User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 202

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worthThe darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worth its asking price and whilst some reviewers have complained about bugs in the game during my time with the game I didn't notice a single one. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    The Darkness 2 to me is different among other games it keeps you wanting more just like the creature inside Jackie the game play is fantastic and the story is riveting and quad wielding is something new and flows really well the graphics are great to me it reminds me of borderlands 2 i have already beat the game and im on my second play through and i could tell you this game is worth a buy
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This was a very fun game with an interesting plot to boot, however the campaign is ungodly short, so I would recommend a rent rather than a buy because you won't get much time out of it.
  4. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    this game have a perfect gameplay and is good graphic cell shade an texture is good and etc but sound not very perfect the darkness is good game the story about jackie escado and game tell good say for people and this game have a co_op it is very fun
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    This is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPS in the market. The game feature very nice and innovative cell-shaded graphics (like Borderlands, but in a sinister way), and you have other "weapons" than the usual guns, that being two "dark creatures", that can eat the soul of the enemies, but youThis is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPS in the market. The game feature very nice and innovative cell-shaded graphics (like Borderlands, but in a sinister way), and you have other "weapons" than the usual guns, that being two "dark creatures", that can eat the soul of the enemies, but you have to manage the environment too, because you're vulnerable to light. For whom have played the original game, it's like the experience of the first one, but much more refined. The game also features a Multiplayer and "Horde" like mode. My score: 8,1 / 10,0 Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    It is a fun game, simple as that. The shooting is fun, story line is very good, after all it is a video game; basically it is everything you want to do!
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    It's true that The Darkness 2 detached itself from it's predecessor by a long run just leaving the open-world aspect and realistic graphics behind, but it also reminded us that the franchise is still solid no matter how perspective you look at it from, either its comic, gritty visuals, highly animated characters or more linear narrative. The Darkness 2 grows dependant with its addictiveIt's true that The Darkness 2 detached itself from it's predecessor by a long run just leaving the open-world aspect and realistic graphics behind, but it also reminded us that the franchise is still solid no matter how perspective you look at it from, either its comic, gritty visuals, highly animated characters or more linear narrative. The Darkness 2 grows dependant with its addictive gun play, fast paced gun-slash-run mechanics and beautiful comic-like art. Expand
  8. May 9, 2012
    7
    A very interesting sequel, considering how dark the 1st one was. However, I think they made a mistake with the comic style. I loved how realistic and immersive the original was, and how awesome you felt when you would unleash the darkness in a nightclub, or a factory. Now it just seems you are overpowered, on a linear path, ripping to pieces mobsters. The story however, is perfect. TheA very interesting sequel, considering how dark the 1st one was. However, I think they made a mistake with the comic style. I loved how realistic and immersive the original was, and how awesome you felt when you would unleash the darkness in a nightclub, or a factory. Now it just seems you are overpowered, on a linear path, ripping to pieces mobsters. The story however, is perfect. The characters and Jackie himself keep the game flowing, which build up towards an epic finale. However, it is a bit on the short side, and can easily be completed within a day. Overall, it is a good sequel, despite the mistake of a linear comic take. Fun, violent, and immersive. 7/10 Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters out at the moment, the campaign is a little short but has good replay value thanks to the upgrades and some really emotional moments that are worth a second playthrough, the co-op isn't great but it's fun and can also be played solo, the graphics areI can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters out at the moment, the campaign is a little short but has good replay value thanks to the upgrades and some really emotional moments that are worth a second playthrough, the co-op isn't great but it's fun and can also be played solo, the graphics are original and well drawn. The darkness II will make you feel like a badass like no other recent fps, buy it with confidence and if you haven't got the first one buy it too, it's an experience you won't miss Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2012
    3
    I don't think anyone reviewing this game who gave it a high rating and says it is an improvement over the first game can have played and loved the first game. They have taken a unique and engaging game and turned it into a very ordinary shooter. The shooting mechanics admittedly needed some work on the first game but other than that it was a very special and surprising change from anyI don't think anyone reviewing this game who gave it a high rating and says it is an improvement over the first game can have played and loved the first game. They have taken a unique and engaging game and turned it into a very ordinary shooter. The shooting mechanics admittedly needed some work on the first game but other than that it was a very special and surprising change from any other game I have played. The Darkness I is one of my all time favourite games and this game is just so ordinary. I am an achievement hunter and could easily get a perfect score on this game but dislike the experience so much that I will not even try. I just want to leave it behind and never think about it again. It is nothing like the first game. If they had called it something else then maybe it would be an o.k. shooter but for someone who loves and respects what the game developers gave us in the first game it is a crying shame. So disappointing. Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Just started playing The Darkness 2, i have now about 5 hours of play , and this is a must buy !
    For those who played first darkness this is a day one buy for sure.
    The new graphics engine is fantastic, digital extreme was done an incridible job without any doubts. The story is still very good like the first game, the gameplay is alot improved, the OST is great... It is more linear then
    Just started playing The Darkness 2, i have now about 5 hours of play , and this is a must buy !
    For those who played first darkness this is a day one buy for sure.
    The new graphics engine is fantastic, digital extreme was done an incridible job without any doubts.
    The story is still very good like the first game, the gameplay is alot improved, the OST is great... It is more linear then the first, but you get to do whatever you want on your mansion, talk / do mini-games.
    Multiplayer is much better, you get a separte campaign, you can play in co-op mode too.
    The limited edition costs as much a regular edition of any new game, and its very good... the cover is 3D and you get a poster inside the box of the game, and the special content.

    My score is 9/10
    Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I adore. This. Game. Very few modern shooters manage to be so much FUN that it doesn't matter if the levels are repetitive and linear, which certainly wasn't the case here, but I don't want to talk about the level design: I want to talk about the gameplay, graphics, and story. Gameplay is insanely smooth. You have two human arms and two demon arms, each operable independently, butI adore. This. Game. Very few modern shooters manage to be so much FUN that it doesn't matter if the levels are repetitive and linear, which certainly wasn't the case here, but I don't want to talk about the level design: I want to talk about the gameplay, graphics, and story. Gameplay is insanely smooth. You have two human arms and two demon arms, each operable independently, but controlling this hydra of a character never feels overwhelming in the slightest. The upgrade system adds some wicked awesome powers and this great feeling of progression, and the use of light as a deterrent and weapon against your powers was a really cool feature. The graphics were, in a word, insane: Not quite as high poly as some other modern games, but the textures were flawless and pixel-free, the cell shading was a welcome addition, and the whole thing was optimized to a point and never once lagged on my machine. But the best part... the best part was the story. I don't want to spoil anything, but it's emotionally intense: I've never felt so compelled, so driven to move forward simply to find out what happens next simply because I'm wrapped up in the emotion before. It succeeds in planting the seeds of uncertainty into the player's mind as you progress so well that, by the end, you'll be completely unsure as to what's real and what isn't.

    It's short, but sweet: quality over quantity is a mantra the developers embraced with warmth. If you want a sprawling adventure that lasts for a long, long time, go play Skyrim or Human Revolution - but if you want to be taken along by an epic rollercoaster ride of emotion, play this game, however you can.
    Expand
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    The game is what we expected from a sequel. I can say I was disapointed by the story. it really didn't tie in together and in the end, killed itself because of an AWFUL ending. The game plays like butter, good variety of guns and enviromental objects to use as weapons. There is just no replay value at all. I rented it and beat it in a day. It's a good rental, but not a buy.
  14. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Better than I expected. The game brings some interesting mechanics with the demon arms. It is quite amusing to pick a car door up as a shield and then hurl it at an enemy slicing him in half. The story is pretty interesting as well and having not played the first Darkness, the Darkness 2 makes we want to go back and check out the first game. There is also a leveling system that is quiteBetter than I expected. The game brings some interesting mechanics with the demon arms. It is quite amusing to pick a car door up as a shield and then hurl it at an enemy slicing him in half. The story is pretty interesting as well and having not played the first Darkness, the Darkness 2 makes we want to go back and check out the first game. There is also a leveling system that is quite deep and helps make combat more interesting. The game also rewards for killing enemies beyond the simple point and shoot mechanics. However I found myself getting bored after the novelty wore off and the story was the only thing keeping interested in the game. But overall a decent shooter! Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    Great story, great gameplay, great co-op, great fun. The downfall of this game is the story is 5-7 hours long. A single player based game should not be 5 hours... no matter what. There is no excuse and this is the biggest flaw with the game. Very disappointing. Makes you wonder if your 60 dollars was worth it.
  16. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This game to me was everything i wanted the game to be. Its bloody and violent and still keeps to the story line well in my opinion. All and all worth the buy if you can handle some of the gore.
  17. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    I loved the original game. The Darkness 2 changes it's graphics, which isn't bad even, I liked it. But it seemed to me that it was just a classic arcade shootout game. The story is good, but nowhere as good as in the first one. There are no tear jerking scenes as in the first one and the overall feeling just doesn't quite fit. It's a very predictable game and the story ends in a scene thatI loved the original game. The Darkness 2 changes it's graphics, which isn't bad even, I liked it. But it seemed to me that it was just a classic arcade shootout game. The story is good, but nowhere as good as in the first one. There are no tear jerking scenes as in the first one and the overall feeling just doesn't quite fit. It's a very predictable game and the story ends in a scene that raised the only emotion I felt while playing this game, anger. What a stupid ending. It turns into something completely different than I expected. But if I don't count the ending, it provided some fun and tricks played on your mind, it's a good game. Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    WOW. I actually thought I was renting Prototype II and was thinking about returning the game before playing it - but I got hooked in the first ten minutes of gameplay. Very short (playthrough in a day), but incredible good direction and fine storytelling. Getting used to using two arms and two tentacles is also super-addictive. It's a refreshing new take on gaming, sort of like comparing aWOW. I actually thought I was renting Prototype II and was thinking about returning the game before playing it - but I got hooked in the first ten minutes of gameplay. Very short (playthrough in a day), but incredible good direction and fine storytelling. Getting used to using two arms and two tentacles is also super-addictive. It's a refreshing new take on gaming, sort of like comparing a crisp action movie with a multi-episode television series. The cellshading actually works real well, the music was moving and the game keeps being entertaining instead of falling into the traps of repetitiveness. Expand
  19. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Quite an amazing game, and a great follow up to the first game. Its also easy to pick up since you don't need to have had to play the first game (all though I highly recommend you do) The game has a fantastic cell shaded look that reminds me of the comics. Game play in the Darkness 2 is bloody, fast paced, and extremely fun. The storyline is great and succeeds to hook you in and refuse toQuite an amazing game, and a great follow up to the first game. Its also easy to pick up since you don't need to have had to play the first game (all though I highly recommend you do) The game has a fantastic cell shaded look that reminds me of the comics. Game play in the Darkness 2 is bloody, fast paced, and extremely fun. The storyline is great and succeeds to hook you in and refuse to let you go I'll the games end. The darkness 2 is a little bit too linear unlike the first game and the level designs arnt very vast and there isnt mutch to explore or find either. But if you pick up the limited edition you get a great value. You get a nice double sided poster, a download of the first 2 darkness comics and some exclusive in game stuff. Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    The darkness 2 is a different experience than the first game and that's not a bad thing. First thing that stood out to me in the game was the comic book visuals. I think the new look fits great with the darkness considering the first game had a much more dark and dingy look. Once again you play as Jackie and after the events in the first game you start off as a mob boss this time. TheThe darkness 2 is a different experience than the first game and that's not a bad thing. First thing that stood out to me in the game was the comic book visuals. I think the new look fits great with the darkness considering the first game had a much more dark and dingy look. Once again you play as Jackie and after the events in the first game you start off as a mob boss this time. The game play has really been refined this time around, it's a blast to shoot and rip goons apart in this game. The story is good but, it did leave me feeling like I wanted something more out of it. Overall the darkness 2 is a great game and i'm sure many fans of the series will enjoy the game just as much as I did. Expand
  21. Xon
    Aug 11, 2013
    10
    LET'S DO SOME RANDOM MISCHIEF!

    I love comics, I love games which inject humour and add a decent dollop of story combined with solid gameplay. And The Darkness 2 had it all. I'm a busy father who doesn't have 200 hours to invest in a game. The Darkness 2 kept me entertained, didn't overstay it's welcome and wrapped up the main story while opening the door to a sequel, which sadly we
    LET'S DO SOME RANDOM MISCHIEF!

    I love comics, I love games which inject humour and add a decent dollop of story combined with solid gameplay. And The Darkness 2 had it all.

    I'm a busy father who doesn't have 200 hours to invest in a game. The Darkness 2 kept me entertained, didn't overstay it's welcome and wrapped up the main story while opening the door to a sequel, which sadly we might not be seeing anytime soon.

    THANKS MONKEY!
    Expand
  22. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Not quite what expected from a sequel to the original Darkness game, but still very fun. Awesome gameplay, pretty cool story, and fun co-op come together to form a worthy game.
  23. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    Surprisingly good shooter with a twist! I am not a big fan of FPS, but The Darkness definitely is one of the more interesting one around, with a good story, unique mechanics albeit a relatively short campaign. It's violent and gory, with a great art style evoking its graphic novel roots.
  24. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    The first Darkness game is my first FPS game on Xbox360 and also one of my all time favorite shooters. Even though the Darkness 2 is a bit different from the first game, it's still as fun as ever except that this time it got better gameplay along with more interesting story and narration.

    Even though the semi-open world aspect from the first game is gone, an experience point based upgrade
    The first Darkness game is my first FPS game on Xbox360 and also one of my all time favorite shooters. Even though the Darkness 2 is a bit different from the first game, it's still as fun as ever except that this time it got better gameplay along with more interesting story and narration.

    Even though the semi-open world aspect from the first game is gone, an experience point based upgrade system, brutal finishers and dual-wielding were introduced. The cell shaded graphics will remind as of the game's graphic novel origins.

    The Darkness 2 is easily one of the best comic book adaptation video games I'd ever played.
    Expand
  25. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    After getting my hands on 'The Darkness 2' I have managed to complete all of the online Vendetta mode and even made a start with Don mode in the single player storyline. When I started up the Vendetta mode I had no idea what to expect. It was new and very different from the single player. I was happy to see that it could be played online or offline, making achievements for the those whoAfter getting my hands on 'The Darkness 2' I have managed to complete all of the online Vendetta mode and even made a start with Don mode in the single player storyline. When I started up the Vendetta mode I had no idea what to expect. It was new and very different from the single player. I was happy to see that it could be played online or offline, making achievements for the those who still don't have online, gold or who don't find it enjoyable to go online feel right at home.

    I began my first play through on 'Hit List' mode, picking medium difficulty and the Voodoo character - JP Dumond. Right off the bat you have facing two enemies and no signs of a tutorial and even though this confused me at first I preferred the direct input of you just learning as you go. The only problem I had was that while you do get a gun in your right hand, I was wanting to use my dark staff more to perform executes and powerful moves, however this really wasn't the case. I could simply throw one man into the air but had to wait a few seconds for him to come down or even for my weapon to be used again, not something that I was heavily impressed with. On the other hand I did still have the right hand gun and a two handed weapon ready for use, but it's like when you were a kid and you got a new toy, you always want to use the best bits as much as you can.

    As I progressed further into the first hit list challenge I found the gameplay to get more and more difficult with each enemy killed. The level was very short but still somehow satisfying with the boss able to be reached within about 3 - 5 minutes and the boss fight lasting around 3 minutes, providing a kind of sample of what to expect in later hit list missions. The last fight was rather difficult with the character I had picked, the enemies could take a large amount of damage without really phasing them, however I didn't manage to die and in fact found a nice method for using the gun to weaken opponents before unleashing a spine twisting finisher for a boost of health and more experience points. I had a massive amount of fun with this but still found it very difficult to say I was only on the second difficulty setting.

    I did manage to try each of the characters out and here is my breakdown of each and what to expect after playing both offline and co-op with others online --

    - JP Dumond, an African master of the dark arts with his hand crafted staff. He has the ability to suspend and single enemy in the air whilst blasting nearby enemies in a small radius away (with upgrades). His Black Hole ability allows to hold people in place as they struggle to hold on or drags them in, allowing for moderate exp point allowance.

    - Jimmy Wilson, a Scot whose axe can rip through enemies with a single throw, he also has the ability to summon darklings which will attach themselves to nearby enemies and explode. His axe can also be returned if the throw misses, allowing to knockdown any enemies it hits.

    - Shoshanna, a female gunslinger with very powerful darkness based gun. She has the ability to shoot any enemy with either individual blasts or a single charged shot, allowing you to practically obliterate your opponent with a single hit. Her special ability also allows for her to see through walls and blast enemies with auto aim, all without using a single bullet in the clip.

    - Inugami, a Japanese swordsman with a very powerful samurai weapon. This character has a great deal of damage when getting close and allowing him to easily slice through a great deal of enemies before they can return the favour. His special power gives him the ability to shoot a swarm of locust to all those on the screen, rendering them useless in combat.

    Finally I got to the single player storyline. I began on Don mode, something that I knew I would struggle with to some degree and I was right. As a bit of an achievement hunter I felt Don would give me a nice back bone of achievements before being able to blow the smaller achievements away on my second play through. Even though the difficulty added to some stress in the game I was finding myself having a massive amount of fun with Jackie and The Darkness. I found the storyline to be full of depth whilst allowing enough room for you to simply dissect your opponents with bars lying around, car doors, enemy shields and much much more. A game that deserves all the credit it gets. Without ruining any of the storyline I just want to say it will be a treat, carrying on nicely from where the last game left off, and for those who read the comic books, you wont find yourself getting any massive changes as Top Cow worked very heavily with 2k and Digital Extremes to make this game what it should be, just as it did with the first.
    Expand
  26. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    If your looking for a unique shooting game look away from the crowded military shooter crowd and look towards The Darkness 2. The game has few to none glitches, epic boss battles, and load of bloody combat. Along with engaging combat, The Darkness 2 also has a strong story. I would recommend renting for the campagin is short and the online co-op won't hold your attention for long.
  27. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    I was never a comic book person, then again Iâ
  28. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Bad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and isBad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and is excellent and satisfying. The story is in my opinion solid and well told, the voice acting is superb and convincing and the sections involving Jenny really tugged at my heartstrings. This game is refined and violent but also draws me in to the storyline and makes me really feel Jackie's frustration and sadness. The only flaws are the occasionally samey enemies and the not perfect multiplayer but apart from that, the Drakness 2 is well worth a try to any who love a violent and epic love story. Collapse
  29. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game is epic. It's gory, has an alright storyline, and it is incredibly easy. Sometimes you just love a game that you can rampage through.
    Even after watching my little brother play the demo, it was awesome. Ill buy this for $200 if I have to.
  30. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Funky Cold Medina! Great soundtrack to be honest. Very fun and interesting game but the story was a little cliche at times. I enjoyed the overall experience but the cell shaded graphics didn't fit the genre. http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/
  31. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never played The Darkness 1 so i'm new in the series. And I can say it was a hell of a ride for me. The gameplay is perfect in it. The campaign was very good but too short for me. And one thing, don't do stay with Jenny ending or the end will suck
    Do the other ending, it's so much better. Coop is good and fun but not 2k's best coop game ever.
    Campaign 8/10 Coop 8/10 The Darkness 2 8.1/10
    Expand
  32. May 17, 2012
    9
    I hated the first Darkness game so when this was announced I had no interest. Then I saw the reviews and more on it and started having interest. I rented it from Red Box and loved it. The gameplay is so much fun and the story and characters are all great. I love the art style and the voice acting as well. If you did not like the first game don't let that sway your judgment in playing this one.
  33. Jul 4, 2012
    7
    The darkness 2 is a linear action packed corridor shooter filled with action and really nothing more. The action is luckily quite good. What makes the combat stand out from other fps is the demon arms that is actually really useful not to mention fun to use. In the end though the game is still an about 10 hour long corridor shooter with a gimmick and nothing more. But as long as you startThe darkness 2 is a linear action packed corridor shooter filled with action and really nothing more. The action is luckily quite good. What makes the combat stand out from other fps is the demon arms that is actually really useful not to mention fun to use. In the end though the game is still an about 10 hour long corridor shooter with a gimmick and nothing more. But as long as you start the game expecting just that you are probably not going to be disappointed. + Presentation, demon arms, characters, boss fights. - story, linear Expand
  34. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    One BADASS game, 10/10 absolutly, so much fun 10/10
  35. Sep 12, 2012
    8
    Game was real good it was pretty easy to get all the achievements thankfully none are online good story and solid game play definitely has replay value
  36. Oct 13, 2012
    5
    I really liked the first one (it was much deeper than I suspected). This one, however, is missing a lot of what made the first game stand out. D2 takes the run and gun approach and the story takes a back seat this time around. Props to the improved controls but overall the campaign was pretty short and forgettable. Not $60 worth of game by a long shot.
  37. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    4 armed combat has never been more fun. Along with a decent story this game is extremely fun and fresh. The story may be linear and short, but the experience is sweet and joyous I do wish that the combat tree was worked on more as the potential is really there and the game might feel repetitive after a while despite being short. However I do recommend this at a great discount price.
  38. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable, with a very nice gameplay that makes you feel unstoppable, and actually you are. After all, the darkness is a really serious and you are its herald.
    Just a few hours, about 4-5 hours, to complete a nice, gory and dark campaign that it really make
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable, with a very nice gameplay that makes you feel unstoppable, and actually you are. After all, the darkness is a really serious and you are its herald.
    Just a few hours, about 4-5 hours, to complete a nice, gory and dark campaign that it really make me want to read the comic.
    Expand
  39. May 11, 2013
    9
    Improved demonic controlls, improved gunplay, improved visual style, iproved AI, and improved story: the Darkness 2 is everything a good sequel has to be with an ejoyable campaign. The only flaw is the low replayability and the lack ofcontect (singleplayer and multiplayer, that's about it).
  40. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    While The Darkness II is in no way a complete failure or broken, it does not live up to its predecessor's name, and in that case may be seen as a failure to improve. It also does not live up to the mystique and graphical exploits of the comic series, or any other works generally produced in its stead. While this is a shame, it is true.

    Well, with that not-so-bright note on my mind, allow me to continue on to the final portion of this review, in order to bring you the most generous help in deciding whether or not to purchase this game. Here's the Game Informer version of the scale:

    Concept: Creating a living, breathing sequel to The Darkness, as well as an interesting moral quest for revenge and adventuring through the exploits of a saddened killer and mafia boss.

    Graphics: While the graphics are a step in a new direction from the previous game, and the cutscenes are generally rendered pretty well, the graphics are neither anything special nor new- and thus lack any real visual flair, instead sinking back into the anonymous reach of gaming space.

    Sound: The sounds aren't anything to marvel at, and the compositions are nothing special, however- it is always satisfying to hear the deranged ways your enemies meet their ends, as well as the occasional gripping and chilling tunes haunting the world of The Darkness II.

    Playability: The game suffers from some major flaws, but nothing truly potentially game-breaking aside from the occasional console glitch that is pretty much unpreventable.

    Entertainment: While entertaining for a few hours to begin with, the gameplay quickly becomes stale and overused, especially after dispatching hordes of the same enemies and mulling through too many uninteresting levels repetitively for five hours on end.

    Replay Value: Low

    While my final score for the game would by a 6.75, which is by no means great, I am sure there are a few people out there who might enjoy this game, and hopefully this review will help you, regardless of what choices you may make on a purchase or non-purchase of it. Hopefully this has been helpful.

    Written 2012
    Expand
  41. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I'm always a sucker for games (and films) that take the Bible and throw a twist on it (think Darksiders). While I wouldn't submit this game as theologically sound, I think it raises some interesting questions and gives some insight for those looking to glean that from their playthrough. However, to those just looking for the entertainment value- the game doesn't shy away from being brutalI'm always a sucker for games (and films) that take the Bible and throw a twist on it (think Darksiders). While I wouldn't submit this game as theologically sound, I think it raises some interesting questions and gives some insight for those looking to glean that from their playthrough. However, to those just looking for the entertainment value- the game doesn't shy away from being brutal at times, but has a LOT of great gameplay mechanics that suck you into the tale it has to tell, and the fight mechanics are very exceptional! Expand
  42. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  43. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    Thought the game was amazing!!! Really liked the voice acting and characters in the game and the gameplay was especially great as well. The use of dual guns and the darkness as weapons makes for a good fun time. With the use of re-gaining health by eating enemies hearts along with the brutal ways you can kill with the darkness to obtain more health and more ammo adds to what makes thisThought the game was amazing!!! Really liked the voice acting and characters in the game and the gameplay was especially great as well. The use of dual guns and the darkness as weapons makes for a good fun time. With the use of re-gaining health by eating enemies hearts along with the brutal ways you can kill with the darkness to obtain more health and more ammo adds to what makes this game great and just flat out just fun to play. So if you want to play a game that's cheap and is fun too play definitely get this game. It's only $12 used at Gamestop now so great price and worth it. Expand
  44. Sep 24, 2014
    8
    This game is very good. Definitely worth a look. It's a first person shooter done in the style of a comic book and has the story telling to match. It has an almost perfect balance of story and action. While this game can be slightly offensive it does have a heart to it. You will very much enjoy yourself, playing as the main character Jackie, trying to control the force of evil that livesThis game is very good. Definitely worth a look. It's a first person shooter done in the style of a comic book and has the story telling to match. It has an almost perfect balance of story and action. While this game can be slightly offensive it does have a heart to it. You will very much enjoy yourself, playing as the main character Jackie, trying to control the force of evil that lives within you, and being head of a mafia. Expand
  45. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    dark, gory, great story, awesome characters and beautiful art design. unfortuently it feels too short, and the enemies all look the same and there is no big change up in combat, which wouldn't be such a huge deal if the focus of the games wasn't on the combat. It is a great experience and for the experience alone it deserves a 10, but because of some issues in gameplay I can only give itdark, gory, great story, awesome characters and beautiful art design. unfortuently it feels too short, and the enemies all look the same and there is no big change up in combat, which wouldn't be such a huge deal if the focus of the games wasn't on the combat. It is a great experience and for the experience alone it deserves a 10, but because of some issues in gameplay I can only give it an 8 because I feel like Im just here for the story now and the gameplay feels second fiddle although that's where the focus is Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2014
    6
    Aside for a few flaws, it makes a really good game.
    It is somewhat innovative when it comes to game-play - and the story and cut scenes are enjoyable and leaves you thinking.
    However, it has a few glitches such as getting completely stuck in tight spaces. Graphically, it looks like Borderlands 1 - but less refined and more buggy. It is also somewhat grindy, and even though the game has
    Aside for a few flaws, it makes a really good game.
    It is somewhat innovative when it comes to game-play - and the story and cut scenes are enjoyable and leaves you thinking.

    However, it has a few glitches such as getting completely stuck in tight spaces. Graphically, it looks like Borderlands 1 - but less refined and more buggy. It is also somewhat grindy, and even though the game has a lot of options - it becomes somewhat boring though relived by the story.
    Expand
  47. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    Bad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and isBad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and is excellent and satisfying. The story is in my opinion solid and well told, the voice acting is superb and convincing and the sections involving Jenny really tugged at my heartstrings. This game is refined and violent but also draws me in to the storyline and makes me really feel Jackie's frustration and sadness. The only flaws are the occasionally samey enemies and the not perfect multiplayer but apart from that, the Drakness 2 is well worth a try to any who love a violent and epic love story. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    84
    An average shooter wrapped in an entertaining story.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    78
    I haven't played a game to completion twice in a single sitting since Portal 2, which should roughly hint at the quality of experience that awaits: It's short and sweet, with a decent cooperative multiplayer side-story for added value. And by "sweet," I mean you can hang a thug upside-down and rip their intestines out through their ass.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Drastically improved combat means entry two is far from the disappointment many predicted. [Apr 2012, p.70]