Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 395 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 28 out of 30
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    50
    The Walking Dead Survival Instinct is a disappointment. There are many interesting ideas in the background but they all look terrible at the practical act.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    45
    It’s a half-baked attempt at a game that can be fun in the occasional spooky part, but ends up under-delivering in every way.
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    45
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is based on a good idea - we'd love a good TWD survival game -, but with a very poor execution.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The tide has begun to turn for licensed games thanks to great efforts like those from Telltale, Rocksteady's Batman franchise and others. The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is the exact sort of lazy, cheap cash-grab that gave licensed games a bad name in the first place. To put a slightly less nostalgic twist on an old cliche: They don't make 'em like this anymore.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    30
    An interesting concept that's been realised into a totally horrible and dull shooter/stealth action crossover that I cannot recommend to fans of the series, not even to fans of the Walking Dead comics. The only noticeable positive about it is its voice acting.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    20
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an abomination on every level: a dull, cynical and irreparably flawed mess which is as mindless and soulless as its antagonists.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The fundamentals for a good game are here, but it doesn’t take long for it to become clear that The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is a rushed cash grab, made to leech of the popularity of the show. It’s graphically dated, a story is practically nonexistent and not a single game mechanic works like it should. It’s outrageous, because the license deserves so much better.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 139
  2. Negative: 63 out of 139
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a must for a walking dead TV fan, it had all the atmosphere that it needs. Well worth the money if you look around its already reduced in some stores. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I was really getting into the L4D series and was revisiting it. I started checking around for zombie games and ran across this. I really enjoyed the title and was surprised to see the very bad reviews it is getting. Yes true, it is sort of a throwback to older games but I liked that about the game and also liked the stealth gameplay idea since you wouldn't want to draw in the attention of hordes of zombies. Nice change-up from a run of the mill FPS that shows they put some thought into the gameplay. Not a bad game, and it will definitely get me into Season 4 of the TV show, which I hadn't previously watched. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    I believe that for a $49.99 price, this is definitely worth it. It stays true to the story, and the game play is great. I highly recommend you buy this game. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    There is actually little difference between this and Bioshock 3. Both are mediocre shooters. Both are a waste of time and money... What I don't get is the difference in scores between two games clearly on the same level. If you like the WD series, you will like the game. If you want to play Bioshock 2 again, you will like the B3 game. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    Terrible game. The developers fail to make a game that grasps the player in the least. The graphics are awful, the gameplay is even worse. Don't even get me started on the story, its full of cliches and cheesy lines. Stay away from this game. Obviously, all of the good user scores are made by the pathetic activision. I would not recommend this game to anyone even to the biggest fans of TWD world. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I am a huge Walking Dead fan, but this game........ FANDBOYS, this game isnt worth the effort to defend. I was foolishly hyped up for it due to the excellent game "The Walking Dead", but instead we get a half assed, money grab. Not even the story could save this game!? Stop saying that the lowering of the price or the story. It sucks, its bad, please accept the fact that its bad and stop, watch the show and cry about it. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    The only thing going for the game is the voice over actors Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker which, unfortunately for them cannot do them much good, in fact, I would be pursuing for career damages with this absolute pile of steaming sh!t. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews