Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    95
    Cry Wolf ends Telltale’s Fables series on a memorable and effective note, taking everything that has worked in the series so far and amplifying it to its most spectacular.
  2. 94
    Telltale wraps up season one of ‘The Wolf Among Us’ and the story of Fabletown and its denizens in spectacular fashion.
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    93
    The Wolf Among Us Episode 5: Cry Wolf is a wonderful cap to Telltale’s season. It made me not only want to replay the episode to see various outcomes, but the entire series to see if I had missed any clues planted early on.
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    The fifth episode of The Wolf Among Us is a fitting end to a amazing series by Telltale games. A bunch of questions are answered, and there is constant feeling of tension throughout the episode. Because Cry Wolf ties everything together in a amazing way, The Wolf Among Us becomes one of the best games Telltale ever made.
  5. 90
    The visuals, while still appealing, act a bit unsteady at times and the episode could have been longer. Telltale is asking for a fair chunk of cash for an episode that is measurable more in minutes than hours. But the art style, excellent voice acting and interesting story do more than enough to make up for those other deficiencies as Telltale Games turns in its finest release yet.
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a game that exceeds expectations, providing an intriguing, painful, and thought-provoking journey that everyone should experience at least once.
  7. 90
    Mixing tense action sequences and clever character development with thoughtful scripting and meaningful dialogue, Cry Wolf is a spectacular end to an excellent series.
  8. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    A great conclusion to a season that managed to remain tense along its whole course.
  9. Jul 8, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us has been consistently excellent from start to finish, and its final chapter, Cry Wolf, is the well-told end of this well-told story.
  10. Jul 10, 2014
    88
    Overall Cry Wolf is an exciting, successful finale, one that patches over enough of The Wolf Among Us’ problems for us to deem the full season a success.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    This game left me with an overwhelming sensation of "mehh." I love Telltale games. The Walking Dead Seasons 1 and 2 have presented moments that have absolutely torn me apart emotionally. The stories were engaging and fantastic. Unfortunately, the Wolf Among Us only presents an interesting setting. I like the characters and the environment, but the gameplay feels very lacking for such a game, and the overall story is very inconsistent and convoluted.

    Really, this game simply fails in the story. Early episodes had "previews" showing the game going very differently. This lends to my belief that they changed the story to stretch the series in order to do a Season 2 a la Walking Dead. I don't mind this in principle, but Episodes 2, 3, and 4 could be merged and would feel about the same size as one Walking Dead episode. Episode 5 reaches the climax far too quickly, and ultimately spends far too much time in the "falling action." Episode 1 and 3 are very good, but otherwise I was largely underwhelmed by the story.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Just meh.... The investigation and the final part of the game is just dumb.. IMO, story-telling is not the strong department of Telltale games, what makes Telltale games so special is the characters and the illusion of choices that affect you emotionally. At the end, I found snow is quite annoying and the wolf has no close connection to anyone. All of the characters are not that interesting to me. I feel I just passively followed a dumb detective story without emotion involved. Full Review »
  3. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Telltale has done it again ladies and gentlemen! Another game formed from true perfection, great job telltale! The game was so rewarding as you finally got too see "The Big Bad Wolf" getting to see him huff and puff, as you kill the terrifying Bloody Mary once and for all! They're were many epic fight scenes and tough desicions to make. Will you show fabletown the nice wolf? Or the bad one? At the end of it all it feels great to finally have been able to set the Crooked Man in his right place, the witching well. Or wait, maybe you decided to just simply looking him up? Dude honestly this game has been such a thrilling experience. Missing out on this game is what I would call a great mistake. BUY this game, one of the best games I have played. Full Review »