User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3180 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of theIt is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat hasHonestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat has also been overhauled. Animations have more weight behind them and the ability to constantly be specializing in different weapons is thrilling. The player is never locked into one character choice, I chose a Nord and ended up as more of a mage centric class. Attention to detail is visible everywhere from vast landscapes to minute plant details everything is gorgeous. So much more about this game is spectacular but i refuse to say anything else, you simply just must experience for yourself... Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10. In no way is it 'perfect', but as a whole it deserves the 10. Sound, visuals, dialogue, story; everything will suck you in and keep you immersed. Of course there are bugs to be found, of varying degrees, but in a game this large and fully packed, how could there not be bugs? The important thing is that it won't take away from the beauty of thisThis game deserves nothing less than a 10. In no way is it 'perfect', but as a whole it deserves the 10. Sound, visuals, dialogue, story; everything will suck you in and keep you immersed. Of course there are bugs to be found, of varying degrees, but in a game this large and fully packed, how could there not be bugs? The important thing is that it won't take away from the beauty of this game. It won't stop you from letting the hours go by when you get lost in the world of Skyrim. I read some user reviews who rated the game a 0, then even went on to say that the game is decent. It's sad that those scores can be counted to hurt the rating of a game that's had so much love and work go into it. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Nothing more to say other than if you like rpgs and you like hundreds of hours worth of fun then look no further. A game this large is not without its share of minor bugs, but these things pale in comparison to the sheer volume of content. Not an excuse, but the expectation that a game would be bug free and this huge is a misplaced one. The overall accomplishment here warrants a Ten.
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Note to Infinity Ward/Activision: THIS is how you earn repeat customers. This game is awesome. Beautiful to look at, and extremely fun and engaging. If Bethesda keeps this up, they'll be around for a long time. We all know Infinity Ward/Activision have screwed themselves and will probably be filing for bankruptcy in 2013.
  6. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Overall an extremely enjoyable, rewarding and deep gaming experience, A definite step up from oblivion, both in graphics and game-play. And it's a game that can continue to be enjoyed for at least ten times longer than any other game out at the moment.
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This was an easy choice. Alot of people are docking this game for its handful of bugs. I am not one of them. With a game this size, even with fairly thorough beta testing, you cannot predict everything that is going to happen with the coding. That being said, Bethesda does an amazing job with patching problems very soon after releases and with the handful of bugs patched (I have yet toThis was an easy choice. Alot of people are docking this game for its handful of bugs. I am not one of them. With a game this size, even with fairly thorough beta testing, you cannot predict everything that is going to happen with the coding. That being said, Bethesda does an amazing job with patching problems very soon after releases and with the handful of bugs patched (I have yet to experience any after 12 hours of play) the game is perfect. It is a remarkable improvement on Oblivion in so many ways and the game gives you so many directions to take. I mentioned I have spent 12 hours in game right? I have accomplished almost nothing... and I don't care. That's the beauty of the well crafted sandbox. This game will let you give to it and will return your creative and exploitative investment 10 fold. The character models are amazing and the scenery is just magnificent. Buy it. Instant GoTY. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best games I have played in a long LONG time. I don't even usually get excited for RPG's either. The bugs will get worked out eventually, but in my experience they do not get in the way too much. A couple of crashes here and there, but for the most part an excellent game.
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feelGOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feel that you're actually there. The gameplay is a major improvement over Oblivion, although it still has it's flaws. Dual wielding spells and weapons add numerous possibilities to each battle. All in all, this is the best RPG i've played in my life. BTW it's also the BEST GAME i've played in my life. Enough said.... Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    If I had to pick one word to describe Skyrim, it would me "Epic". From its generously large handcrafted open word, to it's creatively written books found scattered around the world of Skyrim. Since Oblivion, made changes have been implemented this time around. Some of those innovations borrowed from Fallout, some new to Skyrim, such as sprinting, which is important for open world games,If I had to pick one word to describe Skyrim, it would me "Epic". From its generously large handcrafted open word, to it's creatively written books found scattered around the world of Skyrim. Since Oblivion, made changes have been implemented this time around. Some of those innovations borrowed from Fallout, some new to Skyrim, such as sprinting, which is important for open world games, and adds the ability to have chasing quests and dual wielding. The story being as rich as ever, with the added epic-ness of dragons and scripted events. While the close range combat still feels kind of wonky, its been much improved since the last game, and third person looks and feels a lot better and more natural. Overall the gameplay has been much improved since the last game, and unlike the previous games in the series, the combat is actual incentive to play. Another great thing about Skyrim, is the new Creation engine, with beautiful vistas, and amazing weapons models, and although faces and animations are substantially better then with the Gamebryo engine, they look less impressive then everything else. Besides the improved graphics, gameplay, and narrative/story, Skyrim's most important improvement is the interface. I cannot begin to explain how much I personally love the new interface. Unlike Oblivion's interface, Skryim's is cleaner, partly because it uses clear font rather than cursive/formal font and partly because is more accessible and simplified, making it a breeze to see what quest your on, or what weapon you have equipped. I could go on and on about new addition to the HUD and interface, but then this review will go on far longer then necessary. On top of everything I previously mentioned, one thing that really stands out about Skryim is it phenomenal sound track, being epic or beautiful when either is appropriate along with the great voice acting and overall sound effects submersing you into the game. This game is the kind of game you never want to put down, and it taking over 100 hours to even beat the game doesn't help, this game has so much to it, from the 100's of books to read, to the 150 dungeons, there is always something to do in the magnificent word of Skryim. Do yourself a favor and pickup this game. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a truly amazing game. I enjoyed Oblivion very much, but Skyrim surpasses it easily. The world is and feel enormous, and the idea of managing to visit even the majority of its locations is daunting. I normally like to do side quests before moving on with the primary storyline, but in the case of this game I have spent hours not on side quests, but just on exploring andSkyrim is a truly amazing game. I enjoyed Oblivion very much, but Skyrim surpasses it easily. The world is and feel enormous, and the idea of managing to visit even the majority of its locations is daunting. I normally like to do side quests before moving on with the primary storyline, but in the case of this game I have spent hours not on side quests, but just on exploring and crafting. Plus the wide variety of "random" encounters is wonderful, I regularly find myself on the edge of my seat in expectations of what's around the next bend. I have some old favorites for the PC that no new game will every be able to replace, but Skyrim is hands down the best game I have ever played on the Xbox 360, and I would say it is actually the best game I have ever played on ANY gaming console. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    For those few who are putting in negative reviews, maybe you should play more then one day before complaining. This game is amazing. Don't blame great reviews on paid advertisers. Go out and get this game.
  14. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED HANDS DOWN. I played this game 12 straight hours near about and still only have scratched about 1/50000 of the game......Graphics are great especially the player and NPCs.....The ability to create weapons, armor, enchant armor, and create potions from raw material is like Oblivion (GOTY) but even better. Skyrim is everything they have claimed and more andTHE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED HANDS DOWN. I played this game 12 straight hours near about and still only have scratched about 1/50000 of the game......Graphics are great especially the player and NPCs.....The ability to create weapons, armor, enchant armor, and create potions from raw material is like Oblivion (GOTY) but even better. Skyrim is everything they have claimed and more and anyone who puts a negative or mixed review on here is a MORON and is one of two things....Not a RPG fan or a Bethesda hater. This is easily GOTY after all the POS I've played this year this one is the best game since Fall Out 3 for RPGs....and ALL GAMES Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    So far a flawless delivery. Repairs damage done by oblivion, while keeping all the upgrades. This is essentially a 1up in the Elder Scrolls series, like is to be expected, and anyone who enjoyed the series thus far will not be disappointed. They'll be amazed. The character movement is fluid, fighting makes the game feel like an action title almost, and horses are no longer awkward.So far a flawless delivery. Repairs damage done by oblivion, while keeping all the upgrades. This is essentially a 1up in the Elder Scrolls series, like is to be expected, and anyone who enjoyed the series thus far will not be disappointed. They'll be amazed. The character movement is fluid, fighting makes the game feel like an action title almost, and horses are no longer awkward. Although there is a slight controller based menu, everything else reaches the expected level of what the hype for this game was. I decided to comment a short review when I saw a spam surge of '0' rates that were completely biased, or were just utter trolls. You can read them if you want but take it with a grain of salt. This is my GOTY. Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    From the start Skyrim's opening looked a little outdated. But once you are given control of the game, it is a masterpiece.the combat is by far the best in the series and the game is fairly difficult.I was actually encouraged to try weapon combos. i have allways used a sword in elder scrolls, but in skyrim I dont even carry a sword.the music in the game is amazing. The music makes the wholeFrom the start Skyrim's opening looked a little outdated. But once you are given control of the game, it is a masterpiece.the combat is by far the best in the series and the game is fairly difficult.I was actually encouraged to try weapon combos. i have allways used a sword in elder scrolls, but in skyrim I dont even carry a sword.the music in the game is amazing. The music makes the whole game feel epic. One of the best moments in the game so far, the first real dragon fight, is made up with amazing music. The citizens of Skyrim are more realistic, all of them have a daily routine, and the new animation system does really well. On the topic of bugs, i have been unable to find any, so clearly this game is much better than fallout new vegas. summary- If you are intrested in a rpg, or are a diehard rpg fan, this game was made for you.
    Guaranteed game of the year
    Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    WOW. Just wow. It was definitely worth the 5 year wait. As others have already stated the graphics and sound are quity simply the best out there for creating a lifelike work. Im 3 hours in and have have barely finished the 2nd mission. Yes I got a bit distraced mining some corondium ore, cutting some trees down the sawmill, and forging some weapons at the blacksmith. I got distractedWOW. Just wow. It was definitely worth the 5 year wait. As others have already stated the graphics and sound are quity simply the best out there for creating a lifelike work. Im 3 hours in and have have barely finished the 2nd mission. Yes I got a bit distraced mining some corondium ore, cutting some trees down the sawmill, and forging some weapons at the blacksmith. I got distracted testing my double wielding destructrion magic (fireball) on some chickens crossing the road at Riverwood. I got distracted crossing a river and trying to catch some leaping salmon I spotted. Hell I even got distacted by the water effects on a fountain at Dragonsreach that I spent a good 10 minutes just swimming around it. Thats the point I guess. Distraction from reality where we can slip off for a few hours and enjoy being part of a wonderfully created fantasy world. And nobody does it better than Skyrim. Get this game, even if you dont like RPG's. Just dont play with the surround sound on full whilst walking through the woods at night. Those two wolves jumping from behind on me is quite possibly the most fear inducing moment of my life. I actually thought there was a wild dog in my bedroom. Oh well back to the grind :D Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A true Masterpiece! One of the best games i have seen and i have been ganing over 30 years, nothing touches how good this game is! If you haven't picked it up yet do so, you will not regret it.
  19. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the fifth installment in a long line of successful RPGâ
  20. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    BUY IT NOW get up off the sofa grab your wallet and go to your nearest supermarket. Skyrim is amazing. 10/10 game couldn't be better lose your self in a fantasy world waiting to be explored. I paid £40 its worth alot more truly EPIC BUY THIS GAME RIGHT NOW. :-))
  21. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is one of a select few games that drag you in from the start. I dont know what it is, it could be the gorgeous mountains waiting to be scaled, it could be the epic soundtrack, or it could be that it is so huge that it feels at least as of now that it could be played for months without it ever getting stale.
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    this gave gives me no chance for complaining , everything has been done well , everything ! , a perfect RPG. GOTY for me . Sound track and voice acting - kick ***. The immersion factor is just huge. would have written more , sorry gotta get back to playing
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Fabulous in every way. Video games rarely reach the heights of making seasoned gamers say 'wow' at every new vista but Skyrim is one such beast. There is such a sense of freedom it's truly mind-blowing.
    It's the best rpg I've ever played and if you own an xbox 360 you do yourself a massive disservice by not buying it. You could buy one of two over hyped underwhelming war games, or you
    Fabulous in every way. Video games rarely reach the heights of making seasoned gamers say 'wow' at every new vista but Skyrim is one such beast. There is such a sense of freedom it's truly mind-blowing.
    It's the best rpg I've ever played and if you own an xbox 360 you do yourself a massive disservice by not buying it. You could buy one of two over hyped underwhelming war games, or you could get lost in sheer magical immersion. The likes of which have never been seen before. All hail Bethesda. A masterpiece.
    Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Materpiece!
    This game has everything any gamer want:
    Excellent story, graphics, sound and gameplay.
    I dont know who will hate this, but if you hate it, you dont know what a good game is.
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. i think it is the most expansive map ive ever played on and it definitely trumps oblivion however i still think that morrowind game of the year edition was better but thats just because i logged easily 1000 hours and never completely beat it but this game has serious promise
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Let me just start of by saying that I have NEVER posted a review on this website. In fact, I signed up to it just now so I could post a review about this absolutely epic game. Skyrim is the first game I've ever played in The Elder Scrolls franchise, and now I know what I've been missing out on! The game is not without it's faults, granted, but it angers me to see users posting reviewsLet me just start of by saying that I have NEVER posted a review on this website. In fact, I signed up to it just now so I could post a review about this absolutely epic game. Skyrim is the first game I've ever played in The Elder Scrolls franchise, and now I know what I've been missing out on! The game is not without it's faults, granted, but it angers me to see users posting reviews entirely structured around the graphical faults with the game - due to it's sheer size and scale, obviously there are going to be some graphical hiccups (and minor ones at that). With that being said, TES: Skyim is with out a doubt the best RPG experience out there to date, offering a vast, rich and detailed world complete with layered characters and meaningful interactions. See that mountain in the distance? Go climb it! Expand
  27. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    so i must admit this has got to be one of the best games I've ever played it exceeded my expectations greatly when i first got it i thought it was gonna be iffy but this actually turned out to be awesome i would highly recommend it to anyone over 10
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is a Masterpiece, just like every Elder Scrolls game. To those of you complaining about it, either your dumb, or haven't played any TES game. Yes it has it's flaws, but the awesomeness covers them.
    Nothing a patch can't fix. Thanks Bethesda, you've done it again.
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games that has ever come out. The scenery is amazing. The game play looks so real. For someone that spends a lot of their time playing video games this is worth the experience. You will enjoy the terrific game play, including the new dragons that have been added. Who would not want to fight a dragon?
  30. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played. This game both possesses quality and quantity, I assure you that if you buy this game you will not be disappointed in any way. More content than you could ever imagine in a game, great value as a result.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.