User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    Monkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has aMonkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has a built-in walk-through which ruins the game as it is to hard to resist, and should not be pressed until you are truly stuck. Regardless, The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition is definitely worth full price. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition  e  Monkey Island 2 Special Edition: LeChuck’s Revenge, sono due acquisti che consiglio di fare ad occhi chiusi a chiunque, considerando anche il prezzo “budget” (tra l’altro la versione retail,  Monkey Island: Special Edition Collection, contiene entrambe le avventure, storyboard, bozzetti e le colonne sonore complete rimasterizzate di ciascunThe Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition  e  Monkey Island 2 Special Edition: LeChuck’s Revenge, sono due acquisti che consiglio di fare ad occhi chiusi a chiunque, considerando anche il prezzo “budget” (tra l’altro la versione retail,  Monkey Island: Special Edition Collection, contiene entrambe le avventure, storyboard, bozzetti e le colonne sonore complete rimasterizzate di ciascun gioco, tutto in un’unica confezione!). Non lasciatevi sfuggire queste perle di rara bellezza, che a distanza di oltre 20 anni sono ancora considerate metri di giudizio per le produzioni odierne. Ritroverete quella magia che si è persa col passare degli anni e con l’evolversi del mercato  che gira attorno ai videogiochi e delle preferenze dei giocatori stessi che hanno abbandonato un genere che poco a poco stà morendo. Esperienze di questo stampo devono essere provate almeno una volta nella propria vita, per far rivivere anche a chi ancora non c’era momenti indimenticabili della storia videoludica. Il voto che assegno a queste “edizioni speciali” non è ovviamente lo stesso che darei all’originale, per ovvi motivi, altrimenti il 10 sarebbe garantito ma lo rende comunque un acquisto imprescindibile.  Se non avete mai visto una scimmia a tre teste, è il momento giusto per farlo! Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This is how point and click adventures work. It has logical puzzles, wonderful writing, and some of the best characters in video games. This game must be bought!
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    WARNING BIAS REVIEW!
    this was probably the first game I played when i was young. Playing this on my Amiga 500 with the 4 Floppy Discs (Remember them?) and constantly having to change as you moved from area to area. I found the scripting and the humour to be subtle but charming and the characters to be well thought up. The game now available is still the same old game that you remember but
    WARNING BIAS REVIEW!
    this was probably the first game I played when i was young. Playing this on my Amiga 500 with the 4 Floppy Discs (Remember them?) and constantly having to change as you moved from area to area. I found the scripting and the humour to be subtle but charming and the characters to be well thought up. The game now available is still the same old game that you remember but they have taken a few bits from the later series and put them into the new. The voice actors from the third game (Curse of monkey Island i think) has been brought in to voice the characters and they have given the game a new lick of paint. You can however change this back to the original with the push of a button.
    Point and click games are back with this and games such as 'The Walking Dead'. this is not quite where it all began but it is the most successful of the early breed of Point and Click adventures and what really gave the new modern games the audience they have today.
    Play this and tell me if you don't want to go Insult Sword Fighting... How Appropriate, you fight like a cow.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Point and click adventure with a great sense of humour. I very much like how you have the option to switch between old and new graphics. Be warned that this game is hard and can be frustrating if you become stumped.
  6. FuzzyMan
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Not a bad remake all things considered. The new style may dissapoint old fans, but I find it to be much better that the original. The gameplay is still fresh after all of these years, and the humour is LOL worthy. Only down point is that it barely has any replayability. But still it's an old classic and even if you don't like the new art style you can always press the SELECT Not a bad remake all things considered. The new style may dissapoint old fans, but I find it to be much better that the original. The gameplay is still fresh after all of these years, and the humour is LOL worthy. Only down point is that it barely has any replayability. But still it's an old classic and even if you don't like the new art style you can always press the SELECT button to change to old school mode where the game is seen in it's original glory. Go buy it, i doubt you'll be sorry. Collapse
  7. RichP
    Jul 23, 2009
    8
    It is a great game but only a good remake...the new graphics and voice overs are cool but the graphics seems to be limited by the engine (i.e. they improved the sprites and backgrounds, but not the animation framerate? no 3D graphics?), and sometimes I prefer how the voices sound in my head. Playing the original in ScummVM is about the same experience, a little better or worse depending It is a great game but only a good remake...the new graphics and voice overs are cool but the graphics seems to be limited by the engine (i.e. they improved the sprites and backgrounds, but not the animation framerate? no 3D graphics?), and sometimes I prefer how the voices sound in my head. Playing the original in ScummVM is about the same experience, a little better or worse depending on your preferences and appetite for nostalgia. Expand
  8. DanielR
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game will always hold a special place in my heart. It is, without a doubt one of the greatest adventure games of all time. Exceedingly witty, funny, and always cognizant of what it is, a game of puns and slapstick humor. Hopefully we see the sequel come our way, and soon!
  9. RayW
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    For a game that is almost 20 years old, this remake still holds the same charm and magic as it did when it was being booted up in Amiga's and PC's the World over. This game, single handedly, redefined the point and click/adventure game genre, with witty dialogue, charming characters, and an off the wall storyline about Zombie pirates and Giant Monkey Heads. I cannot recomend For a game that is almost 20 years old, this remake still holds the same charm and magic as it did when it was being booted up in Amiga's and PC's the World over. This game, single handedly, redefined the point and click/adventure game genre, with witty dialogue, charming characters, and an off the wall storyline about Zombie pirates and Giant Monkey Heads. I cannot recomend this game enough. Now, when can we see Le Chuck's Revenge Special Edition, eh Lucas? Expand
  10. AlexS
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Having not played the orignal; for over 15 years, this just as much fun as the first time round.
  11. SteveS
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, remastered to bring it into modern times. A complete success.
  12. JeremyH
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    Great remake, the only flaw is very bad controls. Why did they put such a horrible controls to such a great high quality remake?
  13. JasonW
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Love this game. Brings the glory of the old graphics up do date.
  14. AdamB.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    I love the original game since 2000, and I love the special edition, but there are a few things I didn't like about it. For example you can't turn on the VO if you play with the old graphics, and if you hit space it don't just pause, it brings the menu, but I just want to pause my game, to read the subtitles, if I don't understand something. These are just minor I love the original game since 2000, and I love the special edition, but there are a few things I didn't like about it. For example you can't turn on the VO if you play with the old graphics, and if you hit space it don't just pause, it brings the menu, but I just want to pause my game, to read the subtitles, if I don't understand something. These are just minor problems, but I can't give it 10 out of 10. But this is Monkey Island hey! It is perfect either way:) Expand
  15. andydurham
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Great to see these old titles coming back and re worked and monkey island is a classic to have done...games these days are all about online gaming and acheivements..thats why yesterdays games are much better!!!...lets have more re worked classic games like Rocket ranger and Indy jones adventure games..
  16. CodyB.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    AAAAAAWE the memories. Perfectly put together. Great voice acting, awesome graphics and the select button allows you to toggle classic mode on and off.
  17. MarkWard`
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Alongside its sequel Le Chucks Revenge this is the best point and click adventure ever created. Having not played the game for many years I was concerned the game may not have stood up to the test of time. I needn't have worried. The enhancements to the graphics and voice acting add a whole new dimension to an already classic game. Final thought- "How much wood would a woodchuckAlongside its sequel Le Chucks Revenge this is the best point and click adventure ever created. Having not played the game for many years I was concerned the game may not have stood up to the test of time. I needn't have worried. The enhancements to the graphics and voice acting add a whole new dimension to an already classic game. Final thought- "How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck would chuck wood?" Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. If you’ve never played Monkey Island, now you've got a very good reason to.
  2. The Secret of Monkey Island is still one of the greatest games of all time and this new Special Edition presents it to a new audience with its fantastic production values and hilarious dialogue.
  3. For 10 dollars, The Secret of Monkey Island: SE is a steal. The game pays homage to series enthusiasts, as well as making it accessible to an entire new generation of gamers.