The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Xbox 360

The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous detective Sherlock Holmes is back on the PC and Xbox 360 for a great adventure and probably the most dangerous investigation of his entire career.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    79
    Overall, I really enjoyed The Testament of Sherlock Holmes. The story was compelling and made me want to continue, despite some clunky controls and elements that didn't translate nicely to using a controller.
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    75
    Frogwares doesn't pull any punches in its irreverent yet thoughtful portrayal of the detective, and is similarly unflinching in the intelligence and attention to detail it demands of players. The Testament joins that small, respected group of M-rated games that actually require maturity from players; recommending this case to adventure game fans is elementary.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    The average visuals, clunky animations, clumsy controls, and nonexistent lip-syncing represents a distinct lack of polish, but this doesn't ruin the otherwise solid game tucked within.
  4. Sep 23, 2012
    65
    Focus Home Interactive and Frogwares want to offer something original, but unfortunately The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is afflicted by a variety of technical issues.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    65
    In closing, The Testament of Sherlock Homes is a solid adventure game. The puzzles can be extremely complicated and at points infuriating, but what comes with this is a great sense of achievement that I haven't experienced from playing a game in a long time. While it didn't look as pretty as I had hoped and the puzzles became tedious and unnecessary at points, this was a good attempt at a Sherlock Holmes game and has raised my interests in playing another title if we were to see one released.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    60
    Sherlock Holmes himself becomes the suspect in a murder investigation. Some moments, the crime scene investigations for example, are really fun, but for the most part it's a pretty bland game with a low budget feeling.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 16, 2012
    40
    A game so scary, even it doesn't know what it is. [Dec 2012, p.101]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I am a big fan of this game. It looks beautiful, the story is fascinating and the puzzles challenging. The campaign took me around 15 hoursI am a big fan of this game. It looks beautiful, the story is fascinating and the puzzles challenging. The campaign took me around 15 hours to beat and I had fun the whole time. Sherlock Holmes is a much more disturbed character this time around, making him more interesting. If you enjoyed his previous adventures, this game is a step up in every way. Collapse
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Loved the game, best yet of the series, you can see how they are constantly learning from the previous games and adjusting the difficulty,Loved the game, best yet of the series, you can see how they are constantly learning from the previous games and adjusting the difficulty, complexity and variation of the levels, puzzles and progression.

    Unique story featuring a classic twist.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Great game. This game is all about puzzles-solving, you really feel like a great detective, for fans of sherlock holmes is a must buy. For meGreat game. This game is all about puzzles-solving, you really feel like a great detective, for fans of sherlock holmes is a must buy. For me the best game of holmes so far. The real Sherlock Holmes is back not that ridiculous Holmes from the modern movies copying the james bond style. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    5
    I didn't like this game as much as the Jack The Ripper game. I just didn't think it captured the atmosphere as much as the other game. TheI didn't like this game as much as the Jack The Ripper game. I just didn't think it captured the atmosphere as much as the other game. The puzzles didn't seem as much fun or as challenging. It was an easy 1000 points so if you need to boost your gamer score it is a pretty fun way to get a quick 1000 but it won't be a game that you keep or play again. Also the children in the intro are creepy and unnecessary. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    While it is improved by Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper standards, this game also falls painfully flat for several reasons. The voicesWhile it is improved by Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper standards, this game also falls painfully flat for several reasons. The voices don't even match the characters' faces. Now, I'm not saying that you can't have fun; I had a great time solving all the interesting problems that were thrown at me. I just didn't find them very engaging. They were either too hard or too easy. After a while it just becomes boring, so boring you couldn't pay me to play it. Just... stay away! Expand
  6. May 9, 2013
    4
    Okay so I've just finished The Testament of Sherlock Holmes the video game. Here is my review. I give it a 4.5 out of 10 due to the fact ofOkay so I've just finished The Testament of Sherlock Holmes the video game. Here is my review. I give it a 4.5 out of 10 due to the fact of simple graphics and poor game play as well as a general lack of open game play. This is the first game I ever bought used that I'm glad the company who made this will never see a dime.

    Okay lets tackle the first thing that annoyed me in this game. The lack of instructions. Every time you had to do a minigame it just said solve the mini game. Which got very annoying and since they aren't repetitive, I keep saying what do I have to do here? Even as I looked this up on youtube to try to solve them, the narrations of the people where highly confused taking them on average 6 or 7 minutes to figure it out what you needed to do and then another 6 to 10 just solving it even after they themselves looked it up on the internet.
    Another thing besides the minigames that confused me were the items and how they were used. Near the ending it got better because they became more obvious, like a ladder just standing 3 feet away from a window with an action icon next to it. But in the game you had to go to an attic tear open a magician's cloak, which was in a locked trunk, get the keys that will open anything sewn into the cloak on the inside after turning the cloak upsidedown manually which the stitch you had to pull could barely be seen due to poor lighting and bad graphics, just to open a tool shed which you could have used a crowbar on, (which was in your inventory) in real life.

    Next were the graphics. It irked me that this game looked like it should have been in the N64 era of gaming. No real detail in anything including the faces or even in the cut scenes. This game was clearly never about good graphics.

    Last but not least the non open play that the game states on the cover. This game promises to be an open game where you can interrogate who ever you want and do what ever you want. That is a bold faced lie. You have to do everything down to the exact detail of what they wanted of you and if you do not do it, you can not progress in the story. You can't even guess at combinations. You have to find the paper with the combination on it, decode it, find some key to unlock it as well and then come back and put it in. It is like that for almost every lock in the game. It's a nice feature but it gets so repetitive and annoying after the first 2 times you do it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    1
    Amateurish at best. The game greets you first of all with a notice that autosaves are not a part of the game, so "don't forget to saveAmateurish at best. The game greets you first of all with a notice that autosaves are not a part of the game, so "don't forget to save manually!". Obviously an easy way out for lazy developers, and let me say, there seems to be plenty of those. After the awkward controls, the sub-par voice acting and the ridiculous first tutorial plotline (a trained monkey steals a necklace by cutting glass with a diamond) I just turned it off.

    Sherlock is a great franchise and you should be ashamed for this.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews