Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life asVeteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life as a double agent. As you infiltrate a terrorist organization in its American headquarters, you must carefully weigh the consequences of your actions. Kill too many criminals and you'll blow your cover. Hesitate too long and millions will die. Do whatever it takes to complete your mission, but get out alive. Dual objectives to fulfill: NSA government agents and terrorists will each want you to accomplish opposing tasks at the same time. Discover the tension of being a double agent: Use actual tactics employed by today’s real-life double agents to sabotage the terrorists' plans. Explore a branching storyline with multiple endings: Your choices have an impact on how the story and game play unfolds. Missions from all over the world, from Asia to Africa to the heart of the US. Experience extreme situations: underwater or in a sandstorm, hiding behind the dust or smoke – and even skydiving. Master the latest weapons and gadgets used by NSA government agents in addition to black-market terrorist weapons. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Magnificent on the Xbox 360, this could be a contender for game of the year.
  2. Involving missions, cutting edge graphics and an excellent narrative that, while not always living up to its potential, strives mightily to expand the storytelling and emotional connection while maintaining the right balance of fun and adventure.
  3. Veterans of Splinter Cell Chaos Theory may be disappointed with Double Agent's multiplayer. Yet, while some may call this game stripped down, we thought the lack of gadgets streamlined the multiplayer experience and sped up matches online.
  4. Games Master UK
    86
    Excellent as it is, it fails to match the impossibly high standards set by "Chaos Theory." [Dec 2006, p.96]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Splinter Cell still offers the most unique multiplayer around, and Double Agent will keep me happily entertained for quite some time--probably well past Fisher's retirement party. [Dec. 2006, p.121]
  6. A huge variety of settings and missions mean Ubisoft really gets to show off graphically, and we found that the 360’s HD capabilities gave the game a sleek, immersive feel. A few niggles in terms of camera views and accessibility for people new to the series let it down, but overall it’s a must have for Splinter Cell fans.
  7. 60
    While single player offers enough to keep things new, the same cannot be said for multiplayer.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. TyroneB.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is revolutionary. Expand
  2. Horuso
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    About a thousand times better than Chaos Theory, I dont' care what anyone says. This game is just amazing.
  3. Apr 17, 2017
    9
    Ce Splinter a su évoluer de manière intelligente après les 3 premiers opus : l'histoire est bien menée, les choix à faire parmi les objectifsCe Splinter a su évoluer de manière intelligente après les 3 premiers opus : l'histoire est bien menée, les choix à faire parmi les objectifs sont très intéressants et donnent un côté épique à l'aventure. L'infiltration est toujours reine (même pendant les nouvelles phases diurnes) et les mini-jeux de piratage sont un vrai plus, de même que la possibilité de sauvegarder quand on veut !

    Techniquement c'est du bon travail : beau et plutôt fluide (nonobstant quelques ralentissements ici et là...), excellente VF, superbe musique. On peut juste déplorer un level design parfois moins inspiré que d'habitude et quelques scripts énervants mais rien d'inquiétant. Double Agent demeure sans équivoque le meilleur Splinter avec Chaos Theory.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. TheI played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about the graphics and gameplay. I can only give this game an 8/10 Expand
  5. MattF.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Nice online mode with some cool modes. Great if you have a mate to play it with. Also has some cool parts to the single player mode, but it Nice online mode with some cool modes. Great if you have a mate to play it with. Also has some cool parts to the single player mode, but it can be very difficult at times and should not be the decider of a purchase. Expand
  6. Topik
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double agent for Xbox (yes XBOX is Better than 360). I'm talking about Better Plot (story is much more complete) Better Multiplayer (360 mplay is as Pandora tomorrow, on Xbox double agent we STILL have REAL Co-Op Mission ).360 version is obviously far superior in graphic depertment but what we see is a shine game that must demonstrate the better graphics capability of the 360 , and to do that a LOT of mission are played in full day (you still have night goggles.. useless for almost all the game!!).If you want to play real splinter cell I suggest you to try the XBOX version! For me this is a nice version but 360 take 6 and I give 9 to Xbox version. Expand
  7. SamM.
    Feb 7, 2007
    1
    This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i big splintercell fan and loved playing chos thery online but since this newsplinter cell came out it has just lost the fun in online play. Its so easy to hack theres no stealth kills and worst of all your meant to be a spy but the mercs have a blleping thing that goes off when your close!! doesn't that just define the point??? all you have to do as a merc is run round till u here a beep then find which way it goes and wait for him to move. Your motion will pick him up and there we have it. So this game for me was rubbish I never play it even though I got to the top of onix mission 6 but im not there any more but are probably close like top 50 maybe I haven't checked. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.