Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 360 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to riseUnleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    92
    The melding of Conviction’s third person shooter elements and more traditional Splinter Cell gameplay are more than the sum of their parts here. No doubt about it, this is the definitive Splinter Cell experience. I’d even go as far as to say it’s the best stealth game of this console generation. Sorry, Kojima.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Blacklist is made with great care and full of content, whether online or not, for countless hours of fun. A package that's truly commendable, although slightly reduced by not very exciting AI, a factor that prevents the Ubisoft production from becoming a classic.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    Blacklist has it all. Perfect controls, highlights from all the previous games, a perfect focus on multiplayer fun without sacrificing the enjoyment of the single-player and a great presentation to finish it all off. It has it all, unless you’re looking for innovation. You won’t find that in this best of compilation that manages to feel like a new product.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    81
    Meaty chunks of great stealth game book-ended by identity breaking flourishes. [Nov 2013, p.56]
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Blacklist should be the best Splinter Cell yet, but it’s held back by some unperceptive AI, the odd gameplay quirk, and a sub-par story. Even so, it’s still a great game, and both those put off by or attracted to Conviction’s action focus will find much to love here.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    Viewed on its own merits it’s a highly entertaining and feature-packed video game, and that’s all that really matters.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    By the time you reach the end of Blacklist everything has grown so big and so explosive that you’re left exhausted but not entirely satisfied, and maybe after all that incoherent action you’ll recall the time when a single flashlight in Chaos Theory’s Panamanian bank made you hold your breath.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 89
  2. Negative: 20 out of 89
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    I hadn't been into the series in a while but, man, this game. It's like they cared. Like they made it for people like me. Forget COD run andI hadn't been into the series in a while but, man, this game. It's like they cared. Like they made it for people like me. Forget COD run and gun jocks barking into your ear, Blacklist requires thought if you want to be elite. Favorite game of this year easily. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    A truly great game. Improves the style of gameplay introduced by SC:C.

    The game offers loads of single, coop and multiplayer content. The
    A truly great game. Improves the style of gameplay introduced by SC:C.

    The game offers loads of single, coop and multiplayer content. The Stealth is a brand of fast paced quick movement stealth, not much like the earlier games, however it is a nice evolution of the gameplay and still feels plausible. You can even play the game gun blazing style, if you are very good.

    Co-op missions are super fun, best gamepaly experience of this year, nothing more to say.

    SvM is also great for a multiplayer mode.

    Graphics are good in terms of detail and textures, but not so much in lighting. Game still looks good though.

    Totally worth your money.
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Its so fun to play Spies versus mercenaries, sure happy they brought it back. The single player is a blast and coop is still just as fun asIts so fun to play Spies versus mercenaries, sure happy they brought it back. The single player is a blast and coop is still just as fun as Conviction's. Definitely a must play. Collapse
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Splinter Cell: Blacklist was good. Story was good. In Multiplayer if you played real Spies Vs Mercs it was fun (Classic, Blacklist, ExtractionSplinter Cell: Blacklist was good. Story was good. In Multiplayer if you played real Spies Vs Mercs it was fun (Classic, Blacklist, Extraction Game Modes) but the other two Uplink Control and Team Deathmatch is just screwed up where you can be anybody you want which doesn't work. Great game though. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    After playing Conviction and feeling disappointed because there was hardly any stealth game play I was rather concerned with how BlacklistAfter playing Conviction and feeling disappointed because there was hardly any stealth game play I was rather concerned with how Blacklist would turn out. So I took the risk, Spent the £40 and I am more then happy to say I am enjoying it!

    Luckily, Ubisoft has focused more on improving stealth for those who like to play Splinter Cell the way it was meant to be played rather then going Call of Duty style. So to me that is major kudos for Ubisoft right there.

    The story itself is rather decent but I won't go too much into details for those who hasn't played it but it does seem rather far-fetched with America saving the day and defeating a British bad guy.

    Spies versus Mercs is back in this series! But as a old school Splinter Cell fan, I am not too much of a fan of this. Mainly because spies are very over-powered, They can now attack from mercs from any angels, have gadgets that could kill etc. I'd go into more detail but I'd be here for ever. Overall multilayer does need some working on

    However, My only flaw with this game is that the controls are bit awkward, There are times where I climb up a ledge when I was meant to drop down so I could make a quick escape but only to be spotted which would mess up my Ghost score and have to restart from a checkpoint.

    Overall, If you're new to the series then you'r going to enjoy it a lot but old school fans of the series, You might want to rent it or buy it when you see it cheaper.
    Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Well, some of my friends say, that I judge the games and don’t even play in them. Well I completed this game on xbox. I completed everything IWell, some of my friends say, that I judge the games and don’t even play in them. Well I completed this game on xbox. I completed everything I could complete. EVERYTHING IS COMPLETED. So I can judge the game anyhow I want.
    So let’s begin.
    That was the first game I actually completed from Splinter Cell Multylogy, but even in my first game I can say that it is completely SAME. Every single mission looks exactly the same as previous one. Just changed decorations. Like Call of Duty series from Call of Duty 4 MW1. There is also a no-weapons-for some-reasons-because-we-think-all-people-playing-TPS-games-are-masochists cliche. So it also looks same as other TPS. This was a general review. Lets make it more detailed.
    Graphics
    Missing textures somewhere are included so… True TPS I played on XBOX so graphics are like other TPS games, because xbox 360 cant make graphics in game better. Its just 1080p. Nothing special. Not PC. And stuff…
    Logic
    No logic. Lets continue.
    Sounds
    Russian version sounds nice. But also nothing special. Epic moments Epic music. Just walking around just walking around music. Nothing special. Just TPS.
    Gameplay
    BUGS, BUGS, BUGS. Like in pre-last mission with bombs. I fell on the ground and exploded for no reason. Just because And just TPS. Weapons are nice but too expensive. Also lets remember that black market weapons should be bought like: buy a plane upgrade buy 1 nice 6/ ‘bout 15 weapons buy second upgrade buy another weapon that you need after buying a Honey Barger (or something like that). That’s all. Oh by the way that 2 upgrades cost you 200k single. And weapons from black market cost ‘bout 60k each and aren't really upgrading. BTW nice fact. I completed game with sniper rifle… even in low range missions. OMG LOGIC!!!!!!
    Story
    Cliché. Game is cliché. Everything is cliché. People have you got any brains with fresh ideas in them???!!!
    You read till this place. Man your brain is made of iron!!!!
    So… MARKS TIME (like adventure time).
    Graphics 7/10 (just 1080p game nothing special)
    Logic 2/10 (no logic)
    Sounds 6/10 (everything like it should be, but still nothing special)
    Gameplay 4/10 (made me scream with really bad words like a girl)
    Story 5/10 (because of nothing special and cliché)
    7+2+6+4+5=24
    24/5=5
    So……..5

    By MrArtemka
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    Me and a friend bought this game together in order to play through the co-op and mercs vs spies together, but Ubisoft's notoriously badMe and a friend bought this game together in order to play through the co-op and mercs vs spies together, but Ubisoft's notoriously bad combination of Uplay and poor server connections made it near impossible for us to play together. As we scrambled to find solutions, sure that no company could allow an ongoing issue as big as the inability to connect to any friends on THEIR MANDATORY GAME DISTRIBUTION PLATFORM our hearts sank as we found out that people have been reporting this problem for around 6 or 7 months now. Obviously no headway was being made by the devs, so we set about to find a solution ourselves. About 2 hours of work later we both said screw it, no game is worth this much work when for years we haven't had issues playing any previous games together. There are about a hundred different forum posts about this, so I know that the problem is widespread, but Ubisoft forum managers always just claim that customers should contact customer support, which simply tells you to mess around with your firewall settings and the like, which is just general speak for 'we don't know what's going on, try some basic stuff to try and fix it while we do nothing on a more complicated level like trying to rewrite any game code or fix how our modems and servers work'. The software for smooth, clean co-op connection has been around for like a decade, only adding to our incredible frustration at not being able to fulfill the primary purpose for which we bought the game. Sure, you can fix the issue with a combination of firewall exceptions, port forwarding, deleting certain programs and a whole lot of other work, but it just isn't worth it when literally no other game has made me do this before. I feel cheated, and almost like I should be refunded for the unfinished product which no one is doing anything about to fix. While looking up fixes I found people claiming that this very issue happened with previous Ubisoft games for years and NO ONE FIXED THEM. I rate this a 0 not because it is a bad game, but because it was literally unplayable and unfinished to the point that I felt that I deserved my money back because I didn't want it going to a company with such terrible customer support or response to such issues. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews