Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    88
    A very enjoyable game, despite some blind spots in the graphics and sound areas: the social aspects and the many, many things to do in Ibiza and Oahu will keep your interest high for a long time.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    Though it offers more diversity than its predecessor, it can't reach top scores in our review due to the literally nonexistent story.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    75
    TDU2 is an incredible toy box full of racing, exploring, car collection and the lifestyle of the fast and famous. But the rough start has probably made the rest of the game's experience a lot less than it could have been.
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    70
    Developer Eden Studios has put way too much time in creating a good online experience. This is probably the reason why the gameplay hasn't really improved on its predecessor. Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game, but can't challenge the greater racing games of our generation.
  5. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a strangely satisfying and very frustrating arcade racer.
  7. Feb 25, 2011
    40
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 definitely has its moments and I can't deny the game's quirky charm. But the great strength of the roster of cars, the enjoyable driving model and compelling location can't eclipse the lack of enjoyable content or the confusing economy.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Not understanding the bad reviews for this game. This is one of the most brilliant, large world you can explore in. More fun than exploring in any RPG, plus you can level up!
    I think the dirt races are more fun than the asphalt races, but really it doesn't matter when there's SO MUCH to do besides only racing. If you have a a lot of time on your hands, this game should keep you occupied for months, at the least.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This game rocks! I guess if you're not EA, you do not get fair ratings. The game has everything, and does it well. Even a Casino. which Atari could have sold as a seperate game (it comes bundled in some purchases). The graphics are beautiful, and its the only game theat blends single player and multiplayer flawlessly. As you play Single Player, you can actually see online gamers driving around. You can even challenge them to races, or just cruise with "Virtual Tourism". I played TDU1 for 5 years, still play it and TDU2 I'll be playing for 5 I'm sure. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Input type: MS Wheel + Backup Controller
    Driving Aids: None
    Gearbox: Sequential Manual (Gated shifters get a new option here)

    I feel that it
    is important to start out with the input to the game. Many people have already posted great reviews and I assume that they are using the controller. However, I have yet to see anyone post about using a wheel, so I will concentrate on this, as this is the input type I chose for this game, as opposed to TDU1 where I used a controller for my time in that game.

    For those using the Fanatec TurboS wheel with a gated shifter, good luck with the 7 speed transmissions ;). However, it should be noted that, for how I am playing, I also have a second controller sitting around to flip between the driving and Avatar experiences (which is not seamless). This is to note the fact that, if using the MSWheel, the D_pad up/down will work at times when you think it should, like not rolling windows up or down in-car, as those have been permanently assigned to Avatar walking. While playing the game with the controller would be more ideal for Avatar interaction and GUI navigation, the car control just feels very jumpy with the default settings, and not what you would want to be doing for a MMORacing game. In TDU with the pad, I just never got into it since I treated it as a game to beat instead of a game to just drive. This game, however, I am treating like a driving game that I sometimes get out to walk around and sometimes have to use the controller to setup things in the UI that are impossible to do with the wheel. To that point, nothing is still more frustrating to me as being in in-car view, and NOT being able to to all the actions the game has since the input device isn't mapped to work. In fact, when using the wheel, the D-Pad just doesn't work in a lot of instances, such as trying to navigate the overhead map and being forced to use the "snap grid", which works terribly. Still, with these concerns apparent, I believe TDU2 with the wheel is a great driving game. Maxing the force feedback, the game felt much more rewarding that i remember in TDU1. I wanted to just cruise around from point to point. I wanted to drive in the night time and in the pouring, thundering rain and lightning. Also, I noticed that the road layout felt it had improved as well. I was no longer bumping and jumping off the road as I did in TDU1! Cars didn't feel like sacks of cement. Driving close to cars and weaving in and out of traffic in TDU2 was great! Getting level 10 on the new F.R.I.M. system, which rewards drivers money while cruising for clean driving, was a cinch with the wheel! Wondering if things were really that much better withe the game, I switched back to the controller for a little while, but I find that to just be extremely twitchy without a lot of practice, and degrades the experience A LOT for me. Thus, I maintain flopping back and forth between the controller and wheel, a ton, which is very clunky and disappointing. In TDU2, without the ability to set how far away from the wheel I am sitting (perspective), as you could in TDU1, I find myself not using the in-car camera at all. I also avoid this mode since the interior shot will move back and forth like NFS:Shift trying to make you feel "more engaged". All it makes me feel is more sea-sick. ]The driving definitely makes it worth while, but I was hoping for an experience that didn't feel so hamstrung by using an interface that I thought was a "no brainer".

    As to the actual driving with the wheel, please note that this is not a Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo, both of which I have played on the latest consoles. With the MS Wheel, TDU2 is serviceable, and feels like a decent arcade driver that is trying to be more realistic than Burnout or NFS but no where near FM/GT. To that end, once you learn the rules of the cars, it works. The AWD cars can be driven like AWD cars, to a point, with AWD launches and pendulum turns around the copious 90-degree in-town turns. The RWD cars demand respect with the throttle, and traveling at 200+ mph means the steering gets light, and you have to be on your toes. It is a great experience, and once you get used to TDU2s rules, it is enjoyable.

    Finally, Online Interaction: This is where the game should shine, but alas, it has the same launch failures as I recall with TDU1. Clubs are currently not working. Getting into an "instance" with your friend, let alone a few friends, is close to impossible in my experience and tests. The Casino will eat your money. My friends have experienced the corrupt game save. Leaderboard times are NOT updating. There is just a lot broken with the game, and for an online game, that is not good. Still a great game, and I would check it out!
    Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    This is one of those games where you don't really mind the bad graphics,awful character, bugs and a glitchy world, just sit on the couch, just drive around some beautiful cars and take it easy. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    Never in my life have I been so disappointed as I am with this game and that's pretty pathetic.I can't tell you how much I thought Atari was going to amaze us with this game but it's the same ol' song and dance,great amazing Ideas on paper but executed very,very poorly on screen.Are you kidding me, I have never, ever played a driving game this bad on the 360 or playstation 3.This game belongs as a Wii exclusive cause it doesn't have the graphics like need for speed,Gt5 or forza at all!!I'm tired of this company giving us pathetic titles.I thought it was bad about Jeff Gordon's mouth moving all over the place in GT5 now it seems alright,I just can't tell you the disappointment I feel. 5 Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    A game that stopped in the time, lacks everything, graphical, game play, history, is a shame that a game with a history , fail in everything, other reviews say this game is beautiful lol , in Ps2 ; xbox, yes , in xbox 360 no , not buy this game , there are more game cars and all are better than this garbage. 1.0 Expand

See all 33 User Reviews