User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 322

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to goI've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with theRemember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short.
  4. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    The campaign is one of the most riveting ones available on the market compared to other militar shooter stories, examples: COD, Battlefield, SOCOM and Medal of Honor. Graphics are great not excellent (Battlefield much better) concept and options (customizations) awesome. Online play- the worst of any shooter game ever!!! If you are an online gamer don't even bother buying this so-calledThe campaign is one of the most riveting ones available on the market compared to other militar shooter stories, examples: COD, Battlefield, SOCOM and Medal of Honor. Graphics are great not excellent (Battlefield much better) concept and options (customizations) awesome. Online play- the worst of any shooter game ever!!! If you are an online gamer don't even bother buying this so-called game, the connection issues are unbearable and make you wish for a refund. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    I found this quite a let down, the campaign seems to be plagued with glitches, one of which prevented me from completing a level unless I restarted the entire mission (reloading the checkpoint didn't work) and overall doesn't seem to draw you in to caring about any of the characters or the missions you are taking on. Cut scenes are visually underwhelming but can be pretty fun to watch.I found this quite a let down, the campaign seems to be plagued with glitches, one of which prevented me from completing a level unless I restarted the entire mission (reloading the checkpoint didn't work) and overall doesn't seem to draw you in to caring about any of the characters or the missions you are taking on. Cut scenes are visually underwhelming but can be pretty fun to watch. The campaign does hold a few nifty features though, my favourite of which is the synchronised firing, line up a few targets, pick one for yourself and watch as you are your buddies take them all out. Online can be fun but doesn't seem to hit the target like GR 1 & 2. The online customisation is very interesting giving you a detailed view of your weapons and allowing the player to chose between many pros and cons. Overall, if this was a new brand of games it would score higher but given how much I enjoyed previous GR titles, it really doesn't hit the mark. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    5
    quick review Story single player its ok 8 out of 10
    controls again ok 8 out of 10 multiplayer 1 out of 10
    this game is a real let down for me the game at time shows greatness when you get a good game, but is let down with terrible maps and control glitches that get you killed and the peer to peer servers don't work at ALL 99% of the time if you are looking for the next rainbow 6, stay
    quick review Story single player its ok 8 out of 10
    controls again ok 8 out of 10 multiplayer 1 out of 10

    this game is a real let down for me the game at time shows greatness when you get a good game, but is let down with terrible maps and control glitches that get you killed and the peer to peer servers don't work at ALL 99% of the time if you are looking for the next rainbow 6, stay far away people.

    its not terrible but its a look way from being good.
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    6
    Used to love the Ghost Recon series.
    Not anymore. Thank you Ubisoft. Why do you have to kill off your game like that.
    Anyway I think this is the last one we'll see
  8. Jun 14, 2012
    5
    After playing GR 1 and in particular GRAF to its limits, I was pretty excited about a new future GR. After two delays and a near complete over haul what was left is a game which plagues the industry at present, a generic and short single player shooter with a flawed mutli player. Ubisoft have been upsetting me quite often recently, especially with their insistent 'all American save theAfter playing GR 1 and in particular GRAF to its limits, I was pretty excited about a new future GR. After two delays and a near complete over haul what was left is a game which plagues the industry at present, a generic and short single player shooter with a flawed mutli player. Ubisoft have been upsetting me quite often recently, especially with their insistent 'all American save the world' crap they feel they must put in games to sell, however even that would be tolerated if the game didn't seem rushed. As the American hipsters say - EPIC FAIL! Expand
  9. May 24, 2012
    8
    WIth everyone clamoring over MW3 and BF3 for top spot in the shooter multiplayer genre, it's hard not to compare any military based shooter that comes out today. Which does not do justice for Ghost Recon Future Soldier. It is not trying to be like the Call of Dutys or Battefields today, it's a slower paced shooter based around having strategy and choosing your type of approach to battleWIth everyone clamoring over MW3 and BF3 for top spot in the shooter multiplayer genre, it's hard not to compare any military based shooter that comes out today. Which does not do justice for Ghost Recon Future Soldier. It is not trying to be like the Call of Dutys or Battefields today, it's a slower paced shooter based around having strategy and choosing your type of approach to battle situations and having fun taking them out super ninja style. The story follows the typical cliche of "oh no there's bad guys gonna blow everything up and we have to stop them", but hey...if it ain't broke don't fix it. But it is still fun and halfway more believable than most campaigns in recent memory. What drives this game ahead of competition for me is the gameplay and innovation they tried to capture in multiplayer. Using teamwork is critical and very satisfying when you completely dominate the opposition. Gunsmith mode allows for countless ways to edit your classes, and the one knock everyone seems to have is it's visuals. It's being said that it truly seems like a game of the past because of small visual nit-picks here and there like bad facial features or blades of grass being unrealistic to your character. If you want to compare it to games like MW3, it has many of those same problems visually, so what. Gameplay is what's important, and Ghost Recon definitely is a must play. Expand
  10. May 23, 2012
    5
    The Ghost Recon series has always been know as co-op tactical shooter with customizable characters and situations. This new installment is not worthy of the Ghost recon franchise name, and here is why. Future Soldier does not allow you to customize the look of your multiplayer character and does not allow you to customize the co-op experience. In its place there is reptitive co-op modeThe Ghost Recon series has always been know as co-op tactical shooter with customizable characters and situations. This new installment is not worthy of the Ghost recon franchise name, and here is why. Future Soldier does not allow you to customize the look of your multiplayer character and does not allow you to customize the co-op experience. In its place there is reptitive co-op mode Guerrilla. Unfortunately there is now matchmaking for co-op so you`ll need friends who have the game to play this. The gameplay is basically hardcore mode Call of Duty, crossed with Gears of War with a touch of Army of Two. Complete with a boring, shooting gallery story and a few crap competitive multiplayer modes, this is the typical shooter of today. Unrealistic and uninspiring. I`ll be waiting for the new Rainbow Six. Expand
  11. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best ghost recon game ever.The graphics are awesome and AI is one of the best ever in games,your teammate can kill enemy and save you when you are down.Great job Ubisoft
  12. May 25, 2012
    10
    I love this game ! The control are the best controls in any shooter, the cover system is fantastic !
    The campaign is longer than most other games ( I made it in 15 hours ), the teammate AI is really outstanding.
    Add to this the guerilla and the very good multiplayer part, this is really the shooter of the year !
  13. May 28, 2012
    5
    First of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score isFirst of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score is an honest one of 5 but I'd save my money if I was you people! Expand
  14. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    Fyi I was playing this game on the PS3, so if the problem's I've had are restricted to this particular system, then perhaps this game isn't as overall bad as I believe it is. Wow, I truly had high hopes for this game, I've been a huge Ghost Recon fan since the series inception. While many shooters have gone mainstream and traded tacticallity for quick movements and killstreaks, I haveFyi I was playing this game on the PS3, so if the problem's I've had are restricted to this particular system, then perhaps this game isn't as overall bad as I believe it is. Wow, I truly had high hopes for this game, I've been a huge Ghost Recon fan since the series inception. While many shooters have gone mainstream and traded tacticallity for quick movements and killstreaks, I have always longed for a good tactical shooter. Ghost Recon has always been a tactical series where your ability to coordinate your squad would mean more than the ability to call in a killstreak. As I said I had high hopes for this game, the new camo suits, the gunsmith, wow I couldn't believe all they were offering.... Until I started playing. The gunsmith is great, it truly allows you to get to personalize your gun and make it your own. But what use is your gun if it doesn't kill enemies? I repeatedly experienced issues with non killable enemies during the game (mainly in the Nigeria mission), and this wasn't by design, it was just a horrible glitch, one of many. I also had many issues with not being able to proceed through areas because one of my team members would randomly disappear from the map. I'm not talking about being a little slow, he literally disappeared! One of the high points of this game was the witty banter between your squadmates, and this part of the story I thoroughly enjoyed, but I most definitely didn't enjoy the instances of lag in the game. I'm not talking about multi-player, I'm talking about single player lag, ever heard of it? Neither had I, but GRFS has it. Whenever you perform a sync shot, and sometimes just whenever your'e walking around, your game will lag out and bring your experience to a crawl. It's pitiful on just how often these game destroying glitches occur. I can't even list them all. The open world scene's they created in this game are a marvel to behold. A high point of this game is being able to maneuver your own path, and choose stealth, combat, or a mix at instances where you can choose. But even this high point is marred with instances of horrible game design. There are points in the game where they force you to be in combat. This is ridiculous, and I don't even know if it's a glitch or just bad design. I would proceed through an area where I was cloaked, still in stealth. And I would sync shot and take out multiple enemies that weren't even close to other enemies, and completely out of their view. Yet whenever I would execute an enemy, suddenly an enemy would spot the dead body through a house or two. I dont know if they gained the x - ray tech you can use, but It's ridiculous having people spot you when it's not physically possible too. I'm really just sick of this broken game. It has its high points but it feels like they didn't even test it. The graphics aren't great and with all these glitches I truly believe they just released the game in beta. No I take that back, I've played Beta's better than this, this kind of feels like Alpha. The game is bad in my opinion. Yes the ending mission suck, yes the rpg enemies are ridiculously overpowered, and yes the story seem's mediocre, but these I could live with. When your game is literally broken, when you literally cannot play the game because it is so laggy, or so glitchy, that's not bad, that's garbage. I hate to say it, but this is the worst Ghost Recon I've ever played, heck I would say MW3 was better than this game, and that game was trash. But at least in MW3 you could play the game without set pieces disappearing or not even showing up. Expand
  15. May 31, 2012
    4
    Sorry but this is not one of the Ghost Recon games anymore. I can best desribe it as a bad Gears of Ghostduty. Lame story, cool gadgets. You feel like a robot and you AI-squadmates follow the paths the devlopers gave them, you cannot make them stop or follow. This game really is bad. Where is Team Deathmatch in multiplayer? Where are the huge wilderness-maps in multiplayer? The aiming isSorry but this is not one of the Ghost Recon games anymore. I can best desribe it as a bad Gears of Ghostduty. Lame story, cool gadgets. You feel like a robot and you AI-squadmates follow the paths the devlopers gave them, you cannot make them stop or follow. This game really is bad. Where is Team Deathmatch in multiplayer? Where are the huge wilderness-maps in multiplayer? The aiming is too very bad in multiplayer. I am very disappointed and I hope Ubisoft will never make again a game like this one, either make one in the Old school Ghost Recon style or just stop programming bad games like that. Expand
  16. May 24, 2012
    9
    Future Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, and the controls aren't terrible at all (It took me awhile to get used to the controls after playing BF3). Audio is great and gun-play is fantastic, gunsmith allows you to tailor guns to your liking changing not only their physical appearance and how youFuture Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, and the controls aren't terrible at all (It took me awhile to get used to the controls after playing BF3). Audio is great and gun-play is fantastic, gunsmith allows you to tailor guns to your liking changing not only their physical appearance and how you sight you targets but how they physically handle which allows for some interesting tinkering that allows you to tailor the same gun for multiple roles. Split screen is less than desirable as it doesn't even have the two perspectives take up the entire screen and limits your HUD. System link is the way to go especially if you don't have a stable internet connection. That was just my two-sense, its a good game, honestly, these people that give it a 0 for minor flaws like enemies not shooting you fast enough? Doesn't strike me as a flaw but your optical camo doing its job. Rent the game if your not sure, if you have some friends it'd be a good buy. Again this isn't the original ghost recon, they were good games but this is streamlined more for a wider audience its fun but stands apart from its predecessors. And again rent the damn thing to find out for yourself lol Expand
  17. May 24, 2012
    10
    There are some parts of the game that could of used a bit more polish, but when you get into the co-op campaign, the fast arcade-like feel of guerrilla, and the extremely fun, extremely fun, I mean extremely fun multiplayer, the purchase is very worth it. Go buy it, enjoy it, I give it two thumbs up... and two toes too.
  18. May 26, 2012
    7
    Definitely not one for COD or BF fan boys. Graphics are good, though some animations are poorly scripted. Game play has nothing new to offer over other similar genre games, though it is hectic and fun at times. AI is scary, some of the best I've seen over the years, and there is a sense of vulnerability if things don't go to plan. I love the GR franchise. However, for me at least, theDefinitely not one for COD or BF fan boys. Graphics are good, though some animations are poorly scripted. Game play has nothing new to offer over other similar genre games, though it is hectic and fun at times. AI is scary, some of the best I've seen over the years, and there is a sense of vulnerability if things don't go to plan. I love the GR franchise. However, for me at least, the first GR on PC and GRAW2 will still rank higher than GFRS, simply because they had Firefight mode. In GRFS, Guerrilla mode doesn't come close to Firefight but if it did, then I probably would have scored much higher. However, this games comes close to the death of the GR franchise for me. Expand
  19. May 25, 2012
    10
    GRDS is a great squad based shooter that uses stealth and teamwork. The campaign so far has been pretty good through 5 missions. Its a nice change of pace from COD/Battlefield3. The multiplayer is fun also. Graphics look great most of the time. Really enjoying it. If you like FPSs then its a no brainer to buy.
  20. May 25, 2012
    9
    I think that Future Soldier is a great game. I find the campaign to be engaging and exciting. The multiplayer while maybe not the best is still really good and offers an excellent change of pace from all the fps shooters. I LOVE the gunsmith, it truly allows you to truly make every gun your own! My only real issue is that the kill cams show the person never hitting you (but it is slightlyI think that Future Soldier is a great game. I find the campaign to be engaging and exciting. The multiplayer while maybe not the best is still really good and offers an excellent change of pace from all the fps shooters. I LOVE the gunsmith, it truly allows you to truly make every gun your own! My only real issue is that the kill cams show the person never hitting you (but it is slightly hilarious at the same time). Maybe add some other awesome tech as well, but I really like the game. Expand
  21. May 24, 2012
    7
    Well done Ubisoft, you got your money. Advertising a campaign that is just good enough to get by. Multiplayer is great, but why even put time into a campaign for it to be sloppy. (Campaign) The Character model (During gameplay) is awesome, but the textures on nearly everything else IMO are worth about 7 out of 10 at best. AI isn't the greatest. The cut scenes look like something from aWell done Ubisoft, you got your money. Advertising a campaign that is just good enough to get by. Multiplayer is great, but why even put time into a campaign for it to be sloppy. (Campaign) The Character model (During gameplay) is awesome, but the textures on nearly everything else IMO are worth about 7 out of 10 at best. AI isn't the greatest. The cut scenes look like something from a couple of years ago which is my biggest complaint and for a game that took a while to develop they really should be better for $60. The gameplay is solid. The story is a basic cookie cutter terrorism craziness, but It seems to work out better than that COD crap. (Multiplayer) Other than having to shut my console down every once in a while because the servers freeze everything up it's pretty good. Good cover, movement and character design. Although like I said earlier textures on most things could be a lot better. I guess rent first if you're on the wall about this because you could end up disappointed if you're really picky about quality of games. They got my money and that's all that matters. I hope in the near future they make a patch that fixes the server problems and campaign graphics sloppiness, but that's a shot in the dark. Expand
  22. May 25, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An enjoyable co-op campaign - however the plot is truly laughable!! It jumps all over the place and has numerous plot holes (1 mission ends with a cliff hanger, jumping off a bridge being shot at by a tank, your evac destroyed, only to appear unharmed getting of a heli at the start of the next level?!?!?). There were times when I had to ask, "wait why am I here again?!, the bad guys are who now?". That said I still had fun blowing everyone up! Definitely not game of the year, but certainly good fun! Expand
  23. May 26, 2012
    9
    Campaign is very good and very entertaining and the co-op mode is very good. Multiplayer has a lot of content but has some issues and needs to be fixed but this game is very worth it so pick it up.
  24. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The single player campaign is your pretty run of the mill military shooter campaign. Some parts of the missions are pretty linear but others offer a few varieties in ways you can accomplish your goal. In some cases though I found there is a formula to how/and who to shoot and when. I found myself in 1 mission, doing everything quietly and perfectly, the way you'd think it needed to beThe single player campaign is your pretty run of the mill military shooter campaign. Some parts of the missions are pretty linear but others offer a few varieties in ways you can accomplish your goal. In some cases though I found there is a formula to how/and who to shoot and when. I found myself in 1 mission, doing everything quietly and perfectly, the way you'd think it needed to be done, but, the game failed to let me progress to the next checkpoint, because it didn't recognize that I accomplished the previous checkpoint, because apparently, you have to noticed and enter into a firefight. The gadgets and teams you have at your disposal work pretty well. Tagging enemies and setting up shots simultaneously is pretty fun and I found myself tagging people and letting my teammates take them out while I "overlooked" the 'battlefield'. Having a game with helpful teammates is definitely a plus for this game.

    The multiplayer is alright. Personally I have never been that big of a fan of third person shooter multiplayer. If you get on a good team and start winning, it can be pretty easy to keep dominating the other team.

    The graphics seemed pretty subpar for a "AAA" type game coming out this late in a console generation. Sometimes they didn't seem all that awful, but I found myself just laughing during some cutscenes. If I could I would have given the game a 6.5, but that's not an option apparently?
    Expand
  25. May 22, 2012
    10
    Graphics are top-notch for a console; combat feels smooth, cover system works very fun. The impressive suite of features and atypical approach to third-person pew-pew gives it an edge over many me-too action games. Its maps are designed to make players work for their kills, which makes them feel like they've truly earned each one.
  26. May 22, 2012
    9
    so COOL with KINECT;high values in "missions design,textures resolutions,gadgets effects,gameplay depth and environments use" but sometimes "enemy`s AI" is so dumb.
    i played on hard.
  27. May 23, 2012
    5
    I have been a GR fan since the start of the franchise and all I can say now is i am extremely saddened. I feel like I have had a death in the family. After all this time I don' t think 60 frames second iss too much to ask for. Team deathmatch is not too much to ask for. I would rather use the environment and camo to conceal myself not some stupid cloaking tech. I don't want to beI have been a GR fan since the start of the franchise and all I can say now is i am extremely saddened. I feel like I have had a death in the family. After all this time I don' t think 60 frames second iss too much to ask for. Team deathmatch is not too much to ask for. I would rather use the environment and camo to conceal myself not some stupid cloaking tech. I don't want to be able to see through walls that is so incredibly cheap. Low res textures anywhere is simply not acceptable. I am sad because I have so many memories of great games playing the other GR games but now the love is gone. I will not purchase this game. Goodbye Ghost Recon... Expand
  28. May 23, 2012
    7
    I'm a huge fan of sandbox tactical shooters and this game is NOT a sandbox shooters; although, it does maintain a tactical side to it, allowing me to appreciate it much more than any other shooter in the last 2 years.
  29. May 24, 2012
    5
    Expected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with aExpected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with a hack that allows you to see opponents, and no climbing and piss poor level design). Passable, barely...wish I had rented for a weekend, not a worth successor to the series. Expand
  30. May 24, 2012
    8
    I give this game a solid eight because it runs smooth, the tactics that are implemented in this game are phenomenal and somewhat realistic, The only thing i can say that i kinda dislike is the fact that you have to unlock some attachments and some guns by completing some challenges during the campaign, but its not that deep to be complaining because i am going to play this game over againI give this game a solid eight because it runs smooth, the tactics that are implemented in this game are phenomenal and somewhat realistic, The only thing i can say that i kinda dislike is the fact that you have to unlock some attachments and some guns by completing some challenges during the campaign, but its not that deep to be complaining because i am going to play this game over again and get as many achievements as possible and unlock all the guns and attachments for the single player story. i am tired of people complaining about that because you cannot expect everything to be handed to you, you have to work for it, and i think that is good because that applies to everything in life, everything is not going to given to you, but overall the game excellent Expand
  31. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    After purchasing GRFS and feeling hugely disappointed and well cheated out of my £40 I couldn't help but feel nostalgic about the countless hours, days and alas years my friends and I spent at the helm of the ghost recon franchise. The days when you could actually speak to most people playing and issue warnings of a looming sniper or vocalise strategy's, when a game actually feltAfter purchasing GRFS and feeling hugely disappointed and well cheated out of my £40 I couldn't help but feel nostalgic about the countless hours, days and alas years my friends and I spent at the helm of the ghost recon franchise. The days when you could actually speak to most people playing and issue warnings of a looming sniper or vocalise strategy's, when a game actually felt realistic almost like you were there. I remember sprawling in the thick undergrowth actually raising my head for real, in a vane attempt to look over the grass. The game throughout the franchise had a real community spirit and with so many configurable options and a ridiculous amount of amazingly atmospheric diverse maps you were never far away from the next great online battle . You were also part of a team and you treated the maps strategically as such and that atmosphere and team spirit is what's missing from the modern shooters. Have you noticed how all the new breed of so called strategy shooters, advertise the fact you should play as a team ? But how many games do you jump into where people actually do? Ghost Recon was the kind of game that didnt need to try and coax you into such, you just did.

    Ok so enough nostalgic meanderings, this game at grass roots is ok, talking of which where is the grass in this? and all those wonderfully diverse landscapes that once made this franchise what it was? Like I say its ok, if you want to play a 3rd person COD clone with a few silly objective games that nobody really likes compared to the old team elimination, oh and a gears of war cover system bolted on for good measure, then you might quite like this. If however your one of those old GR vets such as myself that actually quite liked the proven formula of the past franchise, you might be a little disappointed to find that your beloved Ghost Recon is going through an identity crisis of sorts. I'm not saying change is bad, quite the contrary. For me a brand should improve on what made it famous in the first place but I'm afraid Ubisoft seems to have thrown that rule book well and truly out of the window. This game is certainly not without its fans, old and new but now its breached into similar territory to that of the newer kids on the block I really wonder if this franchise has the legs or the attributes that stood it apart from the crowd in the first place... Originality!!

    Looks like its back to GRAW 2 and as old as it is there's still that great community spirit and quality battles abound. Difficult to get bored with 50+ maps. I wonder Will GRFS be saying the same at that age?
    Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.