concentrate on enjoying the game. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    A wonderful game. Great soundtrack, captivating story and characters well developed. The gameplay is quite engaging. I would like to see Tales of Grace on the Xbox too, or maybe a continuation of Tales of Vesperia.
  15. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Great, great game. The battle system is the best in the Tales series thus far, real time fighting is always a pleasant addition to RPGs. The story will make it difficult to stop playing the game at points. But what really made me love this game were the characters. The characters you are able to play as are just very likable, meld very well together, and have excellent development. AsGreat, great game. The battle system is the best in the Tales series thus far, real time fighting is always a pleasant addition to RPGs. The story will make it difficult to stop playing the game at points. But what really made me love this game were the characters. The characters you are able to play as are just very likable, meld very well together, and have excellent development. As you progress through the game you realize just how much they care for each other, and how much you care for them. The song that plays in the intro to the game is very addicting, and every time I start it up I can't bring myself to skip it. I have played many games, yet this is the first one I have ever loved so much to write a review for. Play this game, I can guarantee you'll enjoy yourself. Expand
  16. CollinL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    This is the best tale game in the series with a perfected game mechanic and a exciting story filled with conspiracies and plot twists. Fun from the start to finish but with exception of a few frustrating boss fights.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Vesperia is the best Tales yet, and the best next-gen JRPG. There's nothing I dislike about this game. Great plot, superb character development, beautiful graphics, enjoyable combat, and all the satisfying RPG aspects are present in this game. It's deffinetly one of the best RPGs i've every played, and I've played dozens. The Metacritic average is lower than that ofVesperia is the best Tales yet, and the best next-gen JRPG. There's nothing I dislike about this game. Great plot, superb character development, beautiful graphics, enjoyable combat, and all the satisfying RPG aspects are present in this game. It's deffinetly one of the best RPGs i've every played, and I've played dozens. The Metacritic average is lower than that of Fable II, yet in RPG aspects this game is superior in almost every way. Still a decent meta score, but goes to show critics are just people with opinions, like everyone else, except they get their's published. Expand
  18. Adam
    Sep 3, 2008
    10
    Everything about this game is great. The battles, which are extremely fun, the voice acting, the beautiful graphics, the great story, and the many hours of entertainment it will give you.
  19. NohmadT
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Obviously this game is not for everyone, no game is. If you're a fan of RPG's, I'd suggest giving this a go. I enjoyed this game even more than I did FFVII. So the score I'm giving is based on my experience of enjoyability. 130 Hours in and it still keeps me hooked.
  20. May 20, 2011
    10
    Tales of Vesperia is everything a proper RPG should be. Great characters that you will warm to, brilliant over-the-top story, lots of side quests, customisation, character upgrades and progression, and charmfull humour.

    I've been waiting a long time to play a decent RPG on the 360. (and no Mass Effect and Elder Scrolls are NOT RPG's) While Tales of Vesperia falls slightly short of the
    Tales of Vesperia is everything a proper RPG should be. Great characters that you will warm to, brilliant over-the-top story, lots of side quests, customisation, character upgrades and progression, and charmfull humour.

    I've been waiting a long time to play a decent RPG on the 360. (and no Mass Effect and Elder Scrolls are NOT RPG's) While Tales of Vesperia falls slightly short of the dizzy heights of FF7 and FFX, its not far off, and I compare it to the likes of Dark Chronicle/Dark Cloud 2, which was another brilliant cell-shaded RPG. Its an excellent game that will take you in with its awe, and you will easily find yourself putting 100+ hours in.
    Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game since the SNES. Amazing, fast paced combat both easy to learn and rewarding/challenging to master. Beautiful graphics. A surprisingly deep story and well designed characters for a JRPG. Great music, plenty of funny skits that you expect from Tales games, hundreds of hours of play. I literally have nothing bad to say about this game, and it is my second favourite gameThis is the best game since the SNES. Amazing, fast paced combat both easy to learn and rewarding/challenging to master. Beautiful graphics. A surprisingly deep story and well designed characters for a JRPG. Great music, plenty of funny skits that you expect from Tales games, hundreds of hours of play. I literally have nothing bad to say about this game, and it is my second favourite game of all time after Final Fantasy VI. Expand
  22. TheJT
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    If you liked Tales of Symphonia then you will love this game. It has nice cel-shaded graphics and the combat is satisfying and fun. The story is also very interesting , although it has some annoying characters. But overall it is a very fun game to play and a long one too, it's worth it.
  23. KevinC.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    Great RPG. Beautiful graphics aswell.
  24. Jan 1, 2016
    9
    When i originally played this game i was kinda disappointed, it started getting interesting after around 15 hours of game time (around the coliseum) I'm replaying Vesperia every year and over time this became one of my favorite Tales of, i don't know if it's because the newer tales of never give me the same satisfaction but i feel like the newer are never as good, the game is around 35-40When i originally played this game i was kinda disappointed, it started getting interesting after around 15 hours of game time (around the coliseum) I'm replaying Vesperia every year and over time this became one of my favorite Tales of, i don't know if it's because the newer tales of never give me the same satisfaction but i feel like the newer are never as good, the game is around 35-40 hours long but if you do every side quest in the game it can easily double, the characters are amazing, Yuri is one the Best character ever, i also don't get the hate with Karol, hes an awesome char and his english is also great. The OST is awesome, really one of the best Tales of ever. Expand
  25. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Questo titolo ha tutto quello che cercate da un gioco di ruolo giapponese.
    A partire dalla caratterizzazione dei personaggi, veramente ottima. Se pensate che la caratterizzazione di un animale nei confronti di un umano sia insignificante, in questo gioco dovrete ricredervi in quanto Repeede ( il cane della squadra ) è un vero e proprio personaggio ottimamente caratterizzato.
    Questo titolo ha tutto quello che cercate da un gioco di ruolo giapponese.
    A partire dalla caratterizzazione dei personaggi, veramente ottima. Se pensate che la caratterizzazione di un animale nei confronti di un umano sia insignificante, in questo gioco dovrete ricredervi in quanto Repeede ( il cane della squadra ) è un vero e proprio personaggio ottimamente caratterizzato.
    Anche la trama si attesta su ottimi livelli. Vi ritroverete a perseguire l'obbiettivo del protagonista, apparentemente senza significato, per poi arrivare a dover salvare il mondo.
    Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The best JRPG on the 360. It has all the attributes of a 90's JRPG which is missing from other games in this generation. If you love the early Final Fantasies, Chrono Trigger etc, you will love this too.
  27. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    This game is a good time, the player count is actually 4 players, so you can get a few friends together and supply a beatdown for the ages. The characters can be insanely annoying, but then again, there's always an annoying character in anime shows. I don't like the fact that there's only one person that can move around, especially if you have 4 people waiting for the battles. It's a lotThis game is a good time, the player count is actually 4 players, so you can get a few friends together and supply a beatdown for the ages. The characters can be insanely annoying, but then again, there's always an annoying character in anime shows. I don't like the fact that there's only one person that can move around, especially if you have 4 people waiting for the battles. It's a lot of fun, though, and the graphics are cool, so it deserves a 9 in my books, very few flaws that aren't even a big deal. Expand
  28. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    As my first experience with the Tales franchise, this game was fantastic. A compelling story, with a fantastic cast of characters, plus a compelling battle mechanic, immeasurable depth, tons of side quests, a great soundtrack, strong voice acting, and a great art style. This game will last you a very long time; I spent over 80 hours on my first playthrough, and I am looking forward toAs my first experience with the Tales franchise, this game was fantastic. A compelling story, with a fantastic cast of characters, plus a compelling battle mechanic, immeasurable depth, tons of side quests, a great soundtrack, strong voice acting, and a great art style. This game will last you a very long time; I spent over 80 hours on my first playthrough, and I am looking forward to playing it again. If that isn't worth $25, I don't know what is. Expand
  29. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Probably the best JRPG I've ever played. The story is fairly good although a little generic. I like the story because of the major thing on the corruption of the government. The battles are fun and boss battles are amazing. In the third chapter of the game I couldn't wait to find my next boss battle because I knew how amazing they were going to be. Graphics are beautiful. The enviromentsProbably the best JRPG I've ever played. The story is fairly good although a little generic. I like the story because of the major thing on the corruption of the government. The battles are fun and boss battles are amazing. In the third chapter of the game I couldn't wait to find my next boss battle because I knew how amazing they were going to be. Graphics are beautiful. The enviroments are just amazing. The characters are really good too. I know with most JRPGs there is normally a few good characters and then one that is anoying as **** but that wasn't the case with this game. I didn't just like the characters, I felt something for them. Like I actually cared about the characters. Few games have made me do that and it seems to always be JRPGs like these. Theres a lot to do. The story took me around 50+ hours and there is easily 100+ hours if your a completionist like myself. I definitely reccomend this to anyone who is a fan of the series or a fan of JRPGs. Hand down the best JRPG I have ever played. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Truly one of the best RPG games of all time, and my pick as best JRPG of the last gen consoles, Tales of Vesperia is when the Tales series really started to take off. While riding high on the success of Symphonia, Vesperia introduced widespread changes to alot of the core mechanics of the game while making the experience feel like a classic Tales game. The thing that jumps out the mostTruly one of the best RPG games of all time, and my pick as best JRPG of the last gen consoles, Tales of Vesperia is when the Tales series really started to take off. While riding high on the success of Symphonia, Vesperia introduced widespread changes to alot of the core mechanics of the game while making the experience feel like a classic Tales game. The thing that jumps out the most here is the characters. From the main character Yuri to his canine friend Repede, each character has a certain charm that most games can only dream of having. Their interactions with each other is truly the brightest spot in an already fabulous game and it really sets itself apart because of the now voiced skits. Giving voices to the skits is a huge deal, even if you may not realize it. Going from Symphonia to Vesperia you'll feel a huge difference between the two and the voiced skits give that extra push you need to really care about these characters. The battle system has been tweaked just a bit, adding the ability to move in a 360 angle around the battlefield, which is huge. Plus the strategy it takes to beat some of the missions is helped out immensely by being able to move in every direction. While the ending is a bit campy and the story is anything but original, there's so much to this game that I can take away from its final score because of a story you've seen a thousand other times. This game renewed my interest in JRPG's and the biggest fault I can find here is the fact that we'll never see the best version of it in the states, the PS3 version which adds two new characters to the roster and quite a bit more stuff to the world. It's still easily the best JRPG on the system, and top 3 JRPG's of the last gen console's at least. Wonderful game that needs to be played by all fans of JRPG's. Expand
  31. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I played for a whole week trying to finish the game, as the addictive battle system drew me in. It's too bad it did not include audio for every character in the game, but it is still an excellent title.
  32. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Tales of Vesperia is perhaps one of the best RPGs of the current gen up to date and certainly one of teh best Tales games. The game in overall is a mechanically overhauled version of Tales of Abyss, with beautiful anime-style graphics, lots of contents, bits of changes in combat system, a huge plot that is good enough to grasp your attention, a nice cast, and more importantly, very deepTales of Vesperia is perhaps one of the best RPGs of the current gen up to date and certainly one of teh best Tales games. The game in overall is a mechanically overhauled version of Tales of Abyss, with beautiful anime-style graphics, lots of contents, bits of changes in combat system, a huge plot that is good enough to grasp your attention, a nice cast, and more importantly, very deep and fun sidequests to keep you playing for hours and hours. It's not as big as Tales of Abyss, but is certainly the RPG of this gen with the largest content even almost four years after its release. Expand
  33. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Tales of Vesperia is the best Japanese Role Playing Game on the current generation of consoles. Full Review Here http://alloyseven.com/articles/game/item/62-tales-of-vesperia-review
  34. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing! This game is one of favorites. Even with it's somewhat cliche storyline it is still one of the best JRPGs out due to having some of the best character development I have ever seen. With some great dialog that is pretty funny. The combat is fun an keeps you involved and quite brutal. There are many bosses that will rip you to shreds. I feel like many games don't do this and forAmazing! This game is one of favorites. Even with it's somewhat cliche storyline it is still one of the best JRPGs out due to having some of the best character development I have ever seen. With some great dialog that is pretty funny. The combat is fun an keeps you involved and quite brutal. There are many bosses that will rip you to shreds. I feel like many games don't do this and for that they suffer. The soundtrack is great and the environment is astounding. Graphics are nice and fit. I could on and on about this game, but I'll stop here so you can go and buy it. 10/10 Expand
  35. Dec 25, 2014
    9
    Well played this game principally over a nine month period treating it as a kind of serial anime, which is kind of what it is. It accompanies you just as much as Assassin's Creed does only in a fictional and cutesy atmosphere with an attaching cast and memorably rendered enemies. Three types of art style seamlessly combined in ways which I sometimes would have to ask myself "Are theyWell played this game principally over a nine month period treating it as a kind of serial anime, which is kind of what it is. It accompanies you just as much as Assassin's Creed does only in a fictional and cutesy atmosphere with an attaching cast and memorably rendered enemies. Three types of art style seamlessly combined in ways which I sometimes would have to ask myself "Are they rendering in CGI NOW?"

    Yeah. Played Symphonia when it came out in Canada on the GameCube and played fifty hours straight over five days. The same type of devotion is required to play this game.
    Expand
  36. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The game is huge very artistic even though the effects is not that stunning but the HD anime textures and vibrant environment is incredible and is not seen often in most console RPG's it's very worth your time and it has a very high replayability since there are so many miss-able content in this game. The battle are a bit slow during the start but as your character grows in terms ofThe game is huge very artistic even though the effects is not that stunning but the HD anime textures and vibrant environment is incredible and is not seen often in most console RPG's it's very worth your time and it has a very high replayability since there are so many miss-able content in this game. The battle are a bit slow during the start but as your character grows in terms of skills and artes learned, doing combos on your enemies is very flashy and satisfying. Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Für mich das beste Tales of! Und ich habe viele gespielt (Phantasia, Destiny, Symphonia, Vesperia, Graces f, Xillia und Xillia 2). Nicht weil es in den anderen Spielen kein besseres Kampfsystem gibt (eigentlich ist es bei Tales of ohnehin immer gut), keine bessere Grafik, keine bessere Story oder OST. ToV ist einfach in ALLEN diesen Belangen belangen gut und solide, während einige andereFür mich das beste Tales of! Und ich habe viele gespielt (Phantasia, Destiny, Symphonia, Vesperia, Graces f, Xillia und Xillia 2). Nicht weil es in den anderen Spielen kein besseres Kampfsystem gibt (eigentlich ist es bei Tales of ohnehin immer gut), keine bessere Grafik, keine bessere Story oder OST. ToV ist einfach in ALLEN diesen Belangen belangen gut und solide, während einige andere Tales Spiele in irgendeinem Aspekt eingeknickt sind. Zum Vergleich: Phantasia - hakelige Steuerung. Symphonia - teils nervige Partymember. Destiny - siehe Phantasia. Graces f - keine Open World. Xillia 1/2: Keine Open World und zu kurz!

    Für mich ToV = Best Tales of :D
    Expand
  38. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    The crystallization of all I loved from previous Tales games, like Tales of Symphonia and Tales of the Abyss, the combat system is refined and doesn't hold your hand, it is not that action focused as Tales of Graces, but slightly better than the system used in Xillia.
    The thing I disliked is that if the game had ended when the second act finished I would have been satisfied with the game,
    The crystallization of all I loved from previous Tales games, like Tales of Symphonia and Tales of the Abyss, the combat system is refined and doesn't hold your hand, it is not that action focused as Tales of Graces, but slightly better than the system used in Xillia.
    The thing I disliked is that if the game had ended when the second act finished I would have been satisfied with the game, because the ending is something I didn't like, it felt rushed, yet, I would recommend this game for everything in between.
    Expand
  39. May 22, 2017
    9
    Xbox hasn't always been the most fair platform to JRPGs, since AAA RPGs like Lost Odyssey are rated in the 7s when they are in actuality 9s and 10s. That said, you should certainly pick up Tales of Vesperia if what you want is a beautiful story, and are not interested in just non stop action all the time. This is a perfect way to break away from the action of a heavy multiplayer session,Xbox hasn't always been the most fair platform to JRPGs, since AAA RPGs like Lost Odyssey are rated in the 7s when they are in actuality 9s and 10s. That said, you should certainly pick up Tales of Vesperia if what you want is a beautiful story, and are not interested in just non stop action all the time. This is a perfect way to break away from the action of a heavy multiplayer session, as it offers an awesome story, great visuals and amazing characters. Likewise it is relatively low cost. While there, give Infinite Undiscovery a try as well since you can ride a giant sea faring ship. Vesperia also has some of the most memorable protagonists and a large airship: So make sure to give this a good go. Easily ranks among the best RPGs of all time. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Incredibly satisfying. [Oct 2008, p.82]
  2. The graphics are stunning, the characters are interesting and the game is simply really fun to play.
  3. 82
    Tales of Vesperia is a strong anime-style Japanese RPG with a wide-ranging story, compelling characters and an intense real-time battle system that keeps you on your toes.