Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    50
    Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon has some potential and is definitely not the worst game based on a television show but is far from being a quality game in its own right.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    20
    As a game, though, it's so cripplingly inane it makes me want to eat my own teeth and replace them with sweetcorn prongs.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    70
    And while you could chalk up Apocalypsegeddon by recommending it only to fans of the show, it's slightly better than that. It's short-lived and a little monotonous at the same time, but as long no one in your group is offended by the TV show's adult-rated sensibilities, there are worse ways to spend an afternoon than fending off the end of days.
  4. 30
    The lack of variety almost makes us laugh. Just avoid this garbage.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Definitely a good buy for fans of the show and a worthwhile look for anyone else.
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    55
    This is a game that's best targeted to those who can't get enough of Ugly Americans and have three other friends who feel the same way. Otherwise there are plenty of twin-stick shooters available on XBLA that are a lot better games than this.
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    65
    It's challenging, but with no real change of pace. [Dec 2011, p.87]
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    65
    The single player game is rather boring. But if you find three others to join you in multiplayer, you will have some fun hours with the game.
  9. Oct 13, 2011
    45
    An average game that doesn't live up to the brilliance of the cartoon.
  10. 40
    But the only words this adaptation brings to mind are "suck my b*lls." [Dec 2011, p.68]
  11. Sep 10, 2011
    21
    The gameplay is repetitive, not at all fun, and more of a chore than a game.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    56
    Ugly Americans deserved a better game. Maybe within the same genre, but better though and executed. Gameplay-wise it may be interesting during the first minutes, but this sensations vanishes early, unveiling a repetitive and very limited videogame.
  13. Sep 7, 2011
    30
    With so many other twin-stick shooters available on Xbox Live, there is little reason for anyone except hardcore fans of the show to bother with Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon. Yes, it is technically sound, but the gameplay is bland, the humor barely rates as juvenile and the video unlocks are slow to open up. Unless you need something to put you to sleep, spend your 800 Microsoft points ($10 USD) elsewhere.
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    50
    This is clearly for fans of the television creation. [Issue#77, p.103]
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    45
    Although Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon brings some amusement, when you start playing the game is quite disappointing. This is due too the very simple gameplay, a repetitive level design and inelaborate RPG elements.
  16. Sep 7, 2011
    50
    As fan service, it is adequate enough, bringing the style and humor that make the show a success.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Really entertaining and funny. Love the hilarious comments the characters make during game play, although they can get a little repetitive. Great that there is a big range of quirky weapons and awards to level up. Favorite aspect is playing as a team online. Quickly gets addictive with this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    I actually wasn't a fan of the show and I thought it was really funny, though I will now check out the show. I liked the cut scenes and the rpgness of the gameplay added a lot. I have yet to go online and play but I played through the wizard guy and police guy and it was really different. It was very addictive. I missed it the first time but there is also a behind the scenes trailer that is really great. Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    Funny and addictive, though you really need to be a fan of the show to understand the humour. The only real downside is the repetitive enemy voice overs (though it's a staple of action games anyway) and, rather disappointingly, only half hearted cut scenes that that use the voice cast of the show perfectly, but don't fully animate the sequences. Whether that was a creative choice or not, it felt like a 'just get it done' feel to it. Shame really, because it's a fun game, especially with three mates who equally enjoy gunning down endless swearing man-birds with tennis balls and boomerangs. And this positive review has nothing to do with the fact that the lead character has the same first name as me. Nothing at all! Full Review »