Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
Buy On
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    86
    While a few things could use some revision work, overall this game is a masterpiece for Tolkien fans and shouldn't be missed.
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    84
    The fun of co-oping through Middle Earth with three unique characters overshadows some of the game's shortcomings, making for a very enjoyable game that I'm happy to recommend.
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Lord of the Rings: War in the North is far from perfect, but it's an incredibly well-balanced beat-em-up.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    76
    There's something here for you guys who like the general approach of solving problems with a whole lot of sword-swinging, experience upgrades and looting – but the gameplay gets a bit worn the longer you play. So is the story enough of a draw to push this into the buy column for you? How about the prospect of having a game experience you and your friends can share? If neither of these things would push you from the undecided column to the must-buy column, approach this one with a bit more trepidation.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    75
    It's a genuinely good game with a lot to offer both Lord of the Rings and action-RPG fans, and it definitely has that "Snowblind" (Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance) feel to it. As long as you go into it expecting a diamond in the rough, that's exactly what you'll find.
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    75
    The Lord of the Rings: War in the North is a fun but flawed experience.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    75
    War in the North is a solid game that has some challenging battles despite of the bad AI. The game can't stand up towards other big releases during this time of the year, but the three player co-op will keep fans of the franchise and the genre busy for many hours.
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    75
    A solid action RPG with plenty of loot to collect. I really got a sense of Champions of Norrath the more I played it, and wanted to continue grinding, which is uncommon for me.
  9. 75
    War in the North is hardly the most memorable adventure through Middle-earth, but you won't regret any of the time you spend fighting across its grim battlegrounds.
  10. Nov 1, 2011
    75
    What keeps me coming back to War in the North is the fact that the game does a remarkable job of divvying out loot. Enemy drops, breakable items, and eager shopkeepers are all there to make sure that you always have a consistent IV drip of high-fantasy swag at your disposal.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    don't believe the negative hype... not a "perfect" game by today's standards, but then again, today's standards mean, take a genre, streamlinedon't believe the negative hype... not a "perfect" game by today's standards, but then again, today's standards mean, take a genre, streamline the hell out of it, add shooting, action, a little puzzling and a dash of RPG and never make the gamer read anything... this game reminds me a lot of the Baldur's gate dark alliance games snowblind made for the PS2. i love the game, yes it has some bugs and yeah i'm seeing lots of mediocre scores, but this is the first time i have played a game at launch from the time i picked it up until morning, since dragon age origins.

    the gear system is great, you see a nice visual treat every time you find gear and it does a real service to the LotR lore. all gear is crafted by either an area or a race. like dwarf armor has a certain style to it, or swords made by men of bree etc... again, very much like DAO here, it feels like a real world of artisans have been pumping out gear for your survival and enjoyment. and you never have too much to deal with, its the perfect amount of gear to sell and upgrade without ever feeling overwhelmed... and you never have so much gold that you can buy anything and everything you want, the game has a nice amount of difficulty and a great finesse combat system thats very rewarding. do yourself a favor and AT LEAST rent this. i can't wait to play some more tomorrow!!!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is the best in the saga of The Lord of the Rings, for all: atmosphere, graphics, sound, length, fun ... some people say it is veryThis game is the best in the saga of The Lord of the Rings, for all: atmosphere, graphics, sound, length, fun ... some people say it is very repetitive, they do not understand, really. Great game. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    Loved this game! My wife and I played it right through on co-op and I have to say this is the best co-op experience we've had next toLoved this game! My wife and I played it right through on co-op and I have to say this is the best co-op experience we've had next to Borderlands, even though they are very different games. This game is faithful to everything in the Lord of the Rings world and totally immerses the gamer in this exceptionally beautiful and at times dark and sinister world. I really don't understand why so may critics did not rate this game more highly as the characters are solid, the graphics are gorgeous, the game play interesting and the story is compelling and ties in nicely with Tolkien books. I would give it a ten but the game is a little short. Sadly with the mainstream gaming websites critics poor reviews they probably have ensured that we never see a sequel or any DLC for this awesome game. Full Review »