User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 207

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Best transformers game ever ! I can play it again at anytime,but you have to play it to find out what im talking about so go play it and enjoy every second of it.
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Transformers war for cybertron was an interesting game if you are looking at delving into a transformers origins type story, journeying through megatrons rise to power and the fall of the autobots on cybertron the story was entertaining and a decent insight into the origins. The gameplay however was entertaining without ever being thrilling, if you are interested in the transformers story you may enjoy it but if not you still may enjoy it but could probably find something more engaging. Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    10
    I usually don't like licensed video games. but the transformers games, I usually find ranging from decent to perfect. in WFC's case, it's perfect. The story is very well written for the game. I liked going back to Cybertron and seeing this incarnation of how the Transformers left Cybertron. In all honesty, I find this plot more enjoyable than any of the movies, as much as I like the movies. Usually, I don't play 3rd person shooters, but WFC's gameplay is one of those TPS games that I really enjoy. The gameplay is simple and fun, and that's how I think gameplay in a Transformers game should be, not all kinds of combat and special moves. All WFC adds is special abilities only certain characters can do, and while these are helpful, I don't find myself using them that often, with the exception of the dodge attack. The graphics are very nice for a transformers game. it adds a lot more color then previous titles, but sometimes I feel like the graphics are done TOO well. Sometimes there may be spots where too much is happening in the background, and this is hard to pay attention to when you're in combat. The multiplayer is quite fun. My only real complaint is that there wasn't much customization for bots: just recoloring other transformers. Escalation is my favorite part of the game. I like many co-op survival games, like call of duty zombies or left 4 dead. Escalation is no exception. Its gameplay is addicting, and I'm constantly trying to get more points to survive. Overall, Transformers: War for Cybertron is one of those rare licensed games that really works. The story is great, the graphics are beautiful, and escalation mode adds a lot to the fun afterwards. This is one game I recommend to anyone. Expand
  4. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. War for Cybertron impresses with an excellent single-player campaign with full co-op support, the included Horde-alike Escalation mode, and surprisingly deep and inventive online multiplayer component. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    even though the campaign was a bit stale, the escalation and action itself through it made it all the more fun.
    one thing I enjoyed was the dialogue and voice actor choices. they seemed to be a better fit than the originals for most of them (with the obvious exceptions being optimus prime and megatron of course)
    The multiplayer is very solid, and escalation mode is even more so.

    The
    only problems I found with it were the array of characters in the game, it just seemed undermined for a game about transformers, there are too many to count, but they only had so many of them, granted they were ones that we all know and love.
    another problem with this game was how long it took to beat it, if youre a well seasoned war game player, the campaign only would take you a few hours to beat, on every difficulty.

    so this game is, in this random dude's opinion, 8 out of 10
    (just so long as you make the game last lol)
    Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    This is one of those games that, while they could have done more with it, it's the best modern use of the IP. This is great. Fall of Cybertron will be better.
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is amazing not as much as Transformers Armada with he sand box exploring byt as similar controls and game play style. The multilayer is addictive but sadly ended when the big shot games came out right after it like black ops and halo reach. If it wasn't for those games the multilayer would be full right now but overall the game is amazing and the plot is excellent
  8. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Absolutely loved this game. I am a huge Transformers fan, especially the G1 that I grew up with which this game is based on, but I'm not going to give a game a good score simply based on the source material. I've played the dozens of horrible TF game before this one and it's safe to say this is the shining example of how a TF game can work. The story is great and introduces all of the original characters in interesting ways. The gameplay is fast and hectic online; switching from bot to vehicle mode is a blast in the middle of a heated firefight. All of the classes are pretty even online after playing all them. The main issues with the game come from redundancy in the campaign. Many of the stages seem to be the same with color schemes for ares showing little variation as well as similar scenery. Ammo is also very scarce during the campaign. Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This game... this licensed video game... what is it? I'll tell you what it is. Transformers: War for Cybertron is a near masterpiece, and indubitably this year's Arkham Asylum. People (and I) kept hoping and praying that it would be, that this game might turn out to do for Transformers games what Arkham Asylum did for Batman games. And they were right. Absolutely. Though, to be completely honest... I actually enjoyed this game much more then Arkham Asylum. Arkham Asylum was a good game and quite fun but in hindsight, a lot of the gameplay was composed of overly simplistic mechanics that wore thin. To become completely silent, you just had to crouch. To grab a guy from above, you just had to press a button prompt. To swing to a gargoyle, you just had to aim in the general direction of one. War for Cybertron isn't exactly an incredibly experimental game with tricks up every one of its sleeves, but it does combine 3rd person shooting with vehicular transformation in a very fresh and exciting way that always feels satisfying and true to its universe. Who knew High Moon Studios could come up with this amazing experience? Hell, who had even heard of High Moon before? I sure hadn't. Apparently they'd gone and made some sort of Bourne Conspiracy game that reviewed alright, but that's hardly an impressive pedigree. To follow up that effort with WFC is a truly impressive feat. It's too bad it had to come out in the same year as ME2, because, so far... it could've been my GOTY otherwise. It's that good. This is at last the Transformers game I've been waiting for. The Transformers game every Transformers fan had been waiting for, just as The Dark Knight was the film every Batman fan had been waiting for. There's a pageantry and a majesty to the whole affair. It's a great shooter, period. Matt Tieger always seemed like a really nice guy in all the interviews on the various gaming websites and now we've found out he isn't just a decent fella with a predilection for shaving his head. The dude can actually back that up with some crazy good game directin'. In fact, I dub him Tiegerus Prime now. After the twin trainwrecks that were Transformers Revenge of the Fallen and Transformers: Animated, him and the rest of High Moon Studios really did light our darkest hour with this game. The combat, the shooting... it all feels solid. But of course, there isn't just 3rd person shooting. There's also thrilling flight sequences in vehicle mode, as well as environmental puzzles to solve. Anyone who liked Descent will love the seeker sequences in this campaign. Both Decepticon and Autobot have a chapter completely dedicated to flying around in Descent fashion. If you thought the gameplay videos of space combat in Halo Reach were amazing, I'm sorry... but it's really nothing compared to the stuff in this game. It'll blow your **** mind. What I'm gonna focus on now are the little things, the small details that really make this game great and better than the sum of its parts. In an interview I watched a while back, Mr. Tiegerus Prime described how picking up a weapon would actually change the little lights glowing on the weapon itself. If you were an Autobot, the weapon lights would change to red, reflecting its allegiance had changed to Autobot. It's not anything all that important or compelling, but that was just a little detail that really spoke about the dedication and love that went into this product. It's a little thing, but you know what... those little things, they add up, and they end up as the polish in a game that really allows it to rise up above its peers and shine forth as something special, something to be remembered in the halls of glory. Sorry, that last bit was me relapsing into some Star Trek episode about Klingons. But uh, you get what I mean. Another example? The fanservice sprinkled throughout the campaign. My mouth dropped open when Ironhide said the universal greeting. **** insane that they would include that in there. It was the sort of surprise that's wholly unexpected but in the best way possible. Just, just great fanservice. There's others, like when I ran into a **** energon cube vending machine. No real purpose, since you can get energon cubes any old way... but they actually thought to have one dispensed from a Cybertronian vending machine. Got a chuckle out of me. Oh yes, a good early example was in the first chapter, when Megatron went onboard the space station. I liked the touch of them letting you kill all the Autobot prisoners in restraints if you wanted to. Really made you feel like you were Megatron, sparing no one. I do believe I smashed them all to pieces with my melee attack. Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2011
    0
    LOL, these scores are too high. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BUY THIS GARBAGE. you have been warned LOL...
    awww man, i gotta do 150 characters minimum? ok here it goes:
    Looks: terrible, way to b lazy craptivision
    Mechanics: not enough ammo, "powers" are lame, lackluster, all basically the same
    umm, what else. ok, basically u run from one cybertron themed room to another fighting generic
    robots. sub-par graphics, it really is all that is wrong with movie games. if u absolutely must play all transformers games then please just rent it so they dont get any money at l;east, but seriously, this is beyond a "skip", this deserves serious repercussions. seriously craptivision, how hard is it to just make a decent game? Expand
  11. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    Plus Side: Stunning graphics and sounds. Interesting take on the Transformers franchise (how it all happened from the beginning). Nice voice overs and epic scenes. Transformers can transform at anytime you want. Be both Autobots and Decepticons. Down side: Too linear and level design could be open world. Short game to finish for both Autobots and Decepticons. Not enough Transformers in the game to choose from on both sides. But still is epic fun to play as your favorite characters from the original cartoon. I recommended this game to any Transformer fan or new person introduced to the franchise. Hopefully the creators of this one will release a sequel. Expand
  12. Oct 3, 2010
    3
    I started playing this game positively, I'd heard it was like gears of war with robots. But, sadly, no. Before i'd played the campaign i'd previously played the multiplayer which I enjoyed. If I was rating the multiplayer i'd give it 7/10. But when I got round to playing the campaign at a friends house I was disapointed. The robots were the same colours as the extremely boring and bland setting. Not just the autobots but the decepticons aswell. The combat is just boring and the weapons are just unsatisfying. One reedeming quality was the vehicles that was pretty innovative. But overall its a terrible game and thats coming from a transformers fan! Expand
  13. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    This is game should Not be missed. The campaign is Epic and Multiplayer is a Blast.

    The campaign puts you in the shoes of the Autobot & Decepticons and bring you back to memory lane especially during the boss fights which is exciting and fun. Example.. fighting Soundwave and his minions like Laser-Beak, Rumble, etc... Multi-player is surprisingly good. It's fast and exciting. You owe it
    to yourself to try out the Demo. Unfortunately, the multi-player drops whenever the Host leaves the game although Joining a game is Quick (even faster the MW2). It's unfortunate so many ppl is stuck with MW2 and Halo, that its awesome Multi-player experience will be missed by many. Expand
  14. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Simply one of the best online multiplayer gaming experiences you can have. Playing it reminds me of the awe I experienced when playing halo or gears of war for the first time. The 4 different robot classes with a variety of abilities that increase with experince only serve to add to the fun as, essentially, WRC is probably the best pick up and play mulitplayer game on the xbox360 right now. I must say that the buzz of transformation from robot to vehicle and back never gets boring and the skill of timing this in the game is an essential weapon. Special mention also need to go to Hign Noon Studio's sound FX team who, when coming up with the Scientist's Shockwave sound bite they have engineered the greatest in gaming history too...it simply is that impressive, especially in Dolby DTS 2. I accept that the campaign mode is indeed limited but that's missing the point, because it's a multiplayer masterpiece. Expand
  15. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This is one of those games that, while they could have done more with it, it's the best modern use of the IP. This is great. Fall of Cybertron will be better.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. It's not subtle or clever, but this unashamedly uncomplicated shooter is one of the best of the year.
  2. 75
    As an action game, this can't contend with the top dogs in the genre, but that's a moot point, because it isn't just an action game. It's a Transformers game. And Transformers: War for Cybertron is better than anything else we've seen from the license before.
  3. 85
    Transformers: The War for Cybertron is definitely a love-letter to fans of the G1 cartoon series. All of your favorite characters are here and somehow mixed in with a genuinely fun and competent shooter.