User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2997 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is a delicious game to play. It has everything an RPG wants: Freedom, Character build, story, a realitic world environment...

    Unfortunately it also has one thing (like previous Bethesda games) that no game wants in it: BUGS. After 9 hours of gameplay the dialogs stopped to work for me and I had to go back to a previous gamesave 3 hours before (time flies while playing!). It's a
    wonderful game but by no means deserves a score over 9. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    With Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way to sum up Skyrim. While games like Uncharted 3 and Gears of War 3 just offer shallow, scripted events that are forgotten days after, Skyrim gives you a massive playground that eclipses any other in the digital realm, and gives you the tools to make your own fun, regardless of what kind of games you like to play. Without a doubt in my mind, the greatest video game ever created. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    If you were new to the Bethesda RPG games, this game would be a ten because you'll be amazed out how this game is so huge. If you have already experienced and loved the Elder Scroll series, then this game is a nine because basically it is Oblivion tweaked. Graphics aren't really that much updated or revolutionary; nothing we haven't seen since 2008 from other AAA games. The characters are not as hideous looking as before and the girls actually look attractive this time around. But I swear, Bethesda and Bioware must have a running bet on who can make the ugliest elves in their games. The storyline is just as long as Oblivion's, and the numerous sidequests are about on the same level and uniqness. The combat is as unimpressive as before with the exception you now get, more often than not, pretty cool finishing moves. That's kind of disappointing because today it is possible for some RPG franchises to blend in well the combat action into their RPG games without turning them into hack-n-slashes; Fable and the Witcher come to mind. I was really hoping for an epic battle against a dragon in this game, but it was not so. But those are just small issues considering how impressive Oblivion was five years ago that this game's overall experience is far from dissappointing. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to see how this could be improved upon. The characters, stories and environments are all matchless; combat is fun and involving, and even just running around is a pleasure. Having spent hundreds of hours in Morrowind and Cyrodiil it's already clear to me that I'll be spending even more time in Skyrim.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a huge improvement over Oblivion in nearly every way. First the setting. The land of Skyrim is huge, beautiful, and varied, unlike the ultimately 'pretty but boring' Cyrodiil of the previous Elder Scrolls game. Gone are the copy and pasted caves, forts, and ruins. Every single dungeon is hand crafted and it shows. Just like the exterior lands the dungeons are gorgeous to look at and compelling to explore. The level of detail given to character and item models is a HUGE step forward. The animation has been given a complete overhaul and at long last characters move naturally and believably in a Bethesda game. The combat has been improved as well. The ability to bind spells and weapons to each hand creates a much needed depth and customization to combat. The spell casting is much faster, more powerful, and more spectacular to look at. The sound design and music are similarly amazing. I'm trying hard to find things to dislike about this game, and the only thing I can come up with is the interface. The interface isn't horrible, but it take some getting used to. I've played the game for about ten hours now, and I haven't seen a glitch or had my game crash, which is also a plus considering this is a Bethesda game. All in all, I'll be playing Skyrim for a very long time, and I think this is easily the game of the year. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has created an incredibly immersive and realized fictional world in the fifth game in the Elder Scrolls. NPC's interact realistically, with improved animation and voice acting. Although the total number of skill categories has been reduced, the game does not suffer. In fact, cutting away the excess fat of past games put Skyrim ahead of its predecessors. Combat has been streamlined and improved so that the player can switch between different weapons and magic easily. The menu and inventory systems have been given a similar treatment, with the primary focus being on making it easier for the player. The game is also very well balanced. Wielding swords, bows, magic or taking a more stealthy approach are equally emphasized and all seem like viable ways to play the game. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Currently *the* best western-style RPG available. Perfect? No, but very close to it. There is such an unbelievable amount of stuff to do, the first playthrough of the average player will easily take 250-300 hours. Great story, great lore, great graphics, great music, great everything! Then why no 10, you ask? Simple, even this game has a few strange design decisions, and also has its fair share of bugs (...I literally just lost my freakin' face for example O_o ). And there's also a 360-specific bug; if you install the game, certain textures will eventually stay low-ress. This has something to do with streaming and cache and whatnot.
    But none of these problems has been game breaking, and Bethesda will fix them as soon as possible.
    It's also a shame that console players are unable to participate in the awesome modding community, but this is not Bethesda's fault.

    Why are you still reading this? Go buy Skyrim!
    Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough
    content to keep you busy for 300 to 400 hours. While I still miss a proper, decent revival of old-school RPG adventuring titles like Eye of the Beholder, Wizardry or even Dungeon Master, Skyrim is the best I've seen in quite some time. While that in itself is an easy accomplishment, simply for the lack of there being no competition whatsoever, it has to be said that a game that makes one forgive and forget the many, many flaws really must do some of the more important things right.

    Mind you, this game really is not without flaw, and I sincerely hope Bethesda will get rid of the underlying problems big and small, but I found my visit to Skyrim to be interesting, refreshing and very, very inspiring. It's one of those few games where starting over with a completely different character makes sense, to see how things would have turned out if you had chosen a different path, sided with 'that other side'. It is true that there are not quite enough of those game-changing options that have an impact on the whole game world. But, seeing as how exponentially complicated these things easily and quickly get, I was happy with what we got. If you manage to resist the temptation of exploiting any levelling shortcut or other cheating, Skyrim offers an astonishing amount of story and background, with an unequalled freedom to do as you please. Classes are not a one-time choice, you get better at whatever you choose to do by doing it. So your rogue could conjure up a tank or a decoy, or your mage could very well resort to maces or axes if things get rough and you find yourself in a closed quarters combat situation. Even your destruction mage could eventually be sneaky enough to silently pick off single foes with a deadly arrow before shooting fire and ice and lightning bolts, which makes for quite some diversified action. I admit: I really did not want to like this, but I ended up loving it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    So i worte a short text because of hate Steam. But now about game. I really like this Skyrim!!!! It is a wonderfull game, i promise dont use graphics mods for it. :) It is really perfect to world... Everything fine. The people(emo's, fan of manga guess dont see so hehe) Sure it is a console port and everything really simple but work so perfectly. The fatalities are good and system of fight good too. Only speed and lucks miss to perfect rpg feeling. And guess some things miss for example when i use imperial armor the rebels should attack me as it happen in Fallout new vegas. But i put 10 to this game because it is a really universum and i really like it :) Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I've played in a very long time. It has absorbed my weekend and caused me to get far too little sleep. Bethesda have surpassed themselves. They've merged together the best elements of Morrowind, Oblivion and Fallout 3. They've improved the graphics, the game play, character creation, levelling up, crafting, oh and the music is a delight. This is a fantastic game that illustrates how RPGs should be made. Although there are a few minor bugs it would be ungenerous to give this game any less than 10 out of 10. Game of the Year. Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim manages to be beautiful, sublime and engrossing all at the same time and i personally would like to congratulate the developers for bringing us this fantastic game.

    Game of the year
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible and deserves nothing less than a 10. People who rate lower have obviously never played a Bethesda game and don't realize the enormous scale of Skyrim. It is beautiful and well done. No doubt there are bugs but they are few and don't effect the experience what so ever. Buy this game so Bethesda will continue to make great RPG's.
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest... Skyrim is different. The dungeons are unique and creative, the boss fights are fun, and the quests are exciting! People interact with you constantly, making the world feel alive. On top of all of that you have the massive, beautiful environments plus all of the stuff you normally get with Elder Scrolls games (professions, great music, etc.) What am I doing even writing this review? I should be playing Skyrim! Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Liked oblivion? This improves. Ten-fold. Leveling is now a fluid masterpiece, being able to form your character from your play style is new and unrestricted. No more guessing at the beginning of the game of what you will like, it is all what you use through out.
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Some people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said it took itself to seriously: right, I did a quest yesterday involving me getting drunk and ensuing carnage on Skyrim. It was basically like The Hangover: I sold a farmer's goat to a giant, swore at some monks and angered a witch by saying I'd marry her and then called it off.
    Oh, and the people who say "it's too much like Fallout." YES! FALLOUT WAS BASED ON OBLIVION, THE PREVIOUS GAME IN THE ELDER SCROLLS SERIES! seriously, get your facts right before you mouth off about how supposedly overhyped and bad this game is when it's clearly not. This is probably Bethesda's crown jewel. The game is awesome in almost every way: the gameplay, the story, the RPG elements, the sheer scale of the map in which you get to explore as you see fit right down to mundane things like buying a house and organizing books. Again, I'll repeat, I challenge ANYONE to fix bugs in a game this massive. And for those convincing themselves that the critics have been bribed by Bethesda, go choke on your on phallus. The game is outstanding in every sense of the word, get a grip or get lost.
    Expand
  17. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time it adds and improves on so many things that it makes sure it's its own game. I can't wait to explore the College of Winterhold, the Dark Brotherhood, and the Daedric quests. If Bethesda can follow this game up with DLC on the same level as Shivering Isles and Fallout 3, This game is sure to keep me hooked for hundreds of hours. Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    It's still the best open world RPG I love this game. The fun of discovering new areas and killing new foes in fun ways.The only problem I am having is me I am all add with my perks I am all over the place, on my next play through I will try to be more structured.
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Astounding. Lifted to a work of art. A contender for the best video game ever made, this is stratospheric. I've never been so invested or enthalled. If in any doubt, just buy it
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    One word : Masterpiece. Love the story/setting/combat and the sound effects are incredible. Only issue is the PS3 version has some terrible shadows which should have been turned off but otherwise this is one of those games that comes along and shatters everything else. Worth the money definitely. My only hope is Bethesda re-releases this for next-generation consoles...would love to play with better graphics without investing in a new PC. Morrowind was excellent, Oblivion was rushed and un-interesting, but Skyrim reigns supreme. Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Im sorry, but this game is one of the closest games ive ever even thought of considering as a 10/10 game..but as we all know, there is no such thing. Anyway, back to the game, if you're a guy who doesnt get what the hype is all about then i can give you some advice, GET THIS GAME, as soon as you can. It is worth every penny and more and i can guarantee you it is going to be the game of the year

    Why am i so confident in this game, well, like its predecessor, the game developers worked hard day and night for many years. These guys dont just release titles for sake of t unlike otehr game companies, these guys make games with the aim of getting the highest possible success, you can look at all their games and see for yourself. With that said, It comes as no surprise as to why the world had to stand still in awe when the game hit and why everyone is such a fan.

    You're probably thinking "what a biased review" and to that I say "GET THE GAME and you'll see what I'm talking about" If you've never played this game or are even considering getting it, this will be one of those amazing games that you'll never forget and be grateful you bought, you have my word for it.
    Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So I bought this for the 360, and all I can say IS THANK YOU. I love this game. 20 hours into and I've been doing nothing but exploring and so far I haven't ran into or seen anything that has not amazed me. For all those people that (I'll be fair) rate this game below a 7, you all are morons. I read alot of complaints from pc users got a few things to say to you guys. 1) Update your computer so Skyrim can be played the way it should be and 2) maybe it's time to get a PS3 or 360. So while you guys complain that the graphics dont look good on your screen, I'm going to sit and enjoy the graphics on mine GIVE THIS GAME A 10 Expand
  23. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Wow. No wonder the Elder Scrolls only comes out with a new game every few years. This is completley brilliant and well, virtually stunning. It has it's awkward moments, but that's nothing too strange. It's one of those games you will NEVER forget. The lack of multiplayer might break an easy addiction, but this is something that you must at least test. Skyrim is already becoming a big hit and will break sales records like the also recommended Modern Warfare 3, and perhaps Battlefield will catch up someday. Expand
  24. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    The game isn't flawless, but what game is? It's got its bugs, some small, some big, but even they can't take away from the experience I took away after playing this masterpiece. It's the first time I've ever seen a game live up to such hype. I love the combat, the plot, the lore, everything. Bethesda has raised the bar here and created the game that all RPGs will be judged by. It'll be tough to beat. Buy Skyrim. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best RPG ever. Beautiful visuals, interesting quests, great music. If you like RPG's this is a must have. Now - what to do with the family for the next three months?
  26. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! If you are a fan of Rpg's you will love this game! I would write a longer review but you should go rent/buy it and I will let the game do the talking.
  27. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Being 80 in game, all I can say is: This game, is so epic, that it kicks your ass so hard that diarrhea comes out of your dick! World is absolutely huge, very many things and places to explore and discover. Beatiful sights when you are at the top of the mountain. Obtaining dragon's soul feels epic - you can feel your blood circulating a bit faster. A lot of skills to level up, it will take months of gameplay to actually get your skills to 100. Not a super huge armor and weapon choice, but they look very good and feel very powerful. There are guilds, companies, parties to join, call them how you want. I personally joined the Thieves Guild, because I can make a lot of coin for me and guild, and level up skills that usually aren't going up as fast as direct combat skills. Skills like sneak, lockpicking, pickpocketing. Huge amount of side-quests. Big choose of races, every race has it's own pros (no cons). For example, Redguards can't be harmed with poison; they are immune of it. Nords are 50% resistant to cold. Khajii't pickpocket and sneak better. I absolutely love this game, this the Game of The Year, the Decade, the Century and the Millennium! You are a fool if you don't try this game. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    My girlfriend HATES Skyrim. Why? Because I want to play it every free moment I have. I have to force myself to shut off the XBOX or the consequences could have a detrimental impact on my sex life. What makes this game Crack for nerds can be summarized in one word. Immersion. You will be utterly helpless as the incredible world of Skyrim becomes more engaging with every hour you play. Skyrim will likely win Game of the Year for 2011 even though there were some amazing games released this year. Expand
  29. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is a game that only happens once every 10-15 years. Like 'Ocarina of Time' before it, Skyrim sets a new standard in video games and blurs the line of "Virtual-reality". From the onset, you have the ability to change anything and everything about your character (except height and weight). The game starts off like previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, with you taking the place of a nameless prisoner. From there, you choose: the race, sex, origin, and name of your character. Then, the story starts; and it never stops. The game is massive, and every side quest, miscellaneous quest, and main-story quest all have their unique dialog, story, and characters. The game also doesn't take any shortcuts on content. Almost every chest is filled with goodies to loot, every person has their own personality, every city has a unique layout, and their are no two vistas that share common form. Everything in this game is detailed, from the buildings and roads, to the people and mountains; everything has been giving some area of uniqueness. The game will also keep you busy for a while; with the main storyline lasting about 10-15 hours and side quests/misc quests lasting well over 100 hours. It is possible to beat Skyrim in 10 hours, but chances are you won't want to. I am 50+ hours into the game, and maybe 10% through the main storyline. The game is massive, expansive, and highly detailed; which leads to some of the few flaws in the game. The game, very rarely will chug when multiple enemies (5+) are all fighting on screen. The game will also render in front of you and texture pop also happens. But, keep in mind; I have only experienced these issues 3 times in 50 hours.

    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is the ultimate game. A game for RPG fans, hack-n-slash fans, and action-adventure games; Skyrim is a game for everyone. And, like The Ocarina of Time before it, Skyrim is the best game this gen; and in my opinion, all-time.
    Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I'm a big fan of TES games, been playing them since Daggerfall
    I just wanna say that Skyrim is the best TES game, the best RPG ever, and IMO the best game ever.
    I've never been so hyped up for a video game, and Skyrim surpasses my expectations. GOTY 2011
  31. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of
    engaging and challenging quests ranging from taking or defending cities for the Imperials or Stormcloaks, taking contract killings, stealing Skyrim's most precious artefacts and tonnes of other personal or faction related quests, there is a lot to do.

    Combat, although similar to Oblivion's, is great. Character movements and attacks feel weighted and realistic and the combinations between martial and magic is amazing. Going in thinking i was going to play a pure 'barbarian' character simply didn't happen because of the fun of spell casting.

    This truly is one of the greatest games of the generation. It is hard to place scrutiny or criticism on anything in this amazingly hand-crafted open world experience. Game of the year.
    Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    A massive amount of content, a beautiful world, and an endless ride of combat, customization, and just a great game. There are a few minor flaws here, but they can be easily overlooked. Get this game, and get it immediately.
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere with your game play experience, these glitches do not interfere. I'd give it a 9.5 for the glitches but the slider doesn't do that so I'm rounding up to a 10! Expand
  34. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Don't get fooled by all the review, this game does not deserve a 10 cause it's not perfect. It has a few bugs and glitches and some other minors problems. But overall, you should really check this game out cause it's a lot of fun and you actually get for what you paid ( from 100 to 300 hours of gameplay and more )
  35. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played, when I'm not playing it, I'm thinking about it, when I'm not thinking about it, I'm reading about it. Get this game.
  36. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time keep your BF3 and that other shooter game Skyrim deserved all it awards and then some.
  37. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Magical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the little details. There are some bugs, but what do you expect? Every game has bugs. If you're a fan of RPG's, this game is a must and even if you are not, you should try it. Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Quite simply put, a masterpiece. An RPG that truly stands out and above the crowd. First: The combat is much improved. While adding much more strategy to the fights as well as an increased "weightiness," the combat is improved over oblivion's floaty combat. Second: Exploration, a major part of any elder scrolls game, is expertly paced. Exploring the game world is much more difficult, with dragons and difficult enemies to kill you if you get too far...or too confident. But it is much more interesting to explore compared to Oblivion's flat lands and rolling hills. Not to mention, visually gorgeous.

    Third, It is a stunningly crafted world. The detail in the world, NPCs, dungeons and lore is all something very special. It is a huge world to explore, with tangents aplenty.

    Minor pop in, low res textures and glitchy (very, very rarely) are the only flaws in my book. Nothing can stop me from loving this world, and every time I jump back into exploring the lands of Skyrim it feels perfect. Don't worry; Graphically, this game is ridiculous. The beautiful vistas coupled with the achingly beautiful soundtrack is stunning...It's so hard to explain because games just don't do what Skyrim does anymore.

    And a side note...This game has a sprawling and downright ridiculous amount of things to do. I won't spoil any of them for you, but don't worry. You won't be short of things to do. Forever, most likely. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, But it's mine. If you like adventuring, exploring, storytelling, lore, RPGs or anything in between, Skyrim has it for you. One question though...How on earth did they jam all of this stuff onto one disc?

    So what are you waiting for?
    Expand
  39. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill some creatures in Skyrim. Expand
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple
    retrieve an artifact quest can feel entirely epic. Coming from Oblivion its nice to see the Archery mechanics improved as well as magic getting a significant graphical overhaul. I already had high expectations for this game, but they were exceeded when I actually played it. A lot of game of the year contenders this year, but this is in a whole class of its own. There are good games and there are great games, and then there is Skyrim. Expand
  42. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10, a piece of art. If you could only get one game this season it would be a hard pick but this might just be the one! "Skyrim is a first-person, open-world role-playing-game that drops the player in â
  43. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they really outdid themselves on that part. You'll have no problems spending ridiculous amounts of time in this game. The game is an incredible experience, without a doubt. Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The best RPG, period. It has the absolute best of everything - storytelling, gameplay, and even the graphics. Do not miss out on this game, even if you have to rip it from somebody's cold, dead hands.
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    cant even explain how good this game is , only reason you wouldnt like it is if you only play games that have you move in a straight line and hold your hand through the thing e.g. most fps .
    the game involves having a brain to play not just hack and salsh from end of a map to the other.
  46. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Improves upon Oblivion in every aspect, and utterly beautiful to look at. I can not express how good this game is. If you enjoy RPG's and even if you do not you defiantly need to check this one out. A timeless classic that is not to be missed. If you are a true gamer this will be on your shelf.
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is officially one of the best games ever created. This flawless RPG may be the start of a new generation of beautiful graphics, epic fighting, neverending adventures, and the freedom to do whatever you want. They created a masterpiece of dragon killing, human raping, and more. This game should receive 10 from ever gamer, those who give a 0 are most likely idiots or losers we outcast. Such an improvement from Oblivion and other Bethesda games. I SAY THIS GAME IS THE GAME OF THE YEAR!!!! LIKE THIS IF YOU AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Props to Bethesda and Prima game ~~~ Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Holy **** this game is so ****ing amazing, i have been playing it for 10 ****ing minutes and i ****ing love it, i'd give it a ****ing infinity out of 10 if could, if you don't buy this ****ing game right now, i'm going to track your IP address and ****ing kill you.
  49. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put it down. In fact, the only reason I'm not playing it all the time is because I have a ton of school work to get done; otherwise, I'd be all over it. Skyrim has GOTY written all over it. Please, do NOT be discouraged if you aren't usually a fan of RPGs. I'm not either for the most part (the only exception before Skyrim was Mass Effect 1/2). However, Skyrim changed all that for me. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves games. This is a must-buy. Expand
  50. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, and I don't think I can say what hasn't already been said. The dragon battles are exhilarating, the atmosphere is amazing, the characters are memorable...just a great overall experience.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The game is AMAZING!
    I never played that good, that interesting, that long, it's **** everything!
    It's better than Oblivion, Fallout, Dragon Age:Origins or any other good RPG game!
    This game is a MASTERPIECE.
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Best freakin game I've ever played. Bethesda really put a lot of effort in this game. It is clearly their best product yet. If you decide to choose between skyrim, mw3, or battlefield3, GO WITH SKYRIM. I still haven't finished the main quest, but I can tell the ending is EPIC.
  53. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good and evil and all thats in between is much better than being lumped with one role even with some freedom added on. The quests and dungeons so far are all very well designed and the use of the radiant story system ensures you wont ever run out of things to do. My personal past time is to go searching for alchemy ingredients in the wilds, (with my long haired dark elf that i use as a battle mage) brew them into potions at an alchemist lab (now in my own house in whiterun) then sell them off to rake in money for new houses and better furnishings. I may play it boringly but the point is whatever you want to do you can, its the ultimate in alter ego providers. Graphics: 9. Sound: 9. Gameplay: 10. Longevity: Limitless. Flavour: like having free reign at willy wonkas chocolate factory Expand
  54. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game! GOTY in my opinion. The entire interface has been streamlined and made better. The graphics are gorgeous, and the story fantastic.

    Definitely recommend this game to any RPG/open world game fan!
  55. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest/Best Game of all time

    End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The graphics and art are amazing and the amount of stuff you can do is incredible. I would recommend this RPG to anyone who wants to play one of the best games in the RPG category to date.
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Having never played ANY Elder Scrolls game in the past, I approached this game with a few reservations. Most RPG's I have played that have been rated high have left me disappointed with few exceptions. But I will say this, Skyrim is one of the most impressive RPG's I have ever played. I am only about 15 hours into the game and I am hooked. The landscapes are gorgeous. The combat is well rounded. And the customization offers an almost unlimited amount of character options. Granted, the main story line is nothing that an RPG fan has never seen before, but it has been executed extremely well. Anyone looking for a great game to dedicate their time to should definitely give Skyrim a look. Expand
  58. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Best cRPG since baldurs gate ( for me ofc), long time no see so epic story with very nice grafic side and AWESOM music ( to bad only 5 of them are in cd ). One thing need to be said - TES V need some pach to smoth a few bug and it will be perfect. Im 40 hours in game and i cant stop play, I hope it gona be at least 300h to finish entire game. GJ Bethesda!
  59. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The greatest RPG series of all time returns with its strongest title yet. It will have not only something for everyone, but multiple things for everyone.

    This games features include a vast continent with exploration that is unmatched by any game to date. All the combat and action you can handle. Amazing items and loot. Dragons that are actually intimidating and a decent challenge. This
    game is simply so massive that any review cannot do this game any justice at all, if you own a PS3, Xbox 360, or PC. You must own this game, simple as that.

    (As a side note, for all those that complain of bugs, bad AI, etc; realize that with such vast amounts of content and such an expansive world, having an extremely polished game is unfortunately just not practical nor possible.)
    Expand
  60. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. if you enjoyed the rest of the elder scrolls series you will love it. it has some of the best audio i have ever heard on a game. Highly recomended to people who enjot RPG games.
  61. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is the most time consuming addiction out of any game every created. The best RPG to date. Yeah a few issues here and there but to be expected in a game of this size! Nothing ever created has attempted such a goal and than achieved it. Hardware is the only thing standing in the way that would make this game even better! The level of detail in every item and location is AMAZING! Crafting finally is possible, mining for minerals or anything, you name it ! You just live your character and care, what more could you want? (realistically). This game is simply the coolest thing to hit consoles of this generation for a living breathing world and epic fantasy! The only thing this game required and didn't include was a way to take time off of your job just to lose yourself to it! Expand
  62. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Oblivion + better combat system + better graphics + longer main quest + dragons + more quests + dual wield magic + completely unique dungeons = greatest game ever.
  63. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bugs? Sure but i still love this game. Big Mammoths, Giants are the best (Dragons are weak). Love the gameplay, love the graphics. Overall great game. A must buy for everyone!
  64. CCR
    Nov 11, 2011
    9
    What else can be said that everyone else isn't already saying... It's truly a great game. There seems to be a couple of glitches here and there, but they will get patched in time. I know it shouldn't be an excuse, but with everything that has been done right in this game, I will give them a pass for now! The world is beautiful and the story so far has kept me interested. I can't wait to get some more time with the game after work to stomp around and get lost in the world creating my own story and making my hero who I want him to be. The leveling up seems pretty great, a lot to take in at first due to the sheer amount of perks available, but once you play with it and dive in you can tell it was made for the player in mind who wanted absolute control over customization. Run-on sentences aside, if you are on the fence about this game, go out and buy it, you will enjoy it for years to come. Expand
  65. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome !!!!! This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Fun and full game from what I've played thus far. Can't believe how big this world is and how it the game allows you to do whatever you want, or head to continue the story if you want. Now that's freedom for you, especially for a game of this magnitude it's refreshing!
  67. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A very fitting addition to the TES stable. A truly stunning game that draws you into it's open world, Skyrim is perhaps the best RPG I have ever had the pleasure to play. The music is epic, the game play is believable, the world is beautiful and harsh. This was well worth the wait for me!
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I've never played an RPG in my life, they just aren't my type of game. However after viewing trailers and gameplay it was hard to ignore this game and not get sucked in so I went and bought the game this morning. I've been playing it all day and i'm hooked.

    The game really sucks you in from the very beginning. Whether it be main quests or side quests there's always loads to do and looking
    at the size of the map I can't begin to imagine how long it would even take to explore everywhere.

    So to anyone worried they won't like this game, if they're like me and don't play many RPG's... don't be worried. The game will suck you in with its incredible environment, great combat system, likable characters, cool puzzles, imaginative quests and the rewards achieved when leveling up. JUST GO BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best RPG once could ever ask for, possibly even the best game one could ever ask for. The graphics are lush and the gameplay makes me feel like i'm actually inside this whole entire new world. The dragons are an unscripted genre defining experience which are different again and again. I simply cannot ask for a better game than Skyrim
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    After spending hours of my life exploring in Oblivion I wondered if my thumbs could handle another trek of that kind. Well after a mere 8 hours with Skyrim I can safely say the gamble has paid off. Skyrim is a must have game for any gamer that loves an role play game. Pick this game up ASAP as you will not regret it!!
  71. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim eh um grande jogo joguei ele e ainda estou jogando,mas ele tem uma otima historia,graficos incriveis,som super realista e tem dragoes muitos dragoes!!!Skyrim conserteza vai ser GOTY eh o melhor RPG que eu ja joguei em toda minha vida!!! Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is everything I wanted Oblivion to be: fun and addicting. Right away, I knew that Skyrim was a game that I'm willing to put many hours into. I personally disliked Oblivion and Fallout 3 because of the lack of appeal and the easy difficulty respectively.

    I have only put around 3 hours of gameplay time into Skyrim and not 1 minute of those 3 hours did I feel
    frustrated, bored or disappointed, Skyrim is one of those rare specimens that appear once every few years that grabs your attention and refuses to let go.

    In my experience, I have not yet encountered any bugs or glitches, just minor 2 second pauses when the world is loading, but it happens extremely infrequently.

    Overall, my gaming experience with Skyrim has been one of the best in a long time, the reason why it does not get a score of a 10 is because I think a "10" means a "perfect game" and to be honest, no such thing exists; do not expect to ever see me give a 10, even a 9 from me is rather rare but Skyrim deserves that much.

    If you're in the least curious about the game, do yourself a huge favour and go get it. If you like fantasy action RPGs, go get two copies and play them at the same time.

    Is the game worth £42? Yes.

    ~Cy
    Expand
  73. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Stop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collection tasks (i.e. collect 5 bear pelts, 4 wolf pelts and some pork chops), to the assassination of a once dangerous leader. When/if you ever get bored of being told what to do, become your own boss. Go out and explore the vast array of environments, raid various ancient ruins and go on the hunt for the very rare treat of having an unscripted fight with a dragon!

    Skyrim offers an unbelievable amount of customisation, and could be seen as one of the most customised experiences on offer at this very moment in time. You have the chance to excel in becoming an archer, mage or a warrior, but it is entirely up to you on how skilled you become in either of these departments. Fancy like firing arrows at people from a long distance? You can do that. Fancy like using a combination of magic and melee to pray upon an unsuspecting opponent? You can do that too. Upon levelling up you can customise the paths you take in ANY skill; alchemy, pickpocketing and light armour to name but a few.

    If you have never played an Elder Scrolls game before, do not fret (or threat - whatever the correct term is)! Skyrim references back to its predecessors in a way that old-timers can connect and engage with, and newcomers can learn the ancient lore of the Elder Scrolls storyline.

    An absolutely outstanding game from an absolutely outstanding series! GOTY.
    Expand
  74. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I can think of. No doubt its worth the buy. Expand
  75. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Absolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don't give this game a 10 is that I'm not a big fantasy genre fan, if I was I'd give this game a solid 10 though. Expand
  76. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate and probably winner unless there is another game that can top this, and besides uncharted 3 there is nothing even remotely close, zilch.

    Best game I have played in so many years
  77. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, and Trolls actually look scary now. Skyrim is like a cake. The sponge is Oblivion, but with all of those burnt bits cut off, and with an improved recipie. The filling is a whole abundance of new features and total immersion, that's so gloriously delicious that you'll be licking it from the plate. It's all iced with some beautiful graphics that really do look astonishing at times, and have actually made me walk around for five minutes looking at the beauty of the night sky... Plus it's all sprinkled with some Fallout sprinkles. For example, Oblivion Lockpicking is out, Fallout one is in, and the finishing moves are very VATS-esque. And you can't have a small slice of this cake, oh no. You'll have the whole thing and then curl up and cry when it's all gone 100+ hours later. If you don't buy this game NOW, you're not even human. Expand
  78. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Collapse
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat has also been overhauled. Animations have more weight behind them and the ability to constantly be specializing in different weapons is thrilling. The player is never locked into one character choice, I chose a Nord and ended up as more of a mage centric class. Attention to detail is visible everywhere from vast landscapes to minute plant details everything is gorgeous. So much more about this game is spectacular but i refuse to say anything else, you simply just must experience for yourself... Expand
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Note to Infinity Ward/Activision: THIS is how you earn repeat customers. This game is awesome. Beautiful to look at, and extremely fun and engaging. If Bethesda keeps this up, they'll be around for a long time. We all know Infinity Ward/Activision have screwed themselves and will probably be filing for bankruptcy in 2013.
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feel that you're actually there. The gameplay is a major improvement over Oblivion, although it still has it's flaws. Dual wielding spells and weapons add numerous possibilities to each battle. All in all, this is the best RPG i've played in my life. BTW it's also the BEST GAME i've played in my life. Enough said.... Expand
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    WOW. Just wow. It was definitely worth the 5 year wait. As others have already stated the graphics and sound are quity simply the best out there for creating a lifelike work. Im 3 hours in and have have barely finished the 2nd mission. Yes I got a bit distraced mining some corondium ore, cutting some trees down the sawmill, and forging some weapons at the blacksmith. I got distracted testing my double wielding destructrion magic (fireball) on some chickens crossing the road at Riverwood. I got distracted crossing a river and trying to catch some leaping salmon I spotted. Hell I even got distacted by the water effects on a fountain at Dragonsreach that I spent a good 10 minutes just swimming around it. Thats the point I guess. Distraction from reality where we can slip off for a few hours and enjoy being part of a wonderfully created fantasy world. And nobody does it better than Skyrim. Get this game, even if you dont like RPG's. Just dont play with the surround sound on full whilst walking through the woods at night. Those two wolves jumping from behind on me is quite possibly the most fear inducing moment of my life. I actually thought there was a wild dog in my bedroom. Oh well back to the grind :D Expand
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is one of a select few games that drag you in from the start. I dont know what it is, it could be the gorgeous mountains waiting to be scaled, it could be the epic soundtrack, or it could be that it is so huge that it feels at least as of now that it could be played for months without it ever getting stale.
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    this gave gives me no chance for complaining , everything has been done well , everything ! , a perfect RPG. GOTY for me . Sound track and voice acting - kick ***. The immersion factor is just huge. would have written more , sorry gotta get back to playing
  86. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played. This game both possesses quality and quantity, I assure you that if you buy this game you will not be disappointed in any way. More content than you could ever imagine in a game, great value as a result.
  87. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played, easily. The fact that I have played 6 hours and only advanced the main quest slightly just underlines how much there is to do in this game. I found myself getting lost in ancient forts, getting ambushed by bandits and reading a dead woman's love letter - in the space of an hour. The sheer number of ways to play, and the changing scenarios you will face, means no playthrough is ever remotely similar. For example, I became adept at stealing - only to be hunted down by a group of hired thugs with a handwritten contract for my head. The organic nature of the game means it really is a whole new world to lose yourself in for days on end.

    This game will take over your life - and you will love every second.
    Expand
  88. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. The world completely immerses you into the experience and the sense of wonder is unparalleled. I've never wanted to explore a game world more than this. Much like a great burger - you just don't want it to end, and luckily it won't...at least for a long time, since the game is hugely epic and also includes randomly generated quests that could keep someone (me) playing for a long time. Already looking forward to see what Bethesda can do on next generation systems - but for now I will be savoring this game piece by piece like charred skeever meat. Expand
  89. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game couldn't be any better. I first came across the elder scrolls series when a friend showed oblivion to me and let me borrow it. I was hooked as soon as i put in the disc. Ive spent hundreds of hours playing oblivion, and this time around, skyrim is no different, possibly even better. Improved graphics, gameplay, menus, and more show the polish of this game and how finished it is. It definitly brings more to the table than annual game releases such as Call of Duty, etc, making this game also worth your dollar, as it gives you 300+ hours of fun, and you actually have time to play it before the next game in the series comes out. In that respect, I enjoy skyrim and i definitly reccomend this game to anyone who even slightly likes rpgs. Expand
  91. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! So far, out of the 20 hours I've played, I loved every minute of it. Yes, there are a few bugs, but it's no where near the amount like that of it's predecessors! The graphics are beautiful (Although sometimes shadows are a little blocky and water phases through rocks). I can personally say you'll be too absorbed by the game to notice! Even if you did, all the other amazing aspects of the game compensate for this. Bethesda has reached new heights in their games! I find myself taking this game way more seriously than Oblivion and Fallout 3. This will definitely keep me occupied for years to come! Oh and pay no attention to the negative review here. The game is not broken in any way. You'll love it! Expand
  92. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incrível, são tantas coisas e opções que podem ser feitas e a liberdade que o jogo lhe oferece! O combate, crafting e sistema de quests esta tudo perfeito!
  93. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I've already put 30 hours of gameplay into Skyrim and I'm still finding it just as fun as when I began. The dialogue is good, I'm enjoying the quests, the dragons are beautiful and the dungeons are absolutely stunning. What more is there to ask for?
  94. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for a game. Bethesda has really out done themselves and Skyrim is major contender for GOTY. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolk to butterflies to the smelly dog in the town street is interactive. Having played over 30 hours, I've already gotten my $60 worth. Many gamers play a game that is 20 hours long and feel they got their money's worth. This takes it to a whole new level. I will easily put 150+ hours into this campaign alone and then come back for more. The miscellaneous objectives are intriguing and beg for you to follow them through out of sheer lust for exploration. Just walking around in this world is an experience that will wow even non-gamers like my wife. "ITS SO PRETTY!" Expand
  96. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored with this much content anytime soon. I haven't even touched the main quest yet!! If you're on the fence about this game, ignore the trolls and nay-Sayers, and do yourself a favor, buy this game!! Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic game! go adventuring in the land of Skyrim and play with the freedom to be the character you want to be. Battle Dragons or other fantasy creatures. Explore the land and find new things in all the far reaches of the world
  98. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that you can finish off in 8 hours and get on with your life. This thing takes over.

    Believe the hype.
    Expand
  99. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  100. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is literally the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. I've made several different characters and spent well over 50 hours in the game yet I still haven't explored even 20% of what this game has to offer. It's truly a labor of love that shouldn't be missed. If there's only one game you can pick up this season it has to be TES 5 Skyrim, GOTY for sure!
  101. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.