User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Hands-down, one of the greatest RPG games ever published. This the community got so psyched for a second game, only to be let down. (Please make that second game)
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Too Human is a game like not other. With gameplay that sets it apart from everything else, the soundtrack to set the mood, and a beautiful atheistic look; Too Human is a game that is necessary to play. The loot to find makes this game really addicting too. The story of course is a high point for this game. Over all Too Human is a game that took a chance and it deserves the right to atToo Human is a game like not other. With gameplay that sets it apart from everything else, the soundtrack to set the mood, and a beautiful atheistic look; Too Human is a game that is necessary to play. The loot to find makes this game really addicting too. The story of course is a high point for this game. Over all Too Human is a game that took a chance and it deserves the right to at least be rented. Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    I had pre-ordered this, when I saw the review scores I cancelled and decided to give it a shot later. I saw it sitting on the shelf for a couple of months next to other used games and kept passing it over... That was a big mistake on my part, almost as big as cancelling my pre-order. The worst thing I can say about this game is that it is too short, the camera takes some getting used toI had pre-ordered this, when I saw the review scores I cancelled and decided to give it a shot later. I saw it sitting on the shelf for a couple of months next to other used games and kept passing it over... That was a big mistake on my part, almost as big as cancelling my pre-order. The worst thing I can say about this game is that it is too short, the camera takes some getting used to and the death animation is way too long and when you start out you will die pretty often. Other than that it is outstanding, graphics are really good and the gameplay is great, and different enough between melee and commando classes to make it worth playing through several times. The loot and upgrade system is easy to use and immediately gratifying, e.g. when you put a speed, damage or fire rate rune on you equipment it is very noticeable. With all the armor and weapons you can find you don't often run into someone in the same outfit as you in online co-op (which is also a blast). When you level up and get some of the higher end weapons and armor you will be laying waste to hordes of enemies with either your swords, hammers, rifles, pistols... etc. I picked her up used for a song and it is easily one of my most played games, if I had bought it new when it came out I would not have regretted it one iota. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes 3rd person action melee or shooters, and especially if you like finding loot and upgrading your equipment. For the price you can get it for now you can't loose. Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    9
    The only reason I won't give this game a ten: it's currently 2012. I just picked up my copy, and it was released in 2008. It obviously seems a bit outdated; altough, simultaneously, Too Human is an amazing game. Albeit it being released 4 years ago, I believe the camera could have been a bit less uncontrollable. I don't know much about Norse mythology, but after playing this, I'mThe only reason I won't give this game a ten: it's currently 2012. I just picked up my copy, and it was released in 2008. It obviously seems a bit outdated; altough, simultaneously, Too Human is an amazing game. Albeit it being released 4 years ago, I believe the camera could have been a bit less uncontrollable. I don't know much about Norse mythology, but after playing this, I'm interested. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys this genre. It almost completely covers every base to be a part of this genre. I enjoy Fallout, Devil May Cry, God of War, and all kinds of puzzle games; therefore, I greatly enjoy playing this game. Thank you for reading my review. -- Jordan A. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A big sleeper hit!! If you can find this cheap in a discount bin you will be very, very happy as the game has a lot of replayability. I have 3 level 50 characters and still enjoy the game. I think all the all the negative reviews are coming from a couple people as they all sound the same.
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than it was given credit for. Got this when it first came out and I still play it now. Combo meter mechanic is interesting, great story, good community. Downside is lack of variety in enemies and game is too short. Would love to see a sequel but I doubt it will ever happen.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downsideI absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downside is the wonky camera, but its really easy to adjust to after a while. The weapon and armor system is great too. With the amount of customization you can do there are hundreds of possible weapon and armor combos, as well as adding Runes to the items, just giving you one more way to pack a punch. I stand by my score of 10 because this game is amazing in every way. Collapse
  8. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Had this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learnHad this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learn without a tutorial (there isnt one in the game) and the in game death sequence should be skipable. However the game makes up for most of these with fun addicting gameplay, much replayablity, and online. Since the game only has its fan base still playing online you might have trouble finding a game however when you do get online with someone its a great play team work is key and you have alot of fun. Rune quests make up for alot of replayablity and once you complete the quest and have the rune equipped it gives you stat boots. The game has much depth in it even though it doesnt appear to be much at all besides a dungeon crawler with loot. Which by the way the game combines loot-whoredom and dungeon crawling perfectly. Oh have i mentioned the story for this game is awesome! I mean cyberpunk on norse myth (VIKINGS!!!) i wont go to deep into it to not reveal spoilers xp. Also this game is like in the top 10 best selling 360 action rpg games soo it shouldnt have such alow review score. I seriously reccommend to give it a shot i mean 10-20 dollars new at gamestop and like 20 on live market place Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Had this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learnHad this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learn without a tutorial (there isnt one in the game) and the in game death sequence should be skipable. However the game makes up for most of these with fun addicting gameplay, much replayablity, and online. Since the game only has its fan base still playing online you might have trouble finding a game however when you do get online with someone its a great play team work is key and you have alot of fun. Rune quests make up for alot of replayablity and once you complete the quest and have the rune equipped it gives you stat boots.

    The game has much depth in it even though it doesnt appear to be much at all besides a dungeon crawler with loot. Which by the way the game combines loot-whoredom and dungeon crawling perfectly. Oh have i mentioned the story for this game is awesome! I mean cyberpunk on norse myth (VIKINGS!!!) i wont go to deep into it to not reveal spoilers xp.

    Also this game is like in the top 10 best selling 360 action rpg games soo it shouldnt have such alow review score. I seriously reccommend to give it a shot i mean 10-20 dollars new at gamestop and like 20 on live market place.
    Expand
  10. DavidB
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Great game! i have no idea what is with all these other reviewers, they are all biased. This game offers alot. Great combat, character customization, seemingly unlimited amounts of weapons, armor and runes to use. The game has great graphics, with well done movies, and a good story. I bought this game because it looked interesting, despite all these negative reviews i saw, i tried it and Great game! i have no idea what is with all these other reviewers, they are all biased. This game offers alot. Great combat, character customization, seemingly unlimited amounts of weapons, armor and runes to use. The game has great graphics, with well done movies, and a good story. I bought this game because it looked interesting, despite all these negative reviews i saw, i tried it and they were all wrong. Awsome game! My only complaint was in the first 30mins. The camera is new and funny and it made me go whoa! but after a while you get used to it and it seems 100% natural. So give this game a go! Expand
  11. NickF
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    It seems as if most ratings for this game were done with little actual play. I haven't spent over 50 hours playing this game and I have only enjoyed it the more I played it. Yes the controls are not in a standard layout. Having said that, once the gamer actually puts the time in to actually learn the control scheme, it becomes a dream to handle. Leveling up is not overly complicated It seems as if most ratings for this game were done with little actual play. I haven't spent over 50 hours playing this game and I have only enjoyed it the more I played it. Yes the controls are not in a standard layout. Having said that, once the gamer actually puts the time in to actually learn the control scheme, it becomes a dream to handle. Leveling up is not overly complicated yet still provides some tough choices for the player as to what direction they wish to take their character. Admittedly, knowing some Old Norse mythology will really help people to understand the direction the game is taking. Also, if the player sits through the initial developer screens they will be greeted with an excellent cinematic depicting a very important piece of the story puzzle. I myself missed it until I left the room on start up and came back to find this gorgeous scene occurring. My only complaint was the camera system. While the camera can be controlled via the D-pad, certain areas cause the camera to be stolen away from the players control in an attempt to create a more cinematic effect during certain battle scenes. Often, this camera angle is not conducive to properly controlling the character. All in all, the game is excellent, especially after the first play through, using your well leveled character through the next run. Expand
  12. MikeB
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Bought it even considering some of the bad comments above. I really enjoyed a game with a different approach and noval game play. overall, fun to play.
  13. callums
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    i thought this was a great game from the the start to the finish. everything about it wanted you to carry on playing: the clips, the combat style, the enemies to deafeat!
  14. nathang
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    I have loved everything silicon knights has put out and this is no exception. The go out on a limb to create something with good stories and personality and all people can do is say its no Diablo. I, frankly am very thankful its not. Diablo was boring. The only fault is having to wait every time you die.
  15. ElliotI.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about futuristic vikings. UI design in the inventory management could have used some streamlining. Some minor camera and 3D quirk like enemies bugging and falling through the world. Charm quest inventory management slows down the game ALOT, as you can only have 2 active. Expand
  16. DylanB
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Reviews for this game have come off as very bias and in some cases are just flat out wrong. This is a great dungeon crawling game that may need a few tweaks that hopefully come in the sequel. While there as some small flaws overall its still addictive and incredibly fun. It seems to me most of the complainers just didn't take the time to learn the controls and aren't used to a Reviews for this game have come off as very bias and in some cases are just flat out wrong. This is a great dungeon crawling game that may need a few tweaks that hopefully come in the sequel. While there as some small flaws overall its still addictive and incredibly fun. It seems to me most of the complainers just didn't take the time to learn the controls and aren't used to a game that's a little more challenging to understand. Hacky run of the mill games seem to get better reviews everyday, whats the deal? Expand
  17. RobertoD.
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    This game is a NEED TO HAVE!!!... I do not understand all the reviewers who gave this game lower than a 7.5. I mean common. The fun I have with this game is certainly better than assassins creerd, halo3 (SP). And that is because of the music,story and gameplay. graphics are not good at all times, but are great at most of the times.the only lett down on this game is the introduction This game is a NEED TO HAVE!!!... I do not understand all the reviewers who gave this game lower than a 7.5. I mean common. The fun I have with this game is certainly better than assassins creerd, halo3 (SP). And that is because of the music,story and gameplay. graphics are not good at all times, but are great at most of the times.the only lett down on this game is the introduction concerning graphics and the ingame menu. The first hour playing this game gives you a 6 score fealing, the first 10 hours (just get to know the strategic fighting skills,story and weapons )gives you an 8 rating and after the 10 hours you play you get a 9.50 -10 rating fealing. The game is up there with the big guys!!. If HALO3 gets a 9.5..this game deserves at least a 8.5. I had more fun with this game than I had with halo3. If the fuss with the unreal engine was not there...THIS game would write history. 6.6 is TOOO LOWW..and gives me the fealing the reviewers weren't interested in the story and game at all. But I have to confess.. This game is not for generally lower educated people who do not like menus. The big difference between this game and the halo3 ,COD4,assassins creed,bioshock is that the big games give the best part in the first and last part of the single player. the best playing parts is when you are past half the single play mode and then it starts kicking in. A little late but it delivers Cannot wait for part two!!! Expand
  18. PaulG.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    Its not perfect obviously but you have to look at it for what it is most people don't like it because its to short but its not about the stories length its essentially trying to be a diablo 2 type game and if you play diablo 2 currently you can beat the game with someone helping you in 5 to 10 minutes yet it is still one of the most popular games around. So please do not look at this Its not perfect obviously but you have to look at it for what it is most people don't like it because its to short but its not about the stories length its essentially trying to be a diablo 2 type game and if you play diablo 2 currently you can beat the game with someone helping you in 5 to 10 minutes yet it is still one of the most popular games around. So please do not look at this to be similar to wow or mass effect its not and its not trying to be. Expand
  19. JamesB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I enjoy the multiplayer part of this game. I really wish they would have done a better job than just CUT done with the ending of the campaign. I like how the difficulty ramps up based upon your level. Lots of reply for me as I enjoy this mix RPG/Action type of game.
  20. JoshD.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    Addictive like no other game I have ever played. Coming from a complete PS3 fanboy.
  21. WilliamC.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    It baffles me how a great game like Too Human, recieving an aggregate score of 65 on MC, can get a worse score than absolute tripe like Lost Planet gets a 79. Reviewers cited repetitive combat and glitchy aiming systems for Too Human, but Lost Planets featured 15 hours of ridiculous boredom while facing the same badly-rendered enemies over and over again, while desperately trying to aim It baffles me how a great game like Too Human, recieving an aggregate score of 65 on MC, can get a worse score than absolute tripe like Lost Planet gets a 79. Reviewers cited repetitive combat and glitchy aiming systems for Too Human, but Lost Planets featured 15 hours of ridiculous boredom while facing the same badly-rendered enemies over and over again, while desperately trying to aim with its horrible travesty of a better games targeting system. Sniping using the d-pad? Come on! Also, while Too Human has a fairly good storyline featuring a cybernetic counterpart to mythology, with great characters and voice acting to boot, Lost Planet is a jumbled mess of a game, with see-through, forgettable characters and a predictable, done-before story that makes games like Act Zero seem like jewel-studded masterpieces. Great job, critics, you've earned a rightful place in my mind as some of the most biased, unfair reviewers I've ever read from. Expand
  22. MarcusW.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    Best co op on 360, wish it was 4 players though. And why the hell does metacritic include garbage reviewers like destructoid on their list? This game should average 7/0 at least.
  23. AB
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic bunch of fanboys they really are. What a joke. Go get a real qualification and learn how to be objective - if you've ever even heard of the word. Too Human is a good game. Difficulty scaling might mean that there are no simple runs to be had, but I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic bunch of fanboys they really are. What a joke. Go get a real qualification and learn how to be objective - if you've ever even heard of the word. Too Human is a good game. Difficulty scaling might mean that there are no simple runs to be had, but what ever happened to rising to the challenge of games with some level of difficulty? The game is not broken. The combat is not broken. The story is good and will get better. The professional reviews are a joke and a travesty. Expand
  24. VicVicious
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    I wanted to add my 2 cents just because I've been looking forward to Too Human for so long. I'm a bad news good news type of guy so let's get the bad news out of the way first..The camera is not always your friend. I understand that the camera is supposed to be an afterthought to the player but it isn't, I found myself frequently pressing the LB during combat to I wanted to add my 2 cents just because I've been looking forward to Too Human for so long. I'm a bad news good news type of guy so let's get the bad news out of the way first..The camera is not always your friend. I understand that the camera is supposed to be an afterthought to the player but it isn't, I found myself frequently pressing the LB during combat to orientate myself with enemies that were offscreen attacking me from long range, so while for a good 85% of the time the camera does a good job of keeping melee enemies in sight the other 15% was filled with offscreen missiles/arrows depleting my heath and causing great tirades of pissedness when I died. Next, being tactical does not always equal success. In Too Human there are sections where just brute offense will flat out get you killed in seconds... so it usually helps to survey the battlefield and find out what enemies need to be exterminated first to ensure success, but even when you do all that you can to wade through the waves of enemies in a certain fashion you can still die from one wrong roll or juggle which I think is pretty harsh seeing as how many enemies can be thrown at you at a time...which leads me to the next bad news. This game is easy to pick up but yet difficult to fully understand(initially) what type of power you have at your disposal, most players for the first 5-10 hours are sloshing through Too Human without really knowing what everything in their arsenal/armory does. To this day I have no idea how Strength or Dexterity help my character... could I go on the internet and find out, sure I could.. should I have to do that..no I shouldn't. Silicon Knights developed Too Human knowing that there is an audience that is already familiar with these type of terms and statuses but forgot to include some sort of explanation for the average Joe that explains these details, I figure they could have added an index in game or to the instruction manual to at least give players a reference point. So with the bad news out of the way, onto the good news... Once you have an understanding of what Too Human is and how you go about playing it, it's a blast. Most people that found the combat mundane or died frequently probably are still going through the initially learning curve that comes with Too Human (dual stick combat, battling the camera, waves of "smart" enemies), for them I say THINK, if you do not think of what you need to do in the game you will not find it fun at all because you'll be watching the Valkyrie pick your dead carcass up all too frequently. The game is a challenge, and it takes a bit to figure out enemy strengths and weaknesses. I found the game challenging and cheap at times(freezing Troll snipers!!!) , but I always realized what I did wrong after I died. There is satisfaction in mowing down wave after wave of enemies switching from melee combat to fully automatic carnage and coming out with barely a scratch that does make you feel like Baldur is a demigod. I'm going on 60 hours of playing the game so far on my second character and find that now that I know what I'm doing the game isn't as daunting as it was initially. If you're skeptical about the game at least give it a try and rent it, it's action, RPG, and strategy all rolled into one game. Expand
  25. MarkF.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, just trying to collect the weapons and armour will keep me going for ages and the combat never gets boring.
  26. BeckyC
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    To whoever said those that like it are only saying that to justify the price they paid: behave. I love the game and think it is a 'Marmite' game which is either loved or hated. I love the upgrading element and the controls are fine; in fact they add to the experience. Big battles are satisfying because you can move the stick around to go between the baddies. This is more fun To whoever said those that like it are only saying that to justify the price they paid: behave. I love the game and think it is a 'Marmite' game which is either loved or hated. I love the upgrading element and the controls are fine; in fact they add to the experience. Big battles are satisfying because you can move the stick around to go between the baddies. This is more fun than if it had been a button bashing control scheme. The camera can be frustrating on the more difficult levels so I hope this gets rectified for the sequels. Expand
  27. Glynn
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Great game, don't understand all the negative scores in the press.. their loss.
  28. DaveR.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, albeit a bit short - I don't know where the bad reviews are coming from.
  29. PaulW.
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    it may not be the most original game, but the story really drag you into the action, and so far having spent a whole day playing the game, I haven't got bored with it at all, in fact i cant wait to finish work and get back to the action.
  30. Bob
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. I haven't regretted it since. This game, through its developers, is standing strong by its unique and "Simple in concept, difficult to master" control scheme, storytelling, class balancing and for that I for one am thankful. While Dennis Dyack may be outspoken and forward thinking (and in some reviewers eyes, insane), it doesn't take away from the fact that he does have a love of this industry and it shows in the work of Silicon Knights. I for one have recommended this to every gaming friend I have. Expand
  31. KevinA.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    Simply, amazing. This game is getting unfairly reviewed by the press who are all afraid to give it high marks...try comparing it to Mass Effect. That game had a billion technical flaws...and still got huge review scores. This game was clearly treated differently and was punished for no good reason.
  32. KevF
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    great game no way does it deserve a 1! people hype games up too much expecting greatness and are disappointed because it isn't one of the best if u don't expect greatness this game excels.
  33. BrianV.
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent action game with rewarding controls and fun loot. I enjoyed the story and felt is was a good introduction to the trilogy.
  34. NicholasL.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    This game is an excellent game, not the most amazing game ever made, but it hits a bar of excellence that "critical" reviewers are completely oblivious to, and I don't understand it.
  35. AndrewP.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    A few issues and out of date production values keep this title from being a bold new take on the Action/RPG dungeon crawler. The story is an inventive re-imagining of Norse Myth and the Right Stick combat keeps simple button mashing combat akin to the well received Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance series from approaching the normal tedium. Deep item customization options, skill trees and A few issues and out of date production values keep this title from being a bold new take on the Action/RPG dungeon crawler. The story is an inventive re-imagining of Norse Myth and the Right Stick combat keeps simple button mashing combat akin to the well received Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance series from approaching the normal tedium. Deep item customization options, skill trees and 5 classes allow various approaches to slaughtering mass enemies in the quest for better loot. Expand
  36. ChrisB.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Great game. Takes a while to get used to but I feel that the controls are superior to the traditional button mashing twitch fest. The loot system and other aspects give the game great repeatability.
  37. AndreC.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    This game is fun and that's what you want out of a video game.
  38. KallenP.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Misunderstood but tons of fun can be achieved if you stick with it.
  39. RobS.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Art, gameplay, story: all very original and excellent! The first game to keep my up hours on end, hooked, since oblivion or diablo. If you're tired of derivative crap like Halo 3, check this out.
  40. NickA.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This game really doesn't deserve all the hate it's getting. Most people are quick to write this game off as terrible without really giving a chance. This game is a really fun action RPG with tons of great loot. You can spend hours leveling up and collecting items even after you complete the story. Co-op is great too.
  41. JohnM.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    Reviewers SUCK - This game, while not perfect, is totally fun, and way better than many of the other AAA games that reviewers give 9-10 scores.
  42. JeebusJ.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable and allows for its players to "dumb" down its gameplay to the lowest common denominator. The more thought and consideration you put into the game the more you see its subtly intricacies. Expand
  43. AaronC.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play through the game and get great gear. My only negative is that with the way the game is designed, death means nothing, which actually works during the normal game progression as you will die many times. However, the only change I would make is that death actually meant something during a boss fight. Currently, if you die during a boss fight, you just come back to life and the boss is at the same health leve as when you died so when you kill a boss, there is no real sense of accomplishment as you will always defeat the boss no matter what, it might just take a few deaths. I would like to see the bosses health get reset when you die and you have to restart the Boss fight, so that way once you do kill them, you feel like you have accomplished something. Expand
  44. HobbesC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    This game rocks why does everyone hate this game? why don't you try playing through it and getting used to the controls first.
  45. TobiasZ.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Perfect mix of Hack'n'Slay and RPG. I don't understand the bad reviews, i think its very good in this genre.
  46. JorgeM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    This game does not deserve 6s or 7s. It has some flaws, but once you get a feel for the controls, is a blast! It's one of the most addicting games I have played.
  47. JoeC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get around, though - the right stick changes what you're targeting and quickly lifting your finger from the trigger lets it quickly auto target the next enemy. Could this game be better? Sure. But I'm still having tons of fun. I can easily see myself playing through more than once. Expand
  48. JohnTenerek
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Only played for a few hours, but I really like this game. Gets better when u upgrade skills and gears. Lots of fun to be had in the fighting and the game looks great. Stable good fps so far. The game has a interesting mix of the old Norse myth and modern world, even future tech. Cannot understand why some official sites etc give this game a far worse score then games like spiderman, hulk etc
  49. DaveM
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Not really sure what game people have been playing who've given this such terrible scores & reviews. I think it's a blast -- sure, it's not perfect, but I have fun playing it, and that's all I really care about in the end.
  50. MikeA.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Give the game a chance it is really fun and it has a lot of customization.
  51. RobbM.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    The game is great if you like collecting equipment and customizing your character, if not it probably won't do anything for you.
  52. JabeP
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    What's with the low scores? I really enjoyed this game. Maybe I shouldn't get too angry about reviews because everyone has a different opinion. Believe what the players think instead.
  53. Faith
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This epic mix of cybernetics and norse mythology will have you bashing through hordes of enemies with Baldur, the newest bad-ass in the relm of the Gods and loving every minute of it.
    Don't listen to the hater hype. The minor flaws that Too Human sports will soon be forgotten once you get lost in its wicked storyline, amazing environments, and endless kickass loot
  54. YuriL.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Graphics check, solid story check, good combat check, incredibly detailed inventory system double check.very good, don't believe the bad hype you will level up in no time and is sooo addictive you wont want to stop for months.
  55. MarkV.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Basically this is gaming crack for me. I will play though it for a while and then pull it back out from time to time to level my guys up even further. A great game to just pull out at any give time and just go on a rampage.
  56. BartJ
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    No its not worth a nine but it also isn't worth the low score that others have put down. This game is simply a blast with a friend especially if you like Diablo 2. Huge amount of armour, weapons etc. Controls are innovative and great once you take the time to learn them. Repetitive? What game isn't? This game is truly a gem and needs to be given a chance.
  57. KenH
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game doesn't end until you decide to stop playing. The story content lasts about 15 hours with 2 planned expansions. 5 Character classes that in actuality DO play differently once you understand the game.. Too Human will swallow you up and spit you out if you do not bring your best game play. It is unforgiving and has a few targeting issues that can easily be patched out and improved on. Remember seeing Blade Runner for the first time? That's the feeling I got playing and experiencing Too Human. The meld of Norse Fantasy, with cyberpunk sci fi is well done. The game tells a story not only through animations, but through chance encounters, overheard conversations, and environment driven content that is there if you search for it. If you rush through the story mode, you will miss a lot. Explore cyberspace. The other great thing Too Human has accomplished is plotting out how console Diablo style games can be controlled with a joystick. It's about time this genre landed firmly on consoles, and Too Human does a great job for a stab at making it work. I look forward to their next expansion for the game and any downloadable content. Any game that makes you want to keep playing after the story ends is worthy of a try. Check it out! Expand
  58. WarrenB.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This game is under-rated by the journalistic elite. I usually don't question how web sites rate games, but honestly I don't understand most of the hate towards this game. i really really like it and can't recommend it enough.
  59. JamesJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    I enjoy the game! It is just a tad confusing at first figuring out how the runes work but once controlled you have some nice upgrades.
  60. YuniB.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    awesome game, it's very addictive. some of the so called 'pro' reviews are a joke, i don't think they even played it for more than 2 hours. the game is a blast!!!!
  61. Sados.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    This game is definitely made for a person that enjoy grinding and loots, which pretty exciting co-op options and lots of customization. IF you are into that kind of game, you will love it!
  62. dudedugan
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    To all the people who dont get it, your loss! this game is great, its basically a 3D Diablo II meets WOW for the action RPG gamer, great fun and I havent even finished the game yet, I dove headlong into Co-op with a pal and we played 4.5 hours and had a blast
  63. BlayneW.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Far better than I expected, the demo didn't do it justice. Having a lot of fun, it's a good sci-fi diablo-esque game.
  64. GarretJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    it has flaws but the fun factor is off the charts A loot me up worth playing as a SP but MP is where it shines Try the demo first, play it twice. Then decide (Berserker all the way).
  65. EasyLay.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was c**p until I spent the time learning the controls and looking into the rpg element a bit more. Tons of replay value and I haven't even gone online yet! Could this be another "Monster Hunter"? ie. so-so reviews but huge fanbase?
  66. MethodS.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    This game is fun as hell, online or single player. Anyone who says this game sucked is a noob who can't learn new control schemes or complex menus and skill trees. I'm happy that a game that seems like it was built for the PC translates so well to a console. Too Human FTW!
  67. JoshuaT.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game is actually a lot more playable than most people want to give it credit for, and it's actually been quite addictive with the loot, the game has its faults, but even considering that, it's really fun!
  68. BobG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best game I've played in awhile!!! I don't care about the morons or the bad reviews, the game is the most fun I've had in awhile. Sure it has flaws, but when it comes down to it, i can't stop playing! And that's saying a lot for me.
  69. JohnO.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I have just beat the game with a Champion and this is by far one of if not the best game I've played this year.
  70. ZaneB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Everyone needs to give this game a chance, it is pure genius! Trust the camera, and it will work well, spend half an hour playing and the combat is smooth and well controlled, the best part is the LOOT!!!!
  71. JohnH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    Don't believe the anti-hype this is a solid game. It breaks the mold of pigeon hole gaming and does it quite well. Take time to get acquainted with the controls and you'll have a blast.
  72. AlekX.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    A very solid action RPG with a difficult to learn, but fun combat system. Don't expect this game to dazzle you with its narrative though, because the story is pretty darn bad.
  73. PaulS.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is yet another Silicon Knights masterpiece. While the mainstream reviewer "doesn't get it" - it's a fantastic title that will be loved by anyone with an open mind, and open heart.
  74. TimothyC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    People are to hard on this game. the 360 has nothing like it so far and is a very nice game. I found no problem with the targeting system , i think people who have a problem with it need to invest some time into LEARNING how to play this game. This game is about leveling up and collecting kick ass loot and building a toon. Story should be minimal anyways like in D2.
  75. RanbirC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Ok, isn't perfection but it is still a decent, fun game. Why does everyone expect anything less than a 9 to be a failure of a game? Silly standards.
  76. Faith
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    I've been playing this game for 4 days now and I love it. The story is interesting and the cybernetic world meets norse mythology mixes well. The combat system is great and unique. The loot drop system is addictive.
  77. AnonymousMC
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Thiis game proves that many people no longer have the attention spans to learn a new style of play, nor are they able to understand a storyline that doesn't neatly tie up right away. Does anyone look at the whole picture anymore? And when did keeping a game challenging become a bad thing?
  78. StevenO
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent replayability and kept me interested the whole way through and better yet that its not no 5 hour game more like a 80-100 hour game to do everything. If your a fan of rpgs or mythology definitely buy this game but everyone should at least rent it to see how they like it. Expand
  79. JohnT.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is a fantastic addition to Silicon Knights epic lineup, and an addictive must-have for an action-RPG fan.
  80. JustinP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  81. LesB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Man it is a good game but really has it's flaws hopefully SK fixes them on TH2 and that game blows this one out of the water, still enjoying it though.
  82. Lucas
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game. If you love RPGs and Action games, you will deff love this game. It does a lot of things right and minor things wrong.Great game.
  83. BobS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    This game fast, fun and best of all...unique. I really enjoyed playing the demo. I understand this game might not be for everyone. The controls definitely take some getting used to. Overall the graphics are on par with other games out at this time. Co-op is way too much fun. The story is a little weak, but you almost expect that these days.
  84. StevenB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Absolutely love this game - will recommend to all of my friends.
  85. MiguekS.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Its refreshing innovative gorgeous loot stroy everything a rpg should have and more!
  86. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    Don't let anyone fool you: this game has a few flaws. However, I have never played a game with as much upside. The gameplay is hands down amazing. I felt more like a god in this game than in both God of War and God of War II. Despite its frustrations, I think that is the best compliment I can give it.
  87. JoshJ.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Great and new experience on the 360. Graphics are good, the colors are vibrant, and the game has so much depth and gameplay it will last you at least 50 hours.
  88. JesseV
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    best and only dungeon crawler on the 360 so far. Epic loot awaits!
  89. JustinP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  90. LoganD.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game, a must buy. It's already easily playable for 80+ hours, and then theres coop, DLC(New classes will be downloadable!), and bringing your character(s) across each game, each time leveling 50 times.
  91. BenoitR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    9
    After Ten Years of Dev Too Human finally became an instant classic. In a Way only PSO on dreamcast and Diablo II on PC made it, that's the perfect choice for hack and slash / rpg fan, with a lot of packed action, deep gameplay, deep customization and strong story. The minus goes for the camera which need time to get used too, and the coop which is for now on with only two players. After Ten Years of Dev Too Human finally became an instant classic. In a Way only PSO on dreamcast and Diablo II on PC made it, that's the perfect choice for hack and slash / rpg fan, with a lot of packed action, deep gameplay, deep customization and strong story. The minus goes for the camera which need time to get used too, and the coop which is for now on with only two players. Must buy anyway. Expand
  92. WaitingforSomethinggrand
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    Solid demo and first in a trilogy. How long has it taken for any company to even approach a game such as Too Human on any console. SK knights took a chance and I hope it pays off in platinum. Loot, frentic combat, skills, upgrades, Co-Op and an interesting story. Try it.. you might like it.
  93. ThomasK.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    Just played the demo. The Controlls are very different and confusing first, but if you give this game a chance the seem to work pretty well after a few hours. Some litte FPS issues but the graphics and the overall style is nice.
  94. [Anonymous]
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    takes some getting used to, i like the story, not sure if everyone else will and you get a lot of play value with all the characters and styles.
  95. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    I absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downsideI absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downside is the wonky camera, but its really easy to adjust to after a while. The weapon and armor system is great too. With the amount of customization you can do there are hundreds of possible weapon and armor combos, as well as adding Runes to the items, just giving you one more way to pack a punch. I stand by my score of 10 because this game is amazing in every way. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.