The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound andTerminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead Debut Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 28 out of 30
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    50
    The Walking Dead Survival Instinct is a disappointment. There are many interesting ideas in the background but they all look terrible at the practical act.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    45
    It’s a half-baked attempt at a game that can be fun in the occasional spooky part, but ends up under-delivering in every way.
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    45
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is based on a good idea - we'd love a good TWD survival game -, but with a very poor execution.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The tide has begun to turn for licensed games thanks to great efforts like those from Telltale, Rocksteady's Batman franchise and others. The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is the exact sort of lazy, cheap cash-grab that gave licensed games a bad name in the first place. To put a slightly less nostalgic twist on an old cliche: They don't make 'em like this anymore.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    30
    An interesting concept that's been realised into a totally horrible and dull shooter/stealth action crossover that I cannot recommend to fans of the series, not even to fans of the Walking Dead comics. The only noticeable positive about it is its voice acting.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    20
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an abomination on every level: a dull, cynical and irreparably flawed mess which is as mindless and soulless as its antagonists.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The fundamentals for a good game are here, but it doesn’t take long for it to become clear that The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is a rushed cash grab, made to leech of the popularity of the show. It’s graphically dated, a story is practically nonexistent and not a single game mechanic works like it should. It’s outrageous, because the license deserves so much better.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 141
  2. Negative: 68 out of 141
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a must for a walking dead TV fan, it had all the atmosphere that it needs. Well worth the money if you look around its alreadyThis game is a must for a walking dead TV fan, it had all the atmosphere that it needs. Well worth the money if you look around its already reduced in some stores. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I was really getting into the L4D series and was revisiting it. I started checking around for zombie games and ran across this. I reallyI was really getting into the L4D series and was revisiting it. I started checking around for zombie games and ran across this. I really enjoyed the title and was surprised to see the very bad reviews it is getting. Yes true, it is sort of a throwback to older games but I liked that about the game and also liked the stealth gameplay idea since you wouldn't want to draw in the attention of hordes of zombies. Nice change-up from a run of the mill FPS that shows they put some thought into the gameplay. Not a bad game, and it will definitely get me into Season 4 of the TV show, which I hadn't previously watched. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    It's not the best graphic game, but overall it's surprisingly decent. Kind of a cheap Dead Island. I don't think it will appeal for everyone.It's not the best graphic game, but overall it's surprisingly decent. Kind of a cheap Dead Island. I don't think it will appeal for everyone. If you are someone where the graphics have to be mind blowing, this game may not live up to our standard. But if you want a good time, and something till Bioshock comes out. This game might just be it. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    It is a very simple game that didn't get enough play testing. There are many problems with it like the walkers becoming joggers which made meIt is a very simple game that didn't get enough play testing. There are many problems with it like the walkers becoming joggers which made me mad being the fan I am. When you get in the middle of a herd and have an endless group hug is none the less annoying. The game still has a lot of bugs which hopefully can be fixed. The driving fuel part of the game isn't even that bad because you always break down by a place with all the supples in the world making it useless to pick highway. And the story is only about 4-6 hours at most. Collapse
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    3
    Ill save you the time and just tell you now not to buy the game. First off, the gameplay is just sub par. There is nothing really challengingIll save you the time and just tell you now not to buy the game. First off, the gameplay is just sub par. There is nothing really challenging about it, and sometimes the zombies are too stupid to even make good dead people. The graphics are terrible, but that is acceptable to an extent (It not all about the visuals.) But why does it deserve a three? Because i can't think of a SINGLE good aspect of the game short of the Dixon brothers and real voice actors from the TV show. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    There are some good things about this game, but they are countered by the many things wrong with this poor excuse for a licensed video game.There are some good things about this game, but they are countered by the many things wrong with this poor excuse for a licensed video game. The graphics are textureless, the story is dull and lacking (especially for walking dead) voice acting is awful, and most of all... there is no replay values. This game could have been soooo much more. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    I believe that for a $49.99 price, this is definitely worth it. It stays true to the story, and the game play is great. I highly recommend youI believe that for a $49.99 price, this is definitely worth it. It stays true to the story, and the game play is great. I highly recommend you buy this game. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews