Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    50
    A Ferrari-simulator with a lot of unlockable cars and solid racing mechanics. Unfortunately the single player campaign is staggeringly hard. Only recommendable for hardcore Ferrari fans, and especially not for the impatient.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    50
    It's so easy to find a better racing game that I can't recommend Ferrari Racing Legends to anyone but the most loyal fans of the car company from Modena. [10/2012, p.68]
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Challenging racer with good attention to detail and many iconic vehicles and tracks. [Oct 2012, p.87]
  4. Aug 18, 2012
    60
    Without the Ferrari license, Test Drive's latest does the bare minimum that a racing game should do, but it still gives you access to some stunning cars and fun races. [Issue#88, p.79]
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends is two-sided coin. On one side we have an interesting journey through the history of Ferrari, with beautiful cars that feel unique and fun to drive. On the other side we have been extremely frustrating game that sometimes doesn't even make room for the smallest mistakes and offers circuits with graphics well below average.
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    58
    If judged only by the variety of available cars and circuits, this could be one of the best racing games around. Too bad it's dragged down by a frustrating gameplay made of odd design choices and awkward driving model.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    65
    A great game for Ferrari and racing fans alike, with enough challenge to really test those familiar with the genre, but unfortunately lacking in a more approachable set-up, even for those of us who found the history of Ferrari utterly alluring even after just a few hours of play.
  8. Jul 26, 2012
    60
    Slightly Mad dropped the ball a little bit with the game's controls and limitations.
  9. Jul 24, 2012
    65
    Ferrari Racing Legends is more of a game for the true hardcore fan of Ferrari cars rather than a player looking for a good driving simulator.
  10. Jul 17, 2012
    60
    Ferrari Racing Legends is without balance. The way you have to unlock things, doesn't work and that's a shame. Ferrari deserves a better game than this one, because the cars are basically the only good part of the game.
  11. Jul 11, 2012
    60
    Nice and pretty, but lacking any deep content that diehard fans of the genre might expect in a Ferrari-based game. It's fun and interesting to follow the story of the italian brand, but it isn't enough to keep the vibe for more than a couple of hours.
  12. Jul 10, 2012
    55
    A terrible campaign structure and other problems make Ferrari Racing Legends an exercise in frustration.
  13. Jul 10, 2012
    64
    As a rental, Test Drive Ferrari Racing Legends will give you an awesome couple of nights of high-octane racing with you, a bunch of friends, and a couple beers. But as a permanent addition to your collection, I'd say avoid it unless you are a serious hardcore racing fan.
  14. Jul 9, 2012
    62
    It's hard to classify Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends. Is it an arcade racer? Definitely not, since most of the challenges are really hard to complete. Is it a simulation? Not even: too few tuning options and no introduction to the events. The game is packed with plenty of cars and tracks, but fails to truly deliver.
  15. Jul 6, 2012
    45
    Test Drive Ferrari Racing Legends is a bad game. From every point of view. It cannot even entertain fans of Ferrari or Racing maniacs.
  16. Even with EA's Need For Speed-branded gloss stripped away and replaced by rudimentary menus, there's still a satisfying, if bare-bones, driving game beneath.
  17. Jul 5, 2012
    65
    Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends is not a bad game; it is simply what it is. I hate to be so nondescript about a game, but if you like Ferraris and racing the tracks they tend to zoom on, you will probably have a good time. If not, then this game is definitely not for you.
  18. Jul 3, 2012
    65
    An impressive number of race events are spread out across three separate campaigns that tackle different eras of Ferrari history and do a masterful job of showcasing the evolution in car designs over the years.
  19. Jul 3, 2012
    65
    The combination of a solid racing framework with the Ferrari license could have worked out, but this is a zero-sum game that appeases nobody. Ferrari Racing Legends does not exhibit the best of what the sports car brand nor the developer have to offer.
  20. Jun 22, 2012
    78
    Ferrari Racing Legends is an entertaining racing game for everybody who loves Italian sports cars and realistic driving. The new Test Drive on one hand offers a lot of cars and (historic) racing tracks, it looks fair and sounds great but on the other hand the career mode especially in the first hours lacks variety and the game's difficulty isn't balanced very well.
  21. 50
    As much as Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends looks the p;art--with 50-plus vehicles sporting fantastic detail inside and out--its humdrum and overly difficult career disappoints, while spotty handling and physics keep this simulation strictly for diehards. [Aug 2012, p.80]
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    6
    "Test Drive Ferrari Legends" is the newest game in the Test Drive franchise, being produced by Slightly Mad Studios (NFS: Shift 2), being more"Test Drive Ferrari Legends" is the newest game in the Test Drive franchise, being produced by Slightly Mad Studios (NFS: Shift 2), being more oriented to simulation, on a closed track. The game has 2.14 GB of data, not having too much content.

    The graphics are excellent in the cars aspect, and we observe the details richly preserved, both on the outside and inside, with a vision of the instrument panels among other things: but the tone is somewhat artificial and colors too bright, and we notice some jagged edges.

    One disappointment: despite having car damage, such as broken glass and crushed sides, they just go to a certain extent, and ultimately does not affect control (ie the car does not break). You can participate in day, morning and evening races, and in clear and cloudy skies but there is no rain or night option. The lighting effects on the 3D models of cars is pretty cool, and perfect, but missed a details sheet and the presence of Zoom or Free Roam to see their details.

    The racing environments are nicely detailed, especially in nearby elements, but in the more distant, as the backdrop, and in the audience, we see much less realistic and squared graphics, recalling the "The Sims" - not to mention that the same applies to the driver. We see people moving and shifting, with perspective camera animations but they are harsh and mechanical (the audience front row is ok, all others are static).

    The menus have a more simplistic presentation, with a animation in the background of a parked car and simple menus, black and white. I also felt the lack of content in the form of videos or photos of the cars and eras, which could have been incorporated, for fans of cars and ultimately, this would be better to make this a "better" game.

    Audio: the game has a music track accoarding to the Ferrari theme, many of the tracks being orchestrated, with classical music and opera voices, beside some songs in the style of action games (also orchestrated). During races, there is no background music.

    The narrator has a general narrative with a heavy English accent, and his voice is monotonous and does not convey emotion, while maintaining the same tone for all the dialogue he radio you at the races, or in the menus. The sounds of the engines is perfect, but if you miss life in the absence of other elements that could exist on the track to give a better sense of reality.

    The gameplay style is oriented to simulation, feeling a somewhat strong presence of elements of NFS: Shift 2 as in various elements of gameplay such as the direction and control (but drive here is a painful experience), and as you evolve, and like the games Test Drive Unlimited, it returns to pass on a closed track.

    Overall the AI presents some challenge, despite not having very human reactions to dodge cars, etc. - on the curves we observe aid in the form of an online track, from green to red (velocity) as in games of the Shift series. The missions are divided around the three eras of Ferrari: Gold, Silver and Bronze, following more or less the story of her development, and that you are the same pilot in these 3 eras - for each course and there is a competition, a car fitting the season that goes on.

    As stated, all circuits are closed, and real ones, and the game has put a total of 35 races, with a primary and a secondary goal, and both count towards XP points which in turn count towards your ranking throught Amateur to Pro. The gameplay has 3 difficulties, and is a little challenging, even on Easy, as a slipping or an exit from the track can cost you the race.

    Summary: just being a average racing game, especially for fans of cars, by the presence of various models of Ferraris in it, but nevertheless, has regular to good graphics and presentation; the game did not have much depth and is somewhat monotonous and dry in the menus and gameplay that does not excite much.

    Therefore only I recommend it to who is a fan of Ferraris and the oldest Test Drive franchise, noting that in this game, the atmosphere of the races in the older games (Test Drives) is no longer present, the NFS: Shift 2 is much better, and this game ends up being more a average "showcase" of Ferrari cars.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    I love racing games. However, I'll be honest: I'm not the biggest Ferrari fan. (I root AGAINST them in Formula 1, and I prefer Lamborghinis,I love racing games. However, I'll be honest: I'm not the biggest Ferrari fan. (I root AGAINST them in Formula 1, and I prefer Lamborghinis, Lotuses, and American muscle.)

    Therefore, I thought for a while before purchasing this game, as it's exclusively focused on putting historic and modern Ferraris through their paces on racing tracks. Plus, I prefer open-world racing games, or at least those that FEEL like open-world (Need for Speed: The Run).

    Now that I've been playing this game for five days, I am very glad I did decide to get it. The cars are rendered beautifully, which, if you love Ferraris, will mean even more to you than it does to me. And I LOVE the way they handle. When you're driving an old GT car or historic single-seater, they feel exactly as I'd expect them to feel. You're going to have to deal with some bumps throwing the car off balance, and other realistic quirks. As you proceed to modern cars, such as the turbocharged F1-87 Formula 1 car, you'll feel a complete difference. You can absolutely experience the evolution of transmissions, brakes, and suspensions in this game! I'd say that's a big accomplishment.

    You know how some people call certain sports cars "driver's cars?" That's what this game feels like: a driver's game that's a lot of fun if you want not TOO much of a challenge, but not an arcade racer that would bore the simulator folks.

    As to the missions in the campaign mode, this is an extremely structured, linear game. That being said, I really have enjoyed the missions. You'll do things that just "feel" like accurate real-life challenges, such as playing "follow the leader" with the Ferrari team's number 1 Grand Prix driver while you're learning. Or making sure to win a race while also making sure that your teammate finishes 2nd, for a nice 1-2 photo finish.

    If you love Ferraris, I'm almost positive you'll enjoy this game. If you love any racing game that's a challenge, AND isn't completely unrealistic in terms of handling, then you'll appreciate this game even if you aren't a Ferrari nut.

    Recommended.
    Full Review »