Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Ghosts are an untraceable unit of soldiers who hunt down high value targets in the highest-risk conflict zones around the world. In the near future, four of these elite soldiers form the tip of the spear in a hidden war simmering world-wide. As the Ghosts accomplish their objectives,The Ghosts are an untraceable unit of soldiers who hunt down high value targets in the highest-risk conflict zones around the world. In the near future, four of these elite soldiers form the tip of the spear in a hidden war simmering world-wide. As the Ghosts accomplish their objectives, they discover a far greater threat - one that could permanently alter the international balance of power. Join the Ghosts – Control Sergeant Kozak and his unit through fourteen missions in eight exotic locales, from Africa to the Arctic Circle. Fight using the tech of tomorrow including optical camouflage, augmented reality and drones. Comandeer over 50 Weapons and customize them with Gunsmith Mode- Harness the formidable firepower of an army and optimize every aspect of your arsenal in the Gunsmith mode. Intense Multiplayer- four game modes, ten maps and multiple classes along with Ghost Recon's classic siege mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. May 28, 2012
    91
    Future Soldier finds the perfect balance between the classic tactical shooter experience and the more modern high-octane approach that today's gamers crave.
  2. May 24, 2012
    88
    An admirable amalgamation of all you fave shooters packed into one polished package. [July 2012, p.72]
  3. May 23, 2012
    84
    After a long and complicated development, Ghost Recon Future Soldier has resulted in a very good third-person action game. It is recommended for those who are a bit tired of frantic action other titles offer, or classic warfare first-person game. It is not as complex as previous Ghost Recon games, but it is also more accesible and implements great cooperative options.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a game that excels with its fantastic campaign, although I'm somewhat dissatisfied that I can't move dead bodies, which is possible in other games featuring stealth. Anyway, you will definitely have a great time with this game if you like tactical shooters.
  5. May 24, 2012
    80
    The multiplayer is engaging, whether you're gunning down your friends or enlisting them for team duty, and the gameplay never lets up, even though it bounces all over the place between non-controllable gunning segments, stealth and run-and-gun action.
  6. May 31, 2012
    75
    For a title with a famous author's name brandished on its cover like a medal of honour, frankly, Future Soldier's writing stinks. There's little to recommend the singleplayer experience, but ironically, those heading online to the plot-free pleasures of team multiplayer will discover the game's true strengths.
  7. May 31, 2012
    60
    A third-person shooter that feels caught between doctrines--it's not tactical enough to feel like a deep, strategic experience yet it punishes run-and-gun tactics just enough to prevent fans of those sorts of games from having a great time, either.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 135
  2. Negative: 20 out of 135
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out.I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful game, tactically sound, excellent graphics, great sound and a perfect mix, perhaps does not stand movies that left their mark but finally a game that usually differ from the standard canon of fps, which brings fresh air. If you would like fps games I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    9
    Future Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, andFuture Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, and the controls aren't terrible at all (It took me awhile to get used to the controls after playing BF3). Audio is great and gun-play is fantastic, gunsmith allows you to tailor guns to your liking changing not only their physical appearance and how you sight you targets but how they physically handle which allows for some interesting tinkering that allows you to tailor the same gun for multiple roles. Split screen is less than desirable as it doesn't even have the two perspectives take up the entire screen and limits your HUD. System link is the way to go especially if you don't have a stable internet connection. That was just my two-sense, its a good game, honestly, these people that give it a 0 for minor flaws like enemies not shooting you fast enough? Doesn't strike me as a flaw but your optical camo doing its job. Rent the game if your not sure, if you have some friends it'd be a good buy. Again this isn't the original ghost recon, they were good games but this is streamlined more for a wider audience its fun but stands apart from its predecessors. And again rent the damn thing to find out for yourself lol Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    (Played the beta, single player completed on normal, all characters in multiplayer level maxed, purchased day of release, played the DLC).(Played the beta, single player completed on normal, all characters in multiplayer level maxed, purchased day of release, played the DLC).

    Ultimately, what sets GRFS apart from other first person shooters is the tactics that are involved in all facets of the game. The heart of the game lies in it's multiplayer experience, in my opinion. The campaign does some neat and innovative things such as the 'Sync Shot' but what put me off from it, is effectively being penalized for not playing the game a certain way... the way the game wants me to play.

    In the campaign, you can unlock certain things to better your guns and equipment and based off the score of each mission you can potential unlock more things. What I didn't enjoy is that if you do not complete a challenge or have a high enough mission score by playing the game the way the game wants you to play it, you can't unlock items, even if you were highly successful in your mission. I didn't want to use the guns they outlined... I wanted to play the game my way.

    The story, like other military-esque games, has you in various locations and each mission does do something intriguing (like using giant mecha-robots) and those parts were enjoyable and challenges aside, the game is laid out in a tough but fair way that does make you earn mission completion.

    The questions that arise in the campaign are redeemed somewhat in the multiplayer experience. Each level designed is great, in that, you are able to flank (or be flanked) in each and every position you are attacking/defending. The progression of each character is reasonable but the stratification is not significant... so a level 5 character does have the ability to challenge a level 45 character well, where skill is the deciding factor (as it should be, in my opinion). 'Conflict' mode is especially fun and my favorite though being placed in a team that is not up to par is frustrating (but that could be said for any game). This feeling seems accentuated in GRFS as the normal k/d ratio, as in other FPS', is not relevant and taking objectives is... and newcomers to the game are often lost or "camp" and until they learn that, make it slow going. It is very possible to be the MVP of a match without killing anyone... which was great to do.

    Ultimately, the game... particularly the online experiences, are definitely worth the purchase, in my opinion. (8/10)
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    As much as I enjoyed Future Soldier, I feel it suffers from robotic AI and a weak endgame. Control issues were apparent, where sometimes halfAs much as I enjoyed Future Soldier, I feel it suffers from robotic AI and a weak endgame. Control issues were apparent, where sometimes half a "ready" team would not fire, or the player felt they want to move in a certain way but were restricted by the controls. Most situations seem to be set up nicely for a four person team engagement, with little in the way of trepidation. Once this is done a number of times, it seems most of the game can be completed by your teammates and you telling them who to focus fire on. There are some points where things become quite aggressive, cornering you into a firefight, but it all seems like "set pieces". It felt like the first half was exciting, but whoever wrote the story got tired by the end. And the loss of control when passing certain checkpoints gets quite tedious. The multiplayer felt difficult to find an enjoyable match, where it either proved dull or unco-ordinated. I put this aside quite quickly. Overall, though the AR UI is cool, the Kinect armoury is a nice touch and the synchronised fire is fun to deploy, it's a good game that falls just short of being great. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    What do you get when you refine a tactical shooter with modern outlooks? Ghost Recon Future Soldier. A tactical shooter uses the wordWhat do you get when you refine a tactical shooter with modern outlooks? Ghost Recon Future Soldier. A tactical shooter uses the word tactical loosely. As team management is a thing of the past and the controls are streamlined for convenience of the player. Which works good on paper but the reality is boring and dull. The game is centered around 4 highly trained operatives called, Ghost. As they are to be the ones to follow a mysterious shipment that resulted in the death of four other friends. The game centers you around, Kozak, an ex-Russian who is the heart, brains, lungs, spine, liver, stomach... and you see where I'm going with this. You are the reason the team operates, even though you are not even squad leader.

    Graphics are terrible and just passable. Gameplay is boring, only with friends does it get fun. AI is lackluster. Buy as a fun game for friends, not for fans of the series.
    Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    If you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems areIf you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems are terrible, killcam replays are utterly nonsensical, the list continues. This game has been out for over 2 weeks and no progress has been made addressing any of the issues brought by the community. In fact, Ubisoft and the developers are completely silent. Please save yourself $60 and wait for something better. Expand

See all 135 User Reviews