Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 3 months after the events of episode 1, starvation forces the group to look for food from strangers. In a world where the living can be more dangerous than the undead, this is a risky move, but you’ll soon learn how far you’ll go to survive. How will the choices you made in episode one affect your story? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    91
    The Walking Dead Episode 2 is something that begs to be talked about once it's finished, and not beforehand, which makes writing this review a little challenging. If the first episode didn't convince you enough that the series is worth continuing, than I'm not sure that episode 2 really does much differently to make you think otherwise.
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    90
    The second episode in this five-part series cranks the twisted-ness up to 11-and may push you in directions you never even thought possible.
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help is a very satisfying game and its only flaws are technical. It keeps the same gameplay than the first game, but Telltalte has managed to give the script a twist for it to feel different and surprise us again. Three hours of pure fun, a must have for comic fans.
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    85
    A great second episode in Telltale's Walking Dead franchise. The story borrows much from the graphic novels and is predictable even if you haven't read them, and the performance issues cause some grief, but this is an excellent adventure that needs to be played by every horror fan.
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    85
    Despite those bumps, there's no arguing that Telltale is turning out must-play material with The Walking Dead, and unless the game somehow crashes and burns on an epic scale before it reaches the end of the fifth and final episodes, it's guaranteed to earn a spot on my year-end "best" list. Don't miss it.
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    This episode turns the story to focus on other survivors being as big a threat as the undead. You have to decide who you can trust, and make some very difficult choices along the way. The story is a lot darker and more brutal than before, which is both thrilling and horrifying.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    Games like The Walking Dead are rare, and if you've played the first episode you'll be compelled to pick up Starved for Help, but prepare for the possibility of frustration and at worst, incompletion.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This episode of the Walking Dead series is fun and exciting to play as the first one. It's graphics may not be as awesome as the other games out there and the animations can sometimes be weird, but the story and gameplay is awesome and that's all that matters. Collapse
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Episode 2 is even better than the first one it had me second guessing myself the whole way through and there are some real hard and brutal decisions that will definetely make you stop in your tracks and think about what you're about to decide. Loved every second of it. 10/10. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    The choices do more impact than the first episode, more dialogues, but like the first episode, the story is closed. Clementine still brilliant.
    GOOD THINGS:
    More impactful and moral choices, more emotional dialogues, walkers are not too in focus, Clementine.
    BAD THINGS:
    Few new characters, some bugs can happen, closed story, the saved characters in the end of first episode doesn't interact much.
    Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Telltale did a wonderful job with this! Love the art style, story is good, characters are well developed, and the decisions carrying over are pretty awesome. Loved it. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Episode 2 is riddled with more bugs than any of the other episodes, but looking past those as an experience it is truly amazing. The storyline is even better than the first and it does a good job of setting up future plot lines while remaining nicely self-contained. The characters develop over the course of the game and the events will shock and surprise players from beginning to end. One of the best episodes in series 1! Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I'm not sure what others expected from this game who are giving it low scores. They also complain that some people like the developers are propping up the scores etc. Well maybe the people giving the low scores are competitors to Tell Tale games because this is one fine game. I highly disliked the Telltale Games Back to the Future adaptation.. I found the puzzles to be poor, the story to be poor and the gameplay in general to be tedious. I also am not a big zombie game fan either.. too many zombie games these days.

    However, this game really drew me in and I enjoyed every second of it, enough to go through and play it again to pick different choices.
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Well as I've already stated my impressions on the game in general I'll keep this one focused on the story. I really thought this one was a huge improvement over the first. Each seen felt like there was tension and action driving the decisions and it never really felt like you were just doing "stuff" for the sake of having something be part of the story. I think this was the push I needed to jump on the bandwagon and start playing this episodic series. One point that I did not touch on previously was the decisions. I really like how you are given decisions that can radically change what comes next. It is quite ambitions on tell tales part and something I hope they can pull through on. I know Giant Bomb discussed how they expected the decisions to be diamond shaped if plotted along a time axis which definitely makes me curious as to how much the story could change. Given what else is on my plate right now I don't think I'll go for a second play through on these games but I definitely feel the urge to play through the rest of the episodes. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews