User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1014 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world.
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Though this has aged over the past 6 years,it's still one of the best games ever.In anticipation for Skyrim,I began again and put another hundred or so hours into it and despite some tech issues and somewhat dated graphics,I can still recommend it.Seriously,if you call yourself a gamer and have never played this,you are mistaken.
  3. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Not often do i give a game a perfect score. Oblivion offers a seamless world of fantasy and adventure. Add to that the ability to do whatever you want anytime and the choice to continue playing after you complete the game. This is truly a remarkable game, which can be enjoyed for countless hours even after you have beaten it.
  4. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many games now a days are shooters so not many people consider an RPG to reach out to people as much as a shooter would but Oblivion does. Oblivion is one of the best games I have ever played it combines great graphics with amazing story telling and long lasting appeal I have been playing for almost a month now and I haven't even come close to being done with the first disc this game is HUGE. The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion takes place in the imaginary province of Cyrodiil where you are a prisoner who has an extraordinary destiny and that is all I am gonna tell you. If you want to learn more about the story then go and play this game it will not waste your time I promise you What are you still doing here reading this go on GO play the game already!!!!! Expand
  5. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    One day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... thereOne day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... there are so many shops and so many things you can do. I'm about 6 hours into the game, understand that this game is over 100 hours long if you do everything that it has to offer. Don't listen to the haters, for a 2006 game it impresses gamers even from 2011 where we have Dead Space 2, Halo Reach, Killzone 3, and all the rest... Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". DownsidesAmazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". Downsides are minor and I do not even mind them much. Things like repetitive combat and bad AI at times. It does not ruin the game for me. Large scale area, multiple quests, and combat suited for a RPG. The graphics were amazing for 06, and the water is still beautiful to look at. The textures could use some work but that doesn't really hinder this game at all. Lets hope Bethesda makes Skyrim even better then all the other games combined. Oh and you can play after you beat the game....Fallout take notes. Expand
  7. May 6, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of yourOblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of your own. Too many rpg games since oblivion are banging out incredible graphics at the expense of having a good solid storyline. Many developers out there should be looking at oblivion and realising that you have to get the storyline and plot interesting in order for in rpg game to be good. The weapon functionality in terms of upgrading your equipment (armour and swords) is fantastic you are always on the lookout for better gear, this is one thing that oblivion done briliantly. To many recent rpgs have very little focus on this aspect eg the witcher.

    Finally i would like to sat that i hope oblivion skyrim is just as good if not better than oblivion, the omens are looking good because they say there will be dragons and dragon language. Now that soiunds goooood.
    Expand
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    Just like Skyrim, the leveling system of this game is abysmal. Since enemies level up with you, there's a feeling of a lack of progress. Games which are this open have problems like this.
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly wrong, instead of wandering around hopelessly. Similarly, it is brutally and unforgiving when it comes to accidental thievery. Try to click on the bartender to talk to her, and likely you'll accidentally click on an alcohol bottle. THIEF!!! she cries out, and even if you put the bottle down immediately, a guard will escort you to the castle, where you'll have to pay a fine for touching a bottle on a bar. Character interaction is annoyingly weak. To get a character to like you, you'll need to, in a brief period of time, Boast, Joke, Admire, or Coerce him/her, repeatedly, via a mini-game. Bashing heads solves almost every quest, so the talking issues in the game are neatly covered up by massive bloodshed (although corpse cleanup isn't so good; this one poor shop has had 3 naked corpses in it for months now).

    Also, the main story line is, no fun. It's not just the "you start in a prison with no equipment or past" lameness that's been done so many times before. Opening up the gate from a hellish world all through the countryside, you're told things like, "You must save him RIGHT NOW" but we still have the theme of do whatever you want so the invasion or execution or whatever will patiently wait until you go off and become head of every guild, visit every city a dozen times, or do whatever else you feel like. The main quest just doesn't feel right in this context. You'll also need to close many gates, and the sense of accomplishment for doing so is a bit boring, as each close the gate quest is almost the same.

    Finally, we have an overall design flaw here. Usually, once your character gets above level 25 in any game, there is nothing left to challenge you, making the whole game extremely easy. Oblivion (tries) fixes this by making the monsters and treasures as your character does. So, a cave that would hold rats for your first level character holds trolls at a higher level. It sounds nice, but it creates new problems as well. First, the thrill of exploration drops off a bit; I know the monsters I meet and treasure I gather will all be set to my level, there's no danger in encountering something far too tough for me to defeat with a simple thumping, and there's no thrill of finding a great artifact far outside the power of my character. Second, the non-player characters generally aren't leveled. A number of missions grant you help from additional soldiers and such. If you're too high a level, the monsters you encounter will toss those soldiers around like confetti; leaving you all alone to deal with a horde of monsters (at least you can loot the soldiers corpses for extra gold). Curiously, the best counter to this is to design a character that does NOT go up levels. By basing your character around little used or unnecessary skills, you can get a character that goes up levels at a slow enough pace that you can see all the game has to offer; go up levels too quickly, and you'll miss many monsters that simply won't appear for high level characters.

    So like I told you at the beginning, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! (The only reason I gave it a 2 was because of the lovely graphics!)
    Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    The game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in theThe game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in the quality of the voice-overs which is poor at best, as well as the amount of actors that are involved in the process. There's about 12 of them. For like 120 characters. Seriously. The amount of quests is severely limited - at least cut in half (optimistically...). Another extremely annoying feature of this game is the fact that enemies level up with the player character which not only makes you feel like you're not leveling at all but on the higher levels you get weaker and weaker compared to enemies... But I could forgive all that if the exploration was more rewarding. And let me tell you - it is almost not rewarding at all. You wander into a a dungeon with enemies and loot generated to match your level, then to another which looks completely the same, then another... almost same dungeon? Yes. For real. Sadly. This means not only extreme boredom and no point at all to exploring dungeons. It means you will never encounter unique items and powerful artifacts in dungeons you explore - like it was in Morrowind. The only things that are actually improved since Morrowind are the combat system - which makes you feel like you're actually fighting and not just swinging a sword like a puppet - and special bonuses that you gain leveling the skills. Every 25 points up to 100 in a skill gives you a special ability your character can perform. Example: 100 in acrobatics means you will be able to jump on the water, 100 in swords will give you a special move etc. These things are nice but do not make up for all the setbacks mentioned, The plot. Well. The plot is just the most horrible abomination I have ever seen in a would-be RPG game - why would-be? because in RPG you actually have some choices which influence the world in some way, here your only choices are whether to complete a quest or when to do it, which are not choices at all. Anyway, the plot is linear as hell, you have no control over the outcome of the game. You are not even the main character of the game - you only help him while he takes all the credit for all that tedious dungeoncrawling! The factions are present as before - you do quests and make your way up in the chain of command. But these are pretty boring too. The only one I really enjoyed somehow was the Dark Brotherhood and, the Thieves Guild (but not as much). Overall - if you have too much time to waste you may as well take this game up, but it is nothing special. The bigger DLCs like Mehrunes Razor and Shivering Isles can improve the game's situation but I am rating the base game now so... It doesn't stand anywhere near Morrowind in terms of fun, content or the story line. Why would Bethesda simplify their game so much? I don't know. Nor I want to know. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    The graphics are great and the voice acting is great. The music is ok, but forgettable. The story is ok, but very generic. But where the game fails is gameplay. The leveling system is broken, and the gameplay is boring, so very boring.
  12. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  13. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    An all time classic of the genre, and the benchmark for all other console based RPGs. Perhaps a bit dated now, however still worthy of a playthrough if you haven't experienced it, especially considering how cheaply you can pick it up.
  14. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    I tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with levelI tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with level scaling enemies, kind of unnecessary. Many people like this game, but it didn't age well for me. Expand
  15. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    i liked the games concept and combat but i had huge issues with glitches and objective confusion to the piont where i couldn't continue playing the game. Typical Bethesda :(
  16. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 8 Characters: 7
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 6
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.4/10 = A-
  17. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    Enemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seenEnemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seen the last 10 times. Everything is so picture perfect it feels like I'm walking in an urban park. No grit or realism in the world. Caves are pointless to explore all enemies and loot are scaled to me anyway. When you're exploring everything feels spreadsheety. Oh look, I see somebody in the distance I wonder who they are? Oh wait, sigh, they're an enemy that simply charges at me when they see me. No witty or interesting conversation to be had here. NPCs are robotic and major immersion breakers. There are guards hiding in every closet and basement, just watching and waiting to see if you'll steal that spoon, and then they'll get on their laptops and enter your name in a database, flagged as most wanted, putting every guard in the enter realm on high alert and hunt you down like you're OBL. Oblivion gates are ok the first time. But after the first one, ugh. Bethesda doesn't understand what immersion is so I'm walking on the main road to Kavatch when I see a cave just off the road, along with a big "you have discovered such and such cave", well no sh-t, you put it on the main road like a gas station. Don't want to make this next gen gamer have to go out of their way and discover the cave for themselves they might get frustrated and not buy our next game. Who cares about mystery and exploration when we can just put our dungeons and ruins on the main road like tourist attractions. Along the same road was a goblin encampment. At first I thought they must be friendly goblins being so close to the road and all but no, they attacked me on sight (just like every. single. last. enemy. in. this. game.) Someone should probably tell that guard I just saw that THERE'S A GOBLIN ENCAMPMENT JUST OFF THE MAIN ROAD! If you're looking for a good role playing game then pick up Gothic 3 Enhanced Edition. It's a game where you actually have to buy the world map IN GAME, imagine that Bethesda! Expand
  18. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors 2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc 3) Dungeons are repetitive maps 4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors

    2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc

    3) Dungeons are repetitive maps

    4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get through with no relief. They are get in get out affairs and rush back home to relax

    5) Those are horses? they act like coast rugs with little value

    6) No houses to buy, no women to marry, nothing to do but join a couple guilds and fetch this for some money you don't wanna spend on anything cause there is nothing to buy

    This game is a bore. Morrowind was geographically interesting although flawed. Skyrim gets everything right except the voice acting.

    I think people just wanted to love some of the early xbox 360 games that were released because this game doesn't stand the test of time.

    Want Proof? Ask anyone that has played Skyrim or Oblivion which game they would rather play It will be Skyrim everytime which means this game can't be a 10 and shouldn't even be in green numbers
    Expand
  19. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    At this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really hadAt this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really had to offer. I didn't really find that in Oblivion. I played through the main story line and didn't really find much value in playing it again. I had some fun playing it like I have fun playing most Role Playing Games but I didn't find myself completely immersed in it like a lot of people did. I guess it's my fault for playing Skyrim first :P Expand
  20. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about Oblivion? Cheap, dull, and weird. Pretty much sums up Oblivion. The sequel to Morrowind, and the ugly step child of all the Elder Scroll series. In the game you start off as the Hero of Cyrodiil, the Empire's homeland of Tamriel where the entire game takes place. You are a prisoner who, by fate of the Nine Gods, meets Uriel Septim, the Emperor of all Tamriel, who notices you are the person from his dreams and that he knows his death is near. You are given freedom soon after you follow them from a secret passage way they end up taking. This is the games tutorial area, and character building area. As the weapons and skills you use define who you are, though you can change them near the end of it. Once released from the sewers you are allowed to roam all of Cyrodiil and see all the sights and wonders. The game fits well with what it is, but where it breaks is characters, as they seem lifeless and just ugly looking. The combat is ok, but lacks any type of diversity, making you settle for the same character skill set for the entire game. Quest are fun and diverse though, as you can be an assassin, a fighter, and even a mage from certain guilds. But this is the bad thing: The Dark Brotherhood quest can fit any role, but the Fighter's Guild and Mage's Guild fit only for a certain character that may or may not be your own (Unless you want to do it the hard way).

    The story can be really boring, unless you want to be apart of the lore which then can make you understand what is going on. But it's also tedious to close all the Oblivion Gates, as the area just seems the same through and through. It's a challenge no less, as the Daedra fight both with sword, bow, and spell. It gets pretty tense as the fate of all Nirn rest on you... but it breaks the immersion that you know your going to succeed.

    Graphics are just as it was going for a cartoon-like setting, but it makes a poor choice for a game like this as it was to immerse you and make you the gritty Hero from the Divine Gods. But the colorful expression made it ok.

    You can replay this game may times if you like it, but can get old after the first ten characters. Play as Monk or a Hand-to-hand. It can get funny and fun.
    Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Don't know why, but I just couldn't get into Oblivion. Dated graphics, uninteresting gameplay and repetitive missions. It was a chore to beat. I didn't like it, which is weird considering I love Skyrim.
  22. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is simply the most comprehensive game and experience on the Xbox 360 to date. While a few other games on the system might do one or two things as good or slightly better than Oblivion, none of them come close to overwhelming experience that is Oblivion. Simply put, it is the one Xbox 360 game that everyone should own.
  23. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    This is classic Bethesda. Brilliant characters, decent mechanics, an excellent plot. Downsides are the same as in most Bethesda games: things start to look the same quickly. Every Aeylid dungeon uses the same tiny texture palate, every indoors location in a given city looks the same. The outdoors is kept fresh and interesting, a notable difference from Fallout 3, but the textures reallyThis is classic Bethesda. Brilliant characters, decent mechanics, an excellent plot. Downsides are the same as in most Bethesda games: things start to look the same quickly. Every Aeylid dungeon uses the same tiny texture palate, every indoors location in a given city looks the same. The outdoors is kept fresh and interesting, a notable difference from Fallout 3, but the textures really bug me, it drags down an otherwise excellent game. Still gets an 8/10, but loses points for textures, odd physics engines, and the infinitely annoying Mage's Guild entry level quest ring. Expand
  24. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    well when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as goodwell when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as good would be ... robbing people houeses isnt near as fun no loot ever worth steeling . less magic spells and they took out the ability to fly!!! WHY!? enimys and new gear lvl up with you which i didnt like . i liked the feel of never knowing what i was walking into when exploring in morrowind. made more of a fun challange and making me wonder what i was gona find for loot. .now i know all the enimys will be my lvl and the loot will always be near what my lvl is... sucks. not as much to do as in morrowin eather although im not complaining i still spent 160+ hours doing just about every thing to do in this game which is way longer then just about 99.9% of games out there but morrowing was 400+ hours. regaurdless of all that bethesda still made a great game and i am very happy with it . Expand
  25. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    As close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions andAs close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions and conjuration. Very refreshing! An immensely immersing game and a much better successor to Daggerfall than Morrowind was. The only thing missing is user generated content playable on the console. Expand
  26. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    You don't like RPGs? I wasn't that into them, and my friend hated them until we discovered Oblivion by accident. We bought it because best buy was out of a game... and all I remember is that we played for 2 days straight, all nighter included. You like RPGs? Don't have Oblivion? Get it. NOW!
  27. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky andThis is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky and list this or that I would change, but none of my suggestions would really make the game much better than it already is. Expand
  28. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Oblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you'veOblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you've got smiling innkeepers you can slaughter and poor guards who get caught in spike traps in the oblivion gates. Sure it looks a bit bad graphically now but for a game that came out in 2006 the graphics are impressive. It has great voice actors such as Sean bean and Patrick stewart ( if you ignore the fact that about four people voice the other few hundred characters). But one thing that sets oblivion apart is how clever it is. The AI are very good. They have a disposition system so that if they dislike a character they attack! One time I was in a town and I met a nice man who was a blacksmith and we talked about rumors ( which I had been told before by others in town)
    Anyway we parted ways and I did a quest and it turned out he was a spy and he attacked me and some guards but was put down. The quest I had done had lowered his disposition as he was in the faction called the mythic Dawn who I did the quest against! Good innit!! This happens alot and they aren't scripted events meaning they aren't meant to happen they just do. Which is cool. Another time I denied a quest from a little wood elf who promptly went home, got an axe and went on a killing spree! Anyway enough about the AI . They game has hundreds of weapons and thousands of spells that you can learn or create. There's just so much to do. You could live in this game if you could! Get it. GET IT NOW.
    Expand
  29. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    this game fuses action and exploration to the point where i wish i lived in this magical world. With amazingly beautiful music and the best graphics i have seen in a while this game is one of the best.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.