User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3619 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent.I absolutely love it.The amount of stuff to do in this game is over whelming.The only down side to this game is losing your social life because of it.
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This addition to the Elder Scrolls Series is astonishing and mind-blowing! Bethesda's new Creation Engine has made the level of realism in this game more than one could ask for. Being able to view the mountains in the distance and having the random chance of fighting dragons whilst walking amongst the wilds give the player a sense of adventure even when they are not following a particularThis addition to the Elder Scrolls Series is astonishing and mind-blowing! Bethesda's new Creation Engine has made the level of realism in this game more than one could ask for. Being able to view the mountains in the distance and having the random chance of fighting dragons whilst walking amongst the wilds give the player a sense of adventure even when they are not following a particular quest line. My player was out looking for herbs when there was a quake in the earth and then a cone of flames hit his backside. Dragons really can just drop out of nowhere. Between crafting armor, combining the casting of spells and weapons, and the storyline of having a war going on during the return of the dragons, Skyrim is beyond what anyone could've asked for. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    When I went to GameStop, bought The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, and put it into my Xbox 360 disc drive, I was really excited. I thought, this is going to be one hell of an epic game! It turns out, it was not. From the minute I started the campaign, I thought, "The graphics aren't nearly as good as they were hyped up to be." It felt like all the quests were just "Talk to Grumio," "Talk toWhen I went to GameStop, bought The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, and put it into my Xbox 360 disc drive, I was really excited. I thought, this is going to be one hell of an epic game! It turns out, it was not. From the minute I started the campaign, I thought, "The graphics aren't nearly as good as they were hyped up to be." It felt like all the quests were just "Talk to Grumio," "Talk to Isabella," "Talk to Grumio again," "Fetch this object," "Go back to Grumio," and so on. It's not the kind of game I thought it would be. It's not the kind of game where you do all the exploring. A lot of times, you have to rely on game guides or online Elder Scrolls Wikia pages, etc. The Radiant Quest System, as well as the AI, isn't nearly as intelligent as it seems on paper. If they added online multiplayer and made this one of the first console MMORPG's, I would love Bethesda. I still love Bethesda, but this isn't the kind of game that keeps your excited if you spend hours on end with the game. That's what I did, and it just made me get bored and realize how overrated the game is. Even more so perhaps than CoD. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is the best open-world RPG ever made. Bethesda has made another masterpiece. Just the sheer amount of things you can do in the game is incredible. Whether it is doing the main quest, the dark brotherhood quests, or the companions it is incredible. This is the only game I've been playing since its launch and i have not regretted a minute of it. Anybody who enjoys games will adore thisThis is the best open-world RPG ever made. Bethesda has made another masterpiece. Just the sheer amount of things you can do in the game is incredible. Whether it is doing the main quest, the dark brotherhood quests, or the companions it is incredible. This is the only game I've been playing since its launch and i have not regretted a minute of it. Anybody who enjoys games will adore this game and hail it as a masterpiece. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2011
    5
    First, the pros: The graphics are occasionally downright sublime. The water effects are especially spectacular. There are some fresh game elements, but enough has stayed the same so as to let Oblivion fans jump right in. With some notable exceptions, just about everything that I liked about Oblivion is back.
    Now the cons: Let's start with load times. In a word, extreme. It is not unusual
    First, the pros: The graphics are occasionally downright sublime. The water effects are especially spectacular. There are some fresh game elements, but enough has stayed the same so as to let Oblivion fans jump right in. With some notable exceptions, just about everything that I liked about Oblivion is back.
    Now the cons: Let's start with load times. In a word, extreme. It is not unusual for me to wait 2-3 minutes when simply opening a door, if that door requires the loading of a new section. That would be bearable if opening such doors weren't something the game requires so frequently. During some stretches, I think I spend an equal split of time between playing and waiting for things to load. Next, some of the additions were fun at first but quickly became annoying, like the random dragon attacks. You can't go much of anywhere in the game without yet another dragon attacking. Okay, enough already. I've got enough dragon souls to last awhile...could you just go away?! The dungeons impressed me with their massiveness, at first. Then they just started to seem too massive...massive just for the sake of being massive. On one not particularly unusual dungeon, it took more than 10 minutes (after I'd cleared out all the baddies) to run at full speed from the start of the level to the end. That would be great if the dungeons were at all interesting, but they're just room after monotonous room, to the point where you're thinking, all right enough already, just get me to the end so I can advance the story.
    Those are my biggest grievances. Oh wait...let me just say that if I ever come across the Bethesda employee that came up with the idea to eliminate Oblivion's Feather spells, I'm going to drag him into a dark alley in Riften and go to work with my ebony battle axe!
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have ever played. If you are a fan, in any way, of RPG's you should play this. If you enjoyed Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fallout NV, you will love this game. It is so good that there are already thousands of reviews saying as much so I will leave you to them. Just rest assured, it is a god among games.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    An overall great game. The few bugs are overshadowed by the immense open world and sheer number of side missions to do. I've played over 100 hours as a 2H Warrior so far and I still can't wait to try out a mage. Wabbajack wabbajack wabbajack!
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    While i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horribleWhile i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horrible textures found in the game, for this year of 2011 i would expect some much better than what i saw. Elder Scrolls has the potential to be a excellent game, but it lacks a lot of polishment. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Overall a truly spectacular game, I would even say one of the best games I have ever owned and I own a lot of games. Brilliant scenery, endless amounts of missions that will keep you playing for weeks, possibly months. This game is the best use of money you will ever spend on a game because of its remarkable game play, scenery and the choices you can make in the game. Every dungeon isOverall a truly spectacular game, I would even say one of the best games I have ever owned and I own a lot of games. Brilliant scenery, endless amounts of missions that will keep you playing for weeks, possibly months. This game is the best use of money you will ever spend on a game because of its remarkable game play, scenery and the choices you can make in the game. Every dungeon is unique and leave you breathless as you walk around fighting oncoming enemy's in various ways. The feeling you get when you enter a large room full of enemy's and pick them off one by one with the bow and arrow with out them even knowing you was there. The game play feels beautiful and the game plays like a dream. The main quests for the mages and dark brotherhood are brilliant, not just something Bethesda have added in just for extra game play hours, you can tell time has been spent on making separate amazing story lines. But yes this game does have its problems like various glitches and if they had spent a bit more time sorting this out The Elder Scrolls Skyrim would be truly a brilliant masterpiece and most certainly game of the year. I would award this game 9.8 out of 10. Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    One word. Skyrim. This game is simply the greatest game ever made for any console. Fanboys can be quiet because games like Metal Gear Solid and Uncharted have nothing on Skyrim. I waited about 2 weeks to post this to see if i would still be playing and am proud to say i am still playing. A lot. With about 90 hours in 2 weeks, that alone should show you how addictive and incredible thisOne word. Skyrim. This game is simply the greatest game ever made for any console. Fanboys can be quiet because games like Metal Gear Solid and Uncharted have nothing on Skyrim. I waited about 2 weeks to post this to see if i would still be playing and am proud to say i am still playing. A lot. With about 90 hours in 2 weeks, that alone should show you how addictive and incredible this game is. The graphics are incredible with a few 2d frame here and there, but that does not take away form the epic scope of this game. The only "problem" with this game is the bugs. Personally, I have never had a game breaking glitch in this game and the only bugs are hilarious and add to the incredible-ness of this game. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is simply put, the single greatest game ever made. Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is not without its problems, but most can be overlooked on how immersive and deep this game can be. RPG fan or not, this is definitely a game that every gamer has to experience.
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    6
    Just what some others have said. Huge world, but poorly designed, bleak-looking lacking variation. Sure, all people do is rant and rave about the 100+ hours of content, but whats so great about quests that regenerate? You get the same boring quests throughout the game.
  13. Dec 7, 2011
    3
    A definite 'buy' If you want to amuse your friends with Dragons that fly spastically backwards, Weapon racks that fail to activate (oh hold on... that is Whiterun only... my Windhelm one activates and places the weapons 'through' the wall), Mannequins that have their assorted body parts that vanish when adding your armor for display, Book shelves that no longer activate to hold books andA definite 'buy' If you want to amuse your friends with Dragons that fly spastically backwards, Weapon racks that fail to activate (oh hold on... that is Whiterun only... my Windhelm one activates and places the weapons 'through' the wall), Mannequins that have their assorted body parts that vanish when adding your armor for display, Book shelves that no longer activate to hold books and of course my favorite... LAGGGGGGGGGGGG. Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    I haven't played the game yet but from what I have seen from previews and reviews it looks like it's a really fun game to play. I can't wait to play it myself. I haven't played the others yet either but I'm sure I will soon enough. For now I give this an 8.
  15. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    Anyone who dislikes this game can take an arrow to the knee, Bethesda hit a home run with Skyrim, amazing engine, amazing voice actors, a few annoying glitches, such as the Esbern voice bug, i gave it a 9 simply because it does have game impacting glitches.
  16. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a let down in the sense that it is not a evolution from Oblivion. 5 years on from Oblivion and Skyrim still feels like a rehash and instead of a brand new game a huge expansion with better graphics. I really wanted to love Skyrim but I could not help feeling disappointed with the game that was so hyped. The main story is just boring full of uninterestingThe Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a let down in the sense that it is not a evolution from Oblivion. 5 years on from Oblivion and Skyrim still feels like a rehash and instead of a brand new game a huge expansion with better graphics. I really wanted to love Skyrim but I could not help feeling disappointed with the game that was so hyped. The main story is just boring full of uninteresting characters but the side quest lines save the game from being a utter snore-fest. The voice acting is varied to say the least and some truly bad facial animation keep me from being fully immersed in this world. It used to be that I like Elder Scrolls better then Fallout but now the times have changed and I would rather see another Fallout game rather then a Elder Scrolls game. I did like the game but I was disappointed. Expand
  17. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    WARNING: SKYRIM MAY IMPAIR OR SCAR YOUR SOCIAL LIFE. MAKE SURE TO PAUSE YOUR GAME AND OPEN YOUR WINDOWS AND ABSORB SOME SUN LIGHT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE.
    I was never much of an RPG guy. My friend let me borrow the fallouts. New Vegas was more my style with the western theme in their. I thought they were amazing, genuine sandbox games. So then he tells me to rent Skyrim. Skyrim is being
    WARNING: SKYRIM MAY IMPAIR OR SCAR YOUR SOCIAL LIFE. MAKE SURE TO PAUSE YOUR GAME AND OPEN YOUR WINDOWS AND ABSORB SOME SUN LIGHT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE.
    I was never much of an RPG guy. My friend let me borrow the fallouts. New Vegas was more my style with the western theme in their. I thought they were amazing, genuine sandbox games. So then he tells me to rent Skyrim. Skyrim is being added to my Christmas gift-list, as should it be for every gamer in the world. The amount of things to do almost become overwhelming, which may be the only "bad"-ish like thing other than a few bugs, which really aren't too bad, and will be patched soon. There is something in it for every one. So just let Skyrim suck you into its world, and know that you have been warned.
    Expand
  18. Dec 20, 2011
    5
    I had hoped for this game to be really engaging, but there's not much to do at all. The main quest is sweet but a bit short, the Companions questline was just forgettable, College of Winterhold Questline was boring, and the Dark brotherhood and Thieve's Guild questlines were alright. Miscellaneous quests are an absolute **** The textures aren't great at all, the animations were reallyI had hoped for this game to be really engaging, but there's not much to do at all. The main quest is sweet but a bit short, the Companions questline was just forgettable, College of Winterhold Questline was boring, and the Dark brotherhood and Thieve's Guild questlines were alright. Miscellaneous quests are an absolute **** The textures aren't great at all, the animations were really stiff. It's quite boring after you do a bunch of stuff, and apparently Giants are stronger than DRAGONS. Also, the dragons themselves aren't that big, and can EASILY be killed. Also, the amount of bugs are HUGE. This is quite a disappointment in terms of content. Everyone thinks this is the best game ever, but in truth it's far from it. Rage all you want fanboys. Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    What can you say about Skyrim? It is an achievement in gaming. It is by far the best game this year. There are some bugs but Bethesda has been quick to work fixes for them. Regardless of these minor shortcomings, this is the best game this year, one of the greatest games of all time. Skyrim represents the next step in gaming, giving you choice to do as you please. In my humble opinion theWhat can you say about Skyrim? It is an achievement in gaming. It is by far the best game this year. There are some bugs but Bethesda has been quick to work fixes for them. Regardless of these minor shortcomings, this is the best game this year, one of the greatest games of all time. Skyrim represents the next step in gaming, giving you choice to do as you please. In my humble opinion the gaming moment of the year is when you realize you have spent 50 hours playing Skyrim, and you have done only side quests. This is what gaming is supposed to be; an engaging story, great graphics, great sound, good controls, and characters you care about. Who has not restarted a quest because Lydia has died? Who hasn't gone holy sh** when you kill a dragon, or get clobbered by a giant 100s of feet in the air? This game has more moments that wow you than moments that are dull. In one sentence Skyrim is the finest game this year, and one of the greatest of all time. Expand
  20. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    If you love the Fallout games from Bethesda you will appreciate the depth that was created for your pleasure. I often reflect on the sheer immensity and technical prowess that must have been employed to make this game a reality--and on only one disc. This proves that this Bethesda has the craft of game creation down to a near science. Of course there has to be patience on your part toIf you love the Fallout games from Bethesda you will appreciate the depth that was created for your pleasure. I often reflect on the sheer immensity and technical prowess that must have been employed to make this game a reality--and on only one disc. This proves that this Bethesda has the craft of game creation down to a near science. Of course there has to be patience on your part to enjoy this game...ready to put in 200+ hours of game play? If not, I would rent this game first--and it takes about 5-10 hours before you truly stand back and smile to what you are really in for. I was a level 28 before I fought my first dragon (infuriated my daughter--she fought her first dragon before level 5.) And that's exactly what makes this game a sheer joy to play. If you find yourself wondering if you can transition from the military take on story telling of Fallout to the more primitive story-line of ancient lore, I thought the same; but within that first important 10 hours of game play i was entirely hooked on this experience. A sheer masterpiece. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a massive game. Itâ
  22. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    A great experience if you like crafting and traveling in marvelous countrysides.If you look for a real deep story and to interact with NPC, don't buy this game.
  23. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This game has raised the bar for RPG's in the future. The graphics are not the greatest but they arenâ
  24. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Overall the game was alright and I have to give the devs credit where credit is due. Amazing graphics, very expansive world, decent (or maybe not so decent) story. It did definately give me a fair few hours of enjoyment.

    Now onto the bad. The main complaint I have (and one that can apply to many dev companies these days) is that it is very clear that little to no thought was put into
    Overall the game was alright and I have to give the devs credit where credit is due. Amazing graphics, very expansive world, decent (or maybe not so decent) story. It did definately give me a fair few hours of enjoyment.

    Now onto the bad. The main complaint I have (and one that can apply to many dev companies these days) is that it is very clear that little to no thought was put into game mechanics and gameplay. I imagine the design team was populated entirely by very creative, artistic-minded individuals who love designing beautiful graphics and thinking up "creative" new ideas (i.e. dual-casting) but put absolutely no thought into how the elements of the game will actually play out. Will the player be able to use them? As an example, the spell-casting system is, in my mind, ruined. Sure the idea that you have to equip spells in each hand sounds cool but it in fact plays out as a regression from one of the few major improvements between morrowind and oblivion. That is, with the removal of equipping spells in oblivion a player could now better utilize magic in mixed classes. Alternating between spells that boost their combat style and swinging their sword, shooting their bow or even using their staff. Not to mention the need to go through a laborious unequip/equip action while an enemy is trying their best to swat you. This, of course, is only one example out of a myriad of poorly planned gameplay mechanics that make Skyrim, at best, a decent game.

    It seems too many dev companies these days are moving in the direction of making great interactive movies (read Skyrim and the original Assassin's Creed) instead of making fun games. They appear to use their projects as excuses for artistic self-indulgence ("Wow look how beautiful those graphics are. Good job all!") rather than creating something that will be enjoyable to their audience. These companies would do well to mix their design teams up a little. Sure, employ the talented artists but don't exclude the analytical individual. The one who will assess things like game balance and gameplay mechanics.
    Expand
  25. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    I agree with many people on here, this is the best game I have ever played. I have sunk almost a 100 hours into the game and I still have not been to every location. The games graphics are beautiful, the game play is outstanding, the storyline for all the quests is captivating. And the achievements while not being to challenging give you plenty to do. This is in my opinion the best game ofI agree with many people on here, this is the best game I have ever played. I have sunk almost a 100 hours into the game and I still have not been to every location. The games graphics are beautiful, the game play is outstanding, the storyline for all the quests is captivating. And the achievements while not being to challenging give you plenty to do. This is in my opinion the best game of the year easily and one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  26. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Too many dungeons and random dragon in counters, if not for that this game would be perfect xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  27. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Finally completed all the main story-lines, daedra quests, factions and the majority of side-quests etc. Overall a true masterpiece of a game, in my opinion greatly improved on Oblivion which was an amazing game. Bethesda did very well here and hopefully they will release some form of DLC to improve a almost perfect game.
  28. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    great game I would have given the game a perfect ten if the story was longer and had more depth felt shorter than oblivion and rushed for holiday sales just waiting for dlc dont get me wrong still a great game lots to do with side quest main story way to short
  29. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Hay que decirlo: Skyrim no es Oblivion, y menos Fallout 3. Pero si amaste esos juegos, es muy probable que adores este. Skyrim es un juego que empieza lento (lo que puede aburrir al amante de la accion y el combate) pero recompensa con graficas fabulosas durante todo el trayecto. De hecho, puede verse el esmero que pusieron en cada detalle, cada lugar, persona, villanos e historia, la cualHay que decirlo: Skyrim no es Oblivion, y menos Fallout 3. Pero si amaste esos juegos, es muy probable que adores este. Skyrim es un juego que empieza lento (lo que puede aburrir al amante de la accion y el combate) pero recompensa con graficas fabulosas durante todo el trayecto. De hecho, puede verse el esmero que pusieron en cada detalle, cada lugar, persona, villanos e historia, la cual puede parecer interminable para el jugador casual, pero quien aprecie escuchar cientos de conversaciones, explorar cada parte de su enorme escenario y recolectar todo, sera feliz en Skyrim. Aun asi, dejenme darles un consejo: hagan una cosa a la vez y no se llenen de misiones o terminaran con una lista enorme de objetivos. Completen todas las actividades de un pueblo antes de ir al siguiente y disfrutaran mas su aventura. Finalmente, y luego de jugar por más de 70 horas, se que Skyrim no es perfecto, pero te da lo suficiente para seguir adelante. Sus defectos no afectan la experiencia general, y por eso quienes saben lo califican con 9/10. Expand
  30. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodd lol
  31. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    "Immersive" would be an understatement. I've been playing this game for about 100 hours with no end in sight. Skyrim is one of the most beautiful lands I've ever explored and it's filled with so many characters, enemies, dragons, caves and dungeons, etc. that it can seem overwhelming, but in a good way.
  32. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    halfway through it but still believe it is an exceptionally well done rpg. i love the level advancement system; gives you the freedom to use your character as you see fit.
  33. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Actualy it is 10/10 but ipad wont let me score 10.
    This game is my favourite singl player in 2011 and im still playin it. Lvl 48 Perfect game. I hope to see this on next gen.

    Ps: sorry for my english
  34. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is the kinda game you can play, and never stop playing ever. Even on my awful tv that you can barely see on, the game looks great under the hard shell of my tv screen. Why would I recommend Skyrim? Plenty of reasons. There's a lot to do. A lot to do. Lot's and lot's. I mean LOT'S. In fact, the game quests never run out. There are certain radiant quests, that never end. (You can doSkyrim is the kinda game you can play, and never stop playing ever. Even on my awful tv that you can barely see on, the game looks great under the hard shell of my tv screen. Why would I recommend Skyrim? Plenty of reasons. There's a lot to do. A lot to do. Lot's and lot's. I mean LOT'S. In fact, the game quests never run out. There are certain radiant quests, that never end. (You can do them over and over and over again.) It's just a fun game to play, because you choose who you are, there aren't guidelines. Without a class selection, you are free to make your character how YOU want him/her to be. A Mage? Use magic exclusively. One Handed? Use a sword, war axe, or mace frequently. It's a fantastic journey, and it's all you. Expand
  35. May 20, 2012
    9
    Muito bom mesmo esse game, a Bethesda fez um trabalho perfeito e mesmo com os bugs que o jogo carrega nada atrapalha o seu desempenho.
    O melhor RPG da geração até agora, recomendo a todos.
  36. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the Elder Scrolls Series, especially Oblivion. Skyrim, to me, was fun. But, it slowly dissolved into repetitiveness. I thought the Oblivion story-line was far more interesting, if a tad cliche. Sure, the graphics and leveling system are better than in Oblivion, but Skyrim just feels so...empty. I also thought that Oblivion was a tad harder (although the difficulty could easily be adjusted). Also, I like how Oblivion just dumped you off in the middle of a sewer and after you got out you were free to roam and the game just basically said "do whatever the heck you want". I don't think Skyrim gave me that chance because after the dragon attack, the game basically TOLD me to go and warn them. I mean sure, you were free to roam but it just didn't feel...right.
    Anyways, there's my two cents.
    Expand
  37. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    A great game, easily one of the greatest rpgs of this generation... But similiar to it's competitors, it isn't without it's flaws... Let's jut get one thing out of the way, the game looks amazing, though it is one to be viewed as a big picture because at closer inspection of many of the rocks, wood and items reveals some ugly textures... But one quickly forgets of these problems whenA great game, easily one of the greatest rpgs of this generation... But similiar to it's competitors, it isn't without it's flaws... Let's jut get one thing out of the way, the game looks amazing, though it is one to be viewed as a big picture because at closer inspection of many of the rocks, wood and items reveals some ugly textures... But one quickly forgets of these problems when viewing a beautifal view from a mountain.

    One thing is poor about the graphics, and that is the horrible render distance. Everything pops in when you walk a meter, waterfalls look frozen from a distance and much of this is most notable in the the Rift where the trees from a distance look horrible.

    One thing to mention is the story, and this mostly comes at a mixed bag. Almost all of the factions are un-interesting and shallow... And nothing actually impacts the world much except the quick phrase from a guard saying "Aren't you that new guy at the Companions?" even though you just became the leader. The only guild I actually enjoyed due to it's themes, characters and well written stories was the Thieves Guild.

    Many of the side quests are interesting, some more then others with only a handful that actually stood out from the rest (No one Escapes Cidna Mine, The Forsworn Conspiracy etc) though the best of all of the games stories were the Deadric Quests due to the fact many of these actually had choices that gave you different rewards (such as a follower or artifact) depending on the difficicult moral choice given to you by the deadric lord.
    The civil war is alright... The politics and story behind is good, though the battles at the cities are laughable and the world barely changes after your faction winning and no moot is held.

    The gameplay is good... If not a bit easy, it is best to replay the game on higher difficulties once the game is completed. I wish changing the difficulty changed more then just the damage output and recieved. The dungeons can get repetative and the puzzles are VERY easy, though this is a minor complaint. I also wish the sneaking was better and more realistic and the game had some kind of Hardcore mode like New Vegas but with taking acount the weather.

    Overall the game is excellent, though isn't as perfect as many claim it to be. I hope Bethesda's next game would be not as linear and dumbed down and all of the stories to actually be great and choices affecting the world.
    Expand
  38. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim solidifies Bethesda studios as the Coppola of gaming. Following the RPG juggernauts of Oblivion and Fallout 3, Skyrim transcends the past norms established by its predecessors proves itself as a masterfully constructed open world experience that offers copious hours of gameplay and an incorruptible lasting appeal. Skyrim simply is the pinnacle of the fantasyThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim solidifies Bethesda studios as the Coppola of gaming. Following the RPG juggernauts of Oblivion and Fallout 3, Skyrim transcends the past norms established by its predecessors proves itself as a masterfully constructed open world experience that offers copious hours of gameplay and an incorruptible lasting appeal. Skyrim simply is the pinnacle of the fantasy genre in this medium of entertainment, much like The Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones. Expand
  39. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I'd like to start this off by saying that this is a sandbox game and for people who prefer strict story-line games this probably isn't the game for you. Skyrim is one of the best games i have ever played. it has a pretty much never ending campaign, i spent at least 30 hours playing it and i probably completed around half of the game. The graphics are amazing. however the story line isn'tI'd like to start this off by saying that this is a sandbox game and for people who prefer strict story-line games this probably isn't the game for you. Skyrim is one of the best games i have ever played. it has a pretty much never ending campaign, i spent at least 30 hours playing it and i probably completed around half of the game. The graphics are amazing. however the story line isn't very long. the part that takes the longest is definitely the side-quests. overall this is an amazing game and i think that everyone should at least try it. Expand
  40. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Maybe my favorite game ever! Awesome graphics, character customization and hundreds of hours of exploration. Ton of quests and fun combat. Its very hard to play any other western rpg after this!
  41. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    While this game doesn't have the epic story we're used to from other rpgs, it does by far have the most interesting world in video game history. Not only is it interesting to look at, this game has a dynamic and self sustaining world. Depending on the order you do the quests you come across, affects the world. From minor to drastic, there's a lot of changes. Like one quest can be skippedWhile this game doesn't have the epic story we're used to from other rpgs, it does by far have the most interesting world in video game history. Not only is it interesting to look at, this game has a dynamic and self sustaining world. Depending on the order you do the quests you come across, affects the world. From minor to drastic, there's a lot of changes. Like one quest can be skipped in the main questline completely by completing a certain side questline. It's a fantastic experience. And that's what it is. An experience. Not an epic game. And that's reason enough to buy it. Expand
  42. May 4, 2013
    7
    Full of expansive and amazing lore and history. A massive and living World. Highly ambitious and addictive.
    But choc full of bugs even to this day which kills everything good about it. Nothing more to say.
  43. May 10, 2013
    9
    Skyrim begins as does most Eldar Scrolls games do, you have little knowledge of what is going on and for new players you may also not even know what you are doing, but that doesn't matter as Bethesda does an amazing job of throwing you into the action almost instantly. The games mechanics stay true to previous Eldar Scrolls titles but also with the edition of new Shouts which you can wieldSkyrim begins as does most Eldar Scrolls games do, you have little knowledge of what is going on and for new players you may also not even know what you are doing, but that doesn't matter as Bethesda does an amazing job of throwing you into the action almost instantly. The games mechanics stay true to previous Eldar Scrolls titles but also with the edition of new Shouts which you can wield in varying ways on the battlefield. They add a new dynamic to the game whilst not making you rely on them throughout, Magic and combat have stayed true to former titles, but now you can dual wield spells and create "Super spells" which are of a greater magnitude of power. Combat is simple and the most refreshing way of playing the game, it is very satisfying gutting your enemies and executing lethal finishing moves. Archery was my main choice in my first play through, it is another satisfying way of entering combat and both archery and close quarters combat have their pros and cons. The new skill trees let you enhance your character further to unending lengths, you can be whoever you want to be and do whatever you want to do, if you opt to become a war hammer wielding warrior you can be along with all the benefits that brings or you can be a deadly archer a silently kill your foes. The skill trees allow you to unlock abilities in each tier such as, one handed, archery, sneak, light Armour, destruction magic and smithing. Everything on offer benefits you and making your choice can sometimes be a tough one. The map of Skyrim is huge, it may not be as big as Cyrodil but that was Bethesda's aim, to fill the world more densely. You can't go 100 meters in the game without encountering something or someone and it all adds to the action. You can go where ever you want and do any quest or side quest you have been given whenever you wish. It really is all down to you. The graphics have been improved dramatically and add great detail to this diverse world of forests, barren icy lands, swamps and mountains. Characters facial animations have also improved and so has the voice acting alongside it, this really does make the entire world more easy to get into. Talking to people is now interesting and fun, you can always find out something from them. There are a few downsides to this masterpiece however, glitches are common but most have been patched, the frame rate can drop considerably at times, especially on the Xbox, also some quests can become tedious and although Bethesda has tried to vary every dungeon, a lot of them do look very similar and can become boring to play through. The DLC available is also top quality, I have both the Dawnguard and Dragonborn DLCs and found them very fun to play through, Dragonborn offers a whole new map to explore in Morrowind and Dawnguard gives you a brilliant quest line with an abundance of riches when completed. So overall, Skyrim is an absolute masterpiece in gaming and raises the bar to a whole new level for all games in the genre. An addictive and brilliant game earns a 9 out of 10 from me. Expand
  44. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I've never gotten so lost in a game. Even 2 years later, I still come back and find endless things to do in the world of Skyrim. It's unbelievable how addictive this game is, and that's coming from a casual gamer.
  45. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    A great game that is definitely worth playing, but it is not without flaws. The map is HUGE and there are almost endless places to explore and quests to complete, but it really isn't much different than Oblivion, which I spent much longer playing. The game was glitchy at times which got annoying, and some of the quests are repetitive, but it is an overall enjoyable experience. One of myA great game that is definitely worth playing, but it is not without flaws. The map is HUGE and there are almost endless places to explore and quests to complete, but it really isn't much different than Oblivion, which I spent much longer playing. The game was glitchy at times which got annoying, and some of the quests are repetitive, but it is an overall enjoyable experience. One of my main problems with this game (as was the case with Oblivion as well), is that you collect endless amounts of gold, but there is no real need to spend it. Everything you could ever want can be found while looting, so you just end up with an insane amount of gold by the time you finish. The animation is good (some of the kill-scenes are awesome), but I somehow felt just a little bit disappointed in this game, although it is still a lot better than 90% of the titles for the 360. Expand
  46. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    A little bit of a disappointment. Oblivion was my favorite game so I expected a lot from Skyrim. It feels a lot dumbed down for casual Call of Duty type gamers. Don't get me wrong it's a good game, but the quests aren't unique, the plot is simple and short, and there is little to no true rpg aspects about this game. Your actions have the most minimal consequences possible unlike the gamesA little bit of a disappointment. Oblivion was my favorite game so I expected a lot from Skyrim. It feels a lot dumbed down for casual Call of Duty type gamers. Don't get me wrong it's a good game, but the quests aren't unique, the plot is simple and short, and there is little to no true rpg aspects about this game. Your actions have the most minimal consequences possible unlike the games predecessors. All that being said, the game runs smoothly, has nice gameplay, and has fixed a few of the kinks in Oblivion. Expand
  47. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It's not perfect since there are a few technical problems like glitches and crashes. The melee combat is also nothing more than decent and third person combat is awful. There is also some grinding for gear in this game and the main story is a let down, specifically the last few parts of it. Despite all of this, this game is one of the best this consoleThis game is a masterpiece. It's not perfect since there are a few technical problems like glitches and crashes. The melee combat is also nothing more than decent and third person combat is awful. There is also some grinding for gear in this game and the main story is a let down, specifically the last few parts of it. Despite all of this, this game is one of the best this console generation has to offer.

    This game's art direction is drop dead gorgeous and the world is so well developed and jaw dropping that it sucks you in from the beginning. This game is very immersive and full of fun missions, locales and characters. This game has some of the most odd and interesting characters, deep lore, tons of beautiful and deep caves and locales to explore. It has a wide variety of fun enemies to fight including dragons and trolls. Some of the side quests, the thieves guild quest and dark brotherhood quest are all extremely fun with great stories and make up for the main story. The magic combat and bow and arrow combat are fun make up for the lackluster melee combat. This game is not a great RPG since there are really no choices to make that have significantly different outcomes and the rpg elements are more streamlined but this isn't so bad since it opens up the genre to more people. Despite being an average rpg, skyrim is an epic and wonderful action/adventure experience that every gamer should go through.

    Its is a testament to open world games since not only is it's world huge, but it is also full of excellent and fun content. This game is so many cities, towns, dungeons and other excellent locales to visit and play in that it can be overwhelming sometimes. It's terrain ranges from snowy mountains to large cites and deep caves. It should last you over a 100 hours of very high quality entertainment.
    Expand
  48. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Truly one of the greatest video games of all times. Skyrim is complete with an epic story line, terrifying monsters and enemies, incredible visuals and an overall fantastic experience, making it a timeless masterpiece.
  49. May 26, 2014
    10
    This game is Amazing. The story is epic, the game play is great. Also the feel of if u see it u can go their is awesome. The open world feels alive and there r no invisible wall and no hand holding. BUY THIS GAME!!
  50. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an action adventure-RPG that is completely accessible to all gamers, and easily one of the greatest games ever created. Gamers from all genres will find something to like here, whether it be the incredibly detailed environments and settings, or the intuitive combat and leveling system. Each Dragon encounter is memorable and intense, and that feeling afterThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an action adventure-RPG that is completely accessible to all gamers, and easily one of the greatest games ever created. Gamers from all genres will find something to like here, whether it be the incredibly detailed environments and settings, or the intuitive combat and leveling system. Each Dragon encounter is memorable and intense, and that feeling after taking one down and absorbing its soul is gratifying to say the least. I loved this game, and it winning Spike TV’s 2011 Game of the Year award, was completely warranted and deserved. Kiss real life goodbye, and prepare to lose yourself in the beautiful world of Skyrim! Expand
  51. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    Possibly the greatest RPG of all time? I think it probably is for the foreseeable future. I'm writing this review after replaying it a lot and I had forgot that this game came out in 2011. Still magnificent to behold, a rich and deep world that feels a much more real place than Cyrodil (Taking nothing away from Oblivion of course!).
    I feel there isn't much that needs to be said other than
    Possibly the greatest RPG of all time? I think it probably is for the foreseeable future. I'm writing this review after replaying it a lot and I had forgot that this game came out in 2011. Still magnificent to behold, a rich and deep world that feels a much more real place than Cyrodil (Taking nothing away from Oblivion of course!).
    I feel there isn't much that needs to be said other than if you have ever enjoyed a game with swords, dragons, magic or robbing people blind, play Skyrim.
    Expand
  52. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Skyrim, The fifth Elder Scrolls game............And one of the best video games ever created, EVER. The exploration was very fun and even better using the Dragonborn DLC which makes the game 20x better. The fighting was simple yet funny, and Easter eggs were a fun thing to come across. The other two DLC's (Hearthfire & Dawnguard) added a touch of danger to the game, vampiresSkyrim, The fifth Elder Scrolls game............And one of the best video games ever created, EVER. The exploration was very fun and even better using the Dragonborn DLC which makes the game 20x better. The fighting was simple yet funny, and Easter eggs were a fun thing to come across. The other two DLC's (Hearthfire & Dawnguard) added a touch of danger to the game, vampires --->Dawnguard/ and living on the edge ---> Hearthfire..........The game made no mistake. Thank you Bethesda Softworks for the great game. Expand
  53. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    Great game filled to the brim with content. Only negative aspect is it has a large amount of bugs. But considering the scope of the game it is largely understandable.
  54. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This game incorporates every single element that diversifies a game and brings it up front for all to experience. The joy I've had with this game is immense and no other will be quite like it. The graphics are incredible for the time of release, the gameplay is excellent with plenty of varied things you must do to succeed. An open world setting is difficult to perfect, but, as usual,This game incorporates every single element that diversifies a game and brings it up front for all to experience. The joy I've had with this game is immense and no other will be quite like it. The graphics are incredible for the time of release, the gameplay is excellent with plenty of varied things you must do to succeed. An open world setting is difficult to perfect, but, as usual, Bethesda has revolutionized the genre with this entry. Happy dragon-slaying, fellow Dovahkiins. Fus...Ro Dah! Expand
  55. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    Skyrim is the best game Ive ever played. Its been out for about four years now and im still playing it. I dont know how anyone could write a bad review about this game. Honestly, i keep waiting for another RPG to come out that compares or is better but unfortunately has not happend. Dragon Age-Fail, Witcher-Fail, Fallout and Farcry-Actually I like Fallout and the Farcry series but thereSkyrim is the best game Ive ever played. Its been out for about four years now and im still playing it. I dont know how anyone could write a bad review about this game. Honestly, i keep waiting for another RPG to come out that compares or is better but unfortunately has not happend. Dragon Age-Fail, Witcher-Fail, Fallout and Farcry-Actually I like Fallout and the Farcry series but there still not as good as Skyrim. As a matter of fact I only just created this account today so i could set the record straight about Dragon Age: Inquisition (second worst game ive ever played). I digress, Skyrim is, put simply, the best game you can buy and has been for four years. Expand
  56. Jun 6, 2015
    7
    Basically Fallout 3 in a fantasy Elder Scrolls world. Boring story, Uninteresting characters (NPCs) and poor combat. Still a massive open world with lots stuff to do. The thing that saves the is modding without mods this is totally an uninteresting game to play. Nowhere near Morrowwind
  57. Nov 30, 2015
    4
    I can't believe how much people LOVE this game. It was a broken mess one of the first things I saw was a mammoth falling from the sky. Then my friend came over to help me with the game and showed me how to glitch up a mountain and how to open a chest out of thin air.
  58. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    Skyrim rocks. If you want a single-player 'team' game, where the storyline is tighter and supporting cast are memorable and develop over time, this will be less fulfilling than the Mass Effect, Dragon Age, or Grand Theft Auto sandpit-type rpg's. But if you want the ultimate in lone-wolf hero RPG freedom, like to explore and/or craft, or just want a ridiculous variety of gameplay optionsSkyrim rocks. If you want a single-player 'team' game, where the storyline is tighter and supporting cast are memorable and develop over time, this will be less fulfilling than the Mass Effect, Dragon Age, or Grand Theft Auto sandpit-type rpg's. But if you want the ultimate in lone-wolf hero RPG freedom, like to explore and/or craft, or just want a ridiculous variety of gameplay options for the price of one, this is it. The storyline is more coherent to the casually-interested than the last few games, but the best memories you'll get from this iteration are still the ones that emerge almost randomly and unexpectedly, when you take a detour from a detour and just let the world take you wherever it's going to take you. Expand
  59. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Definite Game Of The Year in my eyes. Everything that is to be expected from an Elder Scrolls game. Plenty of quests and a decent level cap will have me playing this game for hundreds of hours.
  60. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Saw LivebytheSword's review and had to give this game a 10 to balance out the bad reviews. Who happens to hate video games and I guess life and doesn't get how the user review system works.
  61. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Take Oblivion, make it way more pretty, improve the writing/sound/voice-acting, speed up menus and reduce chugginess, make combat more fun, and better the already amazing AI at the cost of some hotkey options and you have Skyrim.
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I've been a gamer for over 20 years and this is easily the best RPG I've ever played (and I've played lots). The amount of work Bethesda has put in to create the world of Skyrim is mind boggling. When you find yourself spending the best part of an hour reading books IN THE GAME you know its something special.

    I could write 10,000 words on why this game is the best of year, and arguably
    I've been a gamer for over 20 years and this is easily the best RPG I've ever played (and I've played lots). The amount of work Bethesda has put in to create the world of Skyrim is mind boggling. When you find yourself spending the best part of an hour reading books IN THE GAME you know its something special.

    I could write 10,000 words on why this game is the best of year, and arguably of this generation, but my time is better spent adventuring in Skyrim.
    Expand
  63. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best RPG ever. Beautiful visuals, interesting quests, great music. If you like RPG's this is a must have. Now - what to do with the family for the next three months?
  64. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely stunning, surpassing even my high expectations. yes there are bugs and glitches but what everyone seems to forget is the CAN BE PATCHED. Nothing game breaking for me so far and I'm sure there never will be anything that could break this game for me. The soundtrack is amazing, atmospheric, epic when it needs to be but peaceful as well. The AI is a huge step up fromThis game is absolutely stunning, surpassing even my high expectations. yes there are bugs and glitches but what everyone seems to forget is the CAN BE PATCHED. Nothing game breaking for me so far and I'm sure there never will be anything that could break this game for me. The soundtrack is amazing, atmospheric, epic when it needs to be but peaceful as well. The AI is a huge step up from Oblivion and really makes you feel like you are part of a living breathing world. On the subject of the world, it really is beautiful and varied, each city has it's own feeling, from the seedy town of Ritfen to the hilltop city of Whiterun, unlike the bland environments of Oblivion, there is always something happening, if you want to go hunting for leather to make armor and meat to cook, you can and it wont be a waste of time. If you walk up a road for 10 minutes you will no doubt have many encounters, from imperial soldiers taking a stomcloak prisoner to his execution, to an assassin trying to kill you or even a traveling bard looking to write a song about the civil war.

    The combat in this game is a big overhaul from oblivion and it now feels like the weapons you wield were made to do some damage, not just swing at a creature until the game decides its health is depleted and its dead. Furthermore unlike Oblivion where enemies would level up with you they now have a set level, if you are level 20 and you see a bandit, they will be wearing low class armor and will die in 1 hit from your mighty (insert weapon/spell here). If you try to take on a giant at level 2 then...well there are plenty of videos on youtube to show the consequences but its a bit one sided.

    There is so much to do in Skyrim that I cant see anyone getting bored of it anytime soon. There has already been plenty of those moments where I look across a landscape or at a town community and think...wow, this was well worth the wait.

    If you have never played an Elder Scrolls game before, or even an RPG, this is a perfect opportunity to start. If you have and are on the verge of buying it, get off the verge, into the game shop and buy it, you will NOT be disappointed. (NOTE, on 360 do not currently install it to your hard drive (as of 11.11.11) because currently if you do so the game will have low res textures, if this really doesn't bother you then go ahead but I would personally wait for a patch).
    Expand
  65. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    There is no other game out there which even comes close to the true scale of Skyrim. A fantastic fantasy world bursting with so much to do it will take you months to complete. The whole game world feels alive with activity. A new quest being found at every new location, which this game certainly does not lack. Hundreds of items to collect and unique artifacts to discover which almostThere is no other game out there which even comes close to the true scale of Skyrim. A fantastic fantasy world bursting with so much to do it will take you months to complete. The whole game world feels alive with activity. A new quest being found at every new location, which this game certainly does not lack. Hundreds of items to collect and unique artifacts to discover which almost always leads to something better to find. The main storyline defines fantasy epic setting you on a path which is common with the Elder Scrolls, involving yet again you saving all of Tamriel. Skyrim its self is a pleasure to explore with the games amazing graphics which is great for a game of this scale. Yes there are some niggles on the edges but these are bound to be fixed in no time at all. So this may not be the best game ever created, but it sure is one of the best. The only way to find out is to experience Skyrim for yourself. Expand
  66. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The best game I have bought ever since getting my Xbox. The world looks amazing and is so full of content you can spend hours without going very far from your starting point. All the problems I had with oblivion like the way the npcs looked and how the combat seemed repetitive have all been fixed and now the weapons seem to have weight and the npcs look great. Also I spent quite a longThe best game I have bought ever since getting my Xbox. The world looks amazing and is so full of content you can spend hours without going very far from your starting point. All the problems I had with oblivion like the way the npcs looked and how the combat seemed repetitive have all been fixed and now the weapons seem to have weight and the npcs look great. Also I spent quite a long time on it yesterday and didn't experience a single glitch on the Xbox version. Bethesda have done a really great job 10/10 and should definitely be game of the year. :) Expand
  67. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A truly in depth game with amazing graphics and outstanding features. I think this is a must have game, its one that will go down as one of the, if not the, best game of the year. So far I haven't got to far into the game but there has been no glitches and has had a intriguing story line. I really recommend you pick this game up.
  68. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    All the way through, this game does not let you go one bit. The story is great, music and graphics are amazing, the setting is incredible (and as a Scandinavian, it feels really close to home). However, a few bugs and problems with the NPC interaction briefly scrapes the top layer off of a "Perfect Ten". Even so, this game is one of the best games I've played through my entire life and IAll the way through, this game does not let you go one bit. The story is great, music and graphics are amazing, the setting is incredible (and as a Scandinavian, it feels really close to home). However, a few bugs and problems with the NPC interaction briefly scrapes the top layer off of a "Perfect Ten". Even so, this game is one of the best games I've played through my entire life and I would recommend to anyone who has time on their hands, and isn't afraid to give up their grades. Fah zin ahrk moron, dovah kiir. For honor and glory, dragon children. Expand
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Outstanding, brings back a lot of the Morrowind feel and fixes everything from Oblivion. A game that can be played over and over and you'll always find new things. Graphics and music are incredible. Dragon fights are fun and terrifying, new skills work well, combat is actually fun and doesn't feel like you're waving chopsticks around, world is MASSIVE and their is so much to find, lots ofOutstanding, brings back a lot of the Morrowind feel and fixes everything from Oblivion. A game that can be played over and over and you'll always find new things. Graphics and music are incredible. Dragon fights are fun and terrifying, new skills work well, combat is actually fun and doesn't feel like you're waving chopsticks around, world is MASSIVE and their is so much to find, lots of surprises (For new and old Elder Scrolls fans) to be found. Just travelling from town to town is an epic journey. The people rating this game low because SOME texture issues and some twitchy animations? Pathetic. There is no denying this game is a masterpiece. Game of the year doesn't cut it, how about best game ever created? Expand
  70. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they reallyI am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they really outdid themselves on that part. You'll have no problems spending ridiculous amounts of time in this game. The game is an incredible experience, without a doubt. Expand
  71. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Holy **** this game is so ****ing amazing, i have been playing it for 10 ****ing minutes and i ****ing love it, i'd give it a ****ing infinity out of 10 if could, if you don't buy this ****ing game right now, i'm going to track your IP address and ****ing kill you.
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Incredible game, my only few complaints from Oblivion have been taken care of, because fighting is SO FUN now! I spent the first couple of hours just running around exploring. GOTY for sure!
  73. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Best cRPG since baldurs gate ( for me ofc), long time no see so epic story with very nice grafic side and AWESOM music ( to bad only 5 of them are in cd ). One thing need to be said - TES V need some pach to smoth a few bug and it will be perfect. Im 40 hours in game and i cant stop play, I hope it gona be at least 300h to finish entire game. GJ Bethesda!
  74. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Spectacular game. Everyhting about it is awesome, after getting my third dragon shout the game got even better. Good job bethesda, keep up the good work and hopefully make a really good DLC for this game because im definitely getting it :)
  75. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced.Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced. There is an infinite amount of quests (literally, the game makes new quests as you go) and they are all very fun to complete. Dragons in this game look stunning to say the least. Overall this is close to being the best game I have ever played, easy 10/10. The only thing I could wish for is a co-op mode because a lot of my friends have this game it's always more fun with friends. Expand
  76. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Yea there are glitches, but that doesn't stop this game from being an absolute masterpiece. after only 3 hours of play, I realized this is probably the most engrossing game i have ever played. It's amazing how much content is packed into one game. The game extremely addicting, the sound is amazing, the graphics...oh the graphics they are absolutely phenomenal. If you are looking for gameYea there are glitches, but that doesn't stop this game from being an absolute masterpiece. after only 3 hours of play, I realized this is probably the most engrossing game i have ever played. It's amazing how much content is packed into one game. The game extremely addicting, the sound is amazing, the graphics...oh the graphics they are absolutely phenomenal. If you are looking for game you can pour hundreds of hours into, Skyrim is for you. Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! it is really that good oh gawd play it play it NAO goddammit son get over here damn, i want skyrim but im poor cake is also good, but skyrim is better!
  78. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The game is amazing

    Esse game é incrível, gráficos lindos, boa jogabilidade e ótima interação com cenário e personagens. Você está andando pelos lugares e derrepente pode se deparar com lobos ou outros tipos de bichos, tem animais andando pelo cenário
    The game is amazing

    Esse game é incrível, gráficos lindos, boa jogabilidade e ótima interação com cenário e personagens. Você está andando pelos lugares e derrepente pode se deparar com lobos ou outros tipos de bichos, tem animais andando pelo cenário parece real, é difícil ver um jogo assim, as quests são locas você não precisa ir logo ao objetivo principal, as quests secundárias são divertidas.
    Expand
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    An absolutely outstanding game! Not just one of the best RPGs of the year, but, one of the best RPGs every created. The best installment of the Elder Scrolls yet and the (highly) likely winner of numerous Game of the Year titles.
  80. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A world to explore and pillage. Bethesda has taken the best aspects of all their previous games and improved on them. UI took a few minutes to get used to. Skyrim feels ominous on my low level character, I do not relish the thought of exploring those dark woods at night. I feel I need to prepare, something I never felt in Oblivion.
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A very fitting addition to the TES stable. A truly stunning game that draws you into it's open world, Skyrim is perhaps the best RPG I have ever had the pleasure to play. The music is epic, the game play is believable, the world is beautiful and harsh. This was well worth the wait for me!
  82. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    O melhor jogo do ano,sem dúvidas estou fascinado com tudo q está dentro e fora do enredo me oferece ..
    Cada hora que eu paro pra jogar esse jogo é uma nova surpresa um novo artefacto,as lutas com os dragons são incríveis! agora vou parar de escrever pq Skyrim precisa de mim!

    Parabéns BETHESDA...
  83. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    played the game 30 hours now (i live in germany and got it on monday) and i love this game. it's all i was expecting and even better. after the first half hours i was a little bit disappointed because it didn't look so great in this area but the rest of the huge world looks fantastic for an open world game. noone should forget this, it's no linear world the developers know what you will doplayed the game 30 hours now (i live in germany and got it on monday) and i love this game. it's all i was expecting and even better. after the first half hours i was a little bit disappointed because it didn't look so great in this area but the rest of the huge world looks fantastic for an open world game. noone should forget this, it's no linear world the developers know what you will do next so they program everythin very easily, no, you can do what you want. going 3 mile west killing some bandits? do it! or going 5 miles north and searching for iron ore? do it!

    i'm the kind of gamer who loves to sneak through the buildings and steal everything and in this game this alone can cost you weeks of your real life^^ for me i give this game a 10/10. graphics 9, sound 9 (music alone would get a 10 but some other sounds aren't perfect), gameplay 10 and lasting appeal a 10 which i would count very high in this game because it's not a 40 hour singleplayer which would be a ot it's much more
    Expand
  84. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Para mi es la aventura más grande que he jugado en mi vida. Supera a Zelda Ocarina of Time, GTA San Andreas y por supuesto a Oblivion. Magia en estado puro.
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best Singleplayer experience I had in 13 years. It won't dethrone OoT as the best game of all times, but to me, its the first real contender. The scale of this game is massive and there is so much to do, it never gets boring. The game manages to create such a fantastic atmosphere that it becomes hard to stop playing. You always want to go to the next quest, etc. GOTY.
  86. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    What a great game!! So big, so beautiful, so much fun to play. In my 10 years of gaming, I haven't seen anything like this, Skyrim's world is so well done, full of life, every little detail is accounted for. What I noticed is that you never stop doing quests and they're so much fun to do, that they will eat up your time for at least 1 month! Everything feels perfect, I'm giving this game a 10.
  87. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is quite possibly one of the best games I, personally, have ever played. I don't say that lightly. Ever.
    (Although, it should be noted that I also say this about Fallout 3.)
    Over the time between announcement and release, I had my fair share of change in skepticism, especially once the major hype-wagon hit. I couldn't help but feel like I'd get affected by the hype and then be
    This is quite possibly one of the best games I, personally, have ever played. I don't say that lightly. Ever.
    (Although, it should be noted that I also say this about Fallout 3.)

    Over the time between announcement and release, I had my fair share of change in skepticism, especially once the major hype-wagon hit. I couldn't help but feel like I'd get affected by the hype and then be disappointed when I initially played it on release. This was not the case.
    Of course, I see a few bad reviews on this website, but from what I've read (and I did not read all of them), the reviewers that scored it negatively were not fans previous to Skyrim, or even familiar with typical Bethesda RPGs, so perhaps a few did get caught in the hype web. If you are a fan of older TES games, though, or even the current Bethesda generation Fallout series, you shouldn't worry about Skyrim based off these reviews; as long as you are familiar with the gameplay and layout of these games, and you enjoy them for that layout and gameplay, you should enjoy Skyrim.

    Graphically, the game is incredibly beautiful. Months, years and decades beyond Oblivion in almost every way, except for maybe character movements. The gameplay has also been improved greatly, mainly spellcasting, to a point where I can hardly believe this is the next game in line after Oblivion and Fallout. Being able to duel wield spells and single handed weapons wasn't even this satisfying in Bioshock 2!
    It should also be noted that 3rd person is even more a viable option than it ever has been, though it still seems primarily a first person game. The only thing so far that I haven't seen much improvement on is the Sword combat. It still feels as though your whacking your opponent with a small plastic spoon instead of a large iron sword.

    I haven't gotten far enough in the main story to really score it in any way that would be fair.

    The sound is amazing, from everything to walking on cobblestone to the the flapping of giant dragon wings which are a sure sign of a battle to come. There are the occasional "broken record" moments when a certain sound is interrupted repeats a few times. It's nothing game breaking by ANY means, but it is rather noticeable if you use a Turtlebeach headset.

    There is no multiplayer which I really see no reason to downscore the game for.

    Overall, Skyrim is an incredible improvement over Oblivion and Fallout, so much so that it's hard to believe these were all released to the same console. I can't say enough good things about this game, and I've barely played much at all in comparison to what there is. Don't miss this game, and if you've never played a Bethesda RPG before, at least rent it and give it a try.
    Expand
  88. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY and one of the best games I have ever played. The amount of quality that Bethesda put into this game is amazing. I went into this game with pretty high expectations but I was blown away by how much content was packed into this beautiful game. And its not just how much content but how good and enjoyable the content is. This is one of those games that just don't come along very often.
  89. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. One point off because the menu system took a huge step backwards. Tons of stuff to do, looks great, load times kind of long but not too annoying. Worth it.
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Coming from someone who hated Oblivion,I must say this is one of the best games I've ever played.
    Lets just get this out of the way,YES there are bugs but seriously who cares?! The map is freakin huge what do you expect.
    Now I absolutely hated oblivion,so I was skeptical buying this but i'm glad I bought it now. There is so much to do and see.If this doesn't get GOTY then accuse my french
    Coming from someone who hated Oblivion,I must say this is one of the best games I've ever played.
    Lets just get this out of the way,YES there are bugs but seriously who cares?! The map is freakin huge what do you expect.
    Now I absolutely hated oblivion,so I was skeptical buying this but i'm glad I bought it now.
    There is so much to do and see.If this doesn't get GOTY then accuse my french but you can Suck my balls.
    I could list 101 reasons to buy this game but I have a feeling this review is too long as it is.
    10/10
    Expand
  91. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best RPG once could ever ask for, possibly even the best game one could ever ask for. The graphics are lush and the gameplay makes me feel like i'm actually inside this whole entire new world. The dragons are an unscripted genre defining experience which are different again and again. I simply cannot ask for a better game than Skyrim
  92. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim eh um grande jogo joguei ele e ainda estou jogando,mas ele tem uma otima historia,graficos incriveis,som super realista e tem dragoes muitos dragoes!!!Skyrim conserteza vai ser GOTY eh o melhor RPG que eu ja joguei em toda minha vida!!! Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Stop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collectionStop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collection tasks (i.e. collect 5 bear pelts, 4 wolf pelts and some pork chops), to the assassination of a once dangerous leader. When/if you ever get bored of being told what to do, become your own boss. Go out and explore the vast array of environments, raid various ancient ruins and go on the hunt for the very rare treat of having an unscripted fight with a dragon!

    Skyrim offers an unbelievable amount of customisation, and could be seen as one of the most customised experiences on offer at this very moment in time. You have the chance to excel in becoming an archer, mage or a warrior, but it is entirely up to you on how skilled you become in either of these departments. Fancy like firing arrows at people from a long distance? You can do that. Fancy like using a combination of magic and melee to pray upon an unsuspecting opponent? You can do that too. Upon levelling up you can customise the paths you take in ANY skill; alchemy, pickpocketing and light armour to name but a few.

    If you have never played an Elder Scrolls game before, do not fret (or threat - whatever the correct term is)! Skyrim references back to its predecessors in a way that old-timers can connect and engage with, and newcomers can learn the ancient lore of the Elder Scrolls storyline.

    An absolutely outstanding game from an absolutely outstanding series! GOTY.
    Expand
  94. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I canAbsolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I can think of. No doubt its worth the buy. Expand
  95. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, andThis game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, and Trolls actually look scary now. Skyrim is like a cake. The sponge is Oblivion, but with all of those burnt bits cut off, and with an improved recipie. The filling is a whole abundance of new features and total immersion, that's so gloriously delicious that you'll be licking it from the plate. It's all iced with some beautiful graphics that really do look astonishing at times, and have actually made me walk around for five minutes looking at the beauty of the night sky... Plus it's all sprinkled with some Fallout sprinkles. For example, Oblivion Lockpicking is out, Fallout one is in, and the finishing moves are very VATS-esque. And you can't have a small slice of this cake, oh no. You'll have the whole thing and then curl up and cry when it's all gone 100+ hours later. If you don't buy this game NOW, you're not even human. Expand
  96. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of theIt is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Expand
  97. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat hasHonestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat has also been overhauled. Animations have more weight behind them and the ability to constantly be specializing in different weapons is thrilling. The player is never locked into one character choice, I chose a Nord and ended up as more of a mage centric class. Attention to detail is visible everywhere from vast landscapes to minute plant details everything is gorgeous. So much more about this game is spectacular but i refuse to say anything else, you simply just must experience for yourself... Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Nothing more to say other than if you like rpgs and you like hundreds of hours worth of fun then look no further. A game this large is not without its share of minor bugs, but these things pale in comparison to the sheer volume of content. Not an excuse, but the expectation that a game would be bug free and this huge is a misplaced one. The overall accomplishment here warrants a Ten.
  99. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best games I have played in a long LONG time. I don't even usually get excited for RPG's either. The bugs will get worked out eventually, but in my experience they do not get in the way too much. A couple of crashes here and there, but for the most part an excellent game.
  100. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feelGOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feel that you're actually there. The gameplay is a major improvement over Oblivion, although it still has it's flaws. Dual wielding spells and weapons add numerous possibilities to each battle. All in all, this is the best RPG i've played in my life. BTW it's also the BEST GAME i've played in my life. Enough said.... Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.