User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3607 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game couldn't be any better. I first came across the elder scrolls series when a friend showed oblivion to me and let me borrow it. I was hooked as soon as i put in the disc. Ive spent hundreds of hours playing oblivion, and this time around, skyrim is no different, possibly even better. Improved graphics, gameplay, menus, and more show the polish of this game and how finished it is.This game couldn't be any better. I first came across the elder scrolls series when a friend showed oblivion to me and let me borrow it. I was hooked as soon as i put in the disc. Ive spent hundreds of hours playing oblivion, and this time around, skyrim is no different, possibly even better. Improved graphics, gameplay, menus, and more show the polish of this game and how finished it is. It definitly brings more to the table than annual game releases such as Call of Duty, etc, making this game also worth your dollar, as it gives you 300+ hours of fun, and you actually have time to play it before the next game in the series comes out. In that respect, I enjoy skyrim and i definitly reccomend this game to anyone who even slightly likes rpgs. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incrível, são tantas coisas e opções que podem ser feitas e a liberdade que o jogo lhe oferece! O combate, crafting e sistema de quests esta tudo perfeito!
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is literally the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. I've made several different characters and spent well over 50 hours in the game yet I still haven't explored even 20% of what this game has to offer. It's truly a labor of love that shouldn't be missed. If there's only one game you can pick up this season it has to be TES 5 Skyrim, GOTY for sure!
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the very definition of Masterpiece. It almost is more of a second world than a game. There have been very few glitches in my play time, which was a huge concern.

    Stop reading and go play this game.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Follow the main quest, or don't. Be a law abiding citizen, or don't. So much to do, the choices are nearly endless. It's not often I don't have a bit of buyers remorse paying full retail release day prices, but that's never the case with a Elder Scrolls game. Skyrim continues that trend.
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is easily the most fun I have had playing a game in a very long time. I have yet to encounter a dragon because I left the main quest rather early. Nevertheless, the scenery is beautiful, the encounters engaging and the slow motion for a critical kill is just amazing.
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    In a nutshell The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an AMAZING game, the world is huge and full of things to keep you occupied, the combat is grate and with loads of weapons to find and spells to master, there is a lot to do in this game. The game starts as you as a prisoner who is about to face a execution for been suspected as a rebel, well to cut a long story short a Dragon comes and tearsIn a nutshell The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an AMAZING game, the world is huge and full of things to keep you occupied, the combat is grate and with loads of weapons to find and spells to master, there is a lot to do in this game. The game starts as you as a prisoner who is about to face a execution for been suspected as a rebel, well to cut a long story short a Dragon comes and tears the town apart you find out that you Dragonborn. I don't what to spoil the story for you so i'll stop there. There are side-quest and other objectives to do and you can join the many diffident gilds to join, so if the main-quest is getting boring for you there still hundreds of hours of gameplay here. Skyrim also has a Minecraft style way of making new armor and weapons, you get a pick-axe find some ore or a animal, dig it up or kill it , melt it down and craft the armor you want out if it. Since this is a RPG there is a leveling up system, in this game you gain skill from preforming tasks e.g. Fighting with diffident weapons, Making potions, Using magic, Picking locks .etc. Each task is connected to a skill e.g. One-Handed, Destruction, Pick locking .etc. After you do so many tasks you Level Up, this is where you can Pick a Perk. These Perks can help you with you combat, magic or to make people like you. There are lots of places to explore in Skyrim, you can find anything from a steam-punk style Dungeon or a traditional cave, On your explorations you will run in to the most coolest ting about this game DRAGONS, i mean think about it, just waling around and suddenly a dragon come screaming over you and lands and lets out a all mighty roar, once you hear that you know your in for a fight. Once you killed the dragon you can absorb its soil that can be used to unlock shouts. Shouts are special spells that don't drain you magic bar but still take time to recharge, shouts consists of 3 words, words can be given in a quest or found for just wondering the world, that start of weak but once you can master it with all 3 words you are unstoppable. there are some minor bad points about the game, there are some rather weird bugs and sometimes the combat can feel a bit flimsy, but with the bad points aside this is still the best game i have played in 2011. if you haven already gone out and got the game then you should its worth the money and i know it came out on the same week as that big shooter game but that's no reason to give this one a miss. and if you not into this kind of game or not a fan of the other games in the series then give it a go if you don't like it trade in and go back to games you like playing. To me its AWESOME lots to do and dragons to kill. Prefect Score. Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Great Game, despite what people say who must not realize that Elder Scrolls came before fallout. Great Campaign, nice art work, interesting new design for almost all of the items, also the new alchemy, and other abilities like smiting are a nice touch. I already put quite a good amount of hours into the game and I can see myself putting another hundred or so hours at least per character inGreat Game, despite what people say who must not realize that Elder Scrolls came before fallout. Great Campaign, nice art work, interesting new design for almost all of the items, also the new alchemy, and other abilities like smiting are a nice touch. I already put quite a good amount of hours into the game and I can see myself putting another hundred or so hours at least per character in this game. Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim lives up to my expectations, and competes with Morrowind, my favorite elder scroll game. The story is set in an extremely immersed world that really feels like it is alive and the story itself is beautiful. There are a few glitches in the game, but it is not a problem that diminishes one's experience in Skyrim. The combat system works great, but there can be annoyances when gettingSkyrim lives up to my expectations, and competes with Morrowind, my favorite elder scroll game. The story is set in an extremely immersed world that really feels like it is alive and the story itself is beautiful. There are a few glitches in the game, but it is not a problem that diminishes one's experience in Skyrim. The combat system works great, but there can be annoyances when getting to the items, magic, map, and skill menu only because sometimes the game does not register where you want to go. All you have to do is exit and re-enter, which is not a problem during combat because the game pauses itself. The textures when observed up close do not have the utterly beautiful quality some were hoping for, but I am not distraught because that would increase load times and the world is beautiful. The NPCs in Skyrim actually feel like they are people rather than simple programs waiting to be spoken to. The endless amounts of side quests and hidden goodies in the game are endless offering a truly unlimited amount of replay-ability. The perk tree is reminiscent of Fallout 3, which is great, because it gives you the desire to create different characters and specialize in different areas at each play through of the game. I recommend this to any fan of the Elder Scrolls series, rpg fan, or someone who just loves a great story in a game. The waring I give to you is that once you start you will constantly be picking up the controller attempting to find new powers and go on quests to defeat the dragons that have reappeared in Skyrim. Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game was....err I mean is one of the single best looking games to date! I mean it is 10x's better then Oblivion in way of looks. Plus I feel they didn't under-do or over-do the dragon element, the engagements between dragons is common but not to the point where it becomes tedious. I also really like how Bethesda upped the fickleness of the lock picking... much improved to that ofThis game was....err I mean is one of the single best looking games to date! I mean it is 10x's better then Oblivion in way of looks. Plus I feel they didn't under-do or over-do the dragon element, the engagements between dragons is common but not to the point where it becomes tedious. I also really like how Bethesda upped the fickleness of the lock picking... much improved to that of Fallout or even the dreadful lock picking mini game in Oblivion. The new menu system is a big improvement, and the commonness of gold is greatly apreciated, over all I think that Skyrim is a huge step forward compared to Oblivion, and Fallout.... Fallout New Vegas almost made me lose faith in Bethesda, but Skyrim brought it back. Can't even fathom what the next Elderscrolls is going to do, to take it to a hole 'notha level Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its firstThis is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its first expansion. skyrim is not just a game it is an experience you will never forget . Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A Definite Game Of The Year Competitor,If not already,winner.The leveling system is vastly superior to its predecessor "Oblivion" and the game strives to solve most problems.if not all,encountered in oblivion.Regardless of storyline,the game features an epic 300+ Hours of Game-play and DLC on the way!You can't ask much more of a game.
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played. Giving an ultra realistic sense of you being in the game and with fantastic attention to detail, skyrim slowly sucks the player in making the hours feel like seconds. The gameplay is fun, the rewards are...well rewarding, and the overall sense of adventure is always there. Although it is plagued by a few bugs, none of them affected by overallSkyrim is the best game I have ever played. Giving an ultra realistic sense of you being in the game and with fantastic attention to detail, skyrim slowly sucks the player in making the hours feel like seconds. The gameplay is fun, the rewards are...well rewarding, and the overall sense of adventure is always there. Although it is plagued by a few bugs, none of them affected by overall feeling for the game. Anyone who owns a 360 should definitely buy this game. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I wish that this game wasn't released at the same time as MW3 as I have to split time between them. If I did not have to sleep I would play this game 24/7. It is the best RPG that I have played. It has everything, good graphics, depth, personality and an addictive game-play that does not let you go. The replay value is high and I cannot wait to finish it and get some DLC.
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome - simply awesome. it has everything my adventure heart desires. i wish wow or rift would have elements this game has thought about. the graphics are immensely involving, the story is inspiring and the characters feel real. i have been playing this for 15 hours now and i cant stop thinking of continuing my adventure. i work full time so i have limited time to play. ifthis game is awesome - simply awesome. it has everything my adventure heart desires. i wish wow or rift would have elements this game has thought about. the graphics are immensely involving, the story is inspiring and the characters feel real. i have been playing this for 15 hours now and i cant stop thinking of continuing my adventure. i work full time so i have limited time to play. if you love epic adventures, do not hesitate, buy it now. Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    From the very first moment the game has you engaged and throws you into a world you're dying to find out more about. The combat is fluid and the story is engaging. Skyrim is one of the biggest games i've seen all year, often I would go and do a side quest only to gain 4 more quests along the way, then 2 more for each of those etc etc. A few bugs hinder the experience but on the same note aFrom the very first moment the game has you engaged and throws you into a world you're dying to find out more about. The combat is fluid and the story is engaging. Skyrim is one of the biggest games i've seen all year, often I would go and do a side quest only to gain 4 more quests along the way, then 2 more for each of those etc etc. A few bugs hinder the experience but on the same note a few of them make for good comedy, such as the Skyrim space program. The PC version of the game suffers from the consoles poorly designed menu system. You'll soon get used to it but for those of you who are dedicated PC gamers, you'll find yourself quickly infuriated. I recommend this game for anyone, even people who've never even played an Elder scrolls game before. The game is just pure Adventure fantasy fun. Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I had never played Morrowind. I had barely played Oblivion, it hardly interested me. And yet i had a hunch about Skyrim. That hunch has paid off immensely. I just can't put the game down every time I pick it up: and rather than sending you down a narrow path of epic story, it opens up a gigantic world built from the ground up of epic. How much do I like this game? I want to experienceI had never played Morrowind. I had barely played Oblivion, it hardly interested me. And yet i had a hunch about Skyrim. That hunch has paid off immensely. I just can't put the game down every time I pick it up: and rather than sending you down a narrow path of epic story, it opens up a gigantic world built from the ground up of epic. How much do I like this game? I want to experience everything with my character I've created, and yet I want to create at least three more characters. Skyrim is so immersible, and I love it. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Oh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you takeOh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you take into account the sheer scale of this game it is completely justified. Most definitely Game of the Year in my books. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible, to put it simply. The landscape is crisp and leaves much to be explored. With an abundance of features and content, a player can never get bored of this game, and can never finish it either. The lore is deep and highly detailed, and leaves the player to make their own decisions to determine their fate. The game simply improves the franchise and moves itThis game is absolutely incredible, to put it simply. The landscape is crisp and leaves much to be explored. With an abundance of features and content, a player can never get bored of this game, and can never finish it either. The lore is deep and highly detailed, and leaves the player to make their own decisions to determine their fate. The game simply improves the franchise and moves it forward as a great sequel to TES: Oblivion. Truly a game to be remembered forever. Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Masterpiece. Art. Epic win.
    These are the words that came on my mind when writing this.
    Skyrim is the BEST RPG OF ALL TIME. Its also an GOTY. And, its maybe one of the best games i have ever played. Go buy it. I dont know why you're here. Just buy it.
  21. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    If I decided to wait until I'd completed Skyrim to write this review, you wouldn't be reading it until next year at least. This game is big. The radiant quest system is capable of generating an infinite amount of miscellaneous quests, on top of the fascinating side quests and a main questline that is a large improvement on Oblivions. Skyrim's voice acting ranges from perfect to laughableIf I decided to wait until I'd completed Skyrim to write this review, you wouldn't be reading it until next year at least. This game is big. The radiant quest system is capable of generating an infinite amount of miscellaneous quests, on top of the fascinating side quests and a main questline that is a large improvement on Oblivions. Skyrim's voice acting ranges from perfect to laughable (but in a good way) and the games soundtrack is all you could ask for. This games only real downfall (apart from the odd glitch here and there) is in the visual department and is what stops it getting a 10/10 from me. The graphics don't render very well especially when you stand atop a mountain and look out at what you would hope to be a beautiful landscape, but instead is something more reminiscent of Minecraft. On a positive note though, the dungeons in this game are actually really detailed and far more varied than those in Oblivion. All in all Skyrim should be a definite purchase for any gamer, no-one will not enjoy this game. Quick tip: Bethesda have said not to install the game to your hard-drive because for some reason it makes the rendering of graphics even worse. Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing and addictive! You will keep coming back and the game is huge. Probably my favorite game ever which tops Halo 3 and Bioshock. Fixed every problem of oblivion.
  23. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Epic.
    After entering the Elder Scrolls series at Oblivion, I honestly didn't think there could ever be a game that would affect me as much as Oblivion managed to, with it's huge world, and (at the time) stunning graphics, it seemed impossible to beat.
    I was wrong. Skyrim takes everything that was amazing about Oblivion, and improves upon it ten-fold, whether this is the superior leveling
    Epic.
    After entering the Elder Scrolls series at Oblivion, I honestly didn't think there could ever be a game that would affect me as much as Oblivion managed to, with it's huge world, and (at the time) stunning graphics, it seemed impossible to beat.

    I was wrong. Skyrim takes everything that was amazing about Oblivion, and improves upon it ten-fold, whether this is the superior leveling system, which finally manages to perfect the 'natural' in-game leveling, or the amazing story line which absorbs you into every quest, and manages to completely avoid repetition within the story line, something that is rare to see in many modern games.

    Another one of my favorite improvements over the previous games is the weapons and armor system, this is due to, unlike Oblivion, allowing all weapons and armor to be unlocked at a low level, if you manage to gather the resources required to forge the weapon or armor, as long as your smithing skill is high enough.

    I could go on about this game way past the word limit, but all you need to know is buy this game. It's the best choice I ever made buying this game over any of the generic fps shooters.

    Bethesda, I love you.
    Maxii345
    Expand
  24. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Taco bell is good. So is this game. So deal with it and stop moaning. Bananas. May be dear, but so is life, baby. So, tacos and bananas, Jim Sterling, noonynoop
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion and Skyrim is a big improvement over that however the one thing that still just doesn't feel up to stuff is the main storyline. I always feel a game should have that Whoa factor that makes you want to explore it more the storyline never grasped me I had to force myself to get into it. Now as for the sandbox that is superb and what I spent a lot of timeI wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion and Skyrim is a big improvement over that however the one thing that still just doesn't feel up to stuff is the main storyline. I always feel a game should have that Whoa factor that makes you want to explore it more the storyline never grasped me I had to force myself to get into it. Now as for the sandbox that is superb and what I spent a lot of time doing. Looking forward to spending more time with the game, but I wouldn't go out of my way to call it the greatest game ever it does a lot of things great but falls short in a few others, and I pity the PS3 users. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played TES series for quite a few years (and many, many hours) I eagerly anticipated Skyrims release, I'm now on my third playthrough and have spent around 60 or so hours in total playing. My first impressions were positive as I explored Skyrims landscape, I was slightly overwhelmed at the sheer size of the game (but that is a usual occurance with TES games) although after after a few hours skyrim started to feel more familiar. I somewhat enjoyed the main questline although many of the quest involve much of the same 'fetch quests' as Oblivion had, I was however pleasantly suprised with how different choices made in the during certain questlines impact on the world, this isn't really something that has been done before in TES games so Bethesda get kudos for that. Now the main problems I have with this game are Guild quests, in Morrowind they had an excellent structre for advancing in guilds i.e you could join the mages guild, travel to different guild houses around morrowind and advance as you complete missions and improved your stats, in Skyrim and Oblivion (although oblivion not as much) you pretty much have 5 to 10 guild missions and once completed you find yourself as head of the guild, to me this seems somewhat unrealistic and rushed, I don't feel the guild questlines have any replayability and I wasn't really blown away while playing them through the first time. My second problem is the world of skyrim, as I explored more and got into the game I couldn't help feeling Bethesda had made tamriel more generic, I loved how different Morrowind as a gameworld felt to any other RPG world around, it was different , almost magical, Skyrim is more middle of the road and slightly dull. Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One word: EPIC. Skyrim will pack you in soo many hours of gameplay. Greatly improved visuals, engine. quests ETC. Extremely convient menu layout for Consoles.....on PC...not so much. I even once spent 1 hour just watching NPC's work. If you want something worth your money.....this is the game to get. Soo many things to do and just finding all the locations in the game can take 4-6 days.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have never really been a fan of RPG's in the past and I never played the previous Elder Scrolls games. My friends started telling me how great and fun Skyrim was and how it was a pretty new story so I would not need to play previous games. I went and rented the game and after a few hours of playing I knew it was a buy. This game is amazing, a nice break from all the shooters out there. II have never really been a fan of RPG's in the past and I never played the previous Elder Scrolls games. My friends started telling me how great and fun Skyrim was and how it was a pretty new story so I would not need to play previous games. I went and rented the game and after a few hours of playing I knew it was a buy. This game is amazing, a nice break from all the shooters out there. I can honestly say I am having fun fighting dragons, doing mission...endless list of things you can do in this game. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    i was concerned that as I was writing this review that I'd switch my score for this game to a 10. But for me to do so would be to say the game is perfect or so near perfect that it hid its flaws. However close Skyrim came to hiding it's flaws it still had them. Texture popping, getting trapped in small cracks, but these are the few things that it does wrong. The game is epic, charactersi was concerned that as I was writing this review that I'd switch my score for this game to a 10. But for me to do so would be to say the game is perfect or so near perfect that it hid its flaws. However close Skyrim came to hiding it's flaws it still had them. Texture popping, getting trapped in small cracks, but these are the few things that it does wrong. The game is epic, characters are the most engaging characters I've seen in an elder scrolls game and it is fun to watch above all. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.