User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 83
  2. Negative: 23 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinC
    Feb 13, 2009
    5
    Saw this in the bargain bin for 9.99 so can t complain too much but honestly this looks like a ps1 game. Enemies run into walls and you can stand a few feet away and take careful aim while they spray bullets everywhere but at you. In terms of finish it is woefully bad. However, if youre looking for some fairly unchallenging blasting for a few hours and you can get it for under a ten like Saw this in the bargain bin for 9.99 so can t complain too much but honestly this looks like a ps1 game. Enemies run into walls and you can stand a few feet away and take careful aim while they spray bullets everywhere but at you. In terms of finish it is woefully bad. However, if youre looking for some fairly unchallenging blasting for a few hours and you can get it for under a ten like I did, then its probably worth it but you might have more fun out of a game of cards. Expand
  2. NickM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    7
    The developer said that they weren't trying to compete with the fps games that were good, like cod4 or great like crysis. They just wanted people to have fun, and they got that, its a fun game, not great
  3. RavenWolfx
    Feb 11, 2008
    2
    Wow, this is one crappy game that I am extremely disappointed in. I had some reasonable hopes for this game that were completely destroyed by a total and utter lack of quality of any kind. The graphics are poor, adopting sort of a more cartoon/animated feel as opposed to the more realistic games that have lately come out. The story was pretty shoddy, with the typical "I'm an average Wow, this is one crappy game that I am extremely disappointed in. I had some reasonable hopes for this game that were completely destroyed by a total and utter lack of quality of any kind. The graphics are poor, adopting sort of a more cartoon/animated feel as opposed to the more realistic games that have lately come out. The story was pretty shoddy, with the typical "I'm an average joe, I don't know how to fight wars!" but somehow still manages kill hordes of incompetent nazis. The hit detection is amazingly frustratiing, with seemly invisible walls (no other way to really describe it) protecting the nazis that are seeking cover. A good example of this is when a nazi is crouch behind a boulder; despite crouching, I can still see a good two-thirds of his torso, but none of the shots hit when I try to shoot above the boulder to hit him. Look, I'm a pretty good shot in video games, so I'm pretty damn sure it wasn't user error. I ended up running over to him to blast him a point blank, but I did have to go around the boulder before doing so. The last nail in the coffin would be the terrible AI. I watched a nazi soldier shoot at me for a good 3-5 minutes, which isn't remarkable in itself, but what was remarkable was that during that entire time a fellow nazi was beating the crap out of him, meleeing him constantly while his "teammate" was attempting to shoot me. Eventually I put them out of their (and my) miseries. Don't buy this game. Rent if you REALLY want to suffer and you are a masochist. Or just download the demo. Stay away from this game. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    4
    The gameplay and graphics are too outdated. Its ok for xbox 1 but not xbox 360.
  5. Apr 16, 2015
    7
    Now that the Xbox 360 is an old system with the Xbox One out, I thought I'd give a few games that weren't very well received a chance. Among those games was Turning Point: Fall of Liberty, which is honestly a pleasant surprise for me. While I only paid $0.99 for this game at Gamestop, I would've happily paid a little more. That's not to say this is a great game, because it honestly isn't.Now that the Xbox 360 is an old system with the Xbox One out, I thought I'd give a few games that weren't very well received a chance. Among those games was Turning Point: Fall of Liberty, which is honestly a pleasant surprise for me. While I only paid $0.99 for this game at Gamestop, I would've happily paid a little more. That's not to say this is a great game, because it honestly isn't. This game has graphics that couldn't compete with games at the time, characters that looked a bit cartoony (reminds me of characters in Timesplitters 2 and Future Perfect), and it's a rather short game at about 5 or so hours long. If you look at this game as a PS2 game, it holds up more favorably. I recently played through Call of Duty: Finest Hour, which was a game I really liked back in the day, but it is a lot rougher than a lot of us remember. If you compare it to that game, Turning Point is similar to that. Imperfect but fun at the right price. Curiously, both of these games were also created by the same developer. Many people will say that Turning Point is awful due to its drawbacks, and I can't say that they're wrong, but I thoroughly enjoyed the game despite those said drawbacks. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Please do not bother, I bought this game for 1 dollar and returned it, admittedly I did play through the whole 4 or so hours it takes to finish this game however a glitch/disc error in the last stage prevented me from finishing, I could go on pointing out what was wrong with it but I will just leave it at everything.
  7. ChaseL.
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    Fun single player, multiplayer not working on ps3 but still a fun singleplayer campaign.
  8. LeightonB.
    May 8, 2008
    5
    Not bad, just not good either. It's an average FPS, no point buying this as there are too many really good games out there at the moment.
  9. EmilM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    4
    What a waste of my $60 plus. Game is pathetic.
  10. AndyJ.
    Mar 14, 2008
    2
    Will someone please tell me how to get my money back on this disaster of a game? The promise of Turning Point: Fall of Liberty was high. The screenshots and early images were powerful and created a compelling reason to pick up a gun and fight. Even if you were tired of clipping Nazis on the battlefields of Europe, this twist of alternate history presented a setting from which to tell an Will someone please tell me how to get my money back on this disaster of a game? The promise of Turning Point: Fall of Liberty was high. The screenshots and early images were powerful and created a compelling reason to pick up a gun and fight. Even if you were tired of clipping Nazis on the battlefields of Europe, this twist of alternate history presented a setting from which to tell an immersive tale. However, the developer failed to translate the outrage of the early images into the final product and thereby left the player behind. The only outrage with Turning Point is that of the consumer. Compare this to the movie Red Dawn. The story opens with the lead characters Expand
  11. SamuelW.
    Mar 3, 2008
    2
    Honestly, how do you screw up a game about shooting Nazis in New York? This is a horribly unplayable game - it's buggy beyond belief (did they even playtest it before shoving it out the door?), the AI is the worst I've seen in a next ten shooter (I found the best tactic is the "Looney Tunes" approach, just run around any random box and wait for them to chase you), the aiming is Honestly, how do you screw up a game about shooting Nazis in New York? This is a horribly unplayable game - it's buggy beyond belief (did they even playtest it before shoving it out the door?), the AI is the worst I've seen in a next ten shooter (I found the best tactic is the "Looney Tunes" approach, just run around any random box and wait for them to chase you), the aiming is frustratingly unresponsive, and the game itself is a series of annoying "survival" missions against wave after wave of infantry blended with pointless "go here and do this" tasks with no real sense of accomplishment. All these awful aspects make this game nigh unplayable, which is incredibly sad because this game was supposed to make me soil my Alternative History shorts. EPIC FAIL. Expand
  12. MmanMman
    Mar 6, 2008
    0
    Terrible game, what can you do. People make better mods than this peace of crap.
  13. wulfw.
    May 9, 2008
    0
    I was hoping for something good here but na who was i kidding crappy graphics, crappy AI, controls, no real involvement, waste of time and shelf space.....could have been so much more.
  14. JohnD.
    Feb 14, 2008
    0
    This game fails harder even that Hour of Victory. Worst game concept ever: What the? Seriously, you were a construction worker!And all of the sudden,a paratrooper shows up and stands there,like he was induced in coma upon landing waiting for you to take his gun.Then you can grab him and swing him left and right endlessly until you decide to throw him down.Then suddenly you are a master This game fails harder even that Hour of Victory. Worst game concept ever: What the? Seriously, you were a construction worker!And all of the sudden,a paratrooper shows up and stands there,like he was induced in coma upon landing waiting for you to take his gun.Then you can grab him and swing him left and right endlessly until you decide to throw him down.Then suddenly you are a master shooter who can also resist taking 30 bullets prior to death...and the AI is ridiculous.Guys with rifles RUSH you.The supposed successor of the G43,which was semi-automatic, is bolt-action in the game.Not to mention I threw a grenade towars an enemy once,and guess what he did? He walked up to it,looked at it waiting for it to be nearly exploding,and KICKED IT.He didn't throw it back at me he KICKED it.And he kicked it in a random direction,not at the assaulter.Worst even he kicked it to a wall,and the grenade bounced back and exploded on his face.If anything,I loved the demo for giving me that image which is as of today the most comical fail I've ever seen in a videogame. Expand
  15. DuxaC.
    Feb 29, 2008
    7
    Awesome Idea, great concepts and mechanics. However the game feels like it is still in Alpha stage. If the developers spent an additional 3-4 months on polishing it out it could have been one of the better games so far this year.
  16. SamF.
    Mar 11, 2008
    7
    it wasn't great but it is NO way near as bad as the press is making it out to be. I had a lot of fun, which is what I remember the developer saying...just have a good time...and I totally did
  17. JohnB.
    Mar 13, 2008
    1
    Abysmal. glad I borrowed it.
  18. Ksizzle
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    Honestly, this game isn't terrible. Is it a AAA shooter like Call of Duty 4? No. But is it worth picking up when the price drops to $25 or so? I think so. Controls are a little wonky, but the experience is something you'll probably enjoy while playing. It won't change your life, but it's different and it functions so that's good enough for when the price Honestly, this game isn't terrible. Is it a AAA shooter like Call of Duty 4? No. But is it worth picking up when the price drops to $25 or so? I think so. Controls are a little wonky, but the experience is something you'll probably enjoy while playing. It won't change your life, but it's different and it functions so that's good enough for when the price significantly drops. Collapse
  19. BusterJ.
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    Not earth shattering, but fun and interesting.
  20. GameG.
    May 9, 2008
    3
    I think that the only reason people defend barely playable pieces of junk like this is that they are in denial that they spent 60+ dollars and they don't want to admit wasting their money. If this came out four years ago on the XBox it might have ben more tolerable, but in this day and age, something like this should have been cancelled before it hit the sehlves. Way too many bugs, I think that the only reason people defend barely playable pieces of junk like this is that they are in denial that they spent 60+ dollars and they don't want to admit wasting their money. If this came out four years ago on the XBox it might have ben more tolerable, but in this day and age, something like this should have been cancelled before it hit the sehlves. Way too many bugs, outdated gameplay, framerate problems, and weak graphics. I am glad all I did was a free rental. Expand
  21. TimS.
    Mar 13, 2008
    4
    An ok Xbox game, trouble is it is playing on the Xbox 360, ie... retro graphics and gameplay - needs harder work.
  22. EricE
    Mar 29, 2009
    3
    Great concept for a game but terrible execution. This game is still in Alpha. Mobs are very stupid, don't know how many times I have walked past a mob facing the wrong direction. The save system really sucks because if you get past a hard part then a mob gets a lucky shot or two on you, you have to do it all over again.
  23. GeorgeL.
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    This game was actually quite good. I found it in Gamestop for about $6.99, and I thought it was worth more than that. The main thing that I loved was the storyline. It's very interesting, and it's the main reason why I decided to buy the game in the first place. World War 2 has spawned a TON of video games. Call of Duty, Wolfenstein, Brother in Arms, Medal of Honor etc. the list This game was actually quite good. I found it in Gamestop for about $6.99, and I thought it was worth more than that. The main thing that I loved was the storyline. It's very interesting, and it's the main reason why I decided to buy the game in the first place. World War 2 has spawned a TON of video games. Call of Duty, Wolfenstein, Brother in Arms, Medal of Honor etc. the list goes on and on. Because of all of this, I usually go out of my way to buy the LEAST historically accurate games possible, so that the creative team can dream up of various scenarios without having to read history books all the time. I like alternate history games because I like to think about what would happen if the Nazis did this differently, or did that differently. This game is one of them. The idea of the Nazis winning World War 2 is a frightening scenario that, thank god, never happened. You play as a random construction worker named Dan Carson, who, for some reason, is able to kick insane amounts of Nazi ass despite having no military training whatsoever. You spend the first level trying to survive, and every subsequent level to work with the resistance fighters. Your tasks range from escaping the city to blowing up a prototype weapon. The storyline is very interesting, and is very believable, too. There are no robots or sci-fi weapons, but the Nazis do have advanced technology, ranging from a super huge tank to an even bigger Zeppelin. From watching the horror of the Nazi Blitzkrieg to the jaw dropping ending, the storyline is unique, and easily the best aspect of the game. Though I loved the storyline, the game is way too short, and the ending could've easily been changed to add more missions. There are plenty of ideas that could've been incorporated to make the game longer. Heck, this is an alternate history game, so I think that even assassinating Hitler as an objective is fair game. That would've been awesome. Nevertheless, the storyline and presentation is a very good part of the game. Another high mark is the music, which reflects the mood. You aren't a super soldier ready to save America. You're just an average joe who is trying to survive total war. No fanfare, no epic pieces. The music reflects the mood very well. The other aspects are less stellar. The graphics, while okay, are not the best the Unreal Engine can actually handle. Bioshock, Gears of War etc. all look amazing. Here, the scripted events are nice to look at, but the animation's jerky, and the overall graphics is not that great. The gameplay, more or less, is like Call of Duty. You can throw grenades, hold a maximum of 2 weapons, throw grenades etc. These features are pretty much standard nowadays. A fun little gameplay aspect, though, is the grapple feature. When you get up close to an enemy, you can press B and end up with 2 choices, either perform an instant kill, or use the poor Nazi as a human shield. Human shield does not protect you against everything, but it's useful if you need cover, and hilarious to just look at. The game really shines when you see any of the environmental kills, which range from pushing someone off a building to sticking their head in a toilet and flushing (SWIRLY!). The gameplay, aside from the grapple, is nothing special, but it's solid, and anyone playing the Call of Duty games should be able to get it down in no time. One big thing that sticks out, though, is the glitches. There are plenty of glitches in the game. Most glitches are just A.I glitches, such as a Nazi soldier ignoring you even when you're standing in front of him, or the Nazi soldier firing at a completely different direction. Other glitches include animation glitches, and some control glitches, such as the iron sights staying there even after you released the button. However, none of the glitches are super serious, and the game's still playable. Sometimes, watching the various A.I glitches is pretty funny. Multiplayer is standard stuff. Nothing special. There aren't too many people playing, but since this game is super cheap, right now, getting it may make more financial sense. Overall, Turning Point: Fall of Liberty is a game best suited for gamers who like a good storyline. It has an interesting premise, solid gameplay, and a pretty good score. And with a really cheap price (seriously, I've seen iTunes apps that cost more money), this game should be a pretty fun game for people who are itching to kill more Nazis. Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    After reading all the critics and user reviews I decided to throw down the $3 at Gamestop and give this game a shot. Im glad I did. if you overlook the less than stellar graphics and a few minor annoyances (checkpoints are forever apart in most areas, dumb-as-rocks AI [which at the same time sorta makes it fun], youll find a solid and fun fps. The achievements are fun and easy too.After reading all the critics and user reviews I decided to throw down the $3 at Gamestop and give this game a shot. Im glad I did. if you overlook the less than stellar graphics and a few minor annoyances (checkpoints are forever apart in most areas, dumb-as-rocks AI [which at the same time sorta makes it fun], youll find a solid and fun fps. The achievements are fun and easy too. Multiplayer is dead completely though so i didnt get to try that but hey for 3 bucks Im not complaining. Bottom Line- Great game for $10 and under but anything more I'd be pissed lol. Expand
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 44
  2. Negative: 26 out of 44
  1. 50
    Shooting Nazis in the streets of three major U.S. cities should be a non-stop thrill ride that has me on the edge of my seat. This game provides the opposite experience.
  2. With the number of average-to-outstanding FPS titles available on next-gen consoles, there’s absolutely no reason to waste your time with this disaster.
  3. The innovation potential was in the story, though that only provides the setting for the gameplay. Outside of that, it’s pretty basic fare.