Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Ghosts are an untraceable unit of soldiers who hunt down high value targets in the highest-risk conflict zones around the world. In the near future, four of these elite soldiers form the tip of the spear in a hidden war simmering world-wide. As the Ghosts accomplish their objectives,The Ghosts are an untraceable unit of soldiers who hunt down high value targets in the highest-risk conflict zones around the world. In the near future, four of these elite soldiers form the tip of the spear in a hidden war simmering world-wide. As the Ghosts accomplish their objectives, they discover a far greater threat - one that could permanently alter the international balance of power. Join the Ghosts – Control Sergeant Kozak and his unit through fourteen missions in eight exotic locales, from Africa to the Arctic Circle. Fight using the tech of tomorrow including optical camouflage, augmented reality and drones. Comandeer over 50 Weapons and customize them with Gunsmith Mode- Harness the formidable firepower of an army and optimize every aspect of your arsenal in the Gunsmith mode. Intense Multiplayer- four game modes, ten maps and multiple classes along with Ghost Recon's classic siege mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. May 28, 2012
    91
    Future Soldier finds the perfect balance between the classic tactical shooter experience and the more modern high-octane approach that today's gamers crave.
  2. May 24, 2012
    88
    An admirable amalgamation of all you fave shooters packed into one polished package. [July 2012, p.72]
  3. May 23, 2012
    84
    After a long and complicated development, Ghost Recon Future Soldier has resulted in a very good third-person action game. It is recommended for those who are a bit tired of frantic action other titles offer, or classic warfare first-person game. It is not as complex as previous Ghost Recon games, but it is also more accesible and implements great cooperative options.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a game that excels with its fantastic campaign, although I'm somewhat dissatisfied that I can't move dead bodies, which is possible in other games featuring stealth. Anyway, you will definitely have a great time with this game if you like tactical shooters.
  5. May 24, 2012
    80
    The multiplayer is engaging, whether you're gunning down your friends or enlisting them for team duty, and the gameplay never lets up, even though it bounces all over the place between non-controllable gunning segments, stealth and run-and-gun action.
  6. May 31, 2012
    75
    For a title with a famous author's name brandished on its cover like a medal of honour, frankly, Future Soldier's writing stinks. There's little to recommend the singleplayer experience, but ironically, those heading online to the plot-free pleasures of team multiplayer will discover the game's true strengths.
  7. May 31, 2012
    60
    A third-person shooter that feels caught between doctrines--it's not tactical enough to feel like a deep, strategic experience yet it punishes run-and-gun tactics just enough to prevent fans of those sorts of games from having a great time, either.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 135
  2. Negative: 20 out of 135
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out.I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful game, tactically sound, excellent graphics, great sound and a perfect mix, perhaps does not stand movies that left their mark but finally a game that usually differ from the standard canon of fps, which brings fresh air. If you would like fps games I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    9
    Future Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, andFuture Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, and the controls aren't terrible at all (It took me awhile to get used to the controls after playing BF3). Audio is great and gun-play is fantastic, gunsmith allows you to tailor guns to your liking changing not only their physical appearance and how you sight you targets but how they physically handle which allows for some interesting tinkering that allows you to tailor the same gun for multiple roles. Split screen is less than desirable as it doesn't even have the two perspectives take up the entire screen and limits your HUD. System link is the way to go especially if you don't have a stable internet connection. That was just my two-sense, its a good game, honestly, these people that give it a 0 for minor flaws like enemies not shooting you fast enough? Doesn't strike me as a flaw but your optical camo doing its job. Rent the game if your not sure, if you have some friends it'd be a good buy. Again this isn't the original ghost recon, they were good games but this is streamlined more for a wider audience its fun but stands apart from its predecessors. And again rent the damn thing to find out for yourself lol Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier was a thrill to play through with ground breaking gun customization and intense third person combat.Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier was a thrill to play through with ground breaking gun customization and intense third person combat. Graphics were beautiful along with great cutscenes (except you can't skip them) and voice acting. Although there are a lot of good things about this game, it has some of bad things as well. Cover mechanics and invisible cloaking could be a lot better, I mean, who wants to crouch for a couple of seconds before entering "invisible mode" and then not be able to stand up without blowing cover? Also, the cover mechanics can be buggy at some parts and even non responsive.Also, there is little to no story line and you have no emotional feelings for your squad mates or even your own character. Though the main thing that hooks me as well as many other players is the multiplayer. It is incredible, 6 different modes with fully customizable characters and weapons and interesting and cool maps. Multiplayer in this game is what will hit it big and is why I give it a solid 8/10. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    7
    I love the tactical shooter as much as the next guy, but I was really surprised about some details. First I have to comment on the AI. AmazingI love the tactical shooter as much as the next guy, but I was really surprised about some details. First I have to comment on the AI. Amazing job for the team to feel like they are thinking for themselves instead of roboting behind me. Second, I really love the customizing and weapon specializing but their could have been more. Third, I was really bummed about the graphics. I was really hoping for significant upgrade from the GRAW series but its almost the same if not worse. Overall I enjoyed the game but I was left wanting a lot more. Maybe in Future Soldier 2... Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this game but I just couldn't get into it. The system works and the graphics are ok. But I guess I was hoping for a littleI wanted to like this game but I just couldn't get into it. The system works and the graphics are ok. But I guess I was hoping for a little more of advanced war fighter, and it pulled away from that. So the 6 is only because I couldn't get into the game. You should at least give it a shot you might like it more then me. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    If you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems areIf you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems are terrible, killcam replays are utterly nonsensical, the list continues. This game has been out for over 2 weeks and no progress has been made addressing any of the issues brought by the community. In fact, Ubisoft and the developers are completely silent. Please save yourself $60 and wait for something better. Expand

See all 135 User Reviews