Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    90
    A cliff-hanger sets us up for a tearful finale. [Christmas 2012, p.96]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    Episode 3 of The Walking Dead finally put interesting characters into a plot that I was actually interested in.. After that, Episode 4 started creating a series of gameplay moments that not only influence the game, but are set up in such a way and smartly enough to influence how the player feels at that moment. While it would have been a better series if they'd had this in place from the beginning, the way that the series has picked up as it nears its conclusion is great, and has me waiting for the end excitedly.
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    The story of Lee gets even more twists and turns in this second to last episode. It's an action-packed race to the finish, and ends with a cliffhanger that left me on the edge of my seat, yearning for the conclusion to the story.
  4. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: Episode 4: Around Every Corner continues the landmark storytelling of the first three episodes as the situation takes a drastic turn in order to ramp up for the final episode. Fans will not be disappointed.
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    100
    Episode 4 dovetails nicely into what is sure to be a hell of a conclusion, and I'm definitely anticipating the end with a level of anxiety that most episodic releases never manage to evoke.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    I loved the first 3 episodes and was absolutely hooked by them. I found this episode the least enjoyable of the 4. The writing is stillI loved the first 3 episodes and was absolutely hooked by them. I found this episode the least enjoyable of the 4. The writing is still good, the voice acting is still among the best and there are no shortages of twists. My only complaint lies with the progression and development of the main character, Lee. I can't stand how incompetent he still is. I was hoping by this time in the apocalypse Lee would be at least a fraction of the survivor Rick has become. Lee continues to put himself in stupid situations. There are moments when Lee can drop a small horde of walkers with his trusty pistol, yet there are scenes where it seems he is seeing a walker for the first time. Seeing Rick, Andrea, and Carl develop into harden badasses was a wonderful treat... I was genuinely hoping for a similar transformation with Lee.. Clementine has followed Carl's footsteps, leaving Lee way behind. The bottom line; protagonist Lee is the same guy in episode 4 that he was in episode 1. And that is very tragic.. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This is episode was a bit slow paced compared to the other episodes but I still loved it. There was some really cool moments in it and some of the decisions made me feel like a really bad person( when I just let Ben be pulled down by the walker) even though the whole time I was making the decisions I was completely sure of myself. Like some other people mentioned, I didn't feel as attached to a lot of the characters than previous episodes but still my desire to protect Clem kept me motivated. Another highly recommended episode. 10/10. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    There is not much I can say other than WOW. Yes I am not as attached to many of the characters as I was in episode 2 and 3 but I was flooredThere is not much I can say other than WOW. Yes I am not as attached to many of the characters as I was in episode 2 and 3 but I was floored by how good the end of episode 4 was. The last 5 minutes of gameplay will absolutely stun you. I admit I am not as attahed to Clementine after I realized she is more driven to look for her parents than to be with me but she is still the center of Lee's zombie infested world. Many of the critics are saying 4 was a wrap everything up before 5 kind of episode but I think it was very necessary. I agree some plot lines were quickly resolved and the character development was not as good as it had been in other episodes but I never felt more integrated into Lee, felt the feelings he felt. I truely felt every decision I was making for him was a decision I was making for myself and it was an incredible experience Full Review »