Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tomb Raider is a re-imagining of the infamous action-adventure franchise and explores the visceral origin story of this character. In the game, Lara Croft ascends from a frightened young lady on her first adventure and emerges as a hardened survivor. With only her sharp instincts and herTomb Raider is a re-imagining of the infamous action-adventure franchise and explores the visceral origin story of this character. In the game, Lara Croft ascends from a frightened young lady on her first adventure and emerges as a hardened survivor. With only her sharp instincts and her innate ability to push the limits of human endurance, Lara must fight, explore, and use her intelligence to unravel the dark history of a forgotten island and escape its tight grip. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tomb Raider Scavenger Hunt Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    Early quick-time events aside, this twelve hour adventure suffers so few missteps that it’s a genuine delight to play, even as the lead gets trampled into the seasoned pro we’ve come to know. Everyone take a bow… the first lady of gaming has returned.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    94
    Tomb Raider is an extraordinary video-game. Its gameplay is amusing, Lara's animations are stunning, and the game is one hell of a ride.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2013
    90
    A near flawless example of how to reboot a franchise. Gripping, satisfying and strangely dark, we struggle to see how this origin story could have been told much better. [May 2013, p.77]
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    87
    Tomb Raider's reboot is definitely a success delivering a deep, adrenalinic and spectacular game with a new and charismatic Lara Croft. Our main complaint is with the lack of greater scale puzzles and more challenging ones, something the game should have retained from its predecessors.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Lara's return is a triumphant one, providing gamers with a visually breathtaking adventure around a well-realised island setting that harbours some dark secrets. Some more challenging puzzles and platforming would have been welcome, but as it stands, Tomb Raider is a thrilling reboot of a legendary franchise.
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    It’s a fine return to form for the heroine whose comically conical boobs once fuelled a thousand adolescent quests for mythical nude codes. Lara Croft’s a real girl now, with real motivations, fears and feelings. And this is one reboot we hope will stick.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    It’s really hard to be excited about the future of Tomb Raider after this game. It fails where more successful films and games of its kind succeed: in its characters. The way in which Lara goes from inexperienced to full-on action movie hero survivalist is so jarring that it’s near impossible as a player to remain on the same emotional wavelength as the story. Because of this the rest of the game falters.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 294
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful andThe game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
    Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    The most fun I had in a game for a while the environments look stunning and beautiful game play is some of the best I've seen in a thirdThe most fun I had in a game for a while the environments look stunning and beautiful game play is some of the best I've seen in a third person shooter it is a must have. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This game blew my mind. The visuals are amazing with a beyond solid frame rate. The motion capture is some of the best that I have ever seen.This game blew my mind. The visuals are amazing with a beyond solid frame rate. The motion capture is some of the best that I have ever seen. Lara moves very realistic and fluid.

    With a solid story and a very moving cut scenes, this is a very hard game to put down.
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Having barely played Tomb Raider games in the past, I was very interested to see a reboot of the franchise that runs an origin story. ThisHaving barely played Tomb Raider games in the past, I was very interested to see a reboot of the franchise that runs an origin story. This made it easy for me to decide to jump in and play an entire game to the end and see how it turned out. This Tomb Raider, which takes several cues from the best games of today, is absolutely fantastic. Easily one of the most cinematic titles I've ever played. The camera angles and treacherous environments all give a bit of a white-knuckle experience that I find more and more rare in games these days. I haven't embraced the multiplayer yet, but I bought this game for the story line and the single-player experience. I am very happy I did and look forward to what this franchise has to offer going forward. Collapse
  5. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    I've played most of the previous Tomb Raider titles and this is a whole new experience. They've really taken this series to a whole new level.I've played most of the previous Tomb Raider titles and this is a whole new experience. They've really taken this series to a whole new level. The previous games were pretty one dimensional and generally quite average. However, with this release you get the whole package of a well rounded experience. It was really thought out and expanded. Tomb Raider always fell short in the combat area, but now it is excellent. The weapons are a blast to use and have some great options to upgrade. Character leveling is pretty basic, but a nice addition. Just like the old games there are puzzles, but they are a little more basic in this release, however still fun and challenging in a few sections. The game is open world and beautiful - a blast to explore.
    The graphics in this game are just excellent, beautiful and immersive cut scenes too. The story is pretty interesting, though a bit typical at times. However, where it really excelled was in character development. This young Lara Croft is fleshed out so well and you really become attached to her as you experience her growing and becoming stronger in the face of adversity. She continues to be extremely sexy without the blatant sexism of the previous titles.
    Overall, this was an extremely well done release. I look forward to what they do with the series moving forward.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2015
    8
    Good game overall with no real bugs. Biggest complaint is the reliance on QTEs for just about everything including combat which takes anyGood game overall with no real bugs. Biggest complaint is the reliance on QTEs for just about everything including combat which takes any sort of skill out of the game. There are also many places in the game where you fail the QTE once and you die. This takes all the fun out of the game. Button mashing isn't a skill.

    Final level is probably the worst of the entire game because of poor camera angles and tricky jumps that are hard to line up because of it. It looks like the devs ran out of ideas so they started coming up with stupid stuff.

    Not happy with achievements either. Several require sheer luck rather than any sort of skill.
    Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2015
    0
    This game is perfect example why games nowadays are full of **** . The story , gameplay physics make no sense at all. Lara alone kills about 5This game is perfect example why games nowadays are full of **** . The story , gameplay physics make no sense at all. Lara alone kills about 5 hundreds mens - pretty stupid isnt it Expand

See all 294 User Reviews