The Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations thatEpisode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations that foreshadow the story of Deputy Sheriff Rick Grimes. A honed game experience in which actions, choices and decisions you make will affect how your story plays out across the entire series. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 15, 2012
    90
    A New Day is an exciting point and click adventure, and a great adaptation of the graphic novels with both a thrilling story and comic book look. It's all about the choices you make, which have consequences for the story as it progresses.
  2. May 3, 2012
    90
    Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day is a great opening chapter to the game and I can't wait to see what happens in the next episode. I'm also curious to see if it delivers on its promise that the choices that I've already made will affect the way the story unfolds from here. Even if the impact of these choices is minor, I won't be too disappointed. The game weaves one hell of a story and I want to see how it turns out.
  3. May 23, 2012
    89
    The first episode of The Walking Dead is a great adventure and we can't wait for the second part.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    82
    A great starting point for the episodic series, with an involving story and deep characters: it will surely please every lover of story-focused games. Our main complaint is about the complete lack of italian localization, expecially seen the game's deep focus on storytelling.
  5. May 8, 2012
    80
    A great point and klick adventure, set in the middle of a Zombie outbreak. Focus lies on the people you meet and the stories they tell.
  6. 80
    It doesn't really feel like a point and click adventure, and sometimes it barely even feels like a game - but if you're in the mood for something different, this is superb entertainment at a fantastic price. If you're a fan of zombie movies, get involved. We're hooked: bring on Episode 2.
  7. May 10, 2012
    60
    Its rudimentary puzzles may not satisfy point-and-click fans, but those who enjoy interactive drama will be happy to tune in for Episode Two after this solid season premiere.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV seriesSimply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV series and Comic. Hopefully the following episodes will be just as good!
    However, one playthrough will last around 4-6 hours, but there are plenty of decisions to be made, which adds to replay value. 9/10
    Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    I can't stand point-and-click games, and the unimpressive script and limited conversation options in dialogue-driven games are the reason II can't stand point-and-click games, and the unimpressive script and limited conversation options in dialogue-driven games are the reason I avoid them. The Walking Dead, however, has put an exciting new spin on point-and-click, and the dialogue is excellent. There were a few times that I found myself wishing for less linear gameplay options, but it's very clear from the outset that this isn't a game as much as it's an interactive animation. And as such, it's a huge success. It's great to see a game based on traditional media that can actually stand on its own - this would have been just as entertaining without The Walking Dead branding. Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    A really smart, innovative and interactive story that is affected by your choices. A formula like this adds up to interesting results whichA really smart, innovative and interactive story that is affected by your choices. A formula like this adds up to interesting results which keeps you hooked until the end of each episode. For $5/per episode, this is definitely a must buy if you like controlling your own narrative. Expand
  4. May 1, 2012
    9
    Never has a licensed game so perfectly embodied the original in both content and mood. I was first introduced to the Walking Dead when theNever has a licensed game so perfectly embodied the original in both content and mood. I was first introduced to the Walking Dead when the show debuted, and recently I have begun reading the comics (on #90 now) and so far I was blown away. The show was great but after reading the comics it pales in comparison, now this game fits neatly in-between the two. Like the comics, the game will be released in short episodes every month, with five episodes in total. The game takes place during the early days of the outbreak while Rick Grimes, the main character of both the show and comics, is still in a coma. It stars a new character Lee Everett and is an entirely new story. I won't get into the story itself (you can read that anywhere) so I'll just begin with how the story works in relation to the game.

    I downloaded the game and beat it the day it came out, and then I played it again. Its a great combination of story and (gameplay isn't exactly the right term) interactivity. All the characters are instantly fun and relatable, I've never been so invested in a game in the first two hours as emotionally as I am with this. Players truly feel the weight of their decisions, whether small or large, immediately. Many of the choices you make in this first installment only get you acquainted with the game mechanics and set up the story for future episodes. As for this games appearance, when I first saw the colorful, cell-shaded screen shots I was worried that the visuals would set the wrong tone for such a dark and depressing universe, but I am happy to say that I was dead wrong. The eye-popping colors and visuals are a beautiful juxtaposition to the actual eye-popping and violence. The characters faces are unique and extremely expressive. There is more meaning in what the characters don't say, than what they do. One issue I have with the visuals is their tendencies to jump. People and objects tend to stutter from one place to another in brief cuts in the cinematic. This problem is brief and few and far between but still noticeable. As for the gameplay, action adventure is a very inaccurate term (more just adventure) and calling this game "point-and-click" doesn't do it justice either. During the main gameplay the player controls the main character with the left thumb stick, and a cursor with the right. When the cursor is placed on top of an object the player is given up to four different options to interact with it that are mapped to the face buttons of the controller. During action scenes the player must frantically find somewhere to place the cursor and hit the correct button to escape/fight. These interactions are often heart pounding and followed by a powerful feeling of accomplishment when successful (and you won't always will be). Most of these events are also NOT quick time events or QTEs. In fact there are very few of those, I only noticed three but they were very effective. With that said, this is not an action game, its about interacting with the environment and with other characters.

    All and all this is a fantastic game, especially to fans of either the comics, or of smart, emotional, story driven games that make players think and feel as much as they act. I not only cannot wait for the next episode, I'm already looking to the future hoping this game will be continued after the five episodes have concluded by October.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2012
    9
    Episode 1 surprised me. Instead of being another mindless shooter, the developers have created what could be viewed as a thinking man's zombieEpisode 1 surprised me. Instead of being another mindless shooter, the developers have created what could be viewed as a thinking man's zombie apocalypse simulator. If you want to experience the psychological tension you always see in the movies this is a great game. The decisions you make while interacting with characters and deciding how trustworthy they are really adds an interesting dynamic to this title. The story is great and the art style is an interesting comic book type. If you want something unique I highly recommend this game. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    Achei realmente interessante o jogo, desde o começo analisei ele com maior carinho pois não sei quem disse que jogoAchei realmente interessante o jogo, desde o começo analisei ele com maior carinho pois não sei quem disse que jogo de zumbi tem que ser shooter. Gosto da mecanica, gosto da tensão, da história não vou nem comentar, Walking Dead é interessantíssimo vale a pena conferir, mas não entre no jogo achando que você é um semi deus da violência e que com uma pistola na sua mão vc salvará a raça humana. Não vejo a hora de pegar o 2. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Kind of interactive, quite short zombie comic with no replay value. Watch the trailers and you get an idea of what to expect and - in terms ofKind of interactive, quite short zombie comic with no replay value. Watch the trailers and you get an idea of what to expect and - in terms of game play and interaction - NOT to expect from the series. 2 hours video for 400 MS points - you to decide. Collapse

See all 48 User Reviews