• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tropico 4 sees you return as El Presidente, the tyrannical (or benevolent) dictator of the island paradise of Tropico. The world is changing and Tropico is moving with the times � geographical powers rise and fall and the world market is dominated by new players with new demands andTropico 4 sees you return as El Presidente, the tyrannical (or benevolent) dictator of the island paradise of Tropico. The world is changing and Tropico is moving with the times � geographical powers rise and fall and the world market is dominated by new players with new demands and offers -- and you, as El Presidente, face a whole new set of challenges. If you are to triumph over your naysayers you will need to gain as much support from your people as possible. Your decisions will shape the future of your nation, and more importantly, the size of your Swiss bank account. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    91
    With the sheer amount of included content and near flawless transition from PC to console, Tropico 4 is a highly recommended destination for an extended vacation.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    85
    Although there are some gameplay moments if gamers aren't especially careful with expenditures early in the game when some dark clouds of boredom while waiting for some moola to multiply in the national vaults can rain on a sunny day of tropical island ruling, those who enjoy SimCity or Civilization-style resource management gameplay with a heavy dose of political behind-closed-doors wheeling and dealing will enjoy an excursion to Tropico in its latest rendition.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    83
    If you don't have the ability to play Tropico 4 on the PC, I think the Xbox 360 version of the game is certainly suitable enough. It's still a better experience on the PC, especially when it comes to both controls and visuals, but the 360 does the job, and the controller set-up is easy enough to learn.
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    The controls, simply, work. These kinds of games have had varying amounts of success on the console this generation, with things like Command & Conquer Red Alert 3 coming close but just not being good enough, but in this case Tropico makes a great case for these once PC-only genres appearing on console.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    78
    Tropico 4 is a great game that suffers from a few regrettable issues on console. Assuming the sound problems get fixed (or you install it to your Xbox's hard drive), I heartily recommend it as the simulation/city-builder of choice on 360 despite the less-than-ideal gamepad interface.
  6. Jan 12, 2012
    72
    There's never been a better time to get into politics. [Feb 2012, p.101]
  7. 60
    Little has changed. [Issue#79, p.87]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    A great city building game full of things to do. A fun campaign and an amazing sandbox mode, create tourist traps, industrial wastelands,A great city building game full of things to do. A fun campaign and an amazing sandbox mode, create tourist traps, industrial wastelands, huge metropolises, or agriculture islands, way better then sim city enact laws, set taxes, be despicable, and create your dream island! Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Plenty of stuff to do in this town building sim. Because the population of your islands is really small (under 1000), each citizen is uniquePlenty of stuff to do in this town building sim. Because the population of your islands is really small (under 1000), each citizen is unique in it's political affiliations and preferences. The game consists of making money while keeping your citizens happy.

    There's plenty of humor, from the sexual innuendos of your high school teacher to your advisor constantly defending your actions. Great voice acting all around.

    After playing on over 10 islands, I still have not built every single building, there's over 50 of them, and the expansion strategy seems to be really deep. The best city building game I've seen yet.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    I wasn't sure about this game, so I gave it a try. I fell in love with this game! I could not put the controller down. This game was like myI wasn't sure about this game, so I gave it a try. I fell in love with this game! I could not put the controller down. This game was like my escape from reality. The graphics are quite good. There are tons of missions. You take on the role of "El Presidente" and manage your very own island and take part in politics. The storyline is captivating. From time to time, your advisors or political figures from other nations will have a proposal for you, and the game shows text boxes {next to a character} that you get to read. You have all these different groups like environmentalists, religious, etc. that you try to win favor from. You make decisions {one of four options you can choose from during a mission} in the game that will benefit you but could result in consequences. The game is all about staying in power; that's the main objective. Tropico 4 is one of the best games I've played. I played it for 10 consecutive days. The game is very fun and engaging; it was well worth my time. Try it. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    So I'm guessing that most of the negative reviews on here are about Tropico 4 hardly being any different from Tropico 3? Well, I never playedSo I'm guessing that most of the negative reviews on here are about Tropico 4 hardly being any different from Tropico 3? Well, I never played Tropico 3, so I can say that I really like playing Tropico 4. It scratches that building simulator need that we all have, it is challenging as SimCity, has many scenarios to play out, humerous and addictive. The drawbacks that I found in the game are the road making ability, the lack of altering terrain, and the fact that your workers are trucked to a work site but end up walking back. When all is said, I'll be keeping and revisiting this game on my Xbox for a long, long time. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    While I do not usually approve if a company slaps a new coat of paint and a few tweaks to a game and sells it as new, this is not the caseWhile I do not usually approve if a company slaps a new coat of paint and a few tweaks to a game and sells it as new, this is not the case with Tropico 4. On the surface it appears to be an "updated" Tropico 3. The game has taken a complete overhaul on the Xbox 360 with almost every aspect working way better than before. The roadways build correctly, the quick-build option can help immensely, and the new buildings completely change the game. The old structures function largely the same with a few notable improvements, such as roadway access for some buildings or the ability to upgrade Tenements with A/C. The improvements to the game are vast but you are likely to not notice at first. Do yourself a favor and buy Tropico 4. In about 3ish hours when you get done with your game, you'll be thanking me. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    Tropico4 isn't that much different from Tropico 3, which isn't a terrible thing. The game is definitely fun and worth your time. I had threeTropico4 isn't that much different from Tropico 3, which isn't a terrible thing. The game is definitely fun and worth your time. I had three big issues with Tropico 3. First, the tutorial was not sufficient, and the learning curve was brutal. Second, the game had a tendency to throw random disasters your way with no warning. There were times when it felt like a fickle god was out to get you, and there was little you could do to prepare. Third and finally, a lot of the missions involved an arbitrary clock. Once you had stabilized your island, reaching a point that your industries were so diversified that you actually were able to comfortably weather any crisis the game could muster, you were left running out the clock, with little to do but maintain what you had built and wait. I can't really say if Tropico 4 has solved the first issue. Having played through Tropico 3, I came to the game well prepared to face its challenges. The second issue has largely been resolved, there are still disasters but it felt like you were given a little more warning, a chance to prepare and think ahead. The third issue was almost entirely resolved; The game throws you a series of challenges, many of which might be optional, but if you ignore all the optional challenges you find yourself in hot water. Unfortunately, Tropico 4 also misses out on one of the great strengths of its predecessor. The humor just isn't as good. Tropico 3 was distinguished from other simulators by its sense of humor and Tropico 4 is just not quite as funny. I miss Betty Boom complaining about the fact that my wind turbines rotate with, rather than against, the wind. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    As a fan of the previous installments i feel insulted that Kalypso would make a "new" Tropico game and call it the 4th installment. This gamesAs a fan of the previous installments i feel insulted that Kalypso would make a "new" Tropico game and call it the 4th installment. This games in-game menu's, building, characters, design is almost identical to the previous game. Download the glicthy demo if it is still available and see for yourself. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews