Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Cry Wolf isn't without its problems, but it provides a satisfying conclusion to an episodic series that we feared would wrap inconclusively. [Issue#115, p.76]
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    The fifth episode of The Wolf Among Us is a fitting end to a amazing series by Telltale games. A bunch of questions are answered, and there is constant feeling of tension throughout the episode. Because Cry Wolf ties everything together in a amazing way, The Wolf Among Us becomes one of the best games Telltale ever made.
  3. 90
    The visuals, while still appealing, act a bit unsteady at times and the episode could have been longer. Telltale is asking for a fair chunk of cash for an episode that is measurable more in minutes than hours. But the art style, excellent voice acting and interesting story do more than enough to make up for those other deficiencies as Telltale Games turns in its finest release yet.
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a game that exceeds expectations, providing an intriguing, painful, and thought-provoking journey that everyone should experience at least once.
  5. 94
    Telltale wraps up season one of ‘The Wolf Among Us’ and the story of Fabletown and its denizens in spectacular fashion.
  6. 90
    Mixing tense action sequences and clever character development with thoughtful scripting and meaningful dialogue, Cry Wolf is a spectacular end to an excellent series.
  7. Jul 14, 2014
    80
    It may have stumbled on occasion, but as Cry Wolf interlaces the straggling parts of what has come before, Telltale have once again given a lesson to writers of other story-driven games in how an ending should be done.
  8. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    What it is is a well written, enjoyable adventure that nevertheless feels slightly underwhelming once the credits roll.
  9. Jul 10, 2014
    70
    A surprisingly satisfying end to a highly uneven season of adventures, which manages to show off both the best and worst of Telltale’s storytelling craft.
  10. Jul 10, 2014
    88
    Overall Cry Wolf is an exciting, successful finale, one that patches over enough of The Wolf Among Us’ problems for us to deem the full season a success.
  11. Jul 9, 2014
    85
    Despite the story-dulling pauses and my previously-mentioned concerns with technical production and the diminishing presence of gameplay content besides QTEs, The Wolf Among Us has been an excellent series that I've enjoyed very much.
  12. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    A great conclusion to a season that managed to remain tense along its whole course.
  13. Jul 9, 2014
    95
    Cry Wolf ends Telltale’s Fables series on a memorable and effective note, taking everything that has worked in the series so far and amplifying it to its most spectacular.
  14. Jul 8, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us has been consistently excellent from start to finish, and its final chapter, Cry Wolf, is the well-told end of this well-told story.
  15. Jul 8, 2014
    93
    The Wolf Among Us Episode 5: Cry Wolf is a wonderful cap to Telltale’s season. It made me not only want to replay the episode to see various outcomes, but the entire series to see if I had missed any clues planted early on.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    This game left me with an overwhelming sensation of "mehh." I love Telltale games. The Walking Dead Seasons 1 and 2 have presented moments that have absolutely torn me apart emotionally. The stories were engaging and fantastic. Unfortunately, the Wolf Among Us only presents an interesting setting. I like the characters and the environment, but the gameplay feels very lacking for such a game, and the overall story is very inconsistent and convoluted.

    Really, this game simply fails in the story. Early episodes had "previews" showing the game going very differently. This lends to my belief that they changed the story to stretch the series in order to do a Season 2 a la Walking Dead. I don't mind this in principle, but Episodes 2, 3, and 4 could be merged and would feel about the same size as one Walking Dead episode. Episode 5 reaches the climax far too quickly, and ultimately spends far too much time in the "falling action." Episode 1 and 3 are very good, but otherwise I was largely underwhelmed by the story.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Overall Premise: Conclude the first season of the Fables-inspired episodic game series.

    Graphics and Sound: The same semi-cell shaded and artistic visuals are found in this episode as the previous ones. The vice-work is still top notch and doesn’t feel as overused as it has before in Telltale’s episodic releases.

    Playability and Entertainment: The quick-time events are exciting and fast-paced but still not of much difficulty and usually only take two tries at most to complete. The controls still work fine and the balance between action and thought is still present although this is one of the more action-packed episodes by far. Rather than answering most of your questions, no matter the outcome you have more at the end of the episode- for better or worse.

    Replay Value: Moderately High.

    Overall Score: 8.25/10.0
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Just meh.... The investigation and the final part of the game is just dumb.. IMO, story-telling is not the strong department of Telltale games, what makes Telltale games so special is the characters and the illusion of choices that affect you emotionally. At the end, I found snow is quite annoying and the wolf has no close connection to anyone. All of the characters are not that interesting to me. I feel I just passively followed a dumb detective story without emotion involved. Full Review »