• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 539

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    No one will stop Sam Fisher, nor do you. Slick control is perfect for stealth and combat, strong voice acting gives life to the awesome story and the flashy black and white ( in the shadow) adds cool effect to it. The multiplayer is appealing, i set more with the co-op mode, versus is sometimes frustrating , but it adds tension. Conviction never felt so good
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    I have been a massive fan of the Splinter Cell series, beginning with the first title that was released for the original Xbox. My play through with Splinter Cell: Conviction was, to say the least, average. It's the kind of game where developers take 1 step forward and 2 steps back, despite their passionate effort in 'reinventing' the genre. Length: "Splinter Cell: Conviction's" story modeI have been a massive fan of the Splinter Cell series, beginning with the first title that was released for the original Xbox. My play through with Splinter Cell: Conviction was, to say the least, average. It's the kind of game where developers take 1 step forward and 2 steps back, despite their passionate effort in 'reinventing' the genre. Length: "Splinter Cell: Conviction's" story mode will last the average player an upwards of around 6-10 hours, depending on the difficulty (mind you, this is not the same "lengthy" duration they claimed and boasted in their interviews. The Co-op portion of the title will last approximately 3-4 hours, again, depending on the difficulty. The rest of the multiplayer length is relatively subjective, because it really depends on the person playing and whether they truly enjoy it or not.

    Controls: Excellent. Some issues with trying to climb up and some such but other than that, the controls were very solid.

    Sound: Again, also excellent. Single Player Story: Not too much peep out of me for this part of the game. It's a pretty interesting storyline, but I wish they did a few things differently. In short - and without spoiling too much - it's just obnoxious playing as Sam Fisher one moment, and than being thrown into Diwaniya, Iraq as a completely different person. It just derails the narrative focus of the game for the sake of telling a side story that is completely irrelevant to the main plot of the game. Co-op Story: Interesting to say the least. It really reveals a lot of the interior motives of a certain someone in the single player story, but only if you play the co-op campaign first. The ending was truly a disappointment although my friend and I had a pretty good laugh the first time we played the ending. Gameplay and design: Now, this is where it gets really nitty-gritty. The game-play and overall design of Conviction is quite clear, it's meant to be played as a run and gun, Jason Bourne on speed style game. There are a huge amount of key and refining features missing that made the originals so damn good. The knife, whistling, controlling your light exposure and movement speed, Night/thermal vision goggles, moving and hiding bodies, hallway split jumping, etc. Big and small things like the ones I mentioned above are just completely eradicated from Conviction, all for the sake of making it fast paced, something the Splinter Cell series is *not* known for. Enemies are just thrown into each section of the level, each one being in a convenient spot for players to make full use of the Mark and Execute feature. So much is sacrificed for one feature, and quite frankly, it's just disgusting to see a title stripped of it's roots and garnished with mediocrity.

    The exclusion of key features is one thing, but the illusion of the stealth in conviction is also another. I couldn't shake the feeling that Conviction was not designed with the originals in mind. For all intents and purposes, Ubisoft felt it would be a good idea to force players into unavoidable gun fight scenarios with little hope for pure stealth. The addition of the Sonar Goggles is more of a burden than it is a boon. Special enemy types are later equipped with these very same goggles, further eliminating the use of stealth mechanics and forcing players to draw their guns and mark/execute their way to victory. These same goggles also completely eliminate the use of one such gadget, the sticky camera (which had it's smoke feature replaced with the explode feature).

    I can go on about how this isn't a true sequel to the Splinter Cell series but this review has to stop at some point and I'm just sick of having to juggle why Ubisoft felt it necessary to try and reinvent the wheel. For me, this title in the series is a 5/10. In short, as a Splinter Cell title, Conviction is complete trash that spits in the face of it's predecessor in hopes of garnering the undivided attention of the fast-paced shooter crowd. As a 3rd person shooter with some stealth elements, it's an average game. Make of that what you will.
    Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    6
    I'm a big fan of Splinter Cell, of stealth games and a hardcore gamer. This game was not a stealth game at all, it was very easy, it was too short. I somehow liked this game, For a casual gamer, this is a great game. Those who didn't like the olders Splinter Cell because it was too hard, there was too much stealth, those should try the demo. Maybe they will like it. For a big fan ofI'm a big fan of Splinter Cell, of stealth games and a hardcore gamer. This game was not a stealth game at all, it was very easy, it was too short. I somehow liked this game, For a casual gamer, this is a great game. Those who didn't like the olders Splinter Cell because it was too hard, there was too much stealth, those should try the demo. Maybe they will like it. For a big fan of Splinter Cell, it is a deception, but maybe they will somehow like it. I hope it will come back a stealth game, but I don't think so. I give it a 6/10, it is a great location, and can be a good game for Casual Gamers. But I'd like a longer story, this one was too short. Just 5 hours. You should all try the demo. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    6
    This should have been the 1st SC some years ago giving the series - and gamers - an alternative to end up as a nice looking 3rd person shooter or as an exciting stealth game. Introducing shooter elements into such a well developed stealth franchise is like introducing RPG elements into Halo - it doesn´t work. FPS fans will not start to play the older SC episodes due to theThis should have been the 1st SC some years ago giving the series - and gamers - an alternative to end up as a nice looking 3rd person shooter or as an exciting stealth game. Introducing shooter elements into such a well developed stealth franchise is like introducing RPG elements into Halo - it doesn´t work. FPS fans will not start to play the older SC episodes due to the lame visuals and the missing FPS elements. Old fans of the series (like me) will not continue to buy any SC franchise in the future.

    Ubisoft: Leave SC as the monument of the genre and move on. It´s not getting better.
    Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    1
    I have loved the splinter cell games since the very first and have played them over and over again, but when i put the rotten piece of diarrhea that ubisoft call splinter cell conviction into my xbox my first reaction was to grab a bucket to vomit into, The graphics look as good as a fox that has been hit by a car, the gameplay is nothing like the originals, A game that is meant to be aI have loved the splinter cell games since the very first and have played them over and over again, but when i put the rotten piece of diarrhea that ubisoft call splinter cell conviction into my xbox my first reaction was to grab a bucket to vomit into, The graphics look as good as a fox that has been hit by a car, the gameplay is nothing like the originals, A game that is meant to be a stealth game then has little to no stealth elements and it actually forces you to have an all out gunfight using the stupid mark and execute ability, The game was meant to make you feel like a panther but it made me feel like mark and executing my balls off. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys to be anally penetrated with a razor blade as i feel these are the only people who could enjoy a game of this quality. The only reason i give this a 1/10 is because the box art looks quite nice. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2011
    6
    It is a decent game. If you're looking for another thrilling stealth game like the past splinter cell entries, then don't buy this game. It's turned into more of a guns blazing shooter game and it's way too short. It has a nice co-op campaign though. If you can find this game for cheap then go ahead and buy it for a couple hrs of entertainment but don't expect to be wowed.
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is just bad, maybe some Kids that did not know the splinter cell games like it cause of its good graphics but the game itself is just bad, really bad. They removed the philosophy and key aspects of stealth gameplay in this game, it is just not Splinter Cell anymore.
  8. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I love this game so much, it's very interesting and unique. probably the best graphics i've seen in a ubisoft game since the 2008 Prince of Persia. Plot is so-so but the combat and camera angles are perfect. Best Splinter Cell game in ages. A Must Buy
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    The story looks fantastic and graphic is great but a short length and the voice acting again by Michael Ironside is a top-notch and the music is good but much to the monochrome and the motion capture looks great and i really like the new feature but i kinda the missed an old feature from the old splinter cell.
  10. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty,Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty, Halo 3, etc.) with the various features (in-game combat and battle) and challenges that I have come to love. I have had the game since April 3rd, 2010 (now 2012) and rank it among the highest in my collection. Such a masterpiece will blow you mind and leave anxious for the sequel! Expand
  11. May 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant 2 player feature...and the fact that its a different story from the single campaign makes it more intresting...It literaly made me an my friend whisper in the living room..
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    2
    Id like to start by saying this game is fun. Theres nothing wrong with it playwise. However this game took the ONLY stealth series available and steals it from us. Even if this is the best game youve played this year its still worth considering that because it was released as a splinter cell game it spells the end for the true stealth game genre. So if you ever feel like hey im in the moodId like to start by saying this game is fun. Theres nothing wrong with it playwise. However this game took the ONLY stealth series available and steals it from us. Even if this is the best game youve played this year its still worth considering that because it was released as a splinter cell game it spells the end for the true stealth game genre. So if you ever feel like hey im in the mood for a sneaky stealth dedicated game..well now it no longer exists. To take a one of a kind unique and successfull series and change the most basic point of the game steals not just from old fans but from all gamers because now the only game if its kind has been replaced by just another heavy action setup. This would have done well as a game under a new title but to purposly rip a whole way of playing from the fans and replace it is a sad occurence. No matter how much you love it its still a betrayal and the end of an entire type of gameplay that only splintercell offerd Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans willSplinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans will immediately turn this down. In reality, the multiplayer/co-op game types can offer hours and hours of replayability and some of the modes are really fun to enjoy over Xbox Live. Overall, I recommend this game to anyone a fan of the stealth genre and kicking ass. Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Consisting of perhaps the greatest cover-system in gaming, and the best graphics I've seen on the 360 to date - with a solid frame-rate to boot. Splinter Cell Conviction takes a major leap forward with this proper next-gen revision. Ubisoft finally found a perfect Checkpoint balance, and gameplay pace. The level design got a bit repetitive, but looked visually appealing. The character areConsisting of perhaps the greatest cover-system in gaming, and the best graphics I've seen on the 360 to date - with a solid frame-rate to boot. Splinter Cell Conviction takes a major leap forward with this proper next-gen revision. Ubisoft finally found a perfect Checkpoint balance, and gameplay pace. The level design got a bit repetitive, but looked visually appealing. The character are more relatable and the narrative is better than ever - even the animations all look wonderful. Though the game does become too action-oriented for my taste at times, it certainly sets the standard for sequels to come, being a great new start for the franchise. Ubisoft did well on betting on the Unreal engine with their brand new vision, and in my opinion this was a franchise that needed a change, which certain people may not agree with - though personally they checked all the boxes for me, so I can't really complain. Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game does not deserve a bad rating. There are a few bad things wrong with this game, yes, but that doesn't make this game completely terrible.First off, The story is pretty short, but the challenge makes it a little longer the first few times you play it, the graphics are, pretty good most of the time, the sound isn't the best all the time, and there is a little delay on when theThis game does not deserve a bad rating. There are a few bad things wrong with this game, yes, but that doesn't make this game completely terrible.First off, The story is pretty short, but the challenge makes it a little longer the first few times you play it, the graphics are, pretty good most of the time, the sound isn't the best all the time, and there is a little delay on when the graphics are supposed to meet with the voices and sound effects, the the selection of weapons is really good, with the upgrades included, even better. This Splinter Cell is not like any other made before this. Sam Fisher is not like before. Not the ass- kicking part, I mean like, how he's pretty much retired, and how he's working for something much more important than his job. That being his daughter. Sam is pretty much the same in every other way, awesome ass- kicking moves, unthinking interrogation methods, and the same, pissed- off Sam he's always been. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    I think the game was absolutely awesome! The graphics were excellent, the AI was quite challenging, and the story was also pretty good, although not that immersive.

    I loved the mark and execute mechanic, and the way the screen fades to black&white when you are invisible. Would have liked a little more freedom of movement throughout the levels, and more need for the use of gadgets would
    I think the game was absolutely awesome! The graphics were excellent, the AI was quite challenging, and the story was also pretty good, although not that immersive.

    I loved the mark and execute mechanic, and the way the screen fades to black&white when you are invisible.

    Would have liked a little more freedom of movement throughout the levels, and more need for the use of gadgets would have been nice.

    Overall it's a very good addition to the Splinter Cell series. Although Chaos Theory and Conviction are way better!
    Expand
  17. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    I personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always beenI personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always been put off by over complex controls and complexity. You dont have to hide bodies in this game and you can slip ito the shadows really easily , you can shoot out light bulbs to make the darkness you need , or you can go in more aggressively with this game , the controls are smooth and intuitive and the graphics and animations are superb. The main storyline is very standard revenge and betrayal stuff, but it holds the game together in a realy positive way, you actually feel satisfaction when you kill bad guys in this game .. just like the feeling you get in the movies ! The only downside is the length of the main campaign I finished it in about 8 or 9 hours although I'm already planning to play it again on different realistic mode to get some other Achieves. The game also has some great co-op modes such as the Story Co-op and Hunter and Last Stand modes, I hav'nt really played these modes properly yet and will edit my review accordingly when I do ....... " Play it again Sam ! " go out and sell both your grannies and get this game... Brilliant ! 9/10 Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    AHHH splinter cell i'm a sucker for stealth games and i've been playing this series since the first owned them all.i once completed the fist 2 games on hard in the same day without being seen ( yes....i'm a geek) (I've played this game for about 20 hours completed single player on realistic as well as co-op on realisitic) got around 600 gamerscore check gamertag Akiba22

    All in all i
    AHHH splinter cell i'm a sucker for stealth games and i've been playing this series since the first owned them all.i once completed the fist 2 games on hard in the same day without being seen ( yes....i'm a geek) (I've played this game for about 20 hours completed single player on realistic as well as co-op on realisitic) got around 600 gamerscore check gamertag Akiba22

    All in all i enjoyed this game its your typical tom clancy affair terroists/governmental or political corruption/nationwide invasion if its tom clancy its one of those storylines. But sam fishers trying to find who killed his daughter when a figure from his past calls him for help!?!?!?!?!?(Ooh spooky) The soundtracks pretty good which suprised me and the voice over acting is very well done even if sam is so gruff sometimes incoherent.

    Gameplay wise its completely changed from previous games which is good but i prefered the slow be aware of everything type of stealth. This ones very fast paced its about moving and quickly taking out targets and progressing while trying to complete challenges which give you points which you spend to upgrade equipment( which consists of killing people using the various gadgets weapons and takedowns) which they ask you to do too many times and becomes a bit tiresome especially as i really only used a silence pistol, headshots and takedowns to gain mark and executes. What are mark and executes be takingdown someone with your hands instead of shooting them you get marks by pressing RB to target multiple enemies and then press y to execute a maximum (depending on weapons and how much they've been upgraded) 4 targets. This is a good featurebbut you'll often find your self getting marks and then killing 4 guys, then it becomes a rinse and repeat style game.

    Multiplayer
    OH MY GOD DID THEY GET THIS WRONG double agent with spys vs guards had one of the most original and addictive game modes ever it had once game mode, 6 maps and i never got tired of it. But instead of that you get a very mediocre and short co-op campaign with a boring and practically non-exsistent plotline. you also get game modes like hunter(kill all guards on the map) infiltration(like hunter but you can't be seen at all) Face off(hunter but competing against someone) and Last stand(I HATE THIS GAME MODE, IT SHOULD BANNED ITS REALLY **** BORING). Bring back guards vs spies.
    Also i think on hunter you should get a ranking depending on how well you did. I like to know if i did absolutely terrible or stain your pants fantastic.

    I enjoyed this game the campaigns great and as i said i really like stealth games but its not the same splinter cell so don't go in there expecting that and its definetly worth picking up.
    Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    I blew through the single player, and found it to be fairly easy, but it was a lot of fun while I was going through it. Overall it was a good experience, the stealth missions played out very smoothly, I was impressed with the polish, not too much in the way of glitches.
  20. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it alsoThis is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it also has some multiplayer and co-op levels and they were fun, but the single player was my personal favorite part and is what will keep me coming back, so in closing as a newcomer to the series and genre I recommend it, it's the perfect jumping on point for newcomers, and I believe fans of the series will also love this, I mean why wouldn't they? it's so much fun, a truly fantastic game. Collapse
  21. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    First of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes acrossFirst of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes across a killing machine. This is by no means a bad thing, hand-to-hand combat is much more brutal along with the new execution feature which allows you to take out multiple enemies at once, using bullet time. The cover system has also been revamped, this allows Fisher pop out of cover, shoot, and slide into cover again. Enemy AI is effective and will use the same tactics to take Fisher down, this will force the player to use some light tactical elements. In terms of visuals, the game is built on the Unreal Engine 3. The engine might be dated now, but it's looking prettier than ever. The graphics are incredible, with sharp visuals and excellent lighting effects.There is some slight slowdown, but that shouldn't deter the player from experience. If I have to gripe at this amazing title, it will be the length of the campaign. One should be able to complete the single-player campaign in about four hours. However, if you want to get your money's worth, I suggest you make some friends and find a buddy to take on the co-op campaign. This is not a mere add-on, the co-op campaign has the same, high quality production values as the single player component itself. Splinter Cell Conviction redefines the franchise by altering every aspect we've come to expect from the previous titles in the series. These changes are welcome and it's easy to immerse the player into the story and the revamped gameplay mechanic. It is a fantastic game, and is obviously one of the best action games of the year. However, the experience is over all to quickly. Expand
  22. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    First off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance atFirst off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance at stealth. In the old Splinter Cells I would attempt to beat levels without killing or knocking out people... this game is set up to make that Impossible. I am a little disappointed in that. Wasn't there a way to add the speed mechanics while still maintaining the ability to play stealth?? Deniable Ops. I keep playing through those again and again trying to take out the enemy with more stealth and efficiency each time. It is incredibly addictive. 8/10 because it is well worth playing, a lot of fun with a high replay value, however -2 for straying too far from the formula. Expand
  23. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Smooth gameplay, well implemented stealth action and a good storyline. Co-op adds replay value as does the list of challenges to be completed. The choice to use a more confrontational approach may upset purists but the game is still focused on silent combat. Voice acting is strong and enhances the power of the well told story.Conviction also boasts a visual flare not seen in itsSmooth gameplay, well implemented stealth action and a good storyline. Co-op adds replay value as does the list of challenges to be completed. The choice to use a more confrontational approach may upset purists but the game is still focused on silent combat. Voice acting is strong and enhances the power of the well told story.Conviction also boasts a visual flare not seen in its predecessors which is a great feature for the most part. Its only failing is the transition of the game to monochrome when Sam can't be seen. This is distracting, annoying and unnecessary. but not enough to stop this from being an essential purchase for stealth fans. Expand
  24. May 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out theAs a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out the demo at my cousins I immediately purchased the game and stole my brothers 360 to play the game and I wasn't left disappointed at all. The gameplay brings a fresh approach to SC. It will no doubt divide SC fans but I fully endorse Ubisoft's decision to bring a new feel to things and shake it up. You can take the stealth route (which is the best for me) or you can go all guns blazing, not all the time ofcourse and its not always wise as a few shots and Sam is down and out! The stealth approach allows you to plan to your method to take down an enemy and execute your move at the tap of a button. A new feature introduced is being almost invisible when you are in the dark areas e.g shadows and also when the lights are out. The storyline picks up with Sam in Malta before being contacted by a former colleague Grim who informs him a group of hitmen are on his tail, Sam ultimately kills them and is pointed in the direction of Kobin who is believed to have killed his daughter and warns Sam that her death was part of a bigger conspiracy and events unfold from there. At times the story drifts and is a bit all over the place at times and quite hard to get a grasp of especially if you are new to the SC games but it all manages to come together rather nicely with a few good twists and turns along the way. Visually its still typical Splinter Cell and there has been an improvement in that department with some great settings for missions. Their is now DLC available to further enhance your experience and also online multiplayer as well as co-op. Ive not played multiplayer reguarly to give a definitive view but from what I know it seems decent enough but leaves room for improvement. All in all Conviction is a welcome return to form for the SC franchise and the decision to reboot SC has proved to be a success based on the results and leaves it set up perfectly for further installments, all I would ask of Ubisoft, please don't make the next outing a 360 exclusive Expand
  25. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like thisI had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like this game it will be worth it. Expand
  26. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Conviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bitConviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bit longer. The multiplayer is also dissappointing but the co-op campaign is a nice addition that gives a break from story mode. Co-op is not as good as story mode but still pretty good. Overall Conviction is a good game that does not fail to entertain. It is a good way to continue the series. Expand
  27. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mind blowing game.i loved this game so much the only problem with this game was a very short campaign,Gameplay was awesome.I hope that in next installment we will have a longer campaign than this game.But overall this game is mind blowing for 3rd person shooters.
  28. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Decided to play this to get in the mood for the 2013 re-re-boot. While not as good as the Big 3 Splinter Cell games for the Xbox it's a vast improvement over Double Agent for the 360. The move away from stealth is lamentable but not a deal breaker because blending sneaky stealth gameplay with Uncharted-esq 3rd person shooting is enjoyable. So much so that I am able to forgive Sam for hisDecided to play this to get in the mood for the 2013 re-re-boot. While not as good as the Big 3 Splinter Cell games for the Xbox it's a vast improvement over Double Agent for the 360. The move away from stealth is lamentable but not a deal breaker because blending sneaky stealth gameplay with Uncharted-esq 3rd person shooting is enjoyable. So much so that I am able to forgive Sam for his sojourn into Bro-dom. That this is the last we'll ever see from Michael Ironside Sam I have to commend this series for ending Sam's tale on a decent note. Expand
  29. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Conviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is aConviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is a challange game mode in wich you can kill all enemies, kill all enemies while avoiding detection and defending a base all this modes are pretty challenging in big maps. Theres also a co op campaing with its own strory line and is sweet. Higly recommended Expand
  30. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    Splinter Cell: Conviction was really fun over all. I liked the story and the gameplay alot. their were parts i was a little bored during but over all the game was good. their were NO glitches and the gameplay was very smooth. I really enjoyed it. It's worth the money and something you should try out. I give Splinter Cell: conviction a 7.7/10
  31. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Note: the review is only based on 1 playthrough of the campaign on normal difficulty.

    Admittedly, this is my first SC game. I had heard great things about the series and for whatever reason, I felt as though as I was missing something throughout. I know I'm jumping mid-way through a giant story based off multiple games but all in all, my experience felt "choppy". While it took some
    Note: the review is only based on 1 playthrough of the campaign on normal difficulty.

    Admittedly, this is my first SC game. I had heard great things about the series and for whatever reason, I felt as though as I was missing something throughout. I know I'm jumping mid-way through a giant story based off multiple games but all in all, my experience felt "choppy".

    While it took some getting used to, I found the controls to be somewhat clunky and not as fluid as they should be for a game where diving for cover is prevalent. Perhaps it is because I have been playing more recent games and these but darting out of the line of site was tough and "full stealth" while possible seem extremely difficult to do correctly.

    Later in the game, I decided to forgo stealth altogether and was able to just end up sniping/killing everyone in my path, more or less.

    The story is decent, the level design is pretty good but (and perhaps this is me, as this is my first SC game), I'd like to jump in and out of the way and as ninja as possible.
    Expand
  32. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Awsome game , Awsome graphics , Awsome meele , Awsome everithing , , I love how they searched every detail , Infortunaley it cant run with out lag in every pc, I dont have a pc Gamer so I need it to install Game Booster it help me a lot, but with out that its awsome , one of my best games 1710
  33. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    I was never a big fan of the other Splinter Cell games. Found them a bit clunky - all that split legged climbing up wall nonsense. Conviction was quite a bit different - and all the better for it. Some fan boys of the series might not like it but I did. This was one of my early purchases. The game was so good I played nothing but this - then on completion on medium skill, played it again on hard.
  34. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    In my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficultyIn my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficulty isn't too high, Conviction's REALISTIC difficulty is as hard as the original Splinter Cell's easy difficulty...

    The campaign is very well-done, the story is beyond amazing, maybe except flashback Iraq mission, which is totally different; it's more like third person shooter... The Interrogation system is also very nice, the way you can for example bake your prey's head in the oven...
    The multiplayer/CO-OP/Deniable Ops are also quiet interesting, CO-OP offers you another story, which works like the Pro-log to single-player. Multiplayer contains 3(4) different game types, Infiltration (which you have to download from the U-play store for price of 50 UP), Hunter, Face-off and Last Stand.

    I give Conviction rating 9; it has few mistakes, yes, but there's just a minimum of them.
    Expand
  35. May 28, 2012
    6
    Game was okay. Wasn't that fun.
  36. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    This new installment to the splinter cell series has its ups and downs. With an amazing story line this game will have you sitting on the edge of your seats in excitement and suspense. But some of this does come at the toll of poor voice acting and annoying one-liners. The multiplayer is also different from your standard death matches and makes it more of a spy against spy situation whichThis new installment to the splinter cell series has its ups and downs. With an amazing story line this game will have you sitting on the edge of your seats in excitement and suspense. But some of this does come at the toll of poor voice acting and annoying one-liners. The multiplayer is also different from your standard death matches and makes it more of a spy against spy situation which can also be fun at times (emphases on the can). Another flaw is its cover system which can sometimes leave players stranded in high octane combat scenes and leave them frushstrated with the countless amounts of deaths to come. A positive though is its remarkable A.I system and the several gameplay techniques you can use to defeat them. I found myself in several struggles thinking of new ways to take out my targets weither I wanted to take them out 1 by 1, or in a large blaze of glory with the exacution tool. The last thing is the controlls. Though confusing at first to get, once you have them down theyre hard to forget. Overall this is a great game with an intriguing story line, bold new direction in gameplay, and only with a few minor flaws. Expand
  37. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    All Splinter Cell games were horrible except Pandora Tomorrow. Pandora Tomorrow was very good, but it was too difficult and everything were green, and I didn't like it. What I like about Conviction is graphics, characters, colorful colors, steal, silencer. But I hated the the pinpoints, and Fisher can grab and throw a guy by one arm from the window, shooting enemies by guns, very unrealistic.
  38. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Sam Fisher is a total bad*** in this game! No rules, no gadgets, no mercy, what an awesome guy! Though its not the same Splinter Cell we know, which is what the fans are complaining about, it'll definitely catch their eyes!
  39. May 27, 2013
    9
    I really love the Splinter Cell games. and after playing through Conviction multiple times, I can say this is my favorite Splinter Cell game. The story is very well written. I found myself wanting to find out more as the story progressed, and I felt bad for Sam Fisher in emotional moments. the gameplay is as great as always, but some changes to it I'm not a big fan of that much. the wayI really love the Splinter Cell games. and after playing through Conviction multiple times, I can say this is my favorite Splinter Cell game. The story is very well written. I found myself wanting to find out more as the story progressed, and I felt bad for Sam Fisher in emotional moments. the gameplay is as great as always, but some changes to it I'm not a big fan of that much. the way you can now move around stealthily is when the screen turns black and white. no sound meter, no HUD, just staying in darkness makes you mostly invisible. I don't see why they abandoned things like the goggles and sound meters, but this change for the game is ok at best. The game controls very nicely; possible one of the best games I've controlled. the soundtrack is pretty good. some tunes are pretty catchy, but nothing stands out, making the soundtrack very forgettable. the graphics are among the best I've seen in a video game. the character models look very impressive, and environments in the game look beautiful. the voice acting in the game is great. all the actors do excellent as usual in this game, and even some new ones do their performances very well, giving this game excellent presentation. there is also co-op in this game, but honestly, I didn't bother as much with this. the co-op is very chaotic at times, since you have to help each other, and it gets more chaotic when split screen is enabled. Overall, Splinter Cell: Conviction is a great stealth game. the story is among the best I've seen, the gameplay, while kind of a downgrade, is still tons of fun, and the presentation of the game is excellent. Expand
  40. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is one of the best stealth games to date. Rather than have players bored waiting and using clunky controls; Conviction uses speed and smooth controls. With a story mode that isn't stretched out and has a much more brutal Sam Fisher; the campaign is paced well and even lets the regular action crowd go Gears of War style sometimes. The campaign relies on smartSplinter Cell Conviction is one of the best stealth games to date. Rather than have players bored waiting and using clunky controls; Conviction uses speed and smooth controls. With a story mode that isn't stretched out and has a much more brutal Sam Fisher; the campaign is paced well and even lets the regular action crowd go Gears of War style sometimes. The campaign relies on smart tactics and sharp reflexes-super addictive. There are also coop modes-campaign, elimination, defence and even versus modes for more gameplay. The story is fun and interesting, gameplay is fast and intelligent and there are plenty of hours to play. One final note is the light meter and cover system; the light meter is simple-when you are invisible; the screen goes black at white. And the cover system has you smoothly and precisely move from cover to cover, without getting stuck. Action and Stealth fans-this is a must own. Expand
  41. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is my first splinter cell game and damn!! it is the best stealth defining game ever. i always wanted a stealth game and this was perfect!!! as a PS3 owner the only reason i borrowed Xbox 360 from my friend was to play this game. some real awesome advanced weaponry and gagets, night vision goggles are by far the coolest. completed it thrice and both of us had really tough timethis is my first splinter cell game and damn!! it is the best stealth defining game ever. i always wanted a stealth game and this was perfect!!! as a PS3 owner the only reason i borrowed Xbox 360 from my friend was to play this game. some real awesome advanced weaponry and gagets, night vision goggles are by far the coolest. completed it thrice and both of us had really tough time completing the co-op mode. the hardest part of this game is the co-op mode as it needs a lot of teamwork and perfect timed kills. this is one hell for a challenging game many bashed about this game. i personally think this is a great addition in the splinter cell series Expand
  42. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    It is very different from older installments of the series however they fit into Conviction very well. This is a great third person shooter with great storytelling, gameplay, and mutiplayer options.
  43. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    Probably one of my favorite Splinter Cell games of the series.

    It had great graphics for it's time, great mechanics, good plot, and a variety of weapons to choose from. The Deniable Ops was another great gamemode. I have clocked some hours into this with siblings; unlocking all of the suits and upgrades. It was a load of fun. Just a great game to go back to when bored and want to
    Probably one of my favorite Splinter Cell games of the series.

    It had great graphics for it's time, great mechanics, good plot, and a variety of weapons to choose from.

    The Deniable Ops was another great gamemode. I have clocked some hours into this with siblings; unlocking all of the suits and upgrades. It was a load of fun.

    Just a great game to go back to when bored and want to have a good time.
    Expand
  44. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    This is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it alsoThis is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it also has some multiplayer and co-op levels and they were fun, but the single player was my personal favorite part and is what will keep me coming back, so in closing as a newcomer to the series and genre I recommend it, it's the perfect jumping on point for newcomers, and I believe fans of the series will also love this, I mean why wouldn't they? it's so much fun, a truly fantastic game. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. 93
    It was a huge risk deviating from the trial-and-error style that made the series famous, but it paid off. Splinter Cell Conviction is awesome.
  2. Splinter Cell: Conviction isn't the series' high point, but it does get the franchise back on track. [May 2010, p.89]
  3. Splinter Cell: Conviction is faster and more action oriented than previous games in the series. It's getting closer to a third person shooter, but Conviction has not lost its unique Fisheresque soul. This is great entertainment.