User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Finally. THQ have done the right thing for the first time in the series. They listened to critics of the fans and made the game even better than it was. Career is now even better that it used to be, filled with a lot more action and a lot less of "managing". Submission system has been revamped to BETTER, now with indication how close you are to a victory. 100+ fighters will guarantee that not a single fight will ever be the same. And have I mentioned amazing commentary? As far as it goes for me, this game is just as good as you would expect from an UFC game. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Go buy this and kick some butt. You'll feel better. You pick from pretty much anyone out there today and can unleash the pain. Or start as a noob to the circuit and earn your way up. Either way, kicking butt is awesome again.
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    UFC Undisputed 3 is the best game of the UFC/THQ series, a must have for any MMA fan, and especially if you are a Nick Diaz fan. The roster is pretty deep, this time including Nick DIaz, although a few guys will probably need be offered as DLC in the near future, it's enough to keep most of us happy for now. The graphics are great, and the gameplay is over the top addictive, plenty of subtle tweaks to the striking and ground game have put UFC Undisputed 3 above the rest of the games in the series. Go buy this game so I can knock you out online! Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    5
    This game has been done right this time. The career is excellent with tons of other modes to do. Online has little to no lag even against a red ping. The elbow spam has been removed and submissions have a visual game to show how close or how far away a tap out is. No more controller shining.
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    UFC Undisputed 3 steps into the Octagon almost 2 years after the release of UFC Undisputed 2010. Graphically, the game is superb, the controls have been adapted to give new gamers a starting point (simplified ground controls), career mode has been improved, you can now use fighters from the UFC roster as well as your own creations.

    The biggest addition is PRIDE mode, with authentic
    presentation and a completely different set of rules, there is plenty of variety in the game to keep you fighting. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    I'm at a moment of awe.The learning curb in quite steep but this is one case where every last tutorial is well worth learning and mastering.This is the first true fighting game where I can fight in the game how I fight in true life.The movements,the physics,wow is all I can say.THQ's first two UFC games where off the charts cool,at the time,and this game just combined the greatness of them,threw in some great stuff from EA's MMA game and threw the kitchen sink at us.But a custom made sink.With over 150 fighters,numerous custom created fighters online,pride fighting,perfect audio in every way,graphics to die for.THQ climbed there mountain and there, they sit with there throne.Now I see why EA threw in the towel and pulled out there check book to join this masterful game that all started in 2009.So please people,buy the game,be patient and learn all of the tutorials and you will find a fighting game that you will be talking about 5-10 years from now.I'm not over hyping this game,it is true, it is real,it's a pure pleasure that all future fighting games will be judged on.10 Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    If you're a fan of MMA, UFC Undisputed 3 not only worthwhile, as is virtually a compulsory acquisition. The game has become easier to be played, has even better graphics and is very entertaining. Even with little participation of the crowd in the struggles and the lack of emotion of the athletes, the fighting are more exciting than ever and the career mode brings new possibilities to the game, allowing the exchange of fighter category, for example. In addition, have the chance to relive historical battles of Pride FC is something that will hold at MMA fanatics by lots and lots of hours in front of the video game. Collapse
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    It is the best MMA game "ever" with a lot of great fighters and pride. the ground game is much better, same with the striking. only problem is it still kinda looks too "stiff" not as much as as the last 2 but ea mma showed how they can make fluid movements. Although this is not a big problem and the game still looks great and plays wonderfully.

    P.S cod sucks
  9. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with tons of features and a great roster of fighters. It also has new Pride Fighting features, which add some great variety from the traditional octagon style MMA. A must buy for any MMA fan, it's by far the best UFC game yet!
  10. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    I played ufc undisputed 2009, and i loved it. i didnt play ufc undisputed 2010. since i got undisputed 3 february 15th, man ive been addicted. my buddies keep calling me up tellin me to come over and play it on their 50 inch tvs, or to bring it to their colleges. these kids dont even watch ufc but they love this game. the roster is pretty big, graphics are great, pride is brutal with face stomps and soccer kicks. you can make highlight reels of your past fights. and if you thought the games were complicated in the past, they got a great tutorial system that teaches you everything you need to know about the controls. the only reason i didnt give it a 10 out of 10 is because the online connecting hasnt been good so far, but hopefully that will change. 9/10 Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    the game Undisputed is ok but seriously its just the same things over and over i DON't get how people can get this and say its amazing wen its no different from the others yes maybe a few dif ppl or sumthink but still the same old undisputed
  12. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Best fighting game ever. Its graphics is good if you have the proper tv set. But don't forget it is not a graphics oriented game. Thank you THQ this is the second game from them which base a real chance of getting a good life, and time for the public.
  13. Sep 11, 2012
    2
    This game could have been a beautiful thing. Ignoring online play, this game has very few downsides. And, At first I was totally happy with the $80+ I spent on the game and DLC. But, that was before THQ showed that they have no respect for their customers. The online play is in desperate need of a patch. 8 months later, after repeatedly being told by THQ (on their forums) that it will be out soon, and that their customers and fans are important to them, they still haven't released the patch. At this point, as evidenced by the forums, the entire UFC3 community has been alienated by THQ. There was one employee who tried to mediate, but he left for a new job a couple months ago and no THQ employee has communicated a word since.

    Most replay value in a game comes from online play. I could still love this game, if on-line play was fixed and not completely broken. But, it seems it will always be broken, because THQ isn't concerned with their word or ethics, just $$s.

    The whole situation is just sad for everyone that bought that game.
    Expand
  14. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    Pro's:
    Great selection of Fighters, Great selection of Moves, Plenty of game modes, PRIDE (Both Exhibition mode and Career), Commentary is good, Graphics are good.

    Con's: Still the same problems as the last 2 games like Poor Animations, i.e. A hook, In Real Life if you Punch with your Palm facing toward the floor you will end up damaging your Wrist. The animation should be Palm facing
    inwards. Robotic movement, especially when dodging punches. Button mashing, Submission system (Elements are good, but you wouldn't expect some of the fighters to have such a Giant Blue bar that moves extremely fast, while yours moves extremely slow. Doesn't give your fighter in Career mode a chance when your selection of fights early on becomes too difficult for your own fighter to handle). You can't change Difficulty during Career Mode. Career mode is boring. You just Train and fight just like the last installments. Not really over 100 fighters, some copy and paste with Pride next to them and weight classes. Some fighters you have to Download, such as Nick Diaz and Overeem. Fighters Overated such as Chael Sonnen. Great Wrestler no doubt, but his Record in the UFC isn't the best. When I fought him, he stood up and traded. He was quick and accurate. When has he ever stood and traded? when has he ever been quick and accurate standing up? Some fighters don't use the skills they have, but they are stronger on weaker points, something you never see in Real Life. When rocked and down, you can move your head and block so you don't get hit. The Ref still stopped the fight even when my opponent MISSED every shot. Poor...

    Part of the Submission system has been taken from EA MMA. Also so has the variation of Rules and Surrounding such as Cage or Ring.

    It's the same game as the last 2. But better Graphics, more fighters, More Moves and Pride. Clearly the Button mashing, poor Animations etc remain exactly the same. THQ should never do another UFC game.
    Expand
  15. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Yikes, if Mr. Mike Goldberg would shut up I would have enjoyed it more. I have liked all the previous games and the blood physics were great. But it felt uninspired and clunky throughout. Enjoyable experience as the previous but not my favorite of the series.http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/
  16. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    I love all the UFC games. The submission system in this years can potentially be frustrating. Upon entering a submission, an enormous translucent octagon blankets the screen and acts as a "track" on which players chase one another's icons to determine who gets the upper hand. Should the player on offense overlap the other player's line long enough, the defender will tap out to end the match. Twisting your opponent's arm in a kimura should feel more painful. While the submission mini-game denotes the cat-and-mouse aspects of the sport, there's not much that feels satisfying about a submission win or loss. Overall I enjoy the game... it can just be frustrating at times. Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    This game is really fun to play. Especially if you are gonna play online or with your friend. But there are still some problems. First problem is, height... For example, there are 2 fighters. First one is 6'10'' and second one is 6'3'' . So, they should look different. But in that game, they look same height, and this is annoying. It was the same in UFC Undisputed 2010.
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This game is good overall and had good ideas but why is THQ still a gaming company? They are all half retarded and cant fix their servers and i cant enjoy my online matches as much THQ is the worst company that ever existed
  19. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    For me, they seem to have gotten everything right except the submission system. I actually liked the original UFC 2009 sub system, mashing buttons was for brute force, turning the stick for technique. It was a struggle, but that made sense to me; submissions ARE a struggle. Before you ask, no, I'm not a submission machine, GnP or standing strikes is more my style. The new system just seems too slippery and random (why have a game of catch the snake in the middle of a fight?). Otherwise it's a good game, but this one change put me off playing the game for more than a year and I probably won't buy the next ufc as a result Expand
  20. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    I had this idea for a movie one time, It was going to basically be a what if instead story about rocky balboa becoming a UFCfighter. Newsflash he would get his ass kicked and no one would of cared. UFC Undisputed 3 made me fell like my story came to life was made into a game and then people beat my ass in it. This game is a guilty pleasure, I liked the idea of been a borderline murderer who was fighting another borderline murderer. That was it tho is was just a game about been the best borderline murderer. It was fun at parts the controls were ok not great. It was a really nice, policed WWE game with some what better graphics. That's all it is tho just a ok game. I rather play mortal kombat then this but if you want to play a good sports/fighting game then try it if you want. Expand
  21. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    This was a very fun game, but unfortunately, I only put 7 or so hours into it because it wasn't very deep. Fun game though. If you're into UFC, and don't have a next-gen console, this is the game for you.
  22. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    If you're a fan of MMA, UFC Undisputed 3 not only worthwhile, as is virtually a compulsory acquisition. The game has become easier to be played, has even better graphics and is very entertaining. Even with little participation of the crowd in the struggles and the lack of emotion of the athletes, the fighting are more exciting than ever and the career mode brings new possibilities to the game, allowing the exchange of fighter category, for example. In addition, have the chance to relive historical battles of Pride FC is something that will hold at MMA fanatics by lots and lots of hours in front of the video game. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    The game is fun and exciting to play, and it's great fun leading your fighter to championship glory. [May 2012, p.65]
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    90
    Despite a learning curve, gameplay is very smooth, with a first-class presentation, from the fighter introductions, to the actual UFC announcers and referees, to the good audio features of the crowd and impact of punches and kicks onto each fighter.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    90
    While I still feel as though EA made a better, and extremely under rated game, MMA fighting game with EA MMA, I do think that THQ has been able to match them with the newest UFC game, due to a great overhaul of the control system and an all most never ending amount of fun available, because of all the added features like Pride FC, and the Title Defense section.